We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Zermatt hostels

Reviews of Matterhorn Hostel & Appartments

Hostel | Schluhmattstrasse, Zermatt, Switzerland 3920

76.7% Overall Rating

243 out of 358 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/08/2014)

josh rose thinks…

"Micheal Zussman. Really nice and funny guy and he remembered the names of all the guests. Made the stay much more welcoming."

Read all Matterhorn Hostel & Appartments reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.56
  • Towel USD 2.14

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Terms of cancellation: to 60 days before arrival = 25% of total amount to 30 days before arrival = 50% of total amount to 14 days before arrival = 75% of total amount less than 14 days before arrival = 100% of total amount

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zermatt?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.7%

Overall Rating

243 out of 358 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Matterhorn Hostel & Appartments'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
78.4%
Value
79.2%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 218 of 232 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything, it was very friendly, cheap, fun and nice.

Disliked: Nothing, everything was cool.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2011

Liked: staffs are very helpful.

Disliked: no hot shower, expensive staying fee.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2011

Liked: It was in Zermatt and the only place we could stay. The breakfast was free.

Disliked: Everything. No hot water, unfriendly staff, no kitchen facilities, no where to wash dishes except in the sink in the toilets, beds werent particularly comfortable. Toilets and showers two floors away. Too overpriced for what you get.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 January 2011

Liked: This is one of the cheaper places to stay in Zermatt.

Disliked: It is a very cramped hostel, with an odd setup for bathrooms and rooms. The 6 bedroom I stayed in was tiny and the cleanliness of the hostel as a whole was poor.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2010

Liked: breakfast...

Disliked: Thought we were getting a double bed, but it was two tiny uncomfortable bunk beds. Our room was in the basement right next to the common WC. Our door RATTLED very loudly every single time someone went in to use the WC. Also, we could hear every single footstep from every single person that came down the staircase. Over all, the place seemed cramped and rather dirty. The showers had one setting (luke warm at best). AND, the window to our room wouldn't even stay shut. It was jerry-rigged with a tiny clip-lock that still left a good 1-2 inch gap around the entire sill. When I asked for help, I was told that I didn't know how to properly lock the window shut... As a proud college graduate with a degree in architecture, I can safely say that I know how to shut and properly lock a window. We ended up having to tape it shut to cut off the draft... There is a bar-restaurant upstairs, but it didn't seem like much. My girlfriend and I went up to grab a drink later that night and it was empty. We ended up walking ten minutes to the main street to find a place that actually had people in it. The only kinda good thing about the place, was that our breakfast was free (apparently its included during the holiday season). It was just bread, jam and coffee, the standard, but good none the less considering we paid over 70 CHF/person to stay there... I would not stay there again. Complete rip-off.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: people working there are nice, and helpful. I enjoyed my stay. Since there is such limited outlet area in the T.V,./ dining area, it would be a good idea to have an electric power cord for people to use. Too many people were a little frustrated with waiting for space to 'plug in'.

Disliked: nice that no key was needed for the hostel door but, anyone could walk in. At the same time, there was never a problem. For the price of the breakfast, it should include 2 eggs and bacon, toast or pancakes.....and coffee. 8-10 franks for bread, jam and coffee is over-priced.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marie-Noel Laflamme

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2010 Marie-Noel would recommend this property

Liked: few minutes walking on your left, you can find the village and much more! and on your right the lifts for Matterhorn!!!! the chalet style of the hostel makes it perfect to really feel the ski atmosphere of this village!!!

Disliked: hum... may be the stairs are really narrow!! but reallty nothing bad about this place!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

10 November 2010

Liked: Location

Disliked: Very dirty, No hot water for showering, and the water is smell bad.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really close to the chairlifts, friendly & helpful staff

Disliked: showers were cold!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 October 2010

Liked: cleaninga big TV room,you can reading and have a cup of coffee.

Disliked: room is too small.you can do nothing except sleep. staff leave too early, so when you need help,he isn`t there. little far away from train station. electronic charge is not enough.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sherry Scott

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2010 Sherry would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located in town.

Disliked: There were lots of stairs tol climb.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place :)

Disliked: -

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: it's not 24hrs reception so when there is problem, there in noone to report. room is small and men's and women's shower rooms is same

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

anthony gibbons

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2010 anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy premises.

Disliked: The proprietor is unpleasant. Always had a very obnoxious and unwelcoming attitude. Although the standard of accommodation was about what you'd expect for a hostel the showers were poor. Luke warm water at best, fluctuating with cold. Very, very frustrating. Everything seem rather cramped also.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 September 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: No heating, No curtains.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clealiness

Disliked: Fun place

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's definitely the cheapest place in this posh village.

Disliked: -

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free access to the computer with Internet, helpful staff

Disliked: Toilets without hot water (only in showers), no lockers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location excellent. great to see such a place at lower cost

Disliked: showers were not hot

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

chen wan chen

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

30 August 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: no hot water at night time...weather in Zermatt is still cold when night comes...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

stewart boulton

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 August 2010

Liked: had walls and a roof

Disliked: very dirty and smelly nice place if you were to keep pigs there

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location.We can see the Martthorn peak at the gate.

Disliked: the room is dark.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

MAI SUMIYATI ISHAK

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2010 MAI SUMIYATI would recommend this property

Liked: location is great, cheap and breakfast in nice in such a beautiful brakfast lounge, really really nice ambiance

Disliked: i was shocked that there is no hot water to shower. i have stayed in other hostels with lower rate and they normally never miss out on hot water. that is a necessity!!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view from the hostel is unbelievable!

Disliked: Expensive.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: cold, blankets horribly scratchy. make sure to bring pajamas.


See all Zermatt hostels