HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lub d Bangkok - Silom

Hostel | 4 Decho road, Suriyawong, Bangrak, (Silom Area) Bangkok, Thailand 10500

88.9% Overall Rating

336 out of 347 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/10/2014)

Jacqueline Phua thinks…

"especially love the ladies toilet at the top level. the design of the hostel is unlike any others."

Read all Lub d Bangkok - Silom reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.54

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

We will do Pre-authorization Charge on your card within 7 days after you make the reservation online.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

The Blast Silom Hostel
10.79 USD

Hostel 74.3% 3 reviews
Sunflower Place - Silom
13.25 USD

Hostel 91.5% 90 reviews
Silom City Hotel
20.80 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
13 Coins Surawongse
16.95 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.2% 3 reviews
Mile Map Hostel
6.78 USD

Hostel 86.4% 166 reviews
O'Nidra House Hotel
10.79 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
We Bangkok
10.79 USD

Hostel 91.8% 130 reviews
Nine@Silom
11.71 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

336 out of 347 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lub d Bangkok - Silom'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 306 of 330 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 February 2013

Liked: The near to the city!

Disliked: I booked a dorm with 8 beds. The air in the room was very bad and there were a lot of moskitos!! The showers were always dirty:-((

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kate Gardner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, funky, incredibly friendly and helpful staff, great part of town

Disliked: Wifi was a little intermittent and showers were only ever lukewarm, though this is common in thailand

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tanya Deer

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2013 Tanya would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful, the rooms exceptionally clean as were the bathrooms. It is situated close to some markets. It is also very secure.

Disliked: Tanya left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marc Jocum

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2013 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have stayed at. Very social, organised club crawls and city tours, friendly staff and graet facilities

Disliked: breakfast is pretty standard

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily Nielsen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was very cheap and tasty. The receptionist was helpful.

Disliked: Emily left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natasha Powell

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 January 2013 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere and environment design. Mostly college students honestly. But if you are able to get a private room its fine for a variety of ages. Well air conditioned rooms. Clean bathrooms, Helpful and friendly staff. Reasonably close to the sky train. Food and beverages and nearly any information available at almost any time for small fee. Lockers provided- don't forget to bring your lock for them though.

Disliked: Because this is a popular larger establishment, thoroughly warm showers are mostly only possible when most people are asleep or out . If you are staying in the dormitories, its much easier to for get your pass card to enter your room as you need for electricity in your room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is really clean and comfortable. It's in a great area (apparently less chaotic than the main backpacker areas, but still a good night market down the road and close to sky train) and really easy to find. We booked an extra night we were so pleased! And would definitely recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the staff and their willingness to help/

Disliked: Nothing was disliked - - meet all basic needs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noorussaadah Haji Abdul Rani

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

10 January 2013 Noorussaadah would recommend this property

Liked: The staff = friendly, helpful, funny and exciting. :) The atmosphere and the random guests who made the place even extra 'happening', (not in the bedrooms, we don't want that but at the bar area). Location, a good walk to BTS skytrain, maybe at most 20minutes and loads of places to eat nearby. Now the room, I stayed in an all lady 6 beds dorm at the top floor, a bit of a walk to go up but the comfy bed and the free use of a good big towel made up for it. The location of the bathroom is close proximity to the dorm without any risk guys passing by on the way just in case I want to run to my dorm room to change (actually, I could change in the bathroom but I prefer to be wrapped in my towel longer). Overall, a place that I always can rely on. Would recommend for both solo or group travellers who wants to socialise around when coming to Bangkok.

Disliked: Get a lift, get a lift *chant chant* =D

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anna baker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2013 anna would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel

Disliked: Luke warm shower Location is a little far from sky train

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beds!

Disliked: Funny smell in dorms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacqueline Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 December 2012 Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are great. Rooms are clean. High ceilings make the space feel open. Bathrooms are nice. The rooms have a/c. Towels are provided. They also have laundry on site.

Disliked: Only downside is limited breakfast options and you have to pay for it. However, food is real close by and so cheap that it wasn't a problem.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We've stayed in a twin room with shared bathrooms and I can really recommend this place. Bathrooms are so clean and I never even met someone in it, although hostel was fully booked. There are shower cabins to lock and toilets are very, very clean. It is very calm although many people are staying here and every room has its own A/c, but you can switch to a fan if you don't like sleeping with running aircon. Rooms are cleaned every day, there are free, very clean towels for free and toiletries are provided as well. Staff is very nice, helping with everything and they even gave us a room with lower rates...wow...nice.

Disliked: The location is a bit far from the main sights in Bangkok, but the pier for the express boats are nearby, but not very easy to find. They are a bit hidden.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sonal shah

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2012 sonal would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic place. Well designed. Have an area for people to talk, chat etc. They organise events. Definitely recommend.

Disliked: sonal left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Kenny

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: I had the best sleep of my travels so far at the Lub d. The beds were very comfortable. The washrooms were kept very clean and the showers were hot! The staff was extremely helpful when I asked for travel advice in Thailand.

Disliked: This hostel wasn't very close to the major temples or attractions of the city, but if you want a good night of sleep, I think this is the perfect location. Not really a negative for me!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is possibly one of the nicest hostels I've stayed at. I would recommend it to anyone. The staff were fantastic too!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marc-Andre Belisle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 November 2012 Marc-Andre would recommend this property

Liked: Great common room where guests exchange stories, laundry machines, clean bathrooms & rooms, wonderful staff, awesome layout, scan cards and safes in the private rooms, all in all one of the best hostels I've stayed in.

Disliked: A little far from Khao San (though I'm fine with that) and other attractions in the Old Town, though that makes for a very peaceful street.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

roberto carvalho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2012 roberto would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, clean, neat, good people around, good location and helpful staff.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nicholas godenzi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2012 nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff!

Disliked: nicholas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is thought of- the building itself is really well designed and lots of stuff is free that I didn't expect (eg free internet access on computers downstairs, book swap, film room & free popcorn downstairs, luggage room). Made it a really enjoyable stay, would definitely recommend to others :)

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed in, spacious, great fitout, super clean.

Disliked: Quiet when I was there, but in low season so understanable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jessica Frazier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

13 August 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: This is a fascinating building with good facilities and kind staff, in rather a nice area of Bangkok. The look of the hostel kind of follows an 'Alien Movie' theme - but in a good way! Everything is clean and well organised. And the location sits between the bright lights of patpong, the cool cafes and libraries of this pleasant district, the greenery of Lumphini park, and the Indian vibe of the Mariamman temple. Siam square and Hualamphong are 30min walks away.

Disliked: No dislikes - It opts for deconstructed industrial chic rather than homey atmosphere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Mccorvey

Alone

Relaxation/spa

11 August 2012 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent facility

Disliked: Joseph left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lub d was clean and comfortable, and the staff was great. i went on one of the dinner tours and it was delicious and an easy way to meet other peopl!

Disliked: the location for me wasn't ideal, as you had to take a taxi to reach many major sites. that said, it was very easy to take the train to the airport!