HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Taipei hostels

Reviews of Banana Hostel

Hostel | 2F, No. 7, Sec. 2 Jinshan South Road, Da-an District Taipei, Taiwan 106

91.4% Overall Rating

49 out of 50 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/10/2014)

Gregory Wells thinks…

"Clean, lots of free bananas, very convenient for metro, lovely, lovely staff, free tea and coffee, good social area, lockers provided and good privacy for a dorm with Japanese box style beds...…"

Read all Banana Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Taipei?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Taipei

TaipeiTaipei Hostel
20.35 USD

Apartment 92.7% 26 reviews
The Cat's Pajamas
15.75 USD

Hostel 65.1% 5 reviews
Three Little Birds
16.41 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Taipei Skyline
16.41 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lamb Tour House
11.49 USD

Hostel 96.5% 13 reviews
Backpacker's Inn
21.66 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Taiwan Hostel Happy Family
13.13 USD

Hostel 79.3% 139 reviews
Taipei Key Mall Traveler Hostel
21.33 USD

Hostel 73.4% 305 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

49 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Banana Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
89.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 45 of 50 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gregory Wells

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 October 2014 Gregory would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, lots of free bananas, very convenient for metro, lovely, lovely staff, free tea and coffee, good social area, lockers provided and good privacy for a dorm with Japanese box style beds... couldn't ask for more.

Disliked: Nothing not to like

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

suhee Lee

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2014 suhee would recommend this property

Liked: I like the Cute interior and cool air conditioner specially location is the best almost hot places are in Dongmen staion !! NIce

Disliked: the room is so small I used private room with my friend but It was small ...

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: J

Disliked: J

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Henri Jolkkonen

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

05 August 2014 Henri would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything

Disliked: Slow internet connection

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: is promise what they say

Disliked: basic, bit high market for what you get

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sze Yuet Tsui

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Sze Yuet would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable and nice services and facilities provided. And the banana cake is delicious!!!

Disliked: Sze Yuet left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, helpful staff and great kitchen area with simple breakfast. available

Disliked: Noisy at night near common areas

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: The dorm is noisy

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was not bad, and the rooms were nicely furnished.

Disliked: Felt weird not to have a reception area but still the owners were very approachable.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nia Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014 Nia would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and very comfortable hostel, excellent location, right next to MTR station

Disliked: The hostel is quite small and confined.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location with nice room

Disliked: Nothing in particular

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked Banana Cute only for two nights but after the first night, we decided to stay for five more nights. This has been the nicest, cleanest and most comfortable hostel we've been to. Somehow the people staying at Banana Cute have also been the nicest. Same applies to Lexi and Wilbur. As there are no staff 24/7 it gives you the feeling of being at home. We truly enjoyed our stay here and now after some not so nice hostels, we miss Banana Cute constantly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brodie Haining-Johnson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2013 Brodie would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff who spoke perfect English and was very welcoming. Clean showers and bathrooms. Great room. Free bananas. Free travel information.

Disliked: We had the room on the same floor as reception where they leave an extremely bright light on all night however with a few towels over the bed rail we managed to help this. However maybe using a lamp at night instead would be great.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2013

Liked: safe, good lockers, washing machine and drying room, clean overall, free bananas and toast daily, free wifi is pretty good, lexi and wilbur are nice folks, shower is warm and clean, good TV, good air conditioning, decent location around 10min walk from Dongmen metro station which links to everywhere

Disliked: owners lexi and wilbur are seldom around so there is no help available if you need it, this is more of an apartment with beds than a hostel, bed was too short for me (188cm), the apartment is somewhat small and cramped, there aren't many other travellers around to meet and go out with,

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Banana Hostel was a great place to stay. Conveniently located near two different metro lines and a bus stop and near the Chiang Kai Shek Memorial Park and Yong Kang St. The hosts were really friendly and helpful and made us feel at home as soon as we arrived. Staying here was one of the reasons our trip to Taipei was so enjoyable.

Disliked: The only downside is sharing one bathroom among 6 people in the dorm room.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bill Foulks

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Bill would recommend this property

Liked: BEST HOSTEL I'VE EVER STAYED AT!!! The location is great, just a short walk from the MRT. Lexi and Wilbur are extremely friendly and helpful. The place is very clean and aesthetically pleasing. The washing machine was free to use, a huge plus! The bathrooms were the cleanest I've experiences at a hostel and body wash and shampoo were provided. Unless the place is completely booked, there is no reason not to stay here.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: AC in the room! You need it at this time of the year. They ask that you turn it off when you leave, but that's okay because the rooms are so small that they cool down within 5 minutes of turning it back on. They also provide umbrellas for you to use for sunshade or showers. The owners are friendly, accommodating and communicate with you via email prior to your arrival, answering any questions.

Disliked: Small space for so many people at one time. This hostel is actually in a residential building. The common area is the living room which is what all of the bedrooms branch off of. There were two inconsiderate guests up all night packing and wrapping their suitcases in what sounded like newspaper and bubble wrap late at night - inconsiderate. Should have been done in their room or earlier in the day if they needed to use the living room. This had nothing to do with the owners of the hostel, but something to consider if you are looking for "space". Make sure to bring towels and there was no banana bread during our stay, which was mentioned in other reviews. Something inconvenient is that the actual owners do not live at the residence, therefore, you need to call them when you arrive to check in. This is tough for people who have no means of communicating. There are places to access wifi nearby, but you will have to pay.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raul Moreno

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Raul would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is really nice and most of the other guests are quite friendly. The location is very accessible, and the staff are always there to help.

Disliked: The room was kinda hot the second night i stayed and when i tried to lower the temperature or increase the intensity of the air-conditioner the control was all in chinese so i couldn't figure out how to make it more cool.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Small and intimate, can hold 10 people at any given time, so felt like a tight knit family with the other travelers - Only a few minute walk from the subway station - Very friendly staff, always willing to help out - Good street market a few minutes away with food stalls, great during breakfast - Very clean, amazing hot shower, towel provided, shampoo/body wash included - Right next to a 7/11

Disliked: - I stayed at another hostel (Taipei Taipei) which was in my opinion better located (walking distance to Chiang Kai Memorial), much larger (very easy to meet and party with fellow travelers), and had a MASSIVE abundance of food options next to it (tons of restaurants, street stalls) which made it very easy for new comers to try out the food

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is really comfortable and clean. It gave me a feeling like being at home. I love it so much!

Disliked: Nothing!!! I like everything about it!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Immaculately clean, great shower, very clean comfortable bedding, good fast wifi, cute modern design, almost felt like a hotel. Free bananas + banana bread a plus. Close to metro, right across the street from CKS Memorial Hall. I was the only person in the dorm. Young owners were very nice + helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was great

Disliked: usually there is nobody around

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything, clean and nice! helpfull staff.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Isenburg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Romantic getaway

04 March 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The adorable place that Lexi and Wilbur have created in hectic Taipei City is a tranquil refuge that instantly feels like home. This very special little living-space feels less like a hostel and more like someone invited you to stay in their apartment. When you're here your family ... (-; A request to future guest ... please treat this home away from home as good as you can so that travelers for years to come can enjoy a happy stay in Lexi and Wilbur's banana hostel.

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jochem van Ruijven

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2013 Jochem would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed at many hostels, but this one is unique in a good way. It's actually more an apartment that is being shared, and if you're lucky, you have the whole apartment for yourself. You get free bananas, breakfast, banana bread and the owners are extremely friendly and helpful. The place is clean and a perfect location next to an MRT station. The old city is a 10minute walk.

Disliked: Since the place is more like an apartment, you very easily hear other people, for instance if they use the living room. Also, the place has no reception, you make an appointment with the owners to get your keys, which may be inconvenient for people that don't know what time they arrive. The owners by the way are always ready to help you if you can't make an appointment to receive your keys.

The property's response is...


See all Taipei hostels