We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lub d Bangkok - Silom

Hostel | 4 Decho road, Suriyawong, Bangrak, (Silom Area) Bangkok, Thailand 10500

90.9% Overall Rating

341 out of 354 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/07/2015)

Dina Mujic thinks…

"The place had a cool vibe and the guests were social and friendly. It felt more secure than a lot of hostels. We stayed in the ladies dorm and it was super spacious."

Read all Lub d Bangkok - Silom reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.39

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

We will do Pre-authorization Charge on your card within 7 days after you make the reservation online.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

I-Sleep Silom Hostel
11.05 USD

Hostel 75.0% 4 reviews
Happy Traveller Home
9.73 USD

Hostel 97.5% 8 reviews
13 Coins Surawongse
15.29 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.2% 3 reviews
Mile Map Hostel
6.40 USD

Hostel 84.7% 187 reviews
O'Nidra House Hotel
9.73 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
We Bangkok
9.73 USD

Hostel 89.7% 133 reviews
Nine@Silom
9.73 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Three of a kind
8.34 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

341 out of 354 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lub d Bangkok - Silom'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
88.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 311 of 337 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is thought of- the building itself is really well designed and lots of stuff is free that I didn't expect (eg free internet access on computers downstairs, book swap, film room & free popcorn downstairs, luggage room). Made it a really enjoyable stay, would definitely recommend to others :)

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed in, spacious, great fitout, super clean.

Disliked: Quiet when I was there, but in low season so understanable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jessica Frazier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

13 August 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: This is a fascinating building with good facilities and kind staff, in rather a nice area of Bangkok. The look of the hostel kind of follows an 'Alien Movie' theme - but in a good way! Everything is clean and well organised. And the location sits between the bright lights of patpong, the cool cafes and libraries of this pleasant district, the greenery of Lumphini park, and the Indian vibe of the Mariamman temple. Siam square and Hualamphong are 30min walks away.

Disliked: No dislikes - It opts for deconstructed industrial chic rather than homey atmosphere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Mccorvey

Alone

Relaxation/spa

11 August 2012 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent facility

Disliked: Joseph left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lub d was clean and comfortable, and the staff was great. i went on one of the dinner tours and it was delicious and an easy way to meet other peopl!

Disliked: the location for me wasn't ideal, as you had to take a taxi to reach many major sites. that said, it was very easy to take the train to the airport!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dennis Jongejan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: What's not to like? Friendly staff. Good atmosphere. Clean. Nice location. Near the sky train. Social events.

Disliked: Dennis left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alix taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 Alix would recommend this property

Liked: It's really really clean and doesn't even feel like you're in a hostel. It's close enough to important things like the skytrain and most of the embassy's, and over the road is amazing Pad Thai for 50baht. The staff are also really helpful, will never stay anywhere else in Bangkok

Disliked: The location isn't great if you want to be near a party atmosphere, which for me is perfect but for people wanting to be near Koh San Road i would stay somewhere else

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I ended up staying there twice and if I ever return to Bangkok will definitely go again. Spottlessly clean place with huge dorms with big lockers. Nice beds, very nice lounge. Breakfast is good value for money. It's quite a big hostel but has character and doesn't seem too busy at all! Also nice place to meet other travelers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely bathrooms with amazing showers. Secure rooms - I stayed in the women only section. Bar had a nice chilled out atmosphere. Good location near the BTS.

Disliked: The beds are quite hard. I had sore shoulders and neck after three nights.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christian Brockschnieder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel I stayed in thailand!!!

Disliked: Christian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ole Koenig

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 Ole would recommend this property

Liked: I've travelled 2 years by now and this is by far the best hostel i've stayed in so far. It maybe one of the medium priced ones in Bangkok, but it is absolutely worth every baht. I'll be back for sure!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool atmosphere and great place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about the hostel itself was perfect, really clean, great facilites and helpful staff.

Disliked: The only slight isue was a hostel is a 15 min walk from the transport links & shops.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ann-kathrin Martin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2012 Ann-kathrin would recommend this property

Liked: Superfriendly staff! Very clean and safe, pool and free wifi!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

levi hollandsworth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2012 levi would recommend this property

Liked: Legit! You wanna cool place to meet people that is relaxed, safe, clean,and easy to get to? Forget the rest, this is it. The staff are cool, the internet is free, they have a theater, a bar with cheap drinks, and hot showers. ing this? Bored? They have events going on to getyou engaged and for the price, why are you still reading? Book the freaking room already. Its a place worth sharing.

Disliked: I only stayed two nights.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Sagmüller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2012 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: friendly stuff, rooms big enough with lockers, clean! women only area and big nice washing and shower room!

Disliked: Sandra left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Brislee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: I keep coming back to Lub d - this is the third time I've stayed here on this trip! The staff have always been friendly and helpful, the place is always clean, there is a nice sociable atmosphere but you can still get a decent night's sleep, and you can walk to the skytrain - what more can you ask for in a hostel?

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and bathrooms were very clean, the linens on the bed were changed each day and the common areas were always tidy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of activities and ways to meet other people. Safe facilities. Lots of opportunities to have fun but rooms ate quiet

Disliked: Not as convenient to get to as some hostels, on a budget. Air conditioning is either freezing or off. I used the blanket provided though :)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jose Abraham

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: very clean

Disliked: some staffs are very nice to the westerns but not so nice to asians

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Packer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable. Was a great place and a good location to silom markets and nightlife.

Disliked: Was only there for one night and it seemed like a good place to stay, shame i couldnt stay longer.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a well run hostel, as professional as a hotel. I have stayed 200+ hostels in my life time, LubD is probably in the top 10.

Disliked: the dorm room is very packed. Great for socializing, not so good for sanity. The Internet is also unreliable via wifi. They use some sort of DNS pointer and iPhone/iPad sometimes have problems reconciling the connection. If you need 100% uninterrupted Internet, not so good. Forget VPN, DNS conflict, so Internet drops often.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance to Patpong night market. Easy to get bus to Kaosan Rd. and Central Pier. Female's dorm with clean, spacious bathroom. Staff are great and really helpful

Disliked: Not, everything was just great.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kylie Knight

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011 Kylie would recommend this property

Liked: Well set up, very modern, good atmoshere downstairs. Good trips offered too. Allowed us to store our bags when we went on a trip. Great bar cralw to Khaosan road!

Disliked: Not a huge range of food on offer but loads of restaurants nearby if you know where to go

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Katharine Dow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2011 Katharine would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. It's a great place to stay. Beds are comfy, rooms are clean and big. Location is great.

Disliked: Nothing