We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Uplands Centre Hostel

Hostel | P. O. Box 72708, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania 72708

69.8% Overall Rating

14 out of 19 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/07/2013)

"Clean and very nice rooms. Very friendly staff, they arrange you taxi and they even kept our luggage for one week whilw we went in safari- for free."

Read all Uplands Centre Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Restaurant

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dar es Salaam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dar es Salaam

Pumzika hotel
17.46 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
New Bondeni Hotel
23.00 USD

Hotel 65.3% 7 reviews
Eazy's Place
6.98 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Transit Motel Ukonga
20.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Juba Hotel
12.50 USD

Hotel 63.5% 24 reviews
Safari Inn Ltd
12.50 USD

Hostel 65.9% 30 reviews
Tanzanite Executive suites
42.11 USD

Apartment 92.4% 6 reviews
Transit Motel Airport
25.00 USD

Hotel 70.5% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.8%

Overall Rating

14 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Uplands Centre Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.6%
Location
54.7%
Facilities
59.0%
Cleanliness
74.7%
Staff
83.2%
Value
67.4%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 13 of 13 reviews
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014

Liked: Staff was relatively helpful in some instances.

Disliked: We did not have running water and were not provided buckets of water until the final night of our 7 night stay after various attempts to remedy the situation. When attending the breakfast included in the price, staff portrayed poor attitude and acted annoyed that we wanted breakfast on multiple occasions.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

05 January 2014

Liked: Very clean. Nice breakfast.

Disliked: It is not on the campus of the University of Dar es Salaam - while the Google Map place it in the middle of the campus. No water in the first room. Then we moved to a second room - there was no toilet seat. It was replaced the next morning.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and very nice rooms. Very friendly staff, they arrange you taxi and they even kept our luggage for one week whilw we went in safari- for free.

Disliked: They are 10 minutes away from Ubungo bus station by taxi, where all the buses leaves. But if you would like to go to the centre of dar es saalam is far.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Aaron Smith

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing

20 August 2010

Liked: Very little...the only positive thing was the beer priced at around £1 a bottle...you had to drink plenty of it to make it through a night at this hotel...

Disliked: We arrived to find out no rooms had been booked for us, even though we had in person checked 3 weeks prior and asked for specific rooms...Which were not reserved...My internet booking did not exist even though I had the relevant documentation stating that I had booked...The staff were extremely unhelpful and very rude and showed little interest in our complaints around the above...The food was barely eadible and took around 2 hours to arrive, even though we spoke to the chef an hour prior to wanting to eat to give him an idea of what we wanted...further to this we were advised shortly after that none of the food we wanted was available...rice...fish...beef...and had to change our orders twice...I was advised there was no Kilimanjaro beer available, however there was another party of Germans who were readily supplied with this product from the bar...so this was a damn lie... The room itself was dangerous...I had to be rescued by a friend as the door would not unlock from the inside (great if there is a fire!!!), so I had to sleep with the dooor unlocked...The shower did not work and the toilet did not flush...this was the same in my other travelling companions rooms... After going to bed we were then awoken by a large party of Germans who thought it was acceptable to party into the night, nothing was done by the hotel staff to think about the other guests sleep and comfort and therefore we had to resort to shouting at them to be quiet... All three of us who stayed in the hotel shortly came up with dozens of bite marks...we slept under mozzie nets/used insect repellent and had hardly been bitten throughout our whole trip...I therefore believe that there was some sort of flea or dust mite in our beds... A thoroughly bad hotel, poorly run, which lacked any form of customer service and had standards applicable to a North Korean POW camp...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 March 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near to the University

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

15 January 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 November 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very peaceful and quiet..surrounded by by palm trees, coconuts and papayas.. very tropical and relaxing place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

TERRY MC SWEENEY

03 October 2007 TERRY would recommend this property

Liked: its away from the noise of the city. tv in the room. food is really good. staff freindly and helpful. hot water all day.

Disliked: TERRY left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 September 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very nice and helpful and friendly. It was a beautiful place and very secure.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 July 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly and helpful. (but it must be there quite seasons as there are very few backpackers staying there).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

15 January 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and calm atmosphere, good to rest, but far away from the city takes much driving time and cost.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

21 August 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its good and cool

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 August 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service from the always friendly and helpful staff. The location itself is beautiful and tranquil, an excellent getaway from the busy city centre but close enough to the university for internet access.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.