We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Taipei hostels

Reviews of JV's Hostel

Hostel | 2F, No. 57, Aly. 50, Ln. 39, Tonghua St, Taipei, Taiwan 106

94.9% Overall Rating

126 out of 132 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/12/2014)

Shannon Wylie thinks…

"Rice is so lovely and helpful! The hostel is structured really nicely to make sure that you get to know others, and as a solo traveler I got to make lots of friends."

Read all JV's Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.98

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Things to consider before booking: Mixed shower room, with individual shower booths Check-in after 10pm is only permitted if you stay more than 1 night – please note, we reserve the right to cancel any bookings which do not meet this requirement. Bookings for groups of 6 people or more, require a minimum booking of 2 nights – please note, we reserve the right to cancel any bookings which do not meet this requirement. Age limitations: 5 years – 45 years

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Taipei?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Taipei

Formosa101
18.05 USD

Hostel 98.6% 12 reviews
Kiri's House - Taipei Bed & Breakfast Hostel
22.97 USD

Guesthouse 95.2% 19 reviews
Socket Hostel
16.41 USD

Hostel 95.9% 37 reviews
The Cat's Pajamas
15.75 USD

Hostel 65.1% 5 reviews
Banana Hostel
21.33 USD

Hostel 91.4% 50 reviews
TaipeiTaipei Hostel
20.35 USD

Apartment 92.7% 26 reviews
Taipei Skyline
16.41 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Taipei House International Youth Hostel
18.05 USD

Hostel 54.8% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.9%

Overall Rating

126 out of 132 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'JV's Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
98.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 127 of 131 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannon Wylie

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2014 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: Rice is so lovely and helpful! The hostel is structured really nicely to make sure that you get to know others, and as a solo traveler I got to make lots of friends.

Disliked: Shannon left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

chrisanne goh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2014 chrisanne would recommend this property

Liked: One of their staff.i really need to praise Rice for helping me so much. At the first, when i was looking for hostel's location i got lost for 30 minutes. i called her, but i still not managed to get the hostel. In the end, she asked where was i, and she picked me up and guided me the way to get hostel. Then, she spent some time to introduce some famous places in Taiwan to me and brought me out of the hostel to get my "lunch",i reached hostel at 4pm and i haven't had my lunch yet.Last thing,she helped to wash my laundry and put into dryer because i wanted to use the washing machine in the early morning but it's not available, so she helped me when i was not around.but i never expect she would help me to fold my clothes, oh God!i am so speechless to her "customer services".

Disliked: bathroom too small.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ruben dam

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2014 ruben would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, Staff (Rice) is awesome!

Disliked: ruben left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cuong Huynh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2014 Cuong would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible staff. Feels like a home stay.

Disliked: A little up the hill.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michael Zheng

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great! Right next to a night market and very close to transport and the 101.

Disliked: Room we got was a bit old and didn't have good ventilation. My partner stayed there for a whole week and she had trouble sleeping.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Teo Bernard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2014 Teo would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Tong Hua night market. extremely friendly and helpful property owner. within walking distance to the MRT.

Disliked: Teo left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HIROKI OKUBO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2014 HIROKI would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel's staff was very kind and taking care of me.They helped my staying at hostel, the sightseeeing plan and so on. Though at this time I had a alone travel with staying hostel for the first time, I could have many great enjyable memories. If there is someone who will go alone travel in Taipei or wants to use hostel for saving their money, I recommend them to stay JV's hostel.

Disliked: Sometimes I had a lost on going back to hostel. lol

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and fun atmosphere! The staff at JV's were really friendly and approachable. Both the girls went out of their way to help my friends and I find places to eat, shop and visit. Rice even accompanied us to the airport bus stop! The hostel also has a homely feel, as it is remodelled from a typical Taiwanese old house.

Disliked: Stairs could be a bit tiring but it is good exercise nonetheless. Stay in the lower floors if you use a suitcase! Space can be a bit of a cramp as the building was built long ago, especially the toilets. But this is what average houses are like in Taipei! Airconditioning can be weak at times. but perfectly fine in other times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dustin Robinson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 September 2014 Dustin would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed in, and I've stayed in probably 30. Staff is awesome. Unlike most hostels, they are willing to be your friend and actually show you things around town rather than just tell you. Rice and Justin were extra helpful and May's city tour was interesting. Everything is very clean, common area is great to relax or meet others. A night market is right outside with food available almost anytime of the day. Definitely recommend this place.

Disliked: Dustin left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Whitlock

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2014 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really friendly and helpful, and there is helpful information around the hostel and on their handouts.

Disliked: The staff forgot to unlock the entrance telecom the day I had arrived, and left a phone number to call, unfortunately I had only just srrived in the country, and did not have a phone to use to call them, so I was left out in the heat after a long flight just waiting. I ended up waiting until a local helped me by calling them for them.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liz Peters

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Liz would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is ncredibly welcoming and friendly, and the hostel has a very happy atmosphere. The dorms are simple but clean and comfortable, and the hostel provides easy access to the Xinyi Anhe metro stop (7 mins walking). I had a great experience here!!

Disliked: Genuinely nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHU YUET CHANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2014 SHU YUET would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and friendly staff!

Disliked: SHU YUET left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MATCHIMA HUABKONG

Alone

Business / conference

09 September 2014 MATCHIMA would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly Very comfortable

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cista Rombout

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Cista would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was clean and cosy! A/C in the common room and dorms! Common room was a nice place to hang out, friendly people and a very good atmosphere! Especially the staff was really friendly and fun to hang out with. And always helpful! Thanks Rice for everything :) the hostel also organizes tours on saturday for the backpackers, which is fun and nice to get to know others staying there! I enjoyed staying at JV's a lot and will definitely come back.

Disliked: Cista left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing Hostel, amazing People, amazing Rice (Staff) !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I appreciated the availability and kindness of the staff, they help you with great advices.

Disliked: Watch it If you travel with heavy luggage, you gotta climb many stairs!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tatyana Shestopalova

Alone

City break

26 August 2014 Tatyana would recommend this property

Liked: I had such a fantastic time at JV's hostel. Rice and Ann at the front desk are simply the best. Not only did they help me figure out what to do in Taipei, but they also befriended me! The hostel is clean and has a great location. Would happily return!

Disliked: Tatyana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HUANG LEI

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 HUANG would recommend this property

Liked: It's a comfortable place to stay. Clean and safe, it is just like my own home. Thanks to the kind and helpful staff Mi, we had a great time in Taipei. The hostel is very close to Taipei 101. Traffic is convenient and the night market is around. Strongly recommended!

Disliked: HUANG left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is the best I have ever met in any hostel! They are extremely helpful. Even when they were busy they helped me and gave me wonderful tips on where to go and what to do. And it is a lot to do in the area of the hostel. I can stay here for work and be sure to sleep well, and when I have free time there are a bunch of activities and nightlife. Next time I'll go to Taipei I will be back! :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warmest welcome from staff, 小米!!!

Disliked: No window for the twin room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Fallon

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly. I have nothing bad to say about this hostel!

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is freindly.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachael Bone

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: Rice is a superstar! As soon as we arrived at the hostel she made us feel so welcome and even gave us an overview of the best places to go in Taipei. When one of my friends hurt herself on a door , Rice came to the rescue with a first aid kit and patched her up! Although the hostel is a little hard to find, it was well worth the stay. You are right next to the night market (cheap dinner) and the hostel is clean and well kept. Plus it's a great place to meet other travellers. Stay here! You know you want to!

Disliked: Nothing! Just that I couldn't stay longer..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Their English was perfect and they didn't make a fuss about deposites and check out times which was great because I had an early flight and no time for that stuff.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Riehle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Location is quite nice, next to a night market. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Water purifier available so you don't need to buy water bottles.

Disliked: A/C is turned off in the common room rather early. The idea is to keep people quiet but I think it's rather extreme.


See all Taipei hostels