We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Taipei hostels

Reviews of Fun Taipei Backpackers

Hostel | No.128 Jihe Road, Shilin Disctrict, Taipei, Taiwan 11167

85.3% Overall Rating

60 out of 62 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/06/2014)

Chi Hin Au Yeung thinks…

"Very close to Shilin Night Market, which is the most famous and largest market in Taipei for dinning and entertainment."

Read all Fun Taipei Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

*An extra single mattress can be requested at NTD300 per night per person, due to our room condition please tell us in advance. *Deposit 10% for agency is Non-Refundable. *Full payment must be paid upon arrival. *Upon arrival, full payment will be accepted in cash (NTD). We do not accept personal checks and credit cards. *You must notify us at least 7days prior to arrival time. *Any days within 7 days will be subjected to a 50% cancellation fee. CANCELLATION POLICY: * The 30% amount of the balance due will be requested as a deposit. * You must notify us at least 7 days (30 days if booking with more than 3 nights) prior to arrival time. * Any days within 7days/30days will be subjected to a 50% cancellation fee. Any cancellation of the day of check-in will be charged the full nights stay. Please be courteous enough to inform us immediately of a cancellation or change in plans. * We reserve the right to change policy at any time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Taipei?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Taipei

Taipei Easy Stay Inn ~ SJ-293
32.79 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Travel Talk Taipei Backpackers Hostel
13.13 USD

Hostel 94.4% 63 reviews
Taipei House International Youth Hostel
18.05 USD

Hostel 54.8% 6 reviews
Now Taipei
16.08 USD

Hostel 100.0% 3 reviews
Guest House Taiwanmex
11.49 USD

Guesthouse 76.0% 215 reviews
Homey Hostel Downtown
20.68 USD

Hostel 89.2% 19 reviews
Taipei City Home
21.33 USD

Hostel 97.8% 14 reviews
Taiwan Hostel Happy Family
13.13 USD

Hostel 79.3% 139 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.3%

Overall Rating

60 out of 62 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Fun Taipei Backpackers'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
84.0%
Value
92.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 61 of 62 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect!! near the night market...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Chi Hin Au Yeung

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2014

Liked: Very close to Shilin Night Market, which is the most famous and largest market in Taipei for dinning and entertainment.

Disliked: Cleaningness is meh, you can see dirts and stains all around. EVEN ON BED. No on-site staffs after 6pm. No reception counters, you have to call the staffs for check-in.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pui Yi Tang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2014 Pui Yi would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really great. The night market is just downstairs.

Disliked: Pui Yi left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

XiaoLi Pan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 XiaoLi would recommend this property

Liked: convenient & fast

Disliked: No I don't like

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Darren Choo

As a family with children

Family Holiday

14 December 2013 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: Near Shiling market and MRT.

Disliked: No view.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bojan Podgornik

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 October 2013 Bojan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quite, close to MRT station.

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to shilin night market and train station

Disliked: it was a bit dusty and the toilet had poor drainage

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had no complaints about the service and the property! Perfect!

Disliked: NO

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mabel Ang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2013 Mabel would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and cosy place, very close to Jiantan MRT station - convenient.

Disliked: Nothing much.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Simple and neat with basic necessities provided.

Disliked: Toilet bowl tank needed a very long time to refill, but the little inconvenience was tolerable.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013

Liked: The room condition is ok. We get triple room, the single bed is very uncomfortable. But overall i would say the condition is ok, but i don't like anything about this property.

Disliked: The location is super hard to find. I almost thought that we got cheated because we couldn't see anything at where the owner asked us to go. At last, with the help of some friendly Taiwanese (taxi driver and guard of building around), we finally found it. We took about 2 hours to find it and is in the middle of the night and it was the first day we arrived at Taipei. I will not recommend this hostel for ppl who visit Taiwan for the 1st time and don't know anything about it.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Soh Hwee Tin

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2013 Soh would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Soh left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cleo Lim

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 May 2013 Cleo would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location, very friendly and helpful staff. Value for money with clean comfortable beds and toilets.

Disliked: Cleo left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

PATNALIN NARATHORNSAWASDIKUL

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013 PATNALIN would recommend this property

Liked: It near night market

Disliked: PATNALIN left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect.

Disliked: No staff was available. We have never seen the manager.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jiri Masata

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 Jiri would recommend this property

Liked: it was fantastic

Disliked: Jiri left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gilbert Lim

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 November 2012 Gilbert would recommend this property

Liked: Near night market and mrt

Disliked: Gilbert left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bastiaan Vrielink

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2012 Bastiaan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, modern room with plenty of facilities. Right next to Shilin Night Market, but it takes a good few minutes by MRT to reach other interesting places, although the MRT station is really close. The hostel is situated in a pretty busy place of town, but we didn't experience any discomfort from noises.

Disliked: The place is pretty hard to find, luckily we were able to ask some locals in Chinese for directions, but otherwise you can have a hard time locating the hostel since there is no name on the building indicating it's a hostel. Had a hard time contacting the property owner on arrival, there's only a guard on site who functions as some kind of mediator between you and the owner, resulting in an awkward phone call switching back and forth between the owner and the guard. No shower curtain.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean room and bedding. Kevin Yang was very pleasant and helpful. Good location near metro station and Shilin Night Market.

Disliked: Looks a bit grim from outside but don't be put off. The ensuite rooms are nice once you're inside!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

CHING-CHIH CHOU

Alone

Business / conference

09 September 2012 CHING-CHIH would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, very convenient. There are shampoo, body wash, slippers, hair drier in the room. Another good thing is that there is a window and you can appreciate mountain view and the sunshine can splash into the room.

Disliked: If there are towels offered, it would be better.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near JianTan MRT station and ShihLin night market. Very friendly and helpful staff (Kevin), Condusive room.

Disliked: No complaints

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucy Dixon

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 July 2012 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very modern and comfortable with good facillities (wifi, fridge, kettle, AC etc) and lovely decor. Compared to the other accommodation I found in Taipei it was good value. The location was also great - right by MRT and night market. The owner was friendly and spoke good English.

Disliked: The directions to the property were confusing and the name misleading - it was not a backpackers/hostel but separate mini-apartments. Make sure you get the correct address before you leave.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hilary Thorpe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

27 June 2012 Hilary would recommend this property

Liked: The room was big, has air con and a flat screen for those lazy days,

Disliked: Bathroom could have been cleaner.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Location was very good to both MRT and night market.

Disliked: The exterior looks old, haunted and scary, but interior was good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tsz Ming Luk

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2012 Tsz Ming would recommend this property

Liked: very neat room, we like it very much.

Disliked: Tsz Ming left no negative feedback.


See all Taipei hostels