We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Taipei hostels

Reviews of JV's Hostel

Hostel | 2F, No. 57, Aly. 50, Ln. 39, Tonghua St, Taipei, Taiwan 106

94.3% Overall Rating

137 out of 143 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/03/2015)

Marina Visintini thinks…

"Staff was awesome, we stayed there while looking for a long term accommodation and after we left Jenny and Rice messages us to ask if everything was ok and needed any help. Both privates we stayed in…"

Read all JV's Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.97

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Things to consider before booking: Mixed shower room, with individual shower booths Check-in after 10pm is only permitted if you stay more than 1 night – please note, we reserve the right to cancel any bookings which do not meet this requirement. Bookings for groups of 6 people or more, require a minimum booking of 2 nights – please note, we reserve the right to cancel any bookings which do not meet this requirement. Age limitations: 5 years – 45 years

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Taipei?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Taipei

Formosa101
17.70 USD

Hostel 96.7% 19 reviews
Kiri's House - Taipei Bed & Breakfast Hostel
22.53 USD

Guesthouse 95.4% 20 reviews
Socket Hostel
20.92 USD

Hostel 95.0% 38 reviews
Three Little Birds
16.09 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Cat's Pajamas
15.45 USD

Hostel 65.1% 5 reviews
Banana Hostel
17.70 USD

Hostel 90.7% 52 reviews
Taipei Skyline
16.09 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Taipei Vanilla Hostel
12.87 USD

Hostel 83.8% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.3%

Overall Rating

137 out of 143 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'JV's Hostel'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
98.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 137 of 141 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, close to one of the many night markets.

Disliked: we were at the top floor and there was no bathroom on our floor so we had to go down all the time, which was a little bit annoying

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marina Visintini

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2015 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was awesome, we stayed there while looking for a long term accommodation and after we left Jenny and Rice messages us to ask if everything was ok and needed any help. Both privates we stayed in were located in another building from the reception and had a washing machine and a small space to dry your clothes. We went to the main building a couple of times and people were always hanging out in common spaces...the atmosphere was very friendly!

Disliked: We stayed in two private rooms. The first was a double, located on the ground floor and after the shower the air was a bit mouldy, but I guess it was because the overall climate of Taiwan. The room was always super clean. The second room was fine!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rizwan Mohammed

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 February 2015 Rizwan would recommend this property

Liked: The people were super friendly and helpful in every way. One of the workers, Jenny, was just great at making people feel comfortable. The owner Peter was so down to earth too. You could easily converse with these people. All in all a great place to stay and I will definitely stay there the next time I am in Taipei.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacob Marchewicz

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 February 2015 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: I was warmly received by a very cute member of staff called Rice who was very helpful and answered all my questions. The hostel is clean and the atmosphere is lively but not rowdy.

Disliked: Nothing. It's cheap, clean and in a great location.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lidya Natasia Putri

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2015 Lidya Natasia would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are really friendly and helpful. On the the first day you arrive at the hostel, the staffs will give a lot of useful information about Taipei such as the place you must visited, how to go there, how to using the public transportation in Taipei, how to go to the airport, etc. The location is also great, close with the station and taipei 101.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Niels Mueller-Wickop

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2015 Niels would recommend this property

Liked: - Nice, extremely helpful staff - Nice Atmosphere -

Disliked: - Room had a matrass only - Room was cold (ac not able to heat) - Matrass was extremely soft (far beyond European soft) - Room had no window and was smelly even with the vantilator they put in there - Kitchen has no spoons?

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hotels, nice location and nice staff. WIFI works well. I have no complaints. 2 minutes from the night market. 10 minutes to the next subway station, but that's okay. They also organize events sometimes. Like a day trip to the beach or something. I would come back.

Disliked: Do not book the dorm for girls. They accidentially put me in there when I got there. The room sucks. Very small and sark and only a vent and no AC when I was there. So it was hot in there. The other rooms are far better than this one. I'm glad they noticed they had put me in the wrong room! A little hard to find. I took the bus and you walk 15 minutes from the bus drop-off. And I got there late. Trying to navigate through the streets isn't fun at 10:30pm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zhern Yung Lai

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2015 Zhern Yung would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel with a convenient location and awesome staff especially Rice who personally walked me to the bus stop for the airport as I wasn't sure where it was. Definitely recommend this hostel to all!

Disliked: Zhern Yung left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yuka Emura

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2015 Yuka would recommend this property

Liked: Clean,good location and great staff. Rice(one of the staff)was so helpful.tell us what to do and where to go. She is amazing.We'll definitely choose this hostel again.

Disliked: Yuka left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannon Wylie

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2014 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: Rice is so lovely and helpful! The hostel is structured really nicely to make sure that you get to know others, and as a solo traveler I got to make lots of friends.

Disliked: Shannon left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

chrisanne goh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2014 chrisanne would recommend this property

Liked: One of their staff.i really need to praise Rice for helping me so much. At the first, when i was looking for hostel's location i got lost for 30 minutes. i called her, but i still not managed to get the hostel. In the end, she asked where was i, and she picked me up and guided me the way to get hostel. Then, she spent some time to introduce some famous places in Taiwan to me and brought me out of the hostel to get my "lunch",i reached hostel at 4pm and i haven't had my lunch yet.Last thing,she helped to wash my laundry and put into dryer because i wanted to use the washing machine in the early morning but it's not available, so she helped me when i was not around.but i never expect she would help me to fold my clothes, oh God!i am so speechless to her "customer services".

Disliked: bathroom too small.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ruben dam

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2014 ruben would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, Staff (Rice) is awesome!

Disliked: ruben left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cuong Huynh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2014 Cuong would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible staff. Feels like a home stay.

Disliked: A little up the hill.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michael Zheng

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great! Right next to a night market and very close to transport and the 101.

Disliked: Room we got was a bit old and didn't have good ventilation. My partner stayed there for a whole week and she had trouble sleeping.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Teo Bernard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2014 Teo would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Tong Hua night market. extremely friendly and helpful property owner. within walking distance to the MRT.

Disliked: Teo left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HIROKI OKUBO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2014 HIROKI would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel's staff was very kind and taking care of me.They helped my staying at hostel, the sightseeeing plan and so on. Though at this time I had a alone travel with staying hostel for the first time, I could have many great enjyable memories. If there is someone who will go alone travel in Taipei or wants to use hostel for saving their money, I recommend them to stay JV's hostel.

Disliked: Sometimes I had a lost on going back to hostel. lol

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and fun atmosphere! The staff at JV's were really friendly and approachable. Both the girls went out of their way to help my friends and I find places to eat, shop and visit. Rice even accompanied us to the airport bus stop! The hostel also has a homely feel, as it is remodelled from a typical Taiwanese old house.

Disliked: Stairs could be a bit tiring but it is good exercise nonetheless. Stay in the lower floors if you use a suitcase! Space can be a bit of a cramp as the building was built long ago, especially the toilets. But this is what average houses are like in Taipei! Airconditioning can be weak at times. but perfectly fine in other times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dustin Robinson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 September 2014 Dustin would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed in, and I've stayed in probably 30. Staff is awesome. Unlike most hostels, they are willing to be your friend and actually show you things around town rather than just tell you. Rice and Justin were extra helpful and May's city tour was interesting. Everything is very clean, common area is great to relax or meet others. A night market is right outside with food available almost anytime of the day. Definitely recommend this place.

Disliked: Dustin left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Whitlock

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2014 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really friendly and helpful, and there is helpful information around the hostel and on their handouts.

Disliked: The staff forgot to unlock the entrance telecom the day I had arrived, and left a phone number to call, unfortunately I had only just srrived in the country, and did not have a phone to use to call them, so I was left out in the heat after a long flight just waiting. I ended up waiting until a local helped me by calling them for them.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liz Peters

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Liz would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is ncredibly welcoming and friendly, and the hostel has a very happy atmosphere. The dorms are simple but clean and comfortable, and the hostel provides easy access to the Xinyi Anhe metro stop (7 mins walking). I had a great experience here!!

Disliked: Genuinely nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHU YUET CHANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2014 SHU YUET would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and friendly staff!

Disliked: SHU YUET left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MATCHIMA HUABKONG

Alone

Business / conference

09 September 2014 MATCHIMA would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly Very comfortable

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cista Rombout

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Cista would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was clean and cosy! A/C in the common room and dorms! Common room was a nice place to hang out, friendly people and a very good atmosphere! Especially the staff was really friendly and fun to hang out with. And always helpful! Thanks Rice for everything :) the hostel also organizes tours on saturday for the backpackers, which is fun and nice to get to know others staying there! I enjoyed staying at JV's a lot and will definitely come back.

Disliked: Cista left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing Hostel, amazing People, amazing Rice (Staff) !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Taipei hostels