HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Zanzibar, Tanzania

98.4%
7 reviews Book Now 
1

Step In

Guesthouse
Kichakanjuki, Jambiani, Zanzibar, Tanzania P.O.B. 2690

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Step In

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 97% Safety - 100%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 97%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 26 February 2014

Great location and the staff were absolutely great. Lovely building, really good food. included breakfast was really tasty. Did not want to leave.

Lukáš Bíca
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday
97.1%
Lukáš would recommend this property 08 January 2014

STEP IN is totally peaceful place with a wonderful view of the sea, homely atmosphere and delicious food. Changing of low and high tide offers variation of activities - swimming or walking far away from the coast where are hidden beautiful reefs with fish. You can also watch and meet local people who live just in the neighbourhood. If you want some shops, lively bars and kiting you can walk to Paje - 6 km up the beach, but be careful with the changes of tides. Jambiani is not spoilt by tourism and local people are very friendly, we can highly recommend it :)

98.3%
5 reviews Book Now 
2

Fairytale Guesthouse

Guesthouse
., Zanzibar, Tanzania PO BOX 210

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Fairytale Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 96% Safety - 100%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
VANESSA GUEBELS
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday, Relaxation/spa
100.0%
VANESSA would recommend this property 08 August 2012

Family run house, very quiet. The owner is friendly and make you feel like at home. The terrasse on top is the best place to relax, drink a beer or read a book.

Marcin Soszynski
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation/spa, Romantic getaway
94.3%
Marcin would recommend this property 02 November 2010

I would recommend Fairytale villa in 100%. Chagua is very good manager, for whom everything is Hakuna Matata (no problem!). He also cooks very well and can arrange great tours around the island. It is perfect place to relax, sail, swimm, eat ect...I want to come back...now!:-))

98.0%
13 reviews Book Now 
3

Dudes Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Faco Villa, Jambiani, Zanzibar, Tanzania -

13 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Dudes Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 98% Facilities - 95% Safety - 98%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
Simon Mitchell
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering
100.0%
Simon would recommend this property 09 October 2013

Absolutely fantastic place to stay in Zanzibar. Dude and Hel were extremely welcoming, the room was great and the beds comfy, our bathroom was clean and the shower was really good by Tanzanian standards! To top it off Dude took us out in his boat to go snorkelling for a price much cheaper than you would have paid anywhere else. Can't recommend this place enough and will definitely be going back there

Pieterjan Backx
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Pieterjan would recommend this property 04 April 2013

Dudes is a great guy and a wonderfull host. Its a great place to stay . Jambiani is low key and very relaxing . We were very happy to stay here. Pj and bomi .

93.9%
24 reviews Book Now 
4

Imani Beach Villa

Apartment
Bububu, Zanzibar, Tanzania PO Box 3248

23 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Imani Beach Villa

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 100% Facilities - 91% Safety - 98%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 89%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 03 March 2013

Atmosphere, part of the community, grounds to relax, interesting beach area with lots going on in terms of local fishermen and meeting with people from the area. Hotel staff were very friendly, helpful and interesting to talk to. Lovely breakfast. Daily menu was a little limited.

Bart Hollanders
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Bart would recommend this property 03 August 2012

A little piece of heaven on earth... We stayed there for our final day before heading back to Dar. Coming from the much too touristic and crowded Kendwa up north, we were delighted to chill at Imani's. I loved having the local fishermen just outside of the property, and the tree top terrace offers the most beautiful view. Great food as well and great staff and management! Beautiful flowers and bougainvilliers! Asante sana!

90.7%
46 reviews Book Now 
5

ZenjiHotel

2 star Hotel
Malindi, Opposite Cine Afrique, nearby harbour, Stone Town, Zanzibar, Tanzania P.O. Box 661

43 out of 46 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend ZenjiHotel

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 96% Facilities - 90% Safety - 94%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 84%
Marie-Hélène Baye
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
77.1%
Marie-Hélène would recommend this property 21 January 2013

Endroit très bien situé tout près du marché et de la station d'Autobus. Boutique et resto dans l'hôtel. Très bon petit-dèj buffet sur le toit (cake marbré, jus frais, pain toast, ... )

Erin Basler
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
45.7%
23 September 2012

the breakfast was fine, the waiter was very nice. Housekeeper was very nice. There is hot water but the showerhead dribbles so water pressure is terrible. Air con works. More bad: The shower sprays water in the middle if the bathroom, making everything wet. The excursions are overpriced. The hotel itself is overpriced and a similar place directly across the street is $25 cheaper pee night! We went to other hotels to get price quotes and most hotels of the same caliber were $20-30 pwr night cheaper! Zenji is a rip off!! We stayed an additional night at a different hotel. We could not wait to leave. Also, there is an issue with the bill. We brought cash/dollars to pay the remainder after the hostel bookers deposit, but were told our credit card was already being charged. This created a lot of confusion with reception. I didn't want to pay cash AND have my card charged, but I didn't intend to be billed via credit card since I brought cash. Credit seemed the better option so I didn't get a double charge. I had a poor enough experience with the manager and reception that I would like a refund for this dreadful hotel experience!!! Undoubtably the Worst stay in Tanzania!

89.6%
24 reviews Book Now 
6

Jambo Guest House

Guesthouse
P.O.Box 635, Zanzibar, Tanzania 000

24 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Jambo Guest House

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 86% Facilities - 85% Safety - 91%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 90%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 10 August 2014

Very friendly and open staff, very helpful with any question ask, we´ve even been encouraged to ask as many questions as we can.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 10 July 2013

A very clean pleasant hostel, the beds are especially beautiful. It takes a while to learn stone town, so we got lost finding Jambo a lot. It's a little bit outside the main tourist drag, but still in the maize of alleyways.

89.0%
15 reviews Book Now 
7

Jambiani Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Jambiani, Zanzibar, Tanzania Postbox 210

15 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Jambiani Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 97% Staff - 94% Facilities - 84% Safety - 85%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 84%
Kath Moore
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Kath would recommend this property 23 February 2014

Jambiani guesthouse is ideally placed, right on the seafront in beautiful unspoilt Jambiani. Anna, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. This was the perfect place for us to relax and unwind after climbing Kilimanjaro.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Work / volunteering
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 26 August 2012

This place is fabulous! It's such a good value for the money. The common area is really nice to sit in and relax, and the front porch area is perfect. There is a hammock between the palm trees, and sunbathing beds and chairs to recline in and soak up the sun. The beach is out the front door, and is so beautiful. I've never seen water that is such a bright blue. The breakfast of fresh fruits and crepes was delicious and filling. I highly recommend this place, and that you visit Jambiani. It's a little slice of paradise.

88.6%
10 reviews Book Now 
8

Jambiani Villa Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Opporsite Abusons Store, literally next the postoffice, Zanzibar, Tanzania 000

10 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Jambiani Villa Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 94% Facilities - 76% Safety - 88%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 90%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 08 March 2013

We enjoyed the time very much. It felt like being in paradise. Amazing nature and beach, lovely house and garden. Friendly people, taking care of eveything. We really loved it! The pictures have been so nice but the reality has been amazing!!!!

Monika Sejbuk
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Monika would recommend this property 17 February 2013

Jambiani Villa Guesthous is the place I would wholehearteadly recommend to any traveler who is looking for a quiet and peaceful piece of paradise. First of all we would like to thank the helpful staff Dulla & Salame who made our staying an unforgetable experience and made us feel like at home. If you are one of those who likes to be woken up by the sound of the ocean far from noisy streets full of tourists and chaos, Jambiani Villa Guesthouse is the perfect place for you!!!

88.2%
66 reviews Book Now 
9

Mbuyuni Beach Village

2 star Hotel
Jambiani village, Jambiani, Zanzibar, Tanzania kasi

59 out of 66 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mbuyuni Beach Village

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 90% Facilities - 85% Safety - 88%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 92%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 02 June 2014

Beautiful location right on the beach, wonderful food reasonably priced so there wasn't any need to go anywhere else on the island if you didn't want to, very responsive, friendly staff, free wifi, spacious bungalow with the tropical feel we were looking for, swings, hammocks, and chairs all facing the beach, clean and inviting pool, super value for the money

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 28 April 2014

The sunrises were spectacular - seafood was fantastic crab, octopus, prawns etc in coconut or just dressed - huge portions- and definitely value for money! Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was friendly. Henna tattoos excellent And massages were pretty good. Trips are good value and affordable It was a fantastic 7 days - a nice cheap place with no fancy trimmings !!!

87.8%
97 reviews Book Now 
10

Princess Salme Inn B&B Hotel

Guesthouse
Mizingani Road, Malindi, Opposite The New Fish Market &, Harbour, P.O Box 2310, Zanzibar, Tanzania 255

85 out of 97 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Princess Salme Inn B&B Hotel

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 96% Facilities - 88% Safety - 90%
Location - 79% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 89%
Customer review
Alone
Work / volunteering
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 30 August 2014

The staff were incredibly helpful and accommodating. I had to leave very early on my last morning to catch my flight home and they provided me with a packed breakfast.

Duncan Berry
With my spouse / partner
City break, Sightseeing & culture
74.3%
Duncan would recommend this property 19 June 2014

Reasonably convenient. Staff tried to be helpful, but were not always able to answer question that we would have expected them to be able to answer. Room was spacious with fan and aircon and the bathroom was adequate with hot water always being available. A driver was available when required. TV, beer and water were available in the roof restaurant. WiFi worked well in that area though not in the bedroom.

Zanzibar

37 Hostels from 16.33 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Zanzibar hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Zanzibar. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.