HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lub d Bangkok - Silom

Hostel | 4 Decho road, Suriyawong, Bangrak, (Silom Area) Bangkok, Thailand 10500

88.9% Overall Rating

336 out of 347 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/10/2014)

Jacqueline Phua thinks…

"especially love the ladies toilet at the top level. the design of the hostel is unlike any others."

Read all Lub d Bangkok - Silom reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.54

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

We will do Pre-authorization Charge on your card within 7 days after you make the reservation online.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

The Blast Silom Hostel
10.79 USD

Hostel 74.3% 3 reviews
Sunflower Place - Silom
13.25 USD

Hostel 91.5% 90 reviews
Silom City Hotel
20.80 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
13 Coins Surawongse
16.95 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.2% 3 reviews
Mile Map Hostel
6.78 USD

Hostel 86.4% 167 reviews
O'Nidra House Hotel
10.79 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
We Bangkok
10.79 USD

Hostel 91.8% 130 reviews
Nine@Silom
11.71 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

336 out of 347 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lub d Bangkok - Silom'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 306 of 330 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dennis Jongejan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: What's not to like? Friendly staff. Good atmosphere. Clean. Nice location. Near the sky train. Social events.

Disliked: Dennis left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alix taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 Alix would recommend this property

Liked: It's really really clean and doesn't even feel like you're in a hostel. It's close enough to important things like the skytrain and most of the embassy's, and over the road is amazing Pad Thai for 50baht. The staff are also really helpful, will never stay anywhere else in Bangkok

Disliked: The location isn't great if you want to be near a party atmosphere, which for me is perfect but for people wanting to be near Koh San Road i would stay somewhere else

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I ended up staying there twice and if I ever return to Bangkok will definitely go again. Spottlessly clean place with huge dorms with big lockers. Nice beds, very nice lounge. Breakfast is good value for money. It's quite a big hostel but has character and doesn't seem too busy at all! Also nice place to meet other travelers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely bathrooms with amazing showers. Secure rooms - I stayed in the women only section. Bar had a nice chilled out atmosphere. Good location near the BTS.

Disliked: The beds are quite hard. I had sore shoulders and neck after three nights.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christian Brockschnieder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel I stayed in thailand!!!

Disliked: Christian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ole Koenig

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 Ole would recommend this property

Liked: I've travelled 2 years by now and this is by far the best hostel i've stayed in so far. It maybe one of the medium priced ones in Bangkok, but it is absolutely worth every baht. I'll be back for sure!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool atmosphere and great place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about the hostel itself was perfect, really clean, great facilites and helpful staff.

Disliked: The only slight isue was a hostel is a 15 min walk from the transport links & shops.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ann-kathrin Martin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2012 Ann-kathrin would recommend this property

Liked: Superfriendly staff! Very clean and safe, pool and free wifi!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

levi hollandsworth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2012 levi would recommend this property

Liked: Legit! You wanna cool place to meet people that is relaxed, safe, clean,and easy to get to? Forget the rest, this is it. The staff are cool, the internet is free, they have a theater, a bar with cheap drinks, and hot showers. ing this? Bored? They have events going on to getyou engaged and for the price, why are you still reading? Book the freaking room already. Its a place worth sharing.

Disliked: I only stayed two nights.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Sagmüller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2012 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: friendly stuff, rooms big enough with lockers, clean! women only area and big nice washing and shower room!

Disliked: Sandra left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Brislee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: I keep coming back to Lub d - this is the third time I've stayed here on this trip! The staff have always been friendly and helpful, the place is always clean, there is a nice sociable atmosphere but you can still get a decent night's sleep, and you can walk to the skytrain - what more can you ask for in a hostel?

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and bathrooms were very clean, the linens on the bed were changed each day and the common areas were always tidy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of activities and ways to meet other people. Safe facilities. Lots of opportunities to have fun but rooms ate quiet

Disliked: Not as convenient to get to as some hostels, on a budget. Air conditioning is either freezing or off. I used the blanket provided though :)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jose Abraham

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: very clean

Disliked: some staffs are very nice to the westerns but not so nice to asians

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Packer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable. Was a great place and a good location to silom markets and nightlife.

Disliked: Was only there for one night and it seemed like a good place to stay, shame i couldnt stay longer.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a well run hostel, as professional as a hotel. I have stayed 200+ hostels in my life time, LubD is probably in the top 10.

Disliked: the dorm room is very packed. Great for socializing, not so good for sanity. The Internet is also unreliable via wifi. They use some sort of DNS pointer and iPhone/iPad sometimes have problems reconciling the connection. If you need 100% uninterrupted Internet, not so good. Forget VPN, DNS conflict, so Internet drops often.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance to Patpong night market. Easy to get bus to Kaosan Rd. and Central Pier. Female's dorm with clean, spacious bathroom. Staff are great and really helpful

Disliked: Not, everything was just great.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kylie Knight

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011 Kylie would recommend this property

Liked: Well set up, very modern, good atmoshere downstairs. Good trips offered too. Allowed us to store our bags when we went on a trip. Great bar cralw to Khaosan road!

Disliked: Not a huge range of food on offer but loads of restaurants nearby if you know where to go

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Katharine Dow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2011 Katharine would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. It's a great place to stay. Beds are comfy, rooms are clean and big. Location is great.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in the ladies only 6 bed dorm - the bathrooms were huge and very clean, they were also very quiet when I stayed, so no rush whatsoever to get showers etc in the morning. The rooms are well air conditioned but the air con system is a little noisy. The location is better than other reviews suggest; it's easy to get the Sky train and water taxi to the Grand Palace and Wat Po. There are bars and restaurants round the corner and a street market. Plus Khao Sam Road is only a 10 min tuk tuk ride away - which is fun way to travel!!! The reception/communal area is a great place to meet people as it's not too big or impersonal.

Disliked: The place had no lift so it was a little tiring getting your luggage up the stairs, the hallways were hot and not very well lit. Although you get 30 mins free internet per day, some of the keys are missing from the laptops so are unusable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Priscilla Hsu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2011 Priscilla would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is really cool- its like a sheek construction art project. Its 3 blocks away from the BTS station but still fairly central. It's super clean and the staff is really nice. I definitely asked a lot of questions, which they didn't always have the answer to, but they still tried to help me out anyway. One thing I don't think they mentioned (or I must have skipped) is that you need your own lock for the lockers. (But you can pick one up for 25-50B at a convenience store or 7-11 nearby).

Disliked: The air-conditioning was sometimes a little TOO cold at night but I think you can just change it yourself. I just grabbed another blanket and was fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the bar .

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Spencer Wallace

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Spencer would recommend this property

Liked: Nope is one of the friendliest people I've ever met.

Disliked: Nothing, it was great!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you're looking for a super backpacky hostel with loads of kids doing the backpack through Thailand with friends, then this is your spot. But if you're looking for something a little quiter with more mature travelers, this place is not the place to be. I was only here for a night between a trip to the beach and the airport, so it sufficed. Rooms were clean and bed/pillow was comfortable.

Disliked: See above