HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt Zermatt Hostel

Schluhmattstrasse 32, Zermatt, Switzerland

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 68%

Location 85%

Safety 70%

Staff 86%

Value 75%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.93USD
  • Towel 1.98USD

Important Information

Terms of cancellation:
to 60 days before arrival = 25% of total amount
to 30 days before arrival = 50% of total amount
to 14 days before arrival = 75% of total amount
less than 14 days before arrival = 100% of total amount

Not Included: Tourist tax: 2.50CHF per person, per night

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zermatt?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 68%

Location 85%

Safety 70%

Staff 86%

Value 75%

Showing 11-20 of 28 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: By far the cheapest place to stay in Zermatt and by the way the only place to stay on budget.I booked on very short notice, payed 36 CHF for one night in an 8-bed-room. The next "cheapest" place available online was a room for more than 200 CHF.So if you have had other hostel experiences, at Zermatt hostel you will find a more or less average hostel.Staff was very nice, breakfast for 8 CHF was good value for money (all seen in the context of the Zermatt prices). Of course it was loud on a Friday night but that's the most normal thing in a backpacker hostel.Unfortunately they had issues with the boiler so warm water was not really available.Shit happens...

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Satellite tv with dvd

Disliked: No oven

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: the kindest reception I have ever met during staying at hostels!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Micheal Zussman. Really nice and funny guy and he remembered the names of all the guests. Made the stay much more welcoming.

Disliked: The guy in my room snoring like a freight train. Not onlywas it beyond loud, I could feel the vibrations!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: everything was smooth

Disliked: no complaints

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I overheard a lot of people complaining about this place when I stayed. Those people were mostly higher-income 50 year old women, but I don't know what they expected from a hostel that only cost 30 CHF in Switzerland...in the shadow of the Matterhorn. This place was awesome, and the staff were attentive and helpful. I loved the location and would easily go back and stay there again.

Disliked: One thin blanket was definitely not enough for our top-floor room as it cold pretty cold at night, even in late July.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Friendly staff, has fridge, good sized lockers and the location is awesome.

Disliked: Pretty dirty facilities especially showers, rooms were clean enough but pretty shabby. My room had no curtains. Couldn't lock our room so anyone could have come in any time even off the street but they do have lockers once they have checked in - have to be after 4pm which sucks!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is a good location because zermatt is a very small town. The staff was awesome & some of the best staff I've seen. There was a restaurant attached to the hostel that gave you a good deal on the food which was really delish. I also liked that they give you lockers.

Disliked: The showers don't drain that well. The guys and girls share a bathroom. My friend and I are both girls and we felt like we were the only girls there so it was weird that while we were brushing our teeth that Gus were peeing in urinals. Also, there was only 1 plug for a room of 8. There should probably be an extension cord in each room to change that so everybody can charge their phones.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: good location.helpful staff

Disliked: it is a bit tiny inside.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very nice staff

Disliked: the facilities are quite old and cleanliness of bathroom is fair

Check Availability