HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Taipei hostels

Reviews of JV's Hostel

Hostel | 2F, No. 57, Aly. 50, Ln. 39, Tonghua St, Taipei, Taiwan 106

86.3% Overall Rating

77 out of 83 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"The staffs in the hostel are friendly and helpful. It takes about 10-min walk to the MRT station."

Read all JV's Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.99

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Things to consider before booking: Mixed shower room, with individual shower booths Check-in after 10pm is only permitted if you stay more than 1 night – please note, we reserve the right to cancel any bookings which do not meet this requirement. Bookings for groups of 6 people or more, require a minimum booking of 2 nights – please note, we reserve the right to cancel any bookings which do not meet this requirement. Age limitations: 5 years – 45 years

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Taipei?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Taipei

The Loft Hostel
24.81 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Kiri's House - Taipei Bed & Breakfast Hostel
23.16 USD

Guesthouse 93.9% 15 reviews
Socket Hostel
16.54 USD

Hostel 96.7% 27 reviews
The Cat's Pajamas
15.88 USD

Hostel 65.1% 5 reviews
Banana Hostel
21.50 USD

Hostel 94.5% 42 reviews
World Scholar House
14.89 USD

Hostel 79.5% 29 reviews
TaipeiTaipei Hostel
21.83 USD

Apartment 92.7% 26 reviews
Taipei Skyline
16.54 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.3%

Overall Rating

77 out of 83 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'JV's Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
89.6%
Value
90.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 77 of 81 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs in the hostel are friendly and helpful. It takes about 10-min walk to the MRT station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Smack in the the centre of a local morning and night market. The staff, Xiaomi was a fast and efficient worker who could suggest to you a day itinerary within a few minutes amidst her busy schedule.

Disliked: Like many places in Taipei, you are advised against throwing tissue paper into the toilet bowl.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Garinzafira Shabrina

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Garinzafira would recommend this property

Liked: i love the atmosphere of the hostel. every guest is so friendly and the staff is very very very helpful. Also, we can use the facilites for free! It is quite easy to find the place from the nearest MRT station, which is Xinyi Anhe station, it's just 5 minutes walk top. It is also very close to the night market, even when you get down from the hostel you'll directly find the food stall. So when you stay there you won't get starve.

Disliked: One thing i would recomend to be fixed is the direction written in the web by the staff. There's two tattoo parlours near the hostel and the parlour they mean in the direction is the SECOND parlour (named CIDAO TATTOO), not the first one.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

D F

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 March 2014 D would recommend this property

Liked: If you're looking to meet people, JV's hostel is a great way to do so - the friendliness of the staff and the setup of the place maximizes the social atmosphere potential. I came with four of my friends, and the first night we were there we had already met the wide variety of people staying there and went out with most of them. Of course, if you're a bit on the shy side there is always the solitude of the private room rather than the living room. Besides the social atmosphere, one other major thing I liked about this hostel was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. My friends and I worked with Rice, who immediately made us feel at home and welcome to the hostel. We arrived in the morning, and she took us out to breakfast, as well as discussed/showed us some pointers of the area. Another day, my friends and I had to temporarily leave early but our laundry was still in the wash. Rice told us she'd take care of it. When we returned, we were amazed that the clothes had all been dried and folded. Did I mention I traveled with four other guys?

Disliked: A bit difficult to find initially, but after Rice pointed out certain locations to look for it was quite easy to find.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHUN HEI LAI

Alone

City break

10 March 2014 CHUN HEI would recommend this property

Liked: Nicely decorated all over the hostel, neat room, shared bathroom is way cleaner than expected, with a warm common area, if you like to make some friends during your journey, please come ! The staff is very kind & helpful, nice night market right next, not really far from MRT station if you know the way, value for money, nth much you could complain about this hostel !

Disliked: CHUN HEI left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very near to the night market and MRT station is in walking distance. I had a room with a private bathroom which is not always available in guesthouses and hostels. It was very quiet and sometimes I slept too long because I thought it's too early to wake up. I didn't heare any noise from streets. The girl Rice, who is working there, she is just amazing person. She helped me with translation and draw my map full of sightseeing just in 10 minutes. She is the most helpful person I've met in last 6 month travel around Asia.

Disliked: Bit difficult to find at first time.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Howard Harrington

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2014 Howard would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful! Peter, Ann and the rest of the staff helped me with information about the city. = )

Disliked: Everything was good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Judith van Leeuwen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2014 Judith would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good, like 10 minutes from 101 and next to a nightmarket. The owner is very nice and helpfull, enough toilets and showersw, beds are nice too.

Disliked: It is very hard to find, you can't get here by taxi since it is in a small alley.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the night market

Disliked: hard to find. so small and packed

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, staff and the people that stay at this place are simply amazing. Since it is so central you have really no troubles getting around. The next metro station is less than 5 min away by foot. There is also a great night market next door that is famous for offering lots of delicious local food. Overall I can highly recommend staying at JV's hostel because it is the best value for money you can get in Taipei. In addition, the staff are the kindest group of people I have met in any hostel in my 10+ years of traveling the world! Two thumbs up!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed atmosphere and in a great location, very easy to get around the city. They provide a smallmap and some basic information about the city which is very helpful.

Disliked: Not super clean but fine just for sleeping.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: next to night market, very close to 101 Tower.

Disliked: no breakfast served, kitchenette very small. (however, very close to night market and to cafes, bars and Restaurants)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

john cunningham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2014 john would recommend this property

Liked: nice little place in a quiet location walking distance from several subway lines and 101. cool cinema screen, comfy beds.

Disliked: getting a hot shower can be a challenege, the hot water tank i think is small so if a few people go before you, give it an hour before you go.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Engler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2013 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: This place has a nice lounge area, it also is in the center of the city, and several nightclubs and a night market are nearby. The staff is very friendly and accomodating, too. Also, a lot of interesting guests tend to stay here. I made many friends in this hostel

Disliked: It's somewhat far from the MRT. There are 4 floors which means a lot of stairs.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Ng

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel was better than expected. While staying next to a night market has both upsides and downsides, it is an experience in itself, and ridiculously convenient if you're hungry. While the train station isn't that near (you need to walk for about 5 - 10 min), you can actually walk to the Xinyi district from the hostel in about 15 min.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people

Disliked: It was lovely. The street outside is a little bit loud but it's like that all over Taipei

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Natalie, one of the staff was extremely helpful with her tips and information to wander around the city.

Disliked: Tiny cubicle for shower and toilet. Lack of kitchen.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kathleen Rose Ang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2013 Kathleen Rose would recommend this property

Liked: *Good location - near some of the city attractions (Taipei 101 and Night Market) / very accessible *Cozy atmosphere

Disliked: The area where the hotel is located can be quite noisy and crowded especially at night (but it is tolerable)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Brotherton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 November 2013 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Good atmosphere. Nice common room. Clean.

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Cleanliness

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place, helpful stuff

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Engler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2013 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, and the hostel was near a very nice night market.

Disliked: It was a little far from MRT.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2013

Liked: Great location, AWESOME stuff (Especially Peter), nice common room, good AC in rooms, Comfy beds, cheap and very good high value for money.

Disliked: Could be a bit cleaner.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Armagan Kuscu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2013 Armagan would recommend this property

Liked: Location, helpful staff.

Disliked: Bathrooms and toilets are not enough clean. No kitchen. Expensive.


See all Taipei hostels