HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Zurich hostels
See all Zurich hotels

Reviews of Zurich Youth Hostel

Hostel | Mutschellenstrasse 114, Zurich, Switzerland 8038

86.7% Overall Rating

874 out of 1029 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/07/2014)

Ken Danniswara thinks…

"Very big common room. Although the place a little far from the center, but easy to access by bus & tram. Room are good and clean, bathroom is simple but enough for an hostel. Not a problem for…"

Read all Zurich Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.20

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Prices correspond to guests with membercard. Member card for one day CHF 6.- per pers./night or CHF 12.- per family/night. Important information and conditions: * The prices are for HI-Members incl. city tax of CHF 2.50 per person/night. Non-members are paying additional CHF 6.00/person+night, payable on arrival. * The cancellation cost is within 48hours before arrival free of charge. * We provide four or six bedded dorm rooms. * Rooms will be ready for check-in at 3pm! Please do not reply to this e-mail. This message was generated automatically for your information. Hostel contact details zuerich@youthhostel.ch Tel: +41 43 399 78 00

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zurich?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Zurich

Hotel Otter
82.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.5% 36 reviews
City Backpacker - Hotel Biber
40.71 USD

Hostel 75.8% 46 reviews
Hotel DaVinci
79.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Langstars
53.92 USD

Hostel 85.3% 221 reviews
Hotel Limmathof
70.42 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.4% 237 reviews
Hotel Bristol Zurich
64.37 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.1% 75 reviews
Im Sonnenbuehl
82.53 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
X-TRA Hotel
77.02 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.4% 44 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.7%

Overall Rating

874 out of 1029 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Zurich Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
75.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 635 of 686 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

HANEOL JEONG

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

30 July 2014 HANEOL would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: good

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ken Danniswara

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014

Liked: Very big common room. Although the place a little far from the center, but easy to access by bus & tram. Room are good and clean, bathroom is simple but enough for an hostel. Not a problem for backpackers Breakfast included already Cheapest one in Zurich at the moment I booked

Disliked: With their "youth hostel associations" name all around, I expected they to be more hostel like. But it's not for me. First, they don't even have microwave (i don't ask for kitchen, just a simple microwave for heating). Zurich is a damn expensive city, so i hope i can at least reduce my budget by buying from supermarket. They also sells coffee, tea, and some dinner but with a city center price. The only free thing is hot water Second, this is not a big problem for me. But what's the point of using coin locker inside my own room? I can get the coin back and it's already in (at least) the private area with a keys so that's weird. From my point of view it's like I need to pay for everything when staying there. I'm not blaming the staff there, you are great! seems like it's more managerial and policy things

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jill Cioci

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014 Jill would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean!

Disliked: My friend and I are both in college and we roomed with a 65 year old and a 40 year old. It was really weird. There was also lots a families with children there so it wasn't a good socialable place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ewa Tarnawa

Alone

City break

04 July 2014 Ewa would recommend this property

Liked: I strongly recommend this hostel.The staff is very helpfull, rooms are clean and safe, and they have the best coffee for breakfast, I've ever tried!

Disliked: Ewa left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice, clean, cheap for Zürich prices

Disliked: no particular dislikes

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast, the facilities and the staff.

Disliked: The location and the cost.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Olga Bova

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

01 April 2014 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: new building, good internet but only in the common room, good breakfast, kindly stuff and place for car.

Disliked: everything is good but city is expensive in general

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tetyana Yakovleva

With a large group / tour

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 March 2014 Tetyana would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice building, helpful staff and pretty favorable position.

Disliked: The rooms were a bit too small with less light.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anna Manzoni

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

10 March 2014 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: the cleanliness

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

06 February 2014

Liked: none

Disliked: Far from city, stuff not quiet friendly, especialy some one from middle east!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast was simple but good, I liked to common area. The lockers were big and the room also had a small sink. The showers were spacious. The staff was nice. The wifi worked well too, although only in the lobby/reception and not in the rooms. Small bar in the lobby.

Disliked: It's a bit far from the city center, but the tram no 7 goes frequently and also you can take the trolleybus no 33 right in front of the hostel. Also a bit expensive considering the 6 bed dorm was very small and plain, but hey Switzerland is expensive!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and organized, bedrooms have lockers and sinks in a "pre-room" which is pretty neat.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Pratik Chandwani

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Pratik would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is good. Specailly the Bar staff.

Disliked: Location. 20 Min's Tram and then a 5 Min Bus from main station. Its far and in a remote area. For any activity one has to travell min for 15 mins.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's quite good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ivy Tsai

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

14 November 2013 Ivy would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly

Disliked: Location: Not so easy to find it

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very clean and secure.

Disliked: It is not near from the city center, but anyway it is very easy to get there in Tram.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Mira Fischer

Alone

Business / conference

14 October 2013 Mira would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: Mira left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Food was very good

Disliked: No net in rooms, but bc it was only available in lobby you got to meet more ppl.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So clean, great breakfast, really good instructions.

Disliked: Far away from the city.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Augus Perwira Putra

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2013

Liked: I did not see something interesting with this hostel comparing with other hostels i have stayed in during my leisure trip to europe.

Disliked: With the money i have paid, this hotel did not give me good value. The distance is too far out of the city. The hotel location is not easily reached by the public transport from main train station.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything, especially breakfast.

Disliked: none

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great quality/price hotel.

Disliked: I did not like the fact that a 60 year malasian man was with me in the room. I would have preferred someone from my age. ( 'YOUTH' Hostel )

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Janne Syrjälä

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

14 September 2013 Janne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful

Disliked: They should offer vegetables and fruits (not just fruitsalad) at breakfest.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was absolutely spottless, sparkling clean. The showers were perfectly clean and nice and warm. Breakfast had a good selection of cereals, breads, cheeses and preserves, hot and cold drinks. Wifi was easily accessible in the lounge and computers were available to use at a charge.

Disliked: Quite far out from the city center however the trams were very easy to use. I walked into the city along the lake side and found this was a beautiful way to enjoy the scenery. Also, bathrooms are not en suite to the rooms but this didn't really bother me.


See all Zurich hostels
See all Zurich hotels