HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Arusha hostels

Reviews of Sakina campsite

Guesthouse | P.O Box 10321, Arusha, Tanzania 000

84.7% Overall Rating

28 out of 31 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2014)

Mikhail Bogatyrev thinks…

"Friendly staff. We came to Tanzania for safari and climbing Kilimanjaro. Robert from Rakina campsite is also director of tourist agency. He organized for us both trips and we are absolutly satisfied.…"

Read all Sakina campsite reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arusha?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Arusha

Kundayo Serviced Apartments
35.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Kundayo Serviced Apartments Lodge
50.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Meru Wellness Retreat
41.89 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
The Greenhouse
13.00 USD

Hostel 90.3% 5 reviews
Bongo Experience
11.64 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.7%

Overall Rating

28 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sakina campsite'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
66.4%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 22 of 27 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mikhail Bogatyrev

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2014 Mikhail would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. We came to Tanzania for safari and climbing Kilimanjaro. Robert from Rakina campsite is also director of tourist agency. He organized for us both trips and we are absolutly satisfied. It was value for money. Highly recommended!

Disliked: --

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Robert is a really nice guy, rare to find such a genuine person.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

samuel taiwo ibitoye

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 May 2013 samuel taiwo would recommend this property

Liked: clean and organized

Disliked: too much cold

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DAVID DRUKEN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

20 January 2013 DAVID would recommend this property

Liked: they realy take care of you

Disliked: DAVID left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

12 January 2013

Liked: They agreed to make us early breakfast on request.

Disliked: The room was very dirty and the mosquito-net was broken. The hostel was located far from centrum, next to a big road. The bathroom windows did not close and the doors were loud.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, Robert is very helpful with public transport and local restaurants, also they organized a safari for me before to arrive and everything worked perfectly. Public transport to arrive to Arusha passes by the camp all day long and is inexpensive.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bob Pancras

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2012 Bob would recommend this property

Liked: During our stay in Arusha to plan a safari and climbing Mt. Meru we've stayed at Sakina campsite. The staff at Sakina campsite was very helpfull in arranging the safari and Mt. Meru trip. It was also possible to have dinner at the site. And if there were not enough people to make dinner they arranged a place nearby where you could eat. Robert and Jennifer: Thanks for all the help en hospitality!!

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Lacanilao

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great place to stay if you are looking for something affordable and require assistance when planning a safari. Robert was very hospitable and made our stay enjoyable. They also offer a nice breakfast every morning. We were the only people staying there at the time, so it is hard to comment on the environment, and hostel is about a 10-15 minute drive to the city centre. In saying this, it is extremely cheap to take a cab into the city or catch a ride with Mike, the guy who sold us the tour.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: A bit far out and somewhat difficult to find.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kimberly Wood

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2012 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful adn the garden was beautiful.

Disliked: It is kind of far out of town. If you want a quiet place to relax, this is it. If you want a place to meet people have a good time, you may want to look elsewhere.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Stirling

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 December 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: robert was such an awesome host and helped with local transport and recommendations whilst in Arusha. Very secure campsite with full time security / perimeter wall nice breakfast and homey feel

Disliked: only one close food option for dinner, and because its a little bit out of town you may have to get a taxi around after dark

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to stay (especially if you want to be out of the city centre). It's only 15 min away by daladala and the manger is an excellent source of information and is exceedingly helpful. She has contacts with a local safari company that operated an excellent safari with a brilliant guide.

Disliked: Distance from town could be a problem for some people.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sasa Gumhalter

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2010 Sasa would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly staff

Disliked: Little out of town, but with matatu you need 10 min and it costs few cents...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

HASHMUKHLAL AMLIWALA

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

10 July 2010

Liked: staff were good and helpfull

Disliked: it can be a good place if they just painted the rooms and tidy up the place it was very dirty and shabby room with basic wardrobes and bare bathroom facilith with a very poor shower. they described ir as superior room - it was not .

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 January 2010

Liked: Die Wiese vor dem Haus, wo man sich hinlegen kann mit einem Buch

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

neil scott

09 January 2010 neil would recommend this property

Liked: It has pleasent gardens and a good comunity atmosphere. The staff were all very friendly and helpful

Disliked: neil left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Allan Wickens

30 August 2009 Allan would recommend this property

Liked: Although out of town a bit this is an advantage as the place is nice and quiet. Excellent and helpful staff. Great camping spot. They can arrange anything you want in the way of safari/trekking trips.

Disliked: Allan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlene Trestrail

20 July 2009 Charlene would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect! If you are on a budget and need a clean room, a good meal and helpful staff STAY HERE! Comfortable rooms, excellent security with a gate around the property and lockable cupboards in each room for your valuables. Only a short (and cheap) taxi ride from the centre of town, or public buses will pick you up outside the door. Large breakfast provided if you stay B&B. Lunch and dinner here are very reasonably priced and served in generous proportions. THE STAFF ARE FANTASTIC. Zipporah, the reservations manager, is quick to respond to email enquiries, and helped us find a reliable safari operator. We would have been lost without her advice on local ways - how to get to places, how much to pay for things. I spent 3 weeks in Tanzania and this was by far the best hostel we stayed at.

Disliked: Charlene left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

yves janssens

04 November 2008 yves would recommend this property

Liked: the profficionaletie en friedliness

Disliked: yves left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tanya Carr

18 October 2008 Tanya would recommend this property

Liked: We loved everything! Zipporah was super super helpful and made our vacation in Arusha our best experience in all our travels throughout Eastern Africa. The house was beautiful, security was top notch, and the staff was amazing. Just overall impressive, and mush more than what we hoped for.

Disliked: Tanya left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

30 September 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpfulness people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 September 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellant staff - very helpful! Hot showers, clean hostel, good food. The only downside is that it's a bit far from Arusha, but for 10.000tzh you can get a taxi to town (one way). This hostel provides airport pick up, free internet and great safari deals as well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Arusha hostels