HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Taipei Ximen Zebra Apartment Taipei Hostel

13 Lane 29 Xi-Chang Street Taipei City, Taipei, Taiwan

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 56%

Facilities 60%

Location 71%

Safety 71%

Staff 64%

Value 65%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Taipei?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 56%

Facilities 60%

Location 71%

Safety 71%

Staff 64%

Value 65%

Showing 1-3 of 3 reviews

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: I like the price for the dorm apartment.

Disliked: I was rearranged to another room, with my belongings being moved, WITHOUT any notice! I was shocked when I returned to the apartment. The hostel should at least inform me by email/phone first.Besides, there was no staff waiting for your check-in and check-out. You have to call the staff to come for check-in.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere is cool - familiar.

Disliked: It is very hot and sticky inside. No air circulation, especially in the bathroom.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The price is cheap.

Disliked: The hygiene level need to be improve.

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: wifi covered

Disliked: cleanliness, bathrooms,

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staffs are nice & the room has privacy as well.

Disliked: The location is far away from MRT .

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Taipei is probably my favourite city in the world and I do hate to give such a bad review, but this property is a no-go.

Disliked: Remote location -- This place is impossible to get to. It's located at a miserable little nook off a side street and not one of at least three cabs we took could get us to this place. Thankfully we had GPS and were able to direct the drivers here. if you are planning to travel by train/bus and without GPS, it's going to be a hell lot of trouble to get here.Aloof staff -- Throughout our 4 nights here, we only saw the landlady Cindy twice, very briefly, and no other staff. In fact, nobody was here when we arrived and we had to use our international phone lines to contact her. Cindy allowed a group of aged travellers (>50) to stay in the same apartment despite having stated that the apartments are for youths. Not meaning to be "age-ist" but the clash of social norms between the age groups proved to be agonizing. These guests felt it appropriate to leave lines upon lines of their undergarments (and a set of dentures) hanging out to dry in the common area, blocking access to common facilities; clogging up the toilet by ignoring signs not to flush paper waste down the toilet bowl and outrageously smoking in the apartment, paying no heed to us youngsters' repeated requests for them to stop. Since no staff was to be found, we used our international lines again to call Cindy, expecting the landlady to take some form of action. All she did was to send them a note of request (not even in person!) to be more considerate but failed to ask them to leave despite their continued abuse of the apartment. Even if Cindy did not want to offend these visitors, she could have transferred us to another of her several apartments, which we know to be empty. The amount of damn given by the owner of this place towards her guests is, frankly, very appalling. Dreary ambience/rooms -- Difficult place to meet like-minded visitors since the common area is tiny and with only one couch. Pest control is also lacking, with an abundance of mosquitoes and spiders. Highly recommand visitors NOT to stay here when you come to Taipei... this bustling, friendly city has no lack of better hostels and apartments to stay in.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nicely decorated, lovely showers and close to redhouse bar district

Disliked: not too comfortable beds and staff was hard to reach

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It feels comfortable in the hostel, and you can really feel like you are at home. for the price I am paying, I would consider it to be very good.

Disliked: the location is a little out of place. need to walk a distance before getting t the metro.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The owner Cindy is a very nice lady and she actively tries to get guests to meet each other when she is around. While she is very friendly and will always try to help you. I had booked one night for four people in a shared dorm and then 3 nights for 7 in an 8 bed private room but since the room was open she allowed us to stay in the 8 bed private the whole time.

Disliked: There is not always staff available when you need them as there isn't any formal front desk. This also means that there isn't always someone there to accept payment when you need to leave and so Cindy will try to collect for the nights you have stayed and usually a night or two extra when she sees you. This isn't that big a problem but it can be a hassle if a lot of people in your group haven't taken out money yet and don't have enough to pay their share yet. Granted that was mostly our fault.Also while not necessarily a bad thing you should know this is not really one single property. If you book this you may stay at one of several locations in Ximen that are operated by Cindy. This includes the Zebra and Leopard Garden branches. Cindy is usually at Leopard Garden where we stayed. You should also note that the street naming system in Taipei can be confusing for first time visitors and you should go to the hostels website at http://leopard-garden.com/ to check out the map.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything! Cindy is a star. The rooms are just fabulous. Very comfortable stay indeed, perfect for a short city break.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability