HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Taipei hostels

Reviews of JV's Hostel

Hostel | 2F, No. 57, Aly. 50, Ln. 39, Tonghua St, Taipei, Taiwan 106

96.3% Overall Rating

112 out of 118 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

"I appreciated the availability and kindness of the staff, they help you with great advices."

Read all JV's Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Things to consider before booking: Mixed shower room, with individual shower booths Check-in after 10pm is only permitted if you stay more than 1 night – please note, we reserve the right to cancel any bookings which do not meet this requirement. Bookings for groups of 6 people or more, require a minimum booking of 2 nights – please note, we reserve the right to cancel any bookings which do not meet this requirement. Age limitations: 5 years – 45 years

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Taipei?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Taipei

Formosa101
19.24 USD

Hostel 98.6% 10 reviews
Green World Hostel
25.09 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Kiri's House - Taipei Bed & Breakfast Hostel
23.42 USD

Guesthouse 94.6% 17 reviews
Socket Hostel
16.73 USD

Hostel 96.0% 34 reviews
Three Little Birds
16.73 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Cat's Pajamas
16.06 USD

Hostel 65.1% 5 reviews
Banana Hostel
21.75 USD

Hostel 92.3% 48 reviews
TaipeiTaipei Hostel
20.74 USD

Apartment 92.7% 26 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.3%

Overall Rating

112 out of 118 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'JV's Hostel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
100.0%
Value
95.2%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 113 of 117 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing Hostel, amazing People, amazing Rice (Staff) !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I appreciated the availability and kindness of the staff, they help you with great advices.

Disliked: Watch it If you travel with heavy luggage, you gotta climb many stairs!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tatyana Shestopalova

Alone

City break

26 August 2014 Tatyana would recommend this property

Liked: I had such a fantastic time at JV's hostel. Rice and Ann at the front desk are simply the best. Not only did they help me figure out what to do in Taipei, but they also befriended me! The hostel is clean and has a great location. Would happily return!

Disliked: Tatyana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HUANG LEI

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 HUANG would recommend this property

Liked: It's a comfortable place to stay. Clean and safe, it is just like my own home. Thanks to the kind and helpful staff Mi, we had a great time in Taipei. The hostel is very close to Taipei 101. Traffic is convenient and the night market is around. Strongly recommended!

Disliked: HUANG left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is the best I have ever met in any hostel! They are extremely helpful. Even when they were busy they helped me and gave me wonderful tips on where to go and what to do. And it is a lot to do in the area of the hostel. I can stay here for work and be sure to sleep well, and when I have free time there are a bunch of activities and nightlife. Next time I'll go to Taipei I will be back! :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warmest welcome from staff, 小米!!!

Disliked: No window for the twin room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Fallon

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly. I have nothing bad to say about this hostel!

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is freindly.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachael Bone

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: Rice is a superstar! As soon as we arrived at the hostel she made us feel so welcome and even gave us an overview of the best places to go in Taipei. When one of my friends hurt herself on a door , Rice came to the rescue with a first aid kit and patched her up! Although the hostel is a little hard to find, it was well worth the stay. You are right next to the night market (cheap dinner) and the hostel is clean and well kept. Plus it's a great place to meet other travellers. Stay here! You know you want to!

Disliked: Nothing! Just that I couldn't stay longer..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Their English was perfect and they didn't make a fuss about deposites and check out times which was great because I had an early flight and no time for that stuff.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Riehle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Location is quite nice, next to a night market. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Water purifier available so you don't need to buy water bottles.

Disliked: A/C is turned off in the common room rather early. The idea is to keep people quiet but I think it's rather extreme.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

daniel montagner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

06 August 2014 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Jv's is the perfect place for a stay in Taipei. Clean and comfortable, with easy check out at noon and extremely friendly staff. Rice (competent and energetic Taiwanese) and Peter (funny and helpful Polish) will assist you in everything you need and help you to plan your stay in Taipei. Definitely recommend this great hostel!!!

Disliked: daniel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff--more than happy to suggest places to visit, go out or local food, reputation attracts fun and interesting international people, good community, clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

arianto arianto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014 arianto would recommend this property

Liked: it was great to stay in this hostel. just confused at the begining how to find the hostel. if you needs to change foreign currency just. go to the bank called megabank . it just a blok. from the hostel . justtin and rice are super friendly and help. thanks for everythings

Disliked: arianto left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noah Slater

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014 Noah would recommend this property

Liked: This is probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in. From the second I arrived, I was made to feel very welcome by Justin and Rice. These two are probably the coolest hostel staff I've ever met, and I feel like I've made two friends for life. The atmosphere here is amazingly friendly and safe. I wish I didn't have to check out.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere was good with much kind and nice staffs. The location was quite good but it's about 10 miins walk away from the air bus(if you are travelling straight from the airport). MRT is about 5-7mins away. Taipei 101 building is quite close from the hostel. Mostly atmosphere was wonderful.

Disliked: I gave "4" for the cleanliness cause there was a couple of hairs and some dusts on my blanket on my arrival

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Richard Lin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: V pleased. 35 pound for one night in private room. Good directions on website and easy to find

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ivan hemmerle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 ivan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is awesome, thank to justin for the staying

Disliked: ivan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Homely

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

JUNPEI TAMURA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2014 JUNPEI would recommend this property

Liked: Every staff there was very friendly and kind, but especially a girl called Kerry. She told me a lot interesting stuff about Taiwan. Just talking to local people like her and her friends was one of the best moment from the trip. If you go to Taipei and wanna have local authentic experience, this is the place to stay at!

Disliked: JUNPEI left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pete H

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014 Pete would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly (vegetarian) staff called Rice =) Helped me with finding the awesome choice in Taipei on my first day. Air conditioned dorm and common room. Extremely close to night market and very close to Taipei 101.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HAO CHENG

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 June 2014 HAO would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are really friendly!

Disliked: Not yet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: JV provides a decent place for all travelers. First of all, it is in a handy central location where is highly accessible via metro. Staff is very friendly and helpful of suggesting some great places to go. Room is clean and nicely decorated.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for price. Has washing machine in room. The lady who led us to the room was extremely friendly and provided tips on where to go for sightseeing; also provided a useful map of the local area. Walkable distance to MRT.

Disliked: There was no clothes dryer which made it difficult for clothes to dry as it is humid in Taipei. The shower in the washroom was not separate from the rest of the washroom (no curtains) which means the entire washroom gets wet after using the shower, making it difficult to keep clothes dry particularly as the area where you can keep clothes is directly under the shower head hanger. Other hooks in the washroom were all broken. It is walkable distance to the MRT but is still a 10-15 min walk. It is quite far if you are carrying heavy luggage or tired at the end of the day.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Senthil kumaran

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Senthil would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. As a seasoned traveler, I found it to have good value for money, and the staff working there were very friendly and knowledgeable about places to go and things to eat *A special shout out to Rice & Piotr who were exceptional* The atmosphere is very laid back, and the common room makes it possible to meet and chill out with your fellow travelers. The rooms and bathrooms are clean, which is always a plus. I would certainly recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Senthil left no negative feedback.


See all Taipei hostels