We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Zanzibar lodge

Guesthouse | Mkunazini street, Zanzibar, Tanzania 1405

73.1% Overall Rating

12 out of 19 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/05/2013)

Jake D'Amato thinks…

"It is situated in the heart of stone town which is good and close to everything, but extremely hard to find."

Read all Zanzibar lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Infant bed

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zanzibar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Zanzibar

Funguni Palace Hotel
22.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 67.9% 8 reviews
Warere Town House
30.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 63 reviews
Zanzibar Dorm Lodge ( 222 Hurumzi )
18.00 USD

Guesthouse 80.0% 5 reviews
Crazy Mzungo's, on the beach in Zanzibar
32.29 USD

Hostel 80.7% 4 reviews
Visitors Inn Hotel
38.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Zanzibar Stone Town Lodge
25.00 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Beyt Al Salaam
82.50 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Princess Salme Inn B&B Hotel
22.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 97 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.1%

Overall Rating

12 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Zanzibar lodge'

Atmosphere
65.3%
Location
75.8%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
77.9%
Staff
83.2%
Value
74.7%
Safety
71.6%
Refine your results Showing 19 of 19 reviews
Reset filter
25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Sheets and towel were dirty, plig hanging off the wall.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds

Disliked: difficult to find the lodge

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owners and neighbors. In the hub of Stonetown.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jake D'Amato

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2013

Liked: It is situated in the heart of stone town which is good and close to everything, but extremely hard to find.

Disliked: The place has no address, and no sign out the front, which in stone town can be a big hassle. I was told I could book things through them, but no one is ever there. Seems like you have to adjust to the times they want to be available. Wanted to go to northern zanzibar, so i told them, and they still made me pay for a night that i didnt spend there. They claimed someone else could have booked the room, but i was the only resident.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Worst plase I ever stayed.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

27 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy location in the middle of Stone Town. When the toilet in the room did not work, the stay was discounted and we were able to use the toilet in the hall. The hotel staff was very accommodating with the early breakfast requested to eat before the half marathon.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2012

Liked: clean nice room

Disliked: location. not possible to find it (for the local taxi driver)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Patrick McGowan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2012

Liked: The location and the air conditioning.

Disliked: The price, the breakfast, the internet access was the owner's laptop while she was there. She often left by 11am. The owner was nice, but I felt conned by the website.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2012

Liked: We had someone meet us and offer to take us somewhere for dinner which was lovely. When Tausi arrived in the morning, she was helpful and organised us a cab and tour guide (which was not free as advertised).

Disliked: the toilet was clogged and overflowed sewage, there is no sink, no internet access, no travel desk, no 24hr desk, no free tour, no hot shower... Which is all fine, if it wasnt advertised as provided. Towel was dirty. We had no bedding. Just one sheet. So we just layed in down on the bed and slept on top. No pillow cases.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sif Steingrímsdóttir

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2012 Sif would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay at Zanzibar lodge was supurb and we loved every second of it. It was the best value for money we have had in Africa so far. The staff and especially the owner are even more helpful than normally at good hotels, and really cares about the guests comfort and wellbeing. The hotel is very well situated and the staff will give you all the information you need about Zanzibar. We will defenately stay at Zanzibar lodge next time we go to Zanzibar... which we love by the way.

Disliked: Sif left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

tugce ertan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012

Liked: close to dala dalas.

Disliked: they state that they have internet access in public areas but they don't, they say 24 hour reception but they only come in the morning, photos are ok but there were no sinks in the hostel!! And also they stated that they have free city tour but there is no such thing, only there is a guy to give you directions if you ask for it. We also had a lot of cockroaches in our room. Also, at nights it doesn't feel safe at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to stonetown port

Disliked: when we arrived it was hard to tell if it was indeed zanzibar lodge (no sign visible anywhere). However, during our stay this was remedied so this should not be a "problem" for other travelers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donata Schwaller

With my spouse / partner

City break
Work / volunteering

25 September 2012 Donata would recommend this property

Liked: in the heart of Stone Town and very close to the dala dala station

Disliked: in the morning the city "wake up" early, could be a bit noisy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, Tausi, is extremely helpful and always happy to show you around the area, book tours, and give advice to travellers. Ali, who works there, was also always prepared to give up huge amounts of his time to help, such as coming out with us on the first evening to show us various places to eat, and then to a hidden rooftop bar. We stayed in a private air-conditioned double which was very comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious every day.

Disliked: As others have said, a little difficult to find, but since Ali collected us from the ferry port, this was not a huge problem.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Karl Bezak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 July 2012 Karl would recommend this property

Liked: Central Location and price. The owner was amazing and helped me to set up my phone and internet modem.

Disliked: No sink in the room, no separate shower.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dino Norrman

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2012 Dino would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was service-minded, the location was central and the price was good.

Disliked: A bit difficult to find.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner Mrs Tausi is a wonderful charismatic person - she really will do her best to make your stay as pleasant and unproblematic as possible. The first night we stayed the lodge provided a guide who showed us around in the city. The place is conveniently located near the Darajani Market. Rooms and common room are basic with hot showers but very clean and the breakfast is lovely.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the Zanzibar Lodge, it was right in the middle of stone town near the markets. It was very basic but clean and friendly so you got value for money.

Disliked: Because it was in the middle of stone town it was difficult to find until you got to know the area. Would strongly recommend transer to the lodge on arrival.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a rustic, homely feel. The staff were very friendly and really accommodating...helping me to explore Stone Town too.

Disliked: I found it a bit tricky to find.

The property's response is...