HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Zermatt hostels

Reviews of Matterhorn Hostel & Appartments

Hostel | Schluhmattstrasse, Zermatt, Switzerland 3920

72.6% Overall Rating

232 out of 344 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/02/2014)

"-though basic, the breakfast was good -good location, easy walk to lifts -relatively cheap compared to other accomodation in Zermatt -nice restaurant/bar area"

Read all Matterhorn Hostel & Appartments reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 9.09
  • Towel USD 2.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Terms of cancellation: to 60 days before arrival = 25% of total amount to 30 days before arrival = 50% of total amount to 14 days before arrival = 75% of total amount less than 14 days before arrival = 100% of total amount

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zermatt?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.6%

Overall Rating

232 out of 344 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Matterhorn Hostel & Appartments'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
76.0%
Value
70.4%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 205 of 218 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Ericson Ferdinand Pasaribu

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 June 2011 Ericson Ferdinand would recommend this property

Liked: The location.

Disliked: A bit unclean and untidy.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Ketan Dewan

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

06 June 2011

Liked: Its location

Disliked: Its very small and bathroom are cojusted

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome character. Really nice staff.

Disliked: Nothing. Great place.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was located very close to the cable car that went up to Klein Matterhorn and just 5 min away from the main street.

Disliked: There is only one lady operating the entire hostel and is always pissed off. Being greeted with a pissed off person after a long journey kinda sucks.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HARUYO NAKAMURA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2011 HARUYO would recommend this property

Liked: we had goo days!!

Disliked: big mountain

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

leticia prates roma

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2011 leticia would recommend this property

Liked: the room was nice

Disliked: no breakfast

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2011

Liked: ~15 minutes walk from train station. Expensive for what it is. 9 rooms. 4 levels – showers on bottom floor. Attached bar – not too noisy. Small TV room on 2nd floor. Reception closed 2200 – 0730. Free wi-fi provided. In middle of town. 5.2/10

Disliked: Shower flooded on 1st day. Only 1 toilet on upper 2 levels. Tiny staircases. Thin mattresses – ok with two mattresses. Unable to fit backpack in locker. No locks on room doors. Minimal kitchen facilities. Breakfast extra.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

05 May 2011

Liked: Not particular

Disliked: small room and too much noise from steps of guests in upper floor

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: It was not as near to the train station. Took us a while to find it. Then, we entered to find ourselves in a dinghy little place with a bar downstairs and a not-so-friendly receptionist. Both my friend and I didn't shower that night because the entire atmosphere of the place was just creepy and it was really an awful stay. I woke up a couple of times in the middle of the night because it was really cold. The blanket didn't help at all and it was giving me the itches cuz of the material (No quilt cover). The whole place felt really insecure too. No locks on the door and the lockers were too narrow for any of our bags. Certainly not worth what we paid for it and definitely never going back to the place.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location

Disliked: no kitchen facilities

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

05 April 2011

Liked: Only location and price

Disliked: Crownded ,noisy and my friend have hurted the back of his head while sitting on your small and low bed. If u can pls chg. your bed for more comfortable. Thanks

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2011

Liked: its the cheapest

Disliked: no hot shower. its ok for a night but not more

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything, it was very friendly, cheap, fun and nice.

Disliked: Nothing, everything was cool.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2011

Liked: staffs are very helpful.

Disliked: no hot shower, expensive staying fee.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2011

Liked: It was in Zermatt and the only place we could stay. The breakfast was free.

Disliked: Everything. No hot water, unfriendly staff, no kitchen facilities, no where to wash dishes except in the sink in the toilets, beds werent particularly comfortable. Toilets and showers two floors away. Too overpriced for what you get.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 January 2011

Liked: This is one of the cheaper places to stay in Zermatt.

Disliked: It is a very cramped hostel, with an odd setup for bathrooms and rooms. The 6 bedroom I stayed in was tiny and the cleanliness of the hostel as a whole was poor.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2010

Liked: breakfast...

Disliked: Thought we were getting a double bed, but it was two tiny uncomfortable bunk beds. Our room was in the basement right next to the common WC. Our door RATTLED very loudly every single time someone went in to use the WC. Also, we could hear every single footstep from every single person that came down the staircase. Over all, the place seemed cramped and rather dirty. The showers had one setting (luke warm at best). AND, the window to our room wouldn't even stay shut. It was jerry-rigged with a tiny clip-lock that still left a good 1-2 inch gap around the entire sill. When I asked for help, I was told that I didn't know how to properly lock the window shut... As a proud college graduate with a degree in architecture, I can safely say that I know how to shut and properly lock a window. We ended up having to tape it shut to cut off the draft... There is a bar-restaurant upstairs, but it didn't seem like much. My girlfriend and I went up to grab a drink later that night and it was empty. We ended up walking ten minutes to the main street to find a place that actually had people in it. The only kinda good thing about the place, was that our breakfast was free (apparently its included during the holiday season). It was just bread, jam and coffee, the standard, but good none the less considering we paid over 70 CHF/person to stay there... I would not stay there again. Complete rip-off.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: people working there are nice, and helpful. I enjoyed my stay. Since there is such limited outlet area in the T.V,./ dining area, it would be a good idea to have an electric power cord for people to use. Too many people were a little frustrated with waiting for space to 'plug in'.

Disliked: nice that no key was needed for the hostel door but, anyone could walk in. At the same time, there was never a problem. For the price of the breakfast, it should include 2 eggs and bacon, toast or pancakes.....and coffee. 8-10 franks for bread, jam and coffee is over-priced.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marie-Noel Laflamme

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2010 Marie-Noel would recommend this property

Liked: few minutes walking on your left, you can find the village and much more! and on your right the lifts for Matterhorn!!!! the chalet style of the hostel makes it perfect to really feel the ski atmosphere of this village!!!

Disliked: hum... may be the stairs are really narrow!! but reallty nothing bad about this place!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

10 November 2010

Liked: Location

Disliked: Very dirty, No hot water for showering, and the water is smell bad.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really close to the chairlifts, friendly & helpful staff

Disliked: showers were cold!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 October 2010

Liked: cleaninga big TV room,you can reading and have a cup of coffee.

Disliked: room is too small.you can do nothing except sleep. staff leave too early, so when you need help,he isn`t there. little far away from train station. electronic charge is not enough.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sherry Scott

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2010 Sherry would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located in town.

Disliked: There were lots of stairs tol climb.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place :)

Disliked: -

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: it's not 24hrs reception so when there is problem, there in noone to report. room is small and men's and women's shower rooms is same


See all Zermatt hostels