We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Zermatt hostels

Reviews of The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt

Hostel | Schluhmattstrasse, Zermatt, Switzerland 3920

74.4% Overall Rating

253 out of 371 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/01/2015)

Christoph Seeger thinks…

"By far the cheapest place to stay in Zermatt and by the way the only place to stay on budget. I booked on very short notice, payed 36 CHF for one night in an 8-bed-room. The next…"

Read all The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.29
  • Towel USD 2.07

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Terms of cancellation: to 60 days before arrival = 25% of total amount to 30 days before arrival = 50% of total amount to 14 days before arrival = 75% of total amount less than 14 days before arrival = 100% of total amount Not Included: Tourist tax: 2.50CHF per person, per night

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zermatt?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.4%

Overall Rating

253 out of 371 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
81.6%
Value
74.4%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 227 of 245 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most affordable place in Zermatt. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Shower drains were blocked which made showering disgusting (last persons hair and shampoo foam). There was mouse on showering room. Security was poor as anyone could walk in any room at any time, no room keys. Area seems safe but... Lastly one hygiene point: blankets offered were made of wool so they are very likely never cleaned. Happily i had my own sleeping bag!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: No locks on lockers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Old style building, location, helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location and kind staff.

Disliked: Bathrooms were a little dirty, but otherwise nice hostel.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near to cable car station

Disliked: not so easy to find

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Huei-Yi Hong

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

03 February 2015 Huei-Yi would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff

Disliked: Huei-Yi left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Christoph Seeger

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 January 2015 Christoph would recommend this property

Liked: By far the cheapest place to stay in Zermatt and by the way the only place to stay on budget. I booked on very short notice, payed 36 CHF for one night in an 8-bed-room. The next "cheapest" place available online was a room for more than 200 CHF. So if you have had other hostel experiences, at Zermatt hostel you will find a more or less average hostel. Staff was very nice, breakfast for 8 CHF was good value for money (all seen in the context of the Zermatt prices). Of course it was loud on a Friday night but that's the most normal thing in a backpacker hostel. Unfortunately they had issues with the boiler so warm water was not really available. Shit happens...

Disliked: Christoph left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Satellite tv with dvd

Disliked: No oven

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Songhwa Chae

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 September 2014 Songhwa would recommend this property

Liked: the kindest reception I have ever met during staying at hostels!

Disliked: Songhwa left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

josh rose

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014 josh would recommend this property

Liked: Micheal Zussman. Really nice and funny guy and he remembered the names of all the guests. Made the stay much more welcoming.

Disliked: The guy in my room snoring like a freight train. Not onlywas it beyond loud, I could feel the vibrations!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything was smooth

Disliked: no complaints

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Logan Silverberg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 Logan would recommend this property

Liked: I overheard a lot of people complaining about this place when I stayed. Those people were mostly higher-income 50 year old women, but I don't know what they expected from a hostel that only cost 30 CHF in Switzerland...in the shadow of the Matterhorn. This place was awesome, and the staff were attentive and helpful. I loved the location and would easily go back and stay there again.

Disliked: One thin blanket was definitely not enough for our top-floor room as it cold pretty cold at night, even in late July.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, has fridge, good sized lockers and the location is awesome.

Disliked: Pretty dirty facilities especially showers, rooms were clean enough but pretty shabby. My room had no curtains. Couldn't lock our room so anyone could have come in any time even off the street but they do have lockers once they have checked in - have to be after 4pm which sucks!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jill Cioci

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2014

Liked: It is a good location because zermatt is a very small town. The staff was awesome & some of the best staff I've seen. There was a restaurant attached to the hostel that gave you a good deal on the food which was really delish. I also liked that they give you lockers.

Disliked: The showers don't drain that well. The guys and girls share a bathroom. My friend and I are both girls and we felt like we were the only girls there so it was weird that while we were brushing our teeth that Gus were peeing in urinals. Also, there was only 1 plug for a room of 8. There should probably be an extension cord in each room to change that so everybody can charge their phones.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location.helpful staff

Disliked: it is a bit tiny inside.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2014

Liked: very nice staff

Disliked: the facilities are quite old and cleanliness of bathroom is fair

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Robert Brooke

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 June 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is cheap compared to everything else in Zermatt. Have stayed twice and always meet great people staying there.

Disliked: They need to invest in blinds or curtains for the rooms. Would prefer if front door had lock and key for guests when staff are not manning the front desk. Mattresses could be thicker as you can feel every slat in the bed.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: N/a

Disliked: N/a

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2014

Liked: bad

Disliked: bad

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are large lockers for each bed and the wifi works really well. The staff may come across a bit rude but they are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The blanket provided doesn't seem to get washed between guests, some of the showers didn't drain and the hot water was a bit questionable. The common room was a bit dull and only a kettle and fridge were provided (the microwave was behind reception).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sparky's bar,

Disliked: Showers a bit crummy, blocked drain hole. A towel would have been nice.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Phanupong Polyiam

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Phanupong would recommend this property

Liked: Appropriate Price for Backpacker

Disliked: Location quite far for Train Station

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -though basic, the breakfast was good -good location, easy walk to lifts -relatively cheap compared to other accomodation in Zermatt -nice restaurant/bar area

Disliked: -room looked a bit like a prison cell but hey, I was there to ski -can get a bit noisy, walls aren't thick, but nothing some ear plugs couldn't fix

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 December 2013

Liked: Nothing in particular

Disliked: When we arrived the staff was very unfriendly, we did not receive any information on the hostel and thus had to go and ask several times, always receiving an unfriendly answer. The general atmosphere is very impersonal and not inviting at all. The hostel is not very clean, especially not the toilets and showers. On top they are located in the basement so we had to go down three floors everytime we wanted to use the toilet. Even though it is announced that they only provide a woollen blanket they do not provide for a simple linen underneath,which means you have direct contact with the blanket. That is not only uncomfortable but also disgusting since the blankets did not appear to be washed after every guest. The beds are super uncomfortable and not recommendable if you want to go skiing or hiking the day after or need a good rest after an exhausting day. Our room also was very cold and not well heated.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Miguel Angel Pliego

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 November 2013 Miguel Angel would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to be if you are seeking something cheap and good located. The staff was a bit unfriendly sometimes, but nothing that you cannot deal with. I would recommended it.

Disliked: We felt too monitored by the staff. ( We are +30 yo ).


See all Zermatt hostels