HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Safari Inn Ltd

Hostel | Band Street, Off Libya Street, City Centre, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania 21113

64.9% Overall Rating

21 out of 28 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/08/2014)

"Cheap. Bookable online. Shower and toilet worked in my room. It's very hard to find budget accommodation in Dar, particularly if you're travelling alone, so on that basis I'd have to recommend it, still it's only barely…"

Read all Safari Inn Ltd reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 20.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dar es Salaam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dar es Salaam

Tanzanite Executive suites
41.46 USD

Apartment 92.4% 6 reviews
Juba Hotel
12.50 USD

Hotel 63.5% 24 reviews
New Bondeni Hotel
23.00 USD

Hotel 65.3% 7 reviews
Pumzika hotel
17.58 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Transit Motel Ukonga
20.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Uplands Centre Hostel
17.50 USD

Hostel 69.8% 19 reviews
Eazy's Place
7.03 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Transit Motel Airport
23.50 USD

Hotel 68.4% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.9%

Overall Rating

21 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Safari Inn Ltd'

Atmosphere
53.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
68.8%
Value
73.6%
Safety
65.6%
Refine your results Showing 18 of 24 reviews
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap. Bookable online. Shower and toilet worked in my room. It's very hard to find budget accommodation in Dar, particularly if you're travelling alone, so on that basis I'd have to recommend it, still it's only barely worth it.

Disliked: Dingy, decrepit, staff were not very friendly. Breakfast was not very good. I wasn't convinced I wouldn't be robbed ( the signs on the back of the door of my room urging me not to trust the staff were particularly off putting). The rooms are pretty oven like, be prepared to have the loud ceiling fan on all night. The room I was in had high windows into the corridor, so the room was bright all night from the light outside. The hotel is muslim operated so there's no drink allowed and obviously no bar.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014

Liked: They have hot showers, mosquito nets, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: They had recently painted the wall with no signs letting people know and one of the workers was carrying my friends bag and brushed up against the wall getting paint on the bag. I think the place is lacking a lot of character. The rooms smelled strong of mold and mildew. . The breakfast was lacking a bit as well.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is hard to beat, right in the center of town and easy to find from the ferry. Rooms are decently clean and the staff are fairly helpful. Good value for the money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2012

Liked: -Price -close to the Ferry -located in a backyard, not directly at the main street

Disliked: -I found an empty medicine package of Malaria-tablets and several water bottles on the table. -loud noise of the generator from the neighbouring house, when electricity is gone (blackout). -i felt not safe in my room -no mosquito net over the bed

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

22 August 2012

Liked: Very convenient to get the Ferry.

Disliked: Cockroaches in the room. No mosquito nets. No towels. Damp in the bathroom, and we saw a rat in the corridor

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jayanraj Polekar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 Jayanraj would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap.

Disliked: Prostitution is almost official in this hostel. Staff is non-smiling.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room and nice shower.

Disliked: Not really friendly.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ordina de Raad

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2012 Ordina would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was typical for Africa

Disliked: It was OK, Clean and comfortable

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Conrad Okonga

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2012 Conrad would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was so good and the place is located within the reach of many ideal places. Eating out is fun within the location of the property and the security within the environment is nice.

Disliked: The absece of elevator within the property makes it hard for some one to get up to 4th floor on steps especially if you are not used to doing exercises or when you have some heavy bags to carry.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basic hostel. No frills but good enough to stay one night in before flying out. Clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room with ensuite bathroom was fine.

Disliked: You had to put up the mosquito net yourself which did not fit over the bed. A lot of noise during the night from other travellers (group of students). Staff only helped after several inquiries.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dariusz Weber

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2011 Dariusz would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is helpful and does not expect tip which is quite annoying in this country.

Disliked: Rooms and especially bathrooms could be better equipped. eg basin taps, flushing, and similar details. But overall not bad.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011

Liked: close to town centre and only a short taxi ride from ferry terminal for zanzibar

Disliked: No mosquito nets and no where to hang your own net. Quite dark and dingy not terribly clean, few cockroaches running around.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Roisin Borrill

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2011 Roisin would recommend this property

Liked: Safari Inn is a great place to rest your head when travelling through Dar Es Salaam. Although it is evidently not a 5* hotel, but if you are just looking for somewhere cheap, clean and with helpful staff then this is definitely the place. Also another positive is the amazing hot shower I had while staying here, best one I've experienced in East Africa! The location is also near a really nice restaurant called Chef's pride and although it isn't exactly scenic surroundings Safari Inn is safe with gates and guards. I ended up spending 3 nights here when I was coming and going from Dar and would recommend it to a friend.

Disliked: You may have to bug them a little bit to provide a mosquito net for you as sometimes there aren't enough but that is my only real complaint!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, basic, decenbt location, near restayrants - everything you need in a budget hostel

Disliked: i thought it was fine. breakfast was a bit stingy as you got bread and fruit and then had to pay for eggs - but still less than a pound

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

barry feijen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2010 barry would recommend this property

Liked: good rooms!

Disliked: you have to pay for your egg in the morning

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 June 2010

Liked: very good price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is conveniently located near good restaurants that are easy to walk to. Taxis are easy to get from the hostel street and the hostel is known by name by most drivers. The rooms are clean. Drinks and snack are available cheaply at reception.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.