HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Taipei hostels

Reviews of Taipei Ximen MRT Teacher Hostel

Hostel | Room B, 3F-1., No.11, Sec. 2, Changsha St., Wanhua Dist. Taipei, Taiwan 10846

61.5% Overall Rating

9 out of 17 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/10/2012)

"Location is near Ximending, the shopping area. There were all kinds of facilities, although a little old. Worthy for money if you wanna a short stay."

Read all Taipei Ximen MRT Teacher Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Taipei?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Taipei

Alice Hostel
26.51 USD

Hostel 66.2% 6 reviews
Have Fun Suite & Budget Hostel
19.88 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Taipei Ximen Zebra Apartment
13.22 USD

Apartment 67.3% 13 reviews
Taipei Tuorguide Hostel
28.17 USD

Hostel 52.9% 6 reviews
Backpacker's Inn
15.91 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Taipei Key Mall Traveler Hostel
19.22 USD

Hostel 75.2% 303 reviews
Flip Flop Hostel - Taipei Main Station
13.25 USD

Hostel 96.5% 13 reviews
Taipei City Home
16.90 USD

Hostel 98.6% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.5%

Overall Rating

9 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Taipei Ximen MRT Teacher Hostel'

Atmosphere
44.7%
Location
89.4%
Facilities
51.8%
Cleanliness
44.7%
Staff
68.2%
Value
65.9%
Safety
65.9%
Refine your results Showing 16 of 17 reviews
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Ralf Evers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013

Liked: cheap and very good location

Disliked: dirty, very small, difficult to find.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: This is an appalling place, the worst I have ever stayed in. They are basically farming out bookings to other places. So you have no idea what you are getting, or where you will be staying. It might be a dorm somewhere else, or a room in someone's house. We appeared to be in some sort of flop house for itinerant workers. We booked a 6 bed dorm and got 1 double bed and 2 singles for 6 people. We eventually managed to get 1 extra mattress. One room had no glass in the window, just plastic taped over it. Everything was filthy, the 'private' bathroom was shared between at least 2 floors. The only bedding supplied as a sheet over the dirty mattress. After more complaints we got some more bedding, but not enough for everyone. The whole place felt sketchy and dangerous, doors didn't lock properly (including the bathroom), and as foreign tourists we stuck out like the proverbial sore thumb. I was so glad I was there as part of a group and not on my own, I would have been terrified. We were meant to stay 2 nights but only lasted a few hours before we escaped and moved to another hostel (Alex's Oceanview). It should not be allowed to take bookings like this.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

01 January 2013

Liked: The location in Ximending is excellent.

Disliked: My first impression upon seeing a paper sign that said 'hostel' taped to the door without any other indication of it being a hostel was pretty bad. Inside the room, it looks like a hoarders den full of clutter and junk. The lady inside was very nice and helpful and took me to my dorm which was about a 5 minute walk from there, down another street. The dorm was not the one I booked (I booked a 4 bed female dorm and it was a 10 bed mixed dorm). Also, the room was dirty and cluttered with one old bathroom (the bathtub had holes in it). I saw two cockroaches in the room too. I was rolling with all these punches pretty well because it is so cheap until I got bed bug bites - unforgivable at any price!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Justin Fisch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2012 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: cheap.

Disliked: Room in a residential building. Hard to find.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is near Ximending, the shopping area. There were all kinds of facilities, although a little old. Worthy for money if you wanna a short stay.

Disliked: Hard to find the exact place, should call the staff to lead you there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TSAI MU CHANG

As a family with children

Events / festivals

12 August 2012 TSAI would recommend this property

Liked: family room is very good

Disliked: no

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sandra Weinmann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2012

Liked: location... close to mrt and shops

Disliked: - everything is pretty dirty - too many beds in a room, seperated by curtains

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic, the price too.

Disliked: It was really messy inside with things EVERYWHERE. I did however not have that high expectations as the price for this accommodation was so much lower than all other accommodation in Taipei: you get what you pay for. If you intend to stay in Taipei for a longer time, I would not recommend this, but for a couple of nights for the budget conscious this hostel is a good option.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Kin Lung Wu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Kin Lung would recommend this property

Liked: very convenient, average cleanliness, affordable rental fee.

Disliked: not big enough

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2012

Liked: the location

Disliked: It's not a hostel it's a flat with different people that lives there, a bit rare... They didn't expect us even the reservation. The place was not clean.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly owner living in the hostel and available virtually at any time. new and clean bunk beds.

Disliked: although being really 5min walk from Ximen MRT it's EXTREMELY hard to find! i had to ask four times to get the exact location because the map posted on hostelbookers was not precise.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, just one minute walk from the going out area, from shopping, night-life. Lots of convenience stores (7/11) and eateries in the area. The owner is very flexible and even allowed me to leave my excess luggage with him while i went travelling.

Disliked: It is not really a hostel - it is rather a few extra rooms that someone rents out. The rooms are not very modern or clean. They are a bit improvised - but I suppose that's what you get when booking a relatively cheap hostel. There was a water cooker (for hot drinks) but when filling it, i saw some bugs floating in it. No towels provided and the bed sheets also seem doubtful to me.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, 2min walk from Ximen MRT station. Good price ^^ Free internet, DVD, ...

Disliked: Messy common area Kitchen unusable :s

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owner, good location next to the subway

Disliked: no dislikes

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2011

Liked: Good location. Helpful owner.

Disliked: The dorm and common room were both really cluttered with junk. The owner didn't arrive until my second day, so I had to give my first payment to a fellow guest who had been put in charge. The common room was small and really unwelcoming. I had no pillow the first night. I woke up covered in mosquito bites.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 December 2010

Liked: Great location and excellent laoban that helped me check in

Disliked: Direction were scarce and the building seems quite run down


See all Taipei hostels