We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Taipei hostels

Reviews of Alex's Oceanview Stay

Hostel | 15 Bi Tou st. Danshui, Taipei, Taiwan 251

78.6% Overall Rating

33 out of 40 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

"The property was very easy to find and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. While there I was upgraded to a private room at no extra cost, and they provide amenities that make traveling light easier. This…"

Read all Alex's Oceanview Stay reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 36.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Taipei?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Taipei

G'day Hostel
18.05 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
On My Way Taipei Hostel
19.69 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Fun Taipei Backpackers
14.77 USD

Hostel 85.7% 63 reviews
Taipei Easy Stay Inn ~ SJ-293
32.78 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Now Taipei
19.36 USD

Hostel 100.0% 3 reviews
Taipei Ximen Zebra Apartment
14.77 USD

Apartment 67.1% 14 reviews
Homey Hostel Downtown
15.75 USD

Hostel 89.2% 19 reviews
Travel Talk Taipei Backpackers Hostel
15.10 USD

Hostel 94.4% 63 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.6%

Overall Rating

33 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alex's Oceanview Stay'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
86.4%
Value
72.8%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 36 of 39 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and love to engage the guests

Disliked: The location is a little far off the grid and requires 45min train ride to city. It's also a little pricey for the condition

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very easy to find and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. While there I was upgraded to a private room at no extra cost, and they provide amenities that make traveling light easier. This property had a funky vibe which I loved and a great balcony to relax at night.

Disliked: The only thing negative I would say is that the rooms could be a little cleaner, but overall I have no complaints as I only used the room as a place to sleep and keep my things while I was out during the day.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Serafina Aquilino

Alone

Business / conference

16 February 2014 Serafina would recommend this property

Liked: Decent rooms for not too high prices. It is located in a very beautiful area, although the property itself is a bit difficult to find. However, the staff is very helpful, and they came to pick me up from the station.

Disliked: It was nothing special, but there's nothing to complain about.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Alex and the people working for him were very kind and helpful. The private room I had booked was spacious, though for some reason there were two beds in the room which left little space for walking around. Bathrooms were clean, area was very convenient, and the outside chill area was refreshing and beautiful. Security was pretty good; keys and/or code numbers are required at more than one point.

Disliked: The top floor of the hostel is a bit like something you'd see on a show about hoarders. There are definitely a few fire hazards. Plan on getting your own coffee/tea/juice in the morning: the provided stuff is way past expiration.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Wing Chung Wong

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Wing Chung would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location at this place. Two to three minutes from Metro.

Disliked: A little bit noisy since it locates besides the railway.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

RACHEL HODGKINSON

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2014 RACHEL would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friedngly staff- discount and free upgrade.

Disliked: Very busy and boisy area- right next to main roads and railway- traffic all night long so hard for light sleepers.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was uprgraded to an individual room and it was very nice. Room and bathroom were very clean. Was nice to have control of the A/C for as long/when I wanted. Located right in Danshui center - accessible to everything

Disliked: No one was around in the morning (9 am) to assist with checking out. Secondly, the decor looks alot like "my grandma's basement" seriously needs a decor overhaul. Was hard to tell what was clean and what had never been cleaned - hence my lower rating for cleanliness.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

William Ellis

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013 William would recommend this property

Liked: This place is Funky and Alex is a character - if you're lucky enough to meet him. There is actually a sea/river view but don't expect a beach in Tumsui and don't use the back garden entrance from the lane next to the rail line. Use the front, main street entrance.

Disliked: Our room had 2 large queen size beds in it - consequently there was very little floor space.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Alex was really friendly and helpful and certainly made us feel welcome. We stayed in two different rooms. The first one was a really basic double. Might not be for everyone, but we liked it. It was clean, the shower was nice and warm and most importantly, it was very quiet. The second room was a lot different. Balcony, much more atmosphere and more furniture. A little bit more noisy because of the train but hey, you're still in a hostel. So with earplugs it was nice and quiet!

Disliked: The matrasses were really hard. But that's hardly a dislike as this is quite common in Taiwan.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

ai heok kang

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 August 2013 ai heok would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere. Very homely. The owner Alex is very friendly n helpful. He helped me with my problems. Andy n xiao pang also very friendly. I love this hostel the moment I stepped in. I would definitely come back again if I coming to Taiwan.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Foulks

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 William would recommend this property

Liked: Great location just a short walk from the MRT. The staff is friendly and willing to help you plan your stay in Taipei/Tamsui. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean.

Disliked: Considering we only used the hostel to sleep/shower....nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yuxin Chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 July 2013 Yuxin would recommend this property

Liked: I like the staff there

Disliked: The facilities is not complete.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff friendliness - Even if you didn't know any Chinese, Andy was extremely animated, helpful and kind.

Disliked: See general comments above

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Raphael Baudoin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013

Liked: Location,

Disliked: Unfriendliness awkwardness

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

phoi bang huynh

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013

Liked: never

Disliked: such quality is too much.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Beng Hock Ong

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 May 2013 Beng Hock would recommend this property

Liked: Close to MRT/bus station, shops and night market. There is a lounge to watch TV, drink and relax especially after a long day out. It is a bit noisy when the MRT train passes by but really did not bother me as the train service ends at midnight. Friendly and helpful staff. Will be back again !

Disliked: None.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Andrea Lisi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: It's really near to the MRT, the balconies are awesome

Disliked: it's pretty hard to find, there's this white door, but you can easily confuse yourself

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stephanie Ritchie

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Nice view and you might get a free upgrade.

Disliked: Extremely difficult to find. Zero signs labeling the main entrance, we walked past it multiple times without realizing it. It's the one under the italian bistro sign.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very close to Tamshui station and not so difficult to find. The staff are really nice and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Bettina Robertson

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2013 Bettina would recommend this property

Liked: the staff made it... Alex & Andy were welcoming, friendly and helpful all the way. Alex even invited us to his mom's house for a traditional Taiwanese New Year celebration. It was amazing.

Disliked: It was a little cramped in the room. They had put 3 double beds in the room instead of 3 singles. It was nice to have a double bed but I think it would have been better to have singles so we could have had more space for our travel bags and shopping.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this place, The staff, especially Alex, were amazing, so helpful! The rooms were a bit cramped, with too many beds squashed in, but other than that it was great. Obviously it's not in central Taipei, but it's just minutes from the MRT station. We only planned to stay one night, and ended up staying 4.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 December 2012

Liked: Great place

Disliked: None

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carol Lin

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2012 Carol would recommend this property

Liked: How close it was to the metro station, and the nice view it had of the river

Disliked: The sheets in our room were a bit stained...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpfull people.

Disliked: Everything is OK.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people are friendly. We got upgraded when we got here to a massive room so that was nice :)

Disliked: Dirty. No breakfast. Out of the city centre, but the area of town is nice and popular for residents on the weekend. The directions given suck. Look at the reviews for better directions. There isn't even a sign saying the name of the place - really.


See all Taipei hostels