We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Zurich hostels
See all Zurich hotels

Reviews of Langstars

Hostel | Langstrasse 120, Zurich, Switzerland 8004

78.2% Overall Rating

219 out of 257 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/06/2015)

Ashleigh Field thinks…

"Best coffee in europe! Spacious rooms, friendly atmosphere and staff. A very social area especially at night in the bar. Plenty of luggage storage at any time. Clean areas"

Read all Langstars reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 10.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zurich?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Zurich

X-TRA Hotel
67.80 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.4% 44 reviews
Hotel Bristol Zurich
69.56 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.4% 77 reviews
Hotel DaVinci
59.91 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Hotel Limmathof
68.49 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.7% 238 reviews
City Backpacker - Hotel Biber
39.60 USD

Hostel 78.6% 85 reviews
Hotel Otter
80.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.6% 37 reviews
Zurich Youth Hostel
44.95 USD

Hostel 84.2% 1057 reviews
Hotel Welcome Inn
48.16 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.1% 169 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.2%

Overall Rating

219 out of 257 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Langstars'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
70.4%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
72.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 202 of 253 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals

09 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool people, friendly atmosphere and a nice café

Disliked: it was a little bit loud at night (because of noises coming from the street)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashleigh Field

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2015 Ashleigh would recommend this property

Liked: Best coffee in europe! Spacious rooms, friendly atmosphere and staff. A very social area especially at night in the bar. Plenty of luggage storage at any time. Clean areas

Disliked: The third floor showers only had cold water whilst I was staying there but we all easily shared the shower on the first floor.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abraham Chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2015 Abraham would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent for the price.

Disliked: You need to take a bus to the hostel, but i think that's not such a bad thing.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Stuart Warren

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2015

Liked: The Langstars felt safe and secure and had very large lockers to put all of your luggage in. There is a very good cafe located under the hostel where you check in.

Disliked: The beds are bad and the third floor shower didn't work for the entire time I was there.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alex hawes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2015 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Fairly close to the city center. Nice staff clean facilities

Disliked: The 6€ linen deposit. Make sure you factor that into the price. I wouldn't have stayed here if I knew that before booking

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 May 2015

Liked: There's only one shower and toilet for one floor - 12 beds, which is not enough for the guests. We always queue up for bathroom especially in the morning and it's very inconvenient. The room is very small. If someone open their suitcases, then others pass through the way difficult. Staffs are very considerate to provide us the worldwide extension cable/socket.

Disliked: Same as above.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Si U Lam

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2015 Si U would recommend this property

Liked: coolest hostel ever!!!

Disliked: Si U left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lenon Gonçalves

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2015 Lenon would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, lively events at night, good breakfast, clean and safe rooms/bathrooms and close to downtown, whether on foot or by tram. There's really nothing to complain about.

Disliked: Nothing that I remember.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, good location. Friendly staff, dorms were clean, a small breakfast was included.

Disliked: The linens were a little different than I am used to. Not extremely comfortable

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staffs and accommodating...

Disliked: There is only 1 toilet for a quite a number of backpackers

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cameron Hudson

Alone

City break

28 February 2015 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: The cafe/bar was a cool place to gather, a free small drink every night, fantastic breakfast with meat, cheese, toast, cereal, jams, orange juice, milk, tea, and coffee, which are not cheap in Zurich. Accommodations were comfortable and clean

Disliked: No elevator

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2015

Liked: The cafe/bar downstairs has a cool vibe and the staff are really friendly.

Disliked: For the price, I would have liked the wifi to reach the beds and a lift.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jacob Stepaschko

Alone

City break

01 February 2015 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: It was OK. Room was Nice, and you had a free drink every night :)

Disliked: Expensive (but it's Zurich). Didn't really feel like a hostel, but maybe better when more crowded?

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

steve buss

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2015 steve would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cleide Santos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2015

Liked: very nice breakfast.

Disliked: Too many stairs. No lift

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a wonderful breakfast: fresh yogurt, espresso made to order, a variety of cereals and breads. Great way to start off the day. Though the location is not top notch, there's a great security system and you can rest safely at night time.

Disliked: It's actually quite far from everything worth visiting. About 15 min to HB and 20 mins to the main sightseeing on Bahnhofstrasse. In the smack middle of winter, this distance is actually very difficult to walk with your luggage. However, there's a great transit system so take advantage of it! The staff could be a little more helpful. When I arrived, I was told to look at a map and find information I need. I know I can do that, but it always helps to have the local staff's take on what's good for eating or seeing! There could also be more toilets: there is one toilet/shower per 12 beds. You can also find more at the bar, but it's hard to make your way downstairs in the cold!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, cleanliness.

Disliked: Room was too warm and stuffy at night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

suky lim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

22 December 2014 suky would recommend this property

Liked: Good wifi and comfy bed, breakfast ... Their coffee is good ^^

Disliked: suky left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2014

Liked: Nice common area, not too far from old town

Disliked: Bed was uncomfortable, kitchen not very clean, was very loud at night time, expensive for what was on offer

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Mónica Gómez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2014

Liked: The location is quite good if you are a party goer. Otherwise be prepares for relentless partying on Langstrasse up to 5 am. The staff is really friendly and they speak many languages fluently.

Disliked: The rooms were so small and somewhat stinky (12 people in a room with one small window.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was pretty close to the train station and most things within walking distance.

Disliked: It is located over a bar so you don't have as easy access to the staff. On the 4th floor the kitchen, common area and beds were all in the same room, which was a bit inconvenient.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all the staff kind and friendly :) you can get 1 free drink at bar.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: a weird smell in room....

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kathleen Wendt

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 August 2014 Kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was clean, accommodating, with a great breakfast and helpful staff.

Disliked: It should be noted that hostel is located in Zurich's old Red Light district and neighbors plenty of sex shops, strip joints, etc. This may be something worth considering, especially if you are a young female traveler arriving alone in the late evening.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Frank

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is an absolute gem! We stayed here during world cup and the locals, staff, and atmosphere was amazing. Perfect location for night life, sightseeing (free bikes in Zurich), and getting around.

Disliked: We liked everything.


See all Zurich hostels
See all Zurich hotels