HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Zanzibar, Tanzania

Dudes Guesthouse 98%

1. Dudes Guesthouse

Guesthouse
box 210, Jambiani, Zanzibar, Jambiani

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 100%

Facilities 96%

Location 96%

Safety 98%

Staff 98%

Value 100%

11 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Dudes Guesthouse

15 Sep 2013 100%

Absolutely fantastic place to stay in Zanzibar. Dude and Hel were extremely welcoming, the room was great and the beds comfy, our bathroom was clean and the shower was really good by Tanzanian standards! To top it off Dude took us out in his boat to go snorkelling for a price much cheaper than you would have paid anywhere else. Can't recommend this place enough and will definitely be going back there

would recommend this property

01 Apr 2013 100%

Dudes is a great guy and a wonderfull host. Its a great place to stay . Jambiani is low key and very relaxing . We were very happy to stay here. Pj and bomi .

would recommend this property

Read all Dudes Guesthouse reviews
Imani Beach Lodge 97%

2. Imani Beach Lodge

Hostel
p.o.box 3248

Atmosphere 100%

Cleanliness 100%

Facilities 100%

Location 90%

Safety 97%

Staff 100%

Value 97%

6 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Imani Beach Lodge

18 Feb 2013 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

Atmosphere, part of the community, grounds to relax, interesting beach area with lots going on in terms of local fishermen and meeting with people from the area. Hotel staff were very friendly, helpful and interesting to talk to. Lovely breakfast. Daily menu was a little limited.

would recommend this property

31 Jul 2012 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

A little piece of heaven on earth... We stayed there for our final day before heading back to Dar. Coming from the much too touristic and crowded Kendwa up north, we were delighted to chill at Imani's. I loved having the local fishermen just outside of the property, and the tree top terrace offers the most beautiful view. Great food as well and great staff and management! Beautiful flowers and bougainvilliers! Asante sana!

would recommend this property

Read all Imani Beach Lodge reviews
Jambiani Guesthouse 95%

3. Jambiani Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Jambiani

Atmosphere 100%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 85%

Location 100%

Safety 90%

Staff 95%

Value 95%

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Jambiani Guesthouse

16 Feb 2014 97%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Beach / sunbathing Sightseeing & culture

Jambiani guesthouse is ideally placed, right on the seafront in beautiful unspoilt Jambiani. Anna, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. This was the perfect place for us to relax and unwind after climbing Kilimanjaro.

would recommend this property

11 Aug 2012 97%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Beach / sunbathing Work / volunteering

This place is fabulous! It's such a good value for the money. The common area is really nice to sit in and relax, and the front porch area is perfect. There is a hammock between the palm trees, and sunbathing beds and chairs to recline in and soak up the sun. The beach is out the front door, and is so beautiful. I've never seen water that is such a bright blue. The breakfast of fresh fruits and crepes was delicious and filling. I highly recommend this place, and that you visit Jambiani. It's a little slice of paradise.

would recommend this property

Read all Jambiani Guesthouse reviews
Coral Rock Hotel 90%

4. Coral Rock Hotel

Hotel
Jambiani, Zanzibar

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 70%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

4 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Coral Rock Hotel

21 Mar 2013 86%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Beach / sunbathing

Awesome location directly at the ocean, nice rooms, really good food, friendly and helpful staff.

would recommend this property

09 Feb 2013 94%

Location, staff, beach

would recommend this property

Read all Coral Rock Hotel reviews
Warere Town House 87%

5. Warere Town House

Hotel
Stone Town, Zanzibar

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 81%

Location 78%

Safety 92%

Staff 96%

Value 86%

62 out of 65 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Warere Town House

16 Feb 2015 77%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Beach / sunbathing Sightseeing & culture

Walking distance to the DAR ferry in a quiet location.Old historic house with some boutique features.Nice restaurant rooftop terrace.

would recommend this property

29 Aug 2014 94%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Very charming building, great staff and great views from the roof restaurant.

would recommend this property

Read all Warere Town House reviews
Princess Salme Inn 86%

6. Princess Salme Inn

Hotel
Mizingani Road, Malindi, Opposite New Fish Market, Opposite Harbour

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 86%

Location 80%

Safety 89%

Staff 95%

Value 88%

35 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Princess Salme Inn

15 Jan 2015 97%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Beach / sunbathing City break Relaxation / spa Romantic getaway Sightseeing & culture

The staff were absolutely amazing and took care of us the moment we walked in. The breakfast is outstanding, with eggs made to order. The rooms are spacious and clean. We really enjoyed our stay.

would recommend this property

23 Aug 2014 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Work / volunteering

The staff were incredibly helpful and accommodating. I had to leave very early on my last morning to catch my flight home and they provided me with a packed breakfast.

would recommend this property

Read all Princess Salme Inn reviews
Tanzanite Beach Resort 85%

7. Tanzanite Beach Resort

Hotel
nungwi

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 73%

Location 71%

Safety 89%

Staff 96%

Value 76%

8 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tanzanite Beach Resort

04 Oct 2015 94%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Beach / sunbathing Romantic getaway Sightseeing & culture

Beautiful setting & location, great facilities, friendly & helpful staff, very clean & comfortable accommodation, great breakfasts.

would recommend this property

07 Oct 2013 100%

The hotel atomosphere feels like something from a postcard! It is a quiet location right on the beautiful beach and is a close beachside walk over to plenty of activities (diving, snorkeling, restraurants, small shops, etc. the food at the hotel is wonderful and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and the whole environment is relaxing. This is a great value for the price! If the tide is up after dark then the beach won't be accessible, so it would probably safest to use a vehicle to go outside the hotel. Ovrerall it's a quiet peace of beach paradise that I would gladly visit again. Thank you Tanzanite!

would recommend this property

Read all Tanzanite Beach Resort reviews
Zanzibar Dorm Lodge (222 Hurumzi) 78%

8. Zanzibar Dorm Lodge (222 Hurumzi)

Guesthouse
222 Hurumzi St, Opposite 236 Hurumzi Hotel, Stone Town

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 67%

Location 96%

Safety 87%

Staff 71%

Value 78%

8 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Zanzibar Dorm Lodge (222 Hurumzi)

29 Sep 2015 60%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

location

would recommend this property

28 Jul 2015 83%
Travel Type: As a family with children
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

the staff was very friendlythe location is perfectrooftop terrace has a great view and breeseshower was OKwe had the 5 beds dorm, lots of space

would recommend this property

Read all Zanzibar Dorm Lodge (222 Hurumzi) reviews
Tamarind Beach Hotel 78%

9. Tamarind Beach Hotel

Hotel
Box 2206

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 67%

Location 93%

Safety 82%

Staff 84%

Value 71%

8 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tamarind Beach Hotel

04 May 2015 71%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

The beach is very good for swimming, no rocks/stones, only sand. And located in a non touristy place so no one bothers you.The swimming pool is good because in the morning you can't really swim in the sea due to low tide.The local food in the restaurant is excellent!

would recommend this property

22 Aug 2014 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Visiting friends or family

My 3rd time at Tamarind, really love it here. The best thing has to be the beach, you can swim all day and there are very few tourists. The rooms are big with huge beds and cleaned daily.

would recommend this property

Read all Tamarind Beach Hotel reviews
Zanzibar Lodge 73%

10. Zanzibar Lodge

Guesthouse
Mkunazini street, Stone Town

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 64%

Location 78%

Safety 72%

Staff 82%

Value 75%

14 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Zanzibar Lodge

01 Jan 2015 74%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

They had spacious rooms with ensuite. The best thing about the place is the location. Very close to the ferry, shopping, markets and beach.

would recommend this property

02 Sep 2014 26%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture

Nothing

Read all Zanzibar Lodge reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zanzibar?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Zanzibar hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Zanzibar. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Zanzibar

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Zanzibar. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!