HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Matterhorn Hostel Zermatt Zermatt Hostel

Schluhmattstrasse 32, Zermatt, Switzerland

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 70%

Location 86%

Safety 73%

Staff 86%

Value 77%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Lockers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Restaurant
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 9.00USD
  • Towel 2.25USD

Important Information

Terms of cancellation:
to 60 days before arrival = 25% of total amount
to 30 days before arrival = 50% of total amount
to 14 days before arrival = 75% of total amount
less than 14 days before arrival = 100% of total amount

Not Included: Tourist tax: 2.50CHF per person, per night

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zermatt?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 70%

Location 86%

Safety 73%

Staff 86%

Value 77%

Showing 11-20 of 33 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: the kindest reception I have ever met during staying at hostels!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Micheal Zussman. Really nice and funny guy and he remembered the names of all the guests. Made the stay much more welcoming.

Disliked: The guy in my room snoring like a freight train. Not onlywas it beyond loud, I could feel the vibrations!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: everything was smooth

Disliked: no complaints

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I overheard a lot of people complaining about this place when I stayed. Those people were mostly higher-income 50 year old women, but I don't know what they expected from a hostel that only cost 30 CHF in Switzerland...in the shadow of the Matterhorn. This place was awesome, and the staff were attentive and helpful. I loved the location and would easily go back and stay there again.

Disliked: One thin blanket was definitely not enough for our top-floor room as it cold pretty cold at night, even in late July.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Friendly staff, has fridge, good sized lockers and the location is awesome.

Disliked: Pretty dirty facilities especially showers, rooms were clean enough but pretty shabby. My room had no curtains. Couldn't lock our room so anyone could have come in any time even off the street but they do have lockers once they have checked in - have to be after 4pm which sucks!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is a good location because zermatt is a very small town. The staff was awesome & some of the best staff I've seen. There was a restaurant attached to the hostel that gave you a good deal on the food which was really delish. I also liked that they give you lockers.

Disliked: The showers don't drain that well. The guys and girls share a bathroom. My friend and I are both girls and we felt like we were the only girls there so it was weird that while we were brushing our teeth that Gus were peeing in urinals. Also, there was only 1 plug for a room of 8. There should probably be an extension cord in each room to change that so everybody can charge their phones.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: good location.helpful staff

Disliked: it is a bit tiny inside.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very nice staff

Disliked: the facilities are quite old and cleanliness of bathroom is fair

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating


28 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This hostel is cheap compared to everything else in Zermatt. Have stayed twice and always meet great people staying there.

Disliked: They need to invest in blinds or curtains for the rooms. Would prefer if front door had lock and key for guests when staff are not manning the front desk. Mattresses could be thicker as you can feel every slat in the bed.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: N/a

Disliked: N/a

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability