HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ayutthaya Place Youth Hostel

Hostel | 7 Moo 2, Rojana Road, Hor-Rattanachai, Ayutthaya, Thailand 13000

83.4% Overall Rating

66 out of 76 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/07/2014)

Matthew Royal thinks…

"This place was pretty great. It was really close to where the bus from BKK lets people off. It was a quick walk to some of the ruins themselves and even closer to a bike rental place."

Read all Ayutthaya Place Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that HI Membership card cannot be applied for guests who book through the agency.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ayutthaya?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ayutthaya

Somjai Place Ayutthaya
5.16 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Krungsri River Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 4 star 73.1% 5 reviews
Thai House The riverfront
15.63 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
The Lima Place
7.82 USD

Hotel 3 star 61.3% 17 reviews
Banbua House One
6.25 USD

Guesthouse 88.3% 18 reviews
Banbua House Two
6.25 USD

Guesthouse 83.7% 59 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.4%

Overall Rating

66 out of 76 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ayutthaya Place Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 56 of 68 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Royal

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: This place was pretty great. It was really close to where the bus from BKK lets people off. It was a quick walk to some of the ruins themselves and even closer to a bike rental place.

Disliked: The front desk guy wasn't always at the desk but I guess that's not so bad. He was running everything himself.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, they are really helpfull and recommand things to do in the time that you have. Shower was warm, Nice and clean.

Disliked: There were a lot of couples (because of the double rooms we guess), we expected more people how also wanted to chill outside their room, but maybe it was just bad timing..

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sonja Arbasowsky

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 July 2014 Sonja would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff was very friendly and helpful! The athmosphere was warm and relaxing.

Disliked: Sonja left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable and quiet. Air con was great. Walking distance of the main wats. The guy running the place shows you which ones to go to on the map. I did the boat trip for 200bt in the evening. V worthwhile best bt of my stay.

Disliked: Lacking in atmosphere as mainly couples, sayin that I did meet people from the hostel when doing the boat trip.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely room, cosiestr I had in Thailand, lovely service, lovely please. Very, very pleasant!

Disliked: -

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not really close to anything but not sure any other lodging is in Ayutthaya. They rent scooters and you'll want to have one to see everything.

Disliked: Mosquitoes are murderous in town (not hostels fault of course), get bug spray for the evenings.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Jose Miguel Marbella

As a family with children

Family Holiday

19 February 2014 Jose Miguel would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the simplicity and serenity of the surroundings and the entire property itself. It doesn't look grand but it makes you comfortable enough to stay there.

Disliked: I disliked about the facilities, particularly the shower and the misplacement of electrical plug-ins. We only had one plug-in in our room last February 18 which is only reserved for the TV. Just outside our room's door are two more plug-ins high enough it was impossible to charge your electrical devices. You can only use those two plug-ins with an extension, which is very inconvenient. Also, the name of the place should be made a lot more simpler. Locals have trouble reading English letters and tourists are not familiar with Thai script at all. As a "see-immediately" hostel, name should be short and pronounceable by both locals and tourists alike, to avoid possible misunderstandings and resulting inconveniences like what happened to us when we are coming back from Chao Phrom Market. The songthaew driver didn't understood the name of the place, we even showed the printed name.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jakub Žitný

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2014 Jakub would recommend this property

Liked: We came quite late and the staff waited for us. They were really really nice and the rooms were big and we had breakfast, they called us tuktuks and gave us a map. The place is a little bit older, but for the price and our low needs it's amazing. They have everything you need - wifi, towel and bed.

Disliked: There is no place to lock your things, but they are always at the reception so you can leave the stuff there.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Caitlyn Crivelli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

07 December 2013 Caitlyn would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. 30 minute approx walk to train station (over highway bridge) or temple or markets. Free wi-fi.

Disliked: Limited English-speaking staff.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is dirt cheap, we paid 450B for a double room with air con.

Disliked: The bed was hard, the water in the bathroom sink did not work (we had to use the shower to wash our hands) and there was only one plug socket BUT you get what you pay for and like I said we paid practically nothing Basic, not very clean but for a night it certainly won't do you any long term damage!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Big bed, booked a boat tour through them and the bus to sukhothai. Bikes 50baht.

Disliked: Bed very hard

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ryan Wong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: For what you're paying, it isn't a bad place to stay. Accommodations are basic but clean as is breakfast. Staff are friendly and willing to help you book tickets to wherever you need to go. Lockers are provided to help keep yourself safe but you'll need to bring your own lock. Really you'd only stay here a night or two so everything is quite manageable.

Disliked: A lot of insects crawling and flying about with no mosquito nets. Mattresses are a little hard, you can feel the springs but its not impossible to sleep on.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eduard Gradenwitz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Eduard would recommend this property

Liked: Friedly, average English, good advice, free water, good matras (in room that normaly has A/C)

Disliked: Eduard left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anton De Greef

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2013 Anton would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place to stay! Nice location and the staf is friendly. There is a good terrace where you can relax. Close by there is a supermarket. You get 2 bottles of water per day for free. Would recommend this place

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was very friendly and helpful and one of them was speaking very good english. private room very cheap. not the greatest room ever but quite typical which was nice.

Disliked: the location is not the best (you need to walk a bit to get to the centre) but i prefered to stay a bit out of the centre though that being in the "guesthouses street" full of tourists.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its hard to find an inexpensive but cozy hostel in Thailand. This is one. The hostel has familiar athmosphere with friendly staff, sometimes a bit lazy, so ask for a Tuk Tuk five minutes before you need it (otherwise he will forget it).

Disliked: Its a little bit outside of the hotspots (night market and sights), 20min walk. But there is a bicycle rental 7min away (60B). For eating i recommend Matoy Cafe (from Hostel: turn right and go along the main street, 5min, on the right side), cheap and delicious with nice decorations.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

James Greenly

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for the price, we ended up staying a further night in a fan room for B350. Good wifi signal. Friendly staff. All in all, I would recommend. Free basic breakfast included too.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dacco Pham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012

Liked: Low rates. Near some small eateries & coffee shops.

Disliked: A lot of mosquitoes because of the small pond and shrubs at the property.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Anita Gerding

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2012

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Cosy atmosphere at the hostel. Free toast, coffee and tea in the morning.

Disliked: It is located in a dull area of the city, it was hard to find a nice restaurant.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No frills, good value for money, owners very helpful with requests for laundry/tuk tuks /boat trips. Location was good for the southeast corner of the island-nothing was that far away.. Free tea and toast for breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gianluca Medaglia

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Gianluca would recommend this property

Liked: The main hostel was full so they drove me to their second building, 500 mt away, run by an extremely kind and helpful woman. Spacious room, and I think wai the only guest that day.

Disliked: Gianluca left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marlou van Puffelen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2012 Marlou would recommend this property

Liked: the common room looked really nice and the beds were really comfortable

Disliked: nothing really...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were a good size and the common areas clean and orderly.

Disliked: Toilet paper and soap were not provided in the rooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Louise Tudge

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2012 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: It was pretty old and inkeeping with Ayutthaya itself. Guy on reception very helpful.

Disliked: not much to see and do in the immediate area and the tuk-tuks are a rip off!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice friendly staff.

Disliked: No comment