We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Taipei hostels

Reviews of Taiwan Hostel Happy Family

Hostel | Section 1, Lane 56, #2, Zhong Shan North Road, Taipei, Taiwan 104

77.6% Overall Rating

113 out of 142 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/08/2015)

"The location was superb. It was close to all the major transportation hubs and made getting around easy. I had no problem finding my way from the airport. It made everything exceptionally convenient. Mr.Lee was outgoing…"

Read all Taiwan Hostel Happy Family reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Taipei?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Taipei

Guest House Taiwanmex
10.74 USD

Guesthouse 75.7% 231 reviews
Taipei Vanilla Hostel
12.27 USD

Hostel 90.5% 6 reviews
Taipei City Home
15.34 USD

Hostel 97.0% 29 reviews
Taipei Key Mall Traveler Hostel
15.02 USD

Hostel 74.9% 310 reviews
Homey Hostel - Taipei Main Station
14.73 USD

Hostel 89.9% 23 reviews
Lamb Tour House
16.26 USD

Hostel 95.9% 21 reviews
Inn Cube 3S
18.41 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Backpacker's Inn
15.86 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.6%

Overall Rating

113 out of 142 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Taiwan Hostel Happy Family'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
82.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 114 of 117 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was superb. It was close to all the major transportation hubs and made getting around easy. I had no problem finding my way from the airport. It made everything exceptionally convenient. Mr.Lee was outgoing and very helpful. I really enjoyed my stay!

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked about this property. I was very pleased with my overall experience.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2015

Liked: Near Taipei Station

Disliked: In stay in 404B,old room, not clean and with bed buds, I cannot sleep all the night. I was bite with many allergies area.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Elton Sint Jago

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2015 Elton would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near the bus station and mall, good value for money, free wifi, friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: -

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very convenient. The host is very nice and helpful. Price is low.

Disliked: The facility is VERY old and not very nicely kept. They do have newly renovated rooms that are nice and clean, but unfortunately the room I stayed in was not one of those. Well, at least the air conditioner worked fine and bathroom was okay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Taipei central station. Friendly and helpful owner

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hirono Okazaki

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014 Hirono would recommend this property

Liked: 立地がいい! 六人部屋でしたが、みんなフレンドリーで安心でした!

Disliked: Hirono left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its in the city center,convenient to go to most tourist spots

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014

Liked: Convenient location, quite near (about 5 minutes walk to) Taipei station.

Disliked: No lift, only 1 toilet to 10 beds. We stayed on 4th floor, very inconvenient to bring up luggage and for old folk (my mother is 76 years old) to walk up the staircase.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

yunfeng hu

Alone

Shopping

02 April 2014 yunfeng would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap.

Disliked: No Air condition. So if its too hot, it is not a good choice.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

CHEE MING CHAN

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 April 2014 CHEE MING would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Taipei Railway Station.

Disliked: CHEE MING left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really close to the train and bus station and cheap.

Disliked: The directions on the website were not very good, it was difficult to find. Also I had to climb up 4 stories on a very narrow staircase with a big suitcase.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect. The staff (especially Mr. Lee) was knowledge, nice, and helpful. The atmosphere was really friendly and great for meeting other residents. All around a great place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

KA YIN MAVIS CHUI

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 January 2014 KA YIN MAVIS would recommend this property

Liked: Good locatio in Taipei City

Disliked: KA YIN MAVIS left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The host is kind and waiting for us till 4 AM

Disliked: noisy

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, easy access to express ways, and its price

Disliked: I lost a jar of good quality and expensive coconut oil at Taiwan Hostel Happy Family. But it was partially own fault, I did not store it at the office as the manager suggested

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Debra Jordan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Debra would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly hosts and situated close to Taipei main train station. I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to other travellers who are smart enough to go to Taipei. Great city.

Disliked: na

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Johann du Toit

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa

05 October 2013 Johann would recommend this property

Liked: Very multi-national with full-time guests and passers-by. It was very laid back. So many interesting and down-to-earth travellers.

Disliked: Certain things didn't work 100% as they should.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 July 2013

Liked: good location great access to Taipei Train Station, MRT

Disliked: There's strange smell in the bathroom. can't find soap or handwash lotion the bed cover smells moldy I feel itchy

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Wing Yi Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Wing Yi would recommend this property

Liked: Reasonable price for all the stuffs. Near the Taipei Station and very convenient. The bed is clean, although i live on the second floor, that's not much voice i can hear at night (different from the previous comment I saw). There are also fridge, TV, computer, etc.

Disliked: The bathroom can be cleaner. The toilet is quite dirty, I rather use the toilet outside.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 June 2013

Liked: The staffs are friendly, it is near to Taipei Station too. But still need to take transportation to night markets.

Disliked: I lived in 3rd floor and i really think the toilet is really smelly and suffocating ... rubbish in the bin next to the basin in kitchen were not removed. not much places for you to put your things if you have the upper bed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Shower

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

27 April 2013

Liked: The convenient location and the friendly staffs

Disliked: The noise even though we stayed at the higher floor, we could hear the tr

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are very friendly, next to the main terminal of all kinds of transportation, almost on top of the underground mall.

Disliked: It's an old building and you can't expect to get the hotel service for that price, but I have no complain for what they charge.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So nice and helpful.Love this travel,love this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super nice staff and very convenient location

Disliked: Showering facilities need improvement


See all Taipei hostels