HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Taipei hostels

Reviews of Taipei Ximen Zebra Apartment

Apartment | 1 F No.13, Lane. 29, Xi-Chang Street., Wanhua Dist., Taipei, Taiwan 10847

67.3% Overall Rating

8 out of 13 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/03/2013)

darrelle ng thinks…

"Taipei is probably my favourite city in the world and I do hate to give such a bad review, but this property is a no-go."

Read all Taipei Ximen Zebra Apartment reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Taipei?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Taipei

Have Fun Suite & Budget Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Alice Hostel
26.66 USD

Hostel 66.2% 6 reviews
Taipei Tuorguide Hostel
28.33 USD

Hostel 52.9% 6 reviews
Backpacker's Inn
18.33 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Taipei Key Mall Traveler Hostel
19.33 USD

Hostel 73.7% 304 reviews
Lamb Tour House
11.66 USD

Hostel 96.5% 13 reviews
Taipei City Home
21.66 USD

Hostel 97.4% 11 reviews
Homey Hostel Downtown
21.00 USD

Hostel 89.1% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.3%

Overall Rating

8 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Taipei Ximen Zebra Apartment'

Atmosphere
70.8%
Location
73.9%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
56.9%
Staff
67.7%
Value
69.2%
Safety
72.3%
Refine your results Showing 11 of 12 reviews
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2013

Liked: The price is cheap.

Disliked: The hygiene level need to be improve.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

jiaqi he

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013

Liked: wifi covered

Disliked: cleanliness, bathrooms,

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

darrelle ng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013

Liked: Taipei is probably my favourite city in the world and I do hate to give such a bad review, but this property is a no-go.

Disliked: Remote location -- This place is impossible to get to. It's located at a miserable little nook off a side street and not one of at least three cabs we took could get us to this place. Thankfully we had GPS and were able to direct the drivers here. if you are planning to travel by train/bus and without GPS, it's going to be a hell lot of trouble to get here. Aloof staff -- Throughout our 4 nights here, we only saw the landlady Cindy twice, very briefly, and no other staff. In fact, nobody was here when we arrived and we had to use our international phone lines to contact her. Cindy allowed a group of aged travellers (>50) to stay in the same apartment despite having stated that the apartments are for youths. Not meaning to be "age-ist" but the clash of social norms between the age groups proved to be agonizing. These guests felt it appropriate to leave lines upon lines of their undergarments (and a set of dentures) hanging out to dry in the common area, blocking access to common facilities; clogging up the toilet by ignoring signs not to flush paper waste down the toilet bowl and outrageously smoking in the apartment, paying no heed to us youngsters' repeated requests for them to stop. Since no staff was to be found, we used our international lines again to call Cindy, expecting the landlady to take some form of action. All she did was to send them a note of request (not even in person!) to be more considerate but failed to ask them to leave despite their continued abuse of the apartment. Even if Cindy did not want to offend these visitors, she could have transferred us to another of her several apartments, which we know to be empty. The amount of damn given by the owner of this place towards her guests is, frankly, very appalling. Dreary ambience/rooms -- Difficult place to meet like-minded visitors since the common area is tiny and with only one couch. Pest control is also lacking, with an abundance of mosquitoes and spiders. Highly recommand visitors NOT to stay here when you come to Taipei... this bustling, friendly city has no lack of better hostels and apartments to stay in.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

PuiYan Ho

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 March 2013 PuiYan would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are nice & the room has privacy as well.

Disliked: The location is far away from MRT .

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Dirk-Jan van de Ven

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2013 Dirk-Jan would recommend this property

Liked: nicely decorated, lovely showers and close to redhouse bar district

Disliked: not too comfortable beds and staff was hard to reach

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It feels comfortable in the hostel, and you can really feel like you are at home. for the price I am paying, I would consider it to be very good.

Disliked: the location is a little out of place. need to walk a distance before getting t the metro.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Eisenberg

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: The owner Cindy is a very nice lady and she actively tries to get guests to meet each other when she is around. While she is very friendly and will always try to help you. I had booked one night for four people in a shared dorm and then 3 nights for 7 in an 8 bed private room but since the room was open she allowed us to stay in the 8 bed private the whole time.

Disliked: There is not always staff available when you need them as there isn't any formal front desk. This also means that there isn't always someone there to accept payment when you need to leave and so Cindy will try to collect for the nights you have stayed and usually a night or two extra when she sees you. This isn't that big a problem but it can be a hassle if a lot of people in your group haven't taken out money yet and don't have enough to pay their share yet. Granted that was mostly our fault. Also while not necessarily a bad thing you should know this is not really one single property. If you book this you may stay at one of several locations in Ximen that are operated by Cindy. This includes the Zebra and Leopard Garden branches. Cindy is usually at Leopard Garden where we stayed. You should also note that the street naming system in Taipei can be confusing for first time visitors and you should go to the hostels website at http://leopard-garden.com/ to check out the map.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Cindy is a star. The rooms are just fabulous. Very comfortable stay indeed, perfect for a short city break.

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

uthayakumar subramaniam

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012 uthayakumar would recommend this property

Liked: good and have to wait for owner because she so busy.

Disliked: u have to suit yourself

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is located in a good area--Ximen is a central location in Taipei. And the rooms are comfortable--a little cluttered but not bad. They have everything you need--kitchen, washers, internet, etc.

Disliked: There is no front desk so you have to wait for the owner. Thankfully someone let us inside because it started pouring rain. We ended up waiting for her for about a half an hour. If you're staying here, make sure you have plenty of time at checkin--you'll be waiting.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2011

Liked: I liked the positive reviews, so I decided to book.

Disliked: When I showed up nobody answered the door. As I didn't have a phone with me I couldn't call the owner. Came back a later a few times to check, but nobody was there. I got a reply for my email at late night when I already had other accommodation.


See all Taipei hostels