HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Zermatt hostels

Reviews of Matterhorn Hostel & Appartments

Hostel | Schluhmattstrasse, Zermatt, Switzerland 3920

75.5% Overall Rating

242 out of 357 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/08/2014)

Logan Silverberg thinks…

"I overheard a lot of people complaining about this place when I stayed. Those people were mostly higher-income 50 year old women, but I don't know what they expected from a hostel that only cost 30…"

Read all Matterhorn Hostel & Appartments reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.73
  • Towel USD 2.18

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Terms of cancellation: to 60 days before arrival = 25% of total amount to 30 days before arrival = 50% of total amount to 14 days before arrival = 75% of total amount less than 14 days before arrival = 100% of total amount

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zermatt?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.5%

Overall Rating

242 out of 357 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Matterhorn Hostel & Appartments'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
76.8%
Value
77.6%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 217 of 231 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 September 2011

Liked: It was a bed to sleep in, that's about it.

Disliked: The hostel did not inform us beforehand that the reception closes at 9pm. We arrived at 9:30pm as planned and there was no one to check us in, so we had to phone (they left a piece of paper with our name on the front door telling us which room to sleep in, but we had not seen this). There was no key for our private room; we had to leave it unlocked all night. We also had to wait until the reception opened at 7:30am to check in/out the next morning, when we wanted to get an early start on our hike before the weather turned bad (which it did). Men and women have to share the same bathroom, and there are no rubbish bins in the stalls (this really is a basic hygiene necessity for toilets being used by women). There was no top sheet or duvet on the beds, just a rough, scratchy blanket. I could go on and on, but suffice it to say I was not impressed.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 September 2011

Liked: everything but the staff

Disliked: The staff was very unhelpful

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 August 2011

Liked: The location was nice

Disliked: Almost all the hostel

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price, location, friendly barman, good food.

Disliked: Reception was not expecting us!! Cramped, Difficulty to move around the sleeping area due to lockers. No where to dry wet stuff. No w.c.s on our floor.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 July 2011

Liked: It offered Wifi.

Disliked: Abrupt and unhelpful staff. Overcrowded dorm (I mean the fire marshal should close the place down). Our dorm, in the attic, had seven beds. Access was via a staircase type ladder, with room only for one at a time on stair case, and only one at a time to leave the room. I hit my head 3 times No hot water in sinks. Spigots on hot water taps had been removed, only cold water available. Only one toilet on upper floors for 49 beds! Other toilets in basement, also with only cold water. Of the 30 plus hostels I have stayed at, this one was clearly the worst. Avoid like the plague. (Did I mention the dirt?)

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011

Liked: cheap

Disliked: bad internet connection stability. unfriendly stuff.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Everything! This is the worst hostel. The guy at reception clearly hates his job. He is very rude and not at all helpful. He insisted I leave my passport as a deposit for the locker key and when I asked if it was safe with him he said "should be". The rooms are way too small for that many bunk beds. It feels like you are sleeping on a prison cot. The lockers are big but not very secure and the doors to the rooms do not lock. The "common room" is not any bigger than the bedrooms and is in the basement. It was so bad we decided it was better to sit by the river and be cold until we could possibly go to bed than to spend an extra second in the hostel. This place is a total rip off (but sadly is the cheapest option in Zermatt). I would never stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was not that expensive and you felt safe!

Disliked: It could have been a kithen at the Hostel!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: here is nice place to go to mountains

Disliked: sometimes the shower was cold

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2011

Liked: The place had lockers free of charge which was good and free wifi. That's it.

Disliked: Breakfast cost 8 Francs and was worse than what other hostels give for free. No power outlets anywhere in the building to charge anything, man on desk extremely unhelpful and unwelcoming, restaurant and bar was closed until mid July, one itchy blanket provided no towel, place was very run down, no facilities to cook with, uncomfortable beds.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ricky Simpson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011

Liked: It was in Switzerland

Disliked: DONT STAY HERE! This is no doubt the worst hostel I have stayed in while in Europe. The walls are then so you can hear everyone, there is no heater in the room so it is freezing cold in the rooms. No sheets, but they do give you a very very itchy wool blanket to keep you awake all night. The showers are cold, showers and bathrooms are mixed, deff no place to take your girlfriend. it is not safe, the basement door you could simply open and when i woke up one morning the emergency exit was wide open in the hall way so who knows who came in. - Zermatt is amazing, this hostel sucks! DONT STAY HERE

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Showers and lockers. I received the locker's key but my locker was broken.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Ericson Ferdinand Pasaribu

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 June 2011 Ericson Ferdinand would recommend this property

Liked: The location.

Disliked: A bit unclean and untidy.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Ketan Dewan

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

06 June 2011

Liked: Its location

Disliked: Its very small and bathroom are cojusted

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome character. Really nice staff.

Disliked: Nothing. Great place.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was located very close to the cable car that went up to Klein Matterhorn and just 5 min away from the main street.

Disliked: There is only one lady operating the entire hostel and is always pissed off. Being greeted with a pissed off person after a long journey kinda sucks.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HARUYO NAKAMURA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2011 HARUYO would recommend this property

Liked: we had goo days!!

Disliked: big mountain

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

leticia prates roma

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2011 leticia would recommend this property

Liked: the room was nice

Disliked: no breakfast

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2011

Liked: ~15 minutes walk from train station. Expensive for what it is. 9 rooms. 4 levels – showers on bottom floor. Attached bar – not too noisy. Small TV room on 2nd floor. Reception closed 2200 – 0730. Free wi-fi provided. In middle of town. 5.2/10

Disliked: Shower flooded on 1st day. Only 1 toilet on upper 2 levels. Tiny staircases. Thin mattresses – ok with two mattresses. Unable to fit backpack in locker. No locks on room doors. Minimal kitchen facilities. Breakfast extra.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

05 May 2011

Liked: Not particular

Disliked: small room and too much noise from steps of guests in upper floor

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: It was not as near to the train station. Took us a while to find it. Then, we entered to find ourselves in a dinghy little place with a bar downstairs and a not-so-friendly receptionist. Both my friend and I didn't shower that night because the entire atmosphere of the place was just creepy and it was really an awful stay. I woke up a couple of times in the middle of the night because it was really cold. The blanket didn't help at all and it was giving me the itches cuz of the material (No quilt cover). The whole place felt really insecure too. No locks on the door and the lockers were too narrow for any of our bags. Certainly not worth what we paid for it and definitely never going back to the place.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location

Disliked: no kitchen facilities

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

05 April 2011

Liked: Only location and price

Disliked: Crownded ,noisy and my friend have hurted the back of his head while sitting on your small and low bed. If u can pls chg. your bed for more comfortable. Thanks

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2011

Liked: its the cheapest

Disliked: no hot shower. its ok for a night but not more

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything, it was very friendly, cheap, fun and nice.

Disliked: Nothing, everything was cool.


See all Zermatt hostels