HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt Zermatt

Hostel

Schluhmattstrasse 32, Zermatt, Switzerland

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 70%

Location 86%

Safety 73%

Staff 86%

Value 77%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Lockers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Restaurant
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 8.56USD
  • Towel 2.14USD

Important Information

Terms of cancellation:
to 60 days before arrival = 25% of total amount
to 30 days before arrival = 50% of total amount
to 14 days before arrival = 75% of total amount
less than 14 days before arrival = 100% of total amount

Not Included: Tourist tax: 2.50CHF per person, per night

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zermatt?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 70%

Location 86%

Safety 73%

Staff 86%

Value 77%

Showing 51-33 of 33 reviews

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Was good location, staff friendly.

Disliked: Property was a little dated. Would prefer if rooms had locks on the door. Microwave in the kitchen would be good, however desk staff do have one out back.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Zermatt is a beautiful place so this is the cheapest place we found online for zermatt.

Disliked: So expensive! We paid $100 a night for a piece of crap room that stinks and it right under the stairs so we heard people stomping down the stairs 24/7. I would've been fine staying there but seriously $100 a night for 2 people should not buy such a crappy room. In any other place it would be like $30 a night for two people.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: nothing

Disliked: the wooden floor planks creaks very loudly. it gets very cold in after midnight. don't see a heater anywhere...


The property's response is

every room has its own heater. what would we do without heater in a region were we get easiely -20 degrees in winter?

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: günstig

Disliked: zu viel lärm die ganze nacht durch, da das haus sehr ringhörig ist

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Rooms were nice and warm for winter, good location also. Bar downstairs was awesome.

Disliked: Checkin at 4pm, which is advertised but annoying. Staff weren't that friendly and didnt speak very good english. Showers were a bit cold also. A bit expensive, but it is Switzerland!

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: nothing really

Disliked: very uncomfortable bed about 12 people having breakfast nothing was replenished and staff did not seem happy. only stayed here as other places were full there is good reason why this place was not full.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location

Disliked: Everything else.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location. It is walking distance to the cable cars up to the Klein Matterhorn and higher skiing circuits.

Disliked: Please refer to No. 2.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Its the cheapest in Zermatt.

Disliked: Its old so the floors were very creaky, woke up several times not because people are loud but you can literally hear every single step someone takes.It would have been nice to have a kitchen because its so expensive to eat out anywhere in Switzerland.The shower area is a little dangerous. Its concrete and there is a large dip as you exit. My feet were wet because my shower flooded because of poor drainage and I went down the concrete slope, slipped, and landed right on my back.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It was a bed to sleep in, that's about it.

Disliked: The hostel did not inform us beforehand that the reception closes at 9pm. We arrived at 9:30pm as planned and there was no one to check us in, so we had to phone (they left a piece of paper with our name on the front door telling us which room to sleep in, but we had not seen this). There was no key for our private room; we had to leave it unlocked all night. We also had to wait until the reception opened at 7:30am to check in/out the next morning, when we wanted to get an early start on our hike before the weather turned bad (which it did). Men and women have to share the same bathroom, and there are no rubbish bins in the stalls (this really is a basic hygiene necessity for toilets being used by women). There was no top sheet or duvet on the beds, just a rough, scratchy blanket. I could go on and on, but suffice it to say I was not impressed.

Check Availability