HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lub d Bangkok - Silom

Hostel | 4 Decho road, Suriyawong, Bangrak, (Silom Area) Bangkok, Thailand 10500

90.5% Overall Rating

319 out of 330 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/04/2014)

Nicola Stephen thinks…

"Very clean and a nice atmosphere in the communal areas. Would stay here again if ever in Bangkok. Good value for money, especially liked trying out Thai food for free in the bar one night."

Read all Lub d Bangkok - Silom reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.48
  • Towel USD 1.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

We will do Pre-authorization Charge on your card within 7 days after you make the reservation online.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

The Blast Silom Hostel
10.85 USD

Hostel 74.3% 3 reviews
Sunflower Place - Silom
13.33 USD

Hostel 92.7% 86 reviews
Silom City Hotel
20.92 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
13 Coins Surawongse
17.04 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.2% 3 reviews
Mile Map Hostel
8.68 USD

Hostel 91.7% 153 reviews
O'Nidra House Hotel
10.85 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
We Bangkok
9.30 USD

Hostel 92.3% 126 reviews
Justbeds
14.72 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.5%

Overall Rating

319 out of 330 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lub d Bangkok - Silom'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 291 of 312 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: comfortable beds, clean rooms, etc. but the best bit is the bathrooms - big and spacious and clean and modern

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

victoria nagy

01 December 2009 victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Wow! What an unexpected gem of a place. Super cool, hyper modern and brilliantly efficient. 21st Century in an ancient city a perfect combination. There are swanky restaurants (Still cheap by Western standards) great bars as well as food stall streets nearby in a safe and clean area close to the river and yes to the ping pong bars too if that's what you want. Strict rules in dorms: "No Rock and No Roll"!

Disliked: victoria left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

30 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place but a bit far away from BTS station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, spotless, massive shower space, bar, cool vibe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pradana Santa

24 November 2009 Pradana would recommend this property

Liked: it's something that i would like recommended to all my friend that visiting bangkok

Disliked: Pradana left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richie Wise

14 November 2009 Richie would recommend this property

Liked: I lub Lub d. An amazingly warm welcome by brilliant, friendly staff; a great atmosphere & set up that encourages people to meet & interact; & organised parties & activities that have so much effort put into them that you can't fail to have a good time! Place is modern & clean, a fair way from the main stretch (Khao San Rd) but having been up there a few times I was glad to be staying in the quieter Silom. Really recommend it for anyone travelling to Bangkok.

Disliked: Richie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

david pugh

12 November 2009 david would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff and really good hub for travellers to meet, and the rooms are very secure, and the bar and social area are really well maintained, i would unquestionably recommend this place to anyone coming to Thailand, let alone Bangkok

Disliked: david left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So clean and the staff are always available to help. Bathroom and extras provided were a real treat!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel! best one i have stayed at- really clean, lots of room, fast and free internet, safe location, great place to meet other travellers! i would 100% go back again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is by far the best place to stay in Bangkok.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stephen Gavin

24 October 2009 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Really cool new hostel

Disliked: Stephen left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 October 2009

Liked: good atmosphere but there were bed bugs!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dawn Pauls

18 October 2009 Dawn would recommend this property

Liked: A funky, clean, friendly environment. Someone has clearly put alot of thought and work into serving travelers efficiently and uniquely at Lub d. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Dawn left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Lewis

16 October 2009 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Very smart hostel with some great facilities. Good place to meet people. The location is much calmer than other places in Bangkok, which makes for a much better atmosphere in the hostel as there are not as many places to go around, so people stay in the hostel bar.Could do with a free breakfast included in the room charge which was the only disappointing factor.

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay here but not as much as at other hostels. The room (private bunks) was fine with big comfortable bed and useful safe but only surface clean. I unfortunately had the delight of bed bugs living in the wall next to my bed (as I see someone else below had). The staff moved me to a new room straight away. The first room had a whole wall of windows, the second room had a 'fake' window with no natural light. The bathrooms were ultra modern, always clean and never a problem getting a shower. The bar area was nice, good breakfast for 80 THB. Laundry room was useful but always busy, in hindsight it would have been easier and probably no more expensive to use the laundry service in the barber shop just 50m away. Have heard horror stories about other hostels in Bangkok so in comparison i think this place was great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kimberly Hills

06 October 2009 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has in house laundry facilities and free wifi and internet. The luggage room is free and you can leave bags there for up to 2 months.

Disliked: Kimberly left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The ad pretty much delivers as described with some reservations: I had the unfortunate experience of bedbugs wherein the staff offered another room and the advertised distance of "BTS Skytrain Chong Nonsri Station: 0.4 km" doesn't really give you a clear perspective of how long you'd be walking. It certainly felt like it took 8 minutes to walk given the all the road intersections and blocked streets you'd have to traverse. Comfortable audio-visual room though.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

MIKE NICHOLLS

09 September 2009 MIKE would recommend this property

Liked: Ultra modern hostel, pretty awesome. Not enough people to make it a great place at the time though. Worth checking out if you have the money... Staff are vey friendly. great tv room, no lounge area though.

Disliked: MIKE left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasmin Kang

06 September 2009 Jasmin would recommend this property

Liked: Lub d was super! The night shift reception people were really really helpful and awesome, i felt really bad that i didnt even get your names, but seriously, top notch service! :)Design of the hostel was really modern and chic, very clean and comfortable. Plus free internet access 24/7 and a book section to borrow from on one of those long trips to places outside the city.Hope to go back again someday!

Disliked: Jasmin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It would be expensive if it wasn't for the buy one get one free offer, but now I've arrived I would have been happy paying the normal price as it is the best place I've stayed in on my trip. But I wouldn't have initially booked it due to how expensive it should be normally. The staff are really friendly and helpful, and there are cleaners in constantly so the rooms are immaculate. I found it difficult to meet people on the first day as I was in a 10 bed room alone, and the hostel is not full at all so there were not many people around. But once I asked to change rooms to one with people in it was fine!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

layla akhrif

21 August 2009 layla would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hip hostel to stay in. So clean and great bathrooms. We liked it here.

Disliked: layla left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Phan

21 August 2009 John would recommend this property

Liked: the employees are very nice and helpful. My double room was clean everyday and the cleaning service would give me 2 free bottles of water. It is a gem in the silom area, which is infamous of its ping pong shows...if you catch my drift. I will come back to lub d. Its promotions are great and room are affordable.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Services and architecture, atmosphere and staff's good english

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.