We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Backpacker Dog Backpackers

Hostel | No.124 Dulan, Tai-tung, Taiwan 959

91.4% Overall Rating

17 out of 18 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/11/2013)

Timothy Engler thinks…

"It has kind of a unique style and there is always something going on. The owners are very nice and outgoing people that really want their guests to have a good time. It's very friendly and you feel…"

Read all Backpacker Dog Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.13
  • Breakfast USD 4.92

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tai-tung?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tai-tung

taitung papillon hostel
22.97 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Traveler Hostel
18.05 USD

Hostel 68.6% 4 reviews
Dulan 102
11.49 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Taitung San Sen Dai Sea View Hostel
19.69 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

17 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpacker Dog Backpackers'

Atmosphere
93.3%
Location
90.0%
Facilities
83.3%
Cleanliness
91.1%
Staff
97.8%
Value
88.9%
Safety
95.6%
Refine your results Showing 17 of 18 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Engler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2013 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: It has kind of a unique style and there is always something going on. The owners are very nice and outgoing people that really want their guests to have a good time. It's very friendly and you feel like you are in a family

Disliked: A little noisy but if you've visited Taiwan for awhile you'll be used to it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Rodriguez alfonso

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, useful place to visit sansiatai an other nices places. The bed is confortable, and the rooms is not hot, there is not aircondicioning but you dont need it.

Disliked: Is littel small the common area, but outside there is another common area big.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

26 July 2013

Liked: 主人比较友好

Disliked: 炎热的夏天没有冷气,让人无法入睡!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Court

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2013 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Was all good

Disliked: Jamie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for Dulan - keep in mind this is a small town 40 mins by bus from Taidong with its own character and char,. Staff are incredibly charming and friendly. Fast wifi, cheap laundry, a swing, HD TV and lots of free food left by former guests. The pink house is very easy to find. Fans and free lockers in all rooms. I love Komba, the fat dog the hostel is named after.

Disliked: Some people may not like that it's not actually in Taidong. No air conditioning but there is a fan. Sink is outdoors.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very, very nice hostel! The staff was fantastic, super friendly and helpful. Invited me to join dinner (thanks to Stacy, TingTing and the other one). Perfect place to relax, just situated in a small town nearbty the Pacific. Facilities are great, games, TV, books, DVDs for entertainment. Free WiFi. That's the way a hostel should be. Thank you!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Nice laid back and relaxing feel of the place. Met a lot of awesome people there, and everyone is like family, staff or guests alike. Close to the Sugar factory and there are free bikes to explore the area.

Disliked: Nothing about this property, but take note Dulan is far from Taitung city.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

vennie fong

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

14 September 2012 vennie would recommend this property

Liked: the people there are very nice and friendly...

Disliked: no aircon... very hot and humid

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super friendly staff and good breakfast

Disliked: a little out of town and kind of loud

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

ANDREW COPE-PERERA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2011 ANDREW would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were extremely friendly and helpful, I felt very welcome there by all even though I was the only foreigner, everybody made an effort. The atmosphere is of a home rather than a hostel as such. It was extremely clean and tidy, with a loveable dog and some cats. It is situated close to the bus stop and some shops, Dulan is a small place!

Disliked: Ok I haven't really stayed in hostels in Taiwan so I am not sure of what this is like when this hostel is compared to others. Although I have not been home for 5 years so have stayed in a lot of hostels. I think that to have 6-10 people share one bathroom (especially when there is only 1 toilet) is not really feasible. The price of over 15 USD for a dorm is too much, it is the most I have paid ever, and I have stayed in hostels in over 30 countries. I think 300 TWD would be a fairer price to be honest..............but that is just a personal gripe, backpackers do not really come to Taiwan so I guess their client base is different from most countries.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing. Had a nice, home-y feel. Great little town with a beautiful beach. Great place to relax. Hostel is close to the bus stop.

Disliked: Can't complain!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Probably one of the best hostels I have stayed at. Staff are extra friendly and very helpful when it comes to things you want to see and do.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Schweizer

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: The hosts were awesome, the location near the Du Lan sugar factory is really convenient. It's close to so many great beaches and villages.

Disliked: Not much, sometimes neighbors and noise is a little much, but if you bring earphones/earplugs you should be fine.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mohan Kumar Chelur

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 November 2010 Mohan Kumar would recommend this property

Liked: Hospitality from Kai and Party was great. They were really nice and helpful. I really enjoyed the evening music sessions they had with their friend Jamran( may be I didn't get the name correctly). And of course the saturday night live music at Dulan cafe with the entire set of folks from hostel was great. I would definitely come back to this place and stay for more days.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean room, really nice bathroom and KITCHEN!really nice, helpful and englishspeaking staff!

Disliked: it's quite far away from Taizhong Trainstation. You have to take a cab, shuttle bus (?) or arrange pick up with hostel (which is really easy via email)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KAZUYA MATSUHASHI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2010 KAZUYA would recommend this property

Liked: Nature and People

Disliked: KAZUYA left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Liam McAuliffe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2010 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: This was an awesome place to stay! The hostel is perfectly located in Dulan - and an easy 20 minutes from Taitung on the free tourist shuttle! The owner Party was extremely friendly and helpful - from maps, to sites and local events she was able to provide me with everything I needed to know.

Disliked: Nothing!