We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI-Sukhumvit

Hostel | 23 Sukhumvit Soi38, Sukhumvit Rd., Bangkok, Thailand 10110

87.4% Overall Rating

454 out of 472 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/02/2015)

Susanna Leppakorpi thinks…

"Staff were very helpful as soon as we arrived and allowed us to leave our bags and use the lockers well before our check-in time. The room was very clean and tidy as well as the bathrooms. Location…"

Read all HI-Sukhumvit reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*We accept cash only

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Padi Madi Guesthouse
29.51 USD

Guesthouse 76.9% 11 reviews
A7 Hidden Hostel
17.41 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
1Yolo Hostel
11.51 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Emporium Suites by Chatrium
74.70 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Mhc-Guesthouse
13.66 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 8 reviews
The Mix Bangkok
11.81 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Honey House 2
14.76 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Admiral Suites
30.97 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 07/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 07/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

454 out of 472 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI-Sukhumvit'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
83.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 348 of 355 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice welcoming entrance. Nice rooms, good rooftop.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Susanna Leppakorpi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2015 Susanna would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful as soon as we arrived and allowed us to leave our bags and use the lockers well before our check-in time. The room was very clean and tidy as well as the bathrooms. Location was great, really close to the skytrain. And there is some good night market food just around the corner.

Disliked: Susanna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful reception staff, great location, free breakfast, clean rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Courtesy of people, they can speak a decent English and always there to help

Disliked: Good price/quality ratio however I would suggest it for a short staying (1/2 days) since rooms is quite tiny and hot - despite the AC.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kwon gihun

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2015 kwon would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is gudygudy. Especially, staff is veeeeery kind.

Disliked: a little dust

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tymber Redd

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2015 Tymber would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice atmosphere for meeting people and it was located right next to the sky train which made getting around really convient.

Disliked: It was difficult to find, originally.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the peacefulness of staying here compared to the party type hostels. This was my second time here in 2 years & it has all I want from a hostel really.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linawaty Harsono

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Linawaty would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location, near bts thong lo ,easy to go anywhere, easy to find local tasty foods along the street,friendly n helhelpful staff, nice bedroom, even in dorm still have a privacy with new gordyn, clean n a lot for bathroom n toilet, very recommended place to stay!

Disliked: Linawaty left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucy Munday

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 April 2014 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: The wooden tables and pictures are carved with in lays of thai jungle scenes.

Disliked: Other Travellers staying weren't very forthcoming unless you were staying in the same dorm. I think there were a few long termers which had an effect on it, but that's just my opinion. Don't let it put you off, it was still a pleasant, quiet and clean place that offered a bit of centrally located respite from the craziness outside.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has been renovated and is now excellent, quiet and safe, miles away from the rowdy or unsavoury side of Bangkok.

Disliked: Bring mosquito repellent

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast (toast and cereal), internet was good, location was great (right next to a light rail stop and many food stands at night), laundry available on roof top.

Disliked: They provide comforters (no top sheet) on the beds but don't wash the comforters between uses. If you're cold, you're forced to use the dirty blanket.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Communal areas are cleaned several times a day. I felt very safe here - the area is good, the street is well lit, and you have a card thing to let you in past reception. There's loads of street food closeby and the BTS within a few minutes walk to great transport links.

Disliked: All communal areas are outside which is not so good if mosquitos like to munch on you!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Next to a famous street food venue, close to Skytrain station and 7/11, nice rooftop balcony.

Disliked: No elevator, air con in dorm only on at night - fan rest of the day.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

HyeJong Lee

Alone

Relaxation/spa

01 February 2014 HyeJong would recommend this property

Liked: the view of high level single room

Disliked: no smile woman staff & too many mosquitos on the first(ground) floor

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michelle Suelzle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2014 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the atmosphere and the layout of the dorms. Bathrooms were fantastic, everything was really clean, roof top was gorgeous (if city skylines are your thing). Steps away from fantastic food and sky train.

Disliked: Mattress were hard, but you get used to it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the skytrain. Computers for internet use. Cheap drinks. Very nice rooftop.

Disliked: Smelly dorm.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ben Kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hidden hostel from noisy streets of BKK

Disliked: Well, no elevator so lots of stairs to the 5th floor for the single rooms and other types of rooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ondrej Komora

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Ondrej would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and quiet. place,with helpful staff, I'll probably stay again if I'm back in Bangkok

Disliked: slightly more expensive than other hostels of

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The simple (but free) breakfast provided each day was a bonus. The staff are friendly, there is an airy lounge area downstairs which opens out onto an ornamental garden and a roof terrace on top. The room was spotless.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ben Kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: The sunroof and many working western style toilets. Near the BTS.

Disliked: No elevator so it can be an issue for many.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2013

Liked: Location was close to the BTS and good street food

Disliked: Not one smile or helpful word upon check in. No information given for services and facilities. No kindness whatsoever. I asked for help lighting the gas stove and she got up from behind the desk (first and only time I saw her move from that spot), walked into the kitchen to get the lighter out of a drawer, lit the stove, through the lighter back in the drawer and left. All without a word or a smile. Anyone who thinks this place is great hasn't been to real hostels. The guests walk around like zombies because the atmosphere is so drab. There are teeny ants everywhere. I saw a ton on the bathroom sink over a period of two days. I finally just squirted some (totally watered down) soap on them to kill the ones that were crawling all over.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brittany Duffin

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2013 Brittany would recommend this property

Liked: This property has an awesome location. 2 minute walk away from an awesome night food market and the BTS SkyTrain. Very convenient.

Disliked: The room smelled a bit musty and the room was humid--had to crank up the A/C. The bed wasn't too comfortable but the location and low price made up for it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Remy Sautaux

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 December 2013 Remy would recommend this property

Liked: The best was the rooftop, worth the 5 stories of stairs

Disliked: Remy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marilyn Fox

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 November 2013 Marilyn would recommend this property

Liked: I loved it's location near the mass transit stations and food. I also loved the common areas for relaxing. They also loaned me a towel at no charge.

Disliked: The beds were a little hard

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lewis Jordan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 Lewis would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very secure with guests having swipe cards to enter the building. The room and shared bathrooms were very clean. There were lockers and facilities to do your own laundry. A lot of books to swap. The location of the hostel is great for seeing the sights as it is a 2 minute walk from a sky train station.

Disliked: Nothing.