We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Zermatt hostels

Reviews of The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt

Hostel | Schluhmattstrasse, Zermatt, Switzerland 3920

78.7% Overall Rating

252 out of 368 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/01/2015)

Christoph Seeger thinks…

"By far the cheapest place to stay in Zermatt and by the way the only place to stay on budget. I booked on very short notice, payed 36 CHF for one night in an 8-bed-room. The next…"

Read all The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.31
  • Towel USD 2.08

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Terms of cancellation: to 60 days before arrival = 25% of total amount to 30 days before arrival = 50% of total amount to 14 days before arrival = 75% of total amount less than 14 days before arrival = 100% of total amount

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zermatt?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.7%

Overall Rating

252 out of 368 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
84.8%
Value
80.8%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 225 of 242 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

huiqing li

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 September 2013 huiqing would recommend this property

Liked: it's really good, the location is a little bit far from the train station, walk 10-15mins. the facilities are basic.

Disliked: it's not so clean

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location!

Disliked: No area to relax outside

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Zhi Hao Seah

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Zhi Hao would recommend this property

Liked: The place was really easy to locate with a fantastic view of the Matterhorn all the way enroute. Sparky's restaurant within the hostel had really friendly and helpful staff unlike the one at the reception of the hostel. Place is clean as describe and had a good wifi network as well as computer for the guests to use. Provided plenty of utensils for the guests to use.

Disliked: There were very very view power plugs. Specifically only ONE in a room of 6 backpackers. I'm sure after an entire day of traveling everyone would have to charge either mobile or camera at least so one is impossible to share. The showers are located many floors down, with close to zero amount of hot water so people basically showered in ice cold water or they rather wipe themselves at the sink where there is at least some warm water. Toilet was very limited as well.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location

Disliked: building very run-down needs refurbishment

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ke Xu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Ke would recommend this property

Liked: The bar is perfect.

Disliked: A little expensive.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

LIANG CHAI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013 LIANG would recommend this property

Liked: really good location

Disliked: the price is too high and the room is too cold in December

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Tim Gemmell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2012

Liked: Easy to find and short walk to main sights/bars, due mainly to Zermatt being small! There's a bar which looked good but I didn't get chance!

Disliked: Cramped dorms, very little space for your gear especially as many people have skis etc. Not hostel's fault but the room was so hot could barely breathe let alone sleep cos someone put radiator on full. Showers are downstairs and not the best.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Tristram Todd

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

01 December 2012

Liked: Good location. Very little else though.

Disliked: It has no kitchen or drying room, the beds are uncomfortable and the rooms are poorly laid out so getting ready in the morning is a nightmare if there's more than one of you.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 December 2012

Liked: nothing apart from location.

Disliked: everything. staff were miserable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: nothing

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Arielle Bernier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 November 2012

Liked: proximity to ski lifts. good sized lockers, tough for steep deposit. good wifi usually.

Disliked: everything else. my room smelled like rotting olives, no matter how long I left the window open., the bed was a 4 inch foam pad on the bunk bars, so you could feel every bar, and a horrible itchy blanket. reception is only from 4 pm to 9 pm after checkout hours, yet they leave the hostel doors unlocked all night, and dont give you keys to lock your room. not worth the price. worst hostel I have ever stayed in, and even locals tell you not top go. however, on a tight budget, zermatt is expensive, but better to find people to share a nicer place with.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Danny Mortimer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2012 Danny would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, a quick 10 5/10 minute walk from the train station. The staff were very helpful in giving local information and any other needs

Disliked: the lockers were a bit on the narrow side, which was a bit of a problem for my rucksack, but for personal belongings like laptop/money etc, it was ideal. It was somewhere secure to store valuables - which is always a boost

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Accessible to walking to all of Zermatt.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, walking distance from train station.

Disliked: only one power point in an 8 bed dorm

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much like a mountain hut.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice

Disliked: beds were very hard

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: FIrst of all Switzerland is crazy expensive!!! This hostel offered great accomodations for an even better price for Switzerland standards. It cost the same amount for staying one night at the hostel as it did for one pizza at a restaurant. Despite other reviews we really loved this hostel and its swiss charm and character. Its like staying in an old ski lodge and couldn't be a better location. At the base of hundreds of hikes and right by the river that follows through town. They have a great happy hour and met some amazing travels while staying here. Definitely would recommend. And do the Matterhorn travel hike all the way to the end...It will blow your mind!!

Disliked: Staff could have been a bit friendlier and could add a few things to the kitchen area since food is soooo expensive there. Even a hot plate and a few pots would be great :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, the reviewer who said that it was super far from the train station must weigh 300 pounds or something. It's less than a 10 minute walk, if that. Atmosphere was decent. No issues with the staff. Pretty clean showers and toilets. Free lockers, wifi, and computer. Cheapest place in Zermatt.

Disliked: As other reviewers have stated the building is pretty old so it's not well insulated against noise. The bunk beds in dorms are metal and not very stable so they shake violently whenever your bunkmate rolls over. My lockers had a large nail/staple sticking out of it so I took a huge chunk out of my finger while attempting to feel for the lock at night.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 July 2012

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: Shaby and the showers were down a circular stairs the staff upgraded us to a six dorm for more space but broken lockers and only a worn out blanket for bedding. More suited to young backpackers and apri skiers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Plesk

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 July 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Good price for expensive Zermatt. Nice mountain views from the verandah. Within reasonable walking distance of the station. Many pleasant walks, and close to the unforgettable Matterhorn cable car. Breakfast was sufficient.

Disliked: Needs more power points for charging phones (there was only 1). Felt a bit cramped, especially with the bathroom and toilet usage. Gets quite noisy. It's fine for a night, but given that Zermatt is concentrated and expensive, I might consider staying further down the valley if I return again.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The bunk bed is dangerous! There didn't have any safe rail at two side, u may fall when u sleep on the top of bunk! The location is very far with train station. if u arrival zermatt to late, there is no bus after 7:30pm, u need to walk around 45 mins! The bed is dirty! The share bathroom just at the ground floor and didn't have tolet at every floor! And u need to left your pass board at the receiption!

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Brock Cooper

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012

Liked: Zermatt is a beautiful place so this is the cheapest place we found online for zermatt.

Disliked: So expensive! We paid $100 a night for a piece of crap room that stinks and it right under the stairs so we heard people stomping down the stairs 24/7. I would've been fine staying there but seriously $100 a night for 2 people should not buy such a crappy room. In any other place it would be like $30 a night for two people.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Robert Brooke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Was good location, staff friendly.

Disliked: Property was a little dated. Would prefer if rooms had locks on the door. Microwave in the kitchen would be good, however desk staff do have one out back.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

11 April 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: the wooden floor planks creaks very loudly. it gets very cold in after midnight. don't see a heater anywhere...

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jessica Farrugia

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were nice and warm for winter, good location also. Bar downstairs was awesome.

Disliked: Checkin at 4pm, which is advertised but annoying. Staff weren't that friendly and didnt speak very good english. Showers were a bit cold also. A bit expensive, but it is Switzerland!


See all Zermatt hostels