HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Zanzibar Lodge Guesthouse

Mkunazini street, Stone Town, Zanzibar, Tanzania

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 64%

Location 78%

Safety 72%

Staff 82%

Value 75%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Ceiling fan
  • Free City Maps
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 10.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 10:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zanzibar?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 64%

Location 78%

Safety 72%

Staff 82%

Value 75%

Showing 1-3 of 3 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: They had spacious rooms with ensuite. The best thing about the place is the location. Very close to the ferry, shopping, markets and beach.

Disliked: The atmosphere was not the best and the staff were ok but not overly helpful. It also had no internet access. It was a little overpriced for what it is.

Customer would recommend this property

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Sheets and towel were dirty, plig hanging off the wall.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The beds

Disliked: difficult to find the lodge

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Very friendly owners and neighbors. In the hub of Stonetown.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is situated in the heart of stone town which is good and close to everything, but extremely hard to find.

Disliked: The place has no address, and no sign out the front, which in stone town can be a big hassle. I was told I could book things through them, but no one is ever there. Seems like you have to adjust to the times they want to be available. Wanted to go to northern zanzibar, so i told them, and they still made me pay for a night that i didnt spend there. They claimed someone else could have booked the room, but i was the only resident.

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Worst plase I ever stayed.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Easy location in the middle of Stone Town. When the toilet in the room did not work, the stay was discounted and we were able to use the toilet in the hall. The hotel staff was very accommodating with the early breakfast requested to eat before the half marathon.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: clean nice room

Disliked: location. not possible to find it (for the local taxi driver)

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location and the air conditioning.

Disliked: The price, the breakfast, the internet access was the owner's laptop while she was there. She often left by 11am. The owner was nice, but I felt conned by the website.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We had someone meet us and offer to take us somewhere for dinner which was lovely.When Tausi arrived in the morning, she was helpful and organised us a cab and tour guide (which was not free as advertised).

Disliked: the toilet was clogged and overflowed sewage, there is no sink, no internet access, no travel desk, no 24hr desk, no free tour, no hot shower... Which is all fine, if it wasnt advertised as provided.Towel was dirty. We had no bedding. Just one sheet. So we just layed in down on the bed and slept on top. No pillow cases.

Check Availability