We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Zurich hostels
See all Zurich hotels

Reviews of Zurich Youth Hostel

Hostel | Mutschellenstrasse 114, Zurich, Switzerland 8038

87.0% Overall Rating

887 out of 1044 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/09/2014)

Gary Tassler thinks…

""Excellent Hostel...!" I was on my bicycle so this location was very accessible to the City Centre (about 5-8 min), the Zurichsee (less than 5 min), and high Alpine meadows (about 1 1/2 hrs by…"

Read all Zurich Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.13

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Prices correspond to guests with membercard. Member card for one day CHF 6.- per pers./night or CHF 12.- per family/night. Important information and conditions: * The prices are for HI-Members incl. city tax of CHF 2.50 per person/night. Non-members are paying additional CHF 6.00/person+night, payable on arrival. * The cancellation cost is within 48hours before arrival free of charge. * We provide four or six bedded dorm rooms. * Rooms will be ready for check-in at 3pm! Please do not reply to this e-mail. This message was generated automatically for your information. Hostel contact details zuerich@youthhostel.ch Tel: +41 43 399 78 00

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zurich?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Zurich

Hotel Otter
79.91 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.5% 36 reviews
City Backpacker - Hotel Biber
39.42 USD

Hostel 75.5% 53 reviews
Hotel DaVinci
80.51 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Langstars
45.81 USD

Hostel 84.7% 232 reviews
Hotel Limmathof
68.19 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.7% 238 reviews
Hotel Bristol Zurich
66.59 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.9% 76 reviews
Im Sonnenbuehl
79.91 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
X-TRA Hotel
74.58 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.4% 44 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

887 out of 1044 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Zurich Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
77.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 645 of 701 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Tassler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: "Excellent Hostel...!" I was on my bicycle so this location was very accessible to the City Centre (about 5-8 min), the Zurichsee (less than 5 min), and high Alpine meadows (about 1 1/2 hrs by bicycle). I showed up a day after my original reservation and ended up staying for an extra two nights and they were very accomodating. Staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a pretty good place to lock up a bicycle in a storage facility underground. They also have a decent laundry facility as I was in need of doing laundry after a four day bicycle trek to get there. Breakfast was also very good. A bit on the expensive side but other than that, I give this place an A++

Disliked: Nothing notable...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ABM ABDUL IMANI

As a family with children

Family Holiday

13 September 2014 ABM ABDUL would recommend this property

Liked: Its very good

Disliked: ABM ABDUL left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2014

Liked: Good wifi downstairs

Disliked: So so so ridiculously overpriced!!! No kitchen and no wifi in the rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leslie Brown

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 Leslie would recommend this property

Liked: It far exceeded my expectations. Excellent value.

Disliked: Leslie left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jia Hong Mark Lee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2014 Jia Hong Mark would recommend this property

Liked: good service

Disliked: no wifi in rooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Jiang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious common room floor and multi doored 4 person dorm.

Disliked: Their dinner BBQ only gives you on sausage. So make sure you consider b4 spending 20 CHF. There is a grocery store close by, but no kitchen.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sui Ha Lee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Sui Ha would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is good, staffs are nice.

Disliked: Location is not close to city centre

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sui Ha Lee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Sui Ha would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is great, staffs are nice.

Disliked: Location is not good. WIFI only works in lobby.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cora christiansen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

11 August 2014 cora would recommend this property

Liked: It's just awesome! So clean, staff were more than helpful and it's located a good distance from the central city! Also that it offers lockers, most hostels don't and it really helps to ease your mind when you're travelling!

Disliked: Nothing, literally nothing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

David Soole

Alone

City break

11 August 2014

Liked: This is a very clean and comfortable hostel. Free wi-fi in the lobby. Breakfast included.

Disliked: This hostel is in a horrible location. It is about 20 mins from the city centre - meaning you'll be spending time and money on public transport. The part of town it is located in is largely residential, with few restaurants nearby (especially for those on a budget) but there is a good supermarket a short walk away (although it shuts quite early at 8pm). The showers are on a ridiculous 30 second timer making for a really frustrating shower experience!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

HANEOL JEONG

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

30 July 2014 HANEOL would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: good

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ken Danniswara

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014

Liked: Very big common room. Although the place a little far from the center, but easy to access by bus & tram. Room are good and clean, bathroom is simple but enough for an hostel. Not a problem for backpackers Breakfast included already Cheapest one in Zurich at the moment I booked

Disliked: With their "youth hostel associations" name all around, I expected they to be more hostel like. But it's not for me. First, they don't even have microwave (i don't ask for kitchen, just a simple microwave for heating). Zurich is a damn expensive city, so i hope i can at least reduce my budget by buying from supermarket. They also sells coffee, tea, and some dinner but with a city center price. The only free thing is hot water Second, this is not a big problem for me. But what's the point of using coin locker inside my own room? I can get the coin back and it's already in (at least) the private area with a keys so that's weird. From my point of view it's like I need to pay for everything when staying there. I'm not blaming the staff there, you are great! seems like it's more managerial and policy things

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jill Cioci

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014 Jill would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean!

Disliked: My friend and I are both in college and we roomed with a 65 year old and a 40 year old. It was really weird. There was also lots a families with children there so it wasn't a good socialable place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ewa Tarnawa

Alone

City break

04 July 2014 Ewa would recommend this property

Liked: I strongly recommend this hostel.The staff is very helpfull, rooms are clean and safe, and they have the best coffee for breakfast, I've ever tried!

Disliked: Ewa left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice, clean, cheap for Zürich prices

Disliked: no particular dislikes

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast, the facilities and the staff.

Disliked: The location and the cost.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Olga Bova

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

01 April 2014 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: new building, good internet but only in the common room, good breakfast, kindly stuff and place for car.

Disliked: everything is good but city is expensive in general

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tetyana Yakovleva

With a large group / tour

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 March 2014 Tetyana would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice building, helpful staff and pretty favorable position.

Disliked: The rooms were a bit too small with less light.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anna Manzoni

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

10 March 2014 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: the cleanliness

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

06 February 2014

Liked: none

Disliked: Far from city, stuff not quiet friendly, especialy some one from middle east!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast was simple but good, I liked to common area. The lockers were big and the room also had a small sink. The showers were spacious. The staff was nice. The wifi worked well too, although only in the lobby/reception and not in the rooms. Small bar in the lobby.

Disliked: It's a bit far from the city center, but the tram no 7 goes frequently and also you can take the trolleybus no 33 right in front of the hostel. Also a bit expensive considering the 6 bed dorm was very small and plain, but hey Switzerland is expensive!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and organized, bedrooms have lockers and sinks in a "pre-room" which is pretty neat.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Pratik Chandwani

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Pratik would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is good. Specailly the Bar staff.

Disliked: Location. 20 Min's Tram and then a 5 Min Bus from main station. Its far and in a remote area. For any activity one has to travell min for 15 mins.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's quite good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Zurich hostels
See all Zurich hotels