HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Warere Town House

Guesthouse | Behind Cine Afrique, Malindi, Stone Town Zanzibar, Tanzania +255 (0) 782234564

87.9% Overall Rating

57 out of 59 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

"Staff are absolutely lovely; so friendly and helpful. And the property is fabulous value for money and well located. Very, very much enjoyed our stay."

Read all Warere Town House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Cot / crib
  • Infant bed

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zanzibar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Zanzibar

Funguni Palace Hotel
22.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 68.6% 7 reviews
Zanzibar lodge
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 76.0% 17 reviews
Zanzibar Dorm Lodge ( 222 Hurumzi )
18.00 USD

Guesthouse 80.0% 5 reviews
Crazy Mzungo's, on the beach in Zanzibar
23.54 USD

Hostel 81.0% 3 reviews
Zanzibar Stone Town Lodge
25.00 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Visitors Inn Hotel
38.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Beyt Al Salaam
82.50 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Princess Salme Inn B&B Hotel
22.50 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 95 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

57 out of 59 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Warere Town House'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
95.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 43 of 58 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are absolutely lovely; so friendly and helpful. And the property is fabulous value for money and well located. Very, very much enjoyed our stay.

Disliked: Nothing.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

03 June 2014

Liked: Good room, helpful staff.

Disliked: Getting to and from the rest of Stone Town after dark means walking along a badly lit road next to the port. I felt unsafe and was followed and/or hassled on multiple occasions (single european male).

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Morgan Rea

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 February 2014 Morgan would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was lovely! Patrick, the assistant manager was very welcoming and very helpful! Everyone was very accommodating and I felt safe leaving my bags at the hotel the day after my stay (after check out).

Disliked: The showers could have been a little bit more clean.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ekaterina Akopova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2014 Ekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: It's a bit creepy outside, especially for the first time, but it's ok. We didn't hear the noise of the port in the rooms, so it was ok. It's very nice and clean inside, the staff is really friendly and helping. They can arrange any tours or taxis or whatever you might need. They also provide a map of the city together with some advice and suggestions. They do serve their breakfast on the roof and we enjoyed it. Btw, everything here comes with ginger, the welcoming lemon juice, the tea, even the soap in the shower. So if you don't like ginger that might be a problem!

Disliked: Wi-fi wasn't working very good.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alice Mahon

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Fairly good location, just ignore the entrance to the property when you arrive. Once you get past the main docks area you very close to the main heart of Stone town. Simple rooms, if you are after a cheap place to crash this is great. Nice friendly staff. The roof terrace is ok for having a few beers and a nice place for breakfast too.

Disliked: The single rooms are small and quite dark, so don't expect to spend much time there! We had trouble paying by credit card. The machine would not connect.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

10 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely building in a good location

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, Simple and well managed

Disliked: Bathroom too little

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isaac Hooley

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

10 August 2013 Isaac would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the rooftop terrace where we ate breakfast! It's a short walk to all the main sites.

Disliked: It was a bit hidden but our taxi driver knew how to find it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mette Fruergard-Jensen

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

15 July 2013 Mette would recommend this property

Liked: We had only booked 1 night but stayed 3. We liked everything from the helpful staff to the nice terrace on the roof.

Disliked: Mette left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: liked the personnel. Very helpful and friendly

Disliked: rooms too small to sit and talk. No lounge area to site and talk or play cards. could have gone to roof top, but too many steps for mum and dad. Would suggest an area on the ground floor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and clean.

Disliked: The terrace is not as great as the property describes it. The hotel was undergoing renovations so the entrance, etc, was a little messy and dusty.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christoph Mandlmeier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2013 Christoph would recommend this property

Liked: nice and friendly staff- clean and comfortable location- near to the port. Food and drinks excellent.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice house and friendly staff,roof top very nice

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jacques Viljoen

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

04 January 2013 Jacques would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpfull staff

Disliked: Close to the harbour

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff.

Disliked: None.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Buchtela

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 December 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: We've stayed 2 nights at Warere town house and it was a lucky pick. Location is close to harbour, but still you can easily walk to all main Stone town attractions. At the first moment when we arrived, we were stunned by gray shabby building on the noisy smelly street with the Warere town house sign on it. Luckily it quickly emerged that the hotel is in the courtyard behind this building and is much nicer :) All house is decorated in a very nice traditional style. Rooms are clean and the rooftop terrace is great. For this price you can hardly find a better place in Stone town.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great service and excellent value for money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Traditional decor and charm. Friendly staff Location is very close to ferry,l good for easy walk to market and walk to Gardens/Park, tourist areas, island trips etc. Safe After checkout shower/towel are available if you have a later flight. Internet avaiulable Nice soap Parking nearby

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YUELI NI

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 YUELI would recommend this property

Liked: Although the room is not big, it's very clean and has a small balcony. We can use the free Wi-Fi in the hotel. On the roof, there is a comfortable restaurant where we can see the sea. During those 2 nights, the boss's Italian friend served us. He's a very interesting and warm-heated man. Only 5 minutes we can walk to the bank of the sea. Very convenient. Staying here just likes at home. Very impressive!

Disliked: The hot water in the bath room is not satisfied.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and helpful. The owner greeted me when I arrived, always addressed me by my name and without hesitation offered me his own office for internet access. All staff went out of their way to make sure I had everything I needed for a pleasant stay and organised all tours and taxis with efficiency.

Disliked: Slightly out of the center and I felt a little unsure walking back in the evening alone but taxis are readily available and very reasonable.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lawrence Jones

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Lawrence would recommend this property

Liked: Compared to some places that charge similar amounts this place is a real gem. A great breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff. The room was clean and with some nice little touches.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike. They don't have a generator so if there is a power cut the rooms can get a little hot!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value, friendly staff

Disliked: Maybe breakfast could be a bit better

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna SasBojarska

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 September 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect - houses with a view at the beach (you can see ocean laying on your bad!), breakfast at the terrace is good beginng of the day. No lunch at Warere, but many restaurants around. The owner very friendly and helpful. It is paradise there, highly recommend.

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is in a charming old building which is well-maintained and very nicely equipped.

Disliked: The rooms are very small and lack furniture to unpack and store one's belongings.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms and staff, very helpful whenever asked.

Disliked: Although assured about safety of stone town, sometimes not fully comfortable walking home in dark. Would have been worse if alone.