We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Randolins Backpackers

Hostel | Via Curtins 2, St. Moritz, Switzerland 7500

84.0% Overall Rating

46 out of 54 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/03/2013)

"All ot the staff were helpful and friendly. We stayed in the backpackers area of the hotel. Our accomodations were compfortable and clean. I much prefered the location as it was just a bit off the busy St. Moritz area,…"

Read all Randolins Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If cancelled 21 days before arrival is free of charge. Between 20 and 10 days before arrival, the 50% will be charged. If cancelled less than 10 days before arrival the total amount will be charged.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to St. Moritz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in St. Moritz

Hotel Stille
56.41 USD

Hotel 82.5% 37 reviews
St. Moritz Bad Youth Hostel
10.49 USD

Hostel 87.9% 115 reviews
All in one Hotel Inn Lodge
69.20 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.0%

Overall Rating

46 out of 54 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Randolins Backpackers'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
78.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 41 of 51 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great view out of my window. The facilities were nice.

Disliked: Was really expensive and out of the way from everything. Walking to town is basically impossible.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All ot the staff were helpful and friendly. We stayed in the backpackers area of the hotel. Our accomodations were compfortable and clean. I much prefered the location as it was just a bit off the busy St. Moritz area, quiet and very beautiful. The free schuttle bus got us where we needed to go in a timely manner. They do reccomend that you reserve your space on the schuttle at least 30min to departure to insure a space in busy times.

Disliked: I have no regrets. I would love to come back in summer and do a bit of hiking from there. We would have taken advantage of the spa area if it wasn't so incredibly cold outside. The spa area is available for use to backpackers at 25 Fr. whick seems only fair as our room rate was a very good value for the area.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You can see mount alpes right ifront of you. Good bteakfast.

Disliked: The check out time is at 11am. but the free shurtter bus service endef at 10am. Without the hotel bus, it is impossible to walk to the station. Suggest owner to add one more trip at 11am.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gary Miller

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 August 2012 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Great food! Very friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: Gary left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great restaurant and amazing breakfast, nice balcony

Disliked: old fashioned décor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Parry

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2012 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: Views, staff, facilities.

Disliked: A little out of St Moritz.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anjan roy

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 anjan would recommend this property

Liked: It was one of our most beautiful stays in Europe. I shall always cherish this experince and I shall never stay anywhere else in Montreux.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jessica Farrugia

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: 2 bed room was really nice although they were two single beds and we were a couple travelling together. Bathroom facilities were really nice as well. Pickup service from the train station was very convenient.

Disliked: The pillows on the beds were more like couch cushions, not very comfy. Location was out of the way but that was well advertised.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is situated in a very quiet location and the rooms are quite decent and large.

Disliked: The hostel is quite far from the town centre and although there is a shuttle bus, it is not enough. The hours of operation of the shuttle bus should be extended until at least 12am in the morning and 8pm or 9pm in the evening.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012

Liked: The room itself was fine with an awesome view of the mountains.

Disliked: Biggest problem was the location and hassle of booking shuttle. You have to know when you will want picked up which is hard to predict what time you will finsih skiing or whatever. Also the shuttle stops at 6 pm so if you want to go out for dinner which most backpackers will need to do as they cant afford the onsite restaurant and no kitchen facilities are available then you need to get a taxi back (too expensive) or bus to nearest stop 20 mins down away down the hill. Also the showers were awful. There were 4 on our bottom floor and each day we basicly had to hop from shower to shower to see whichone was actually working and then which were actually hot. This varied from day to day. The most reliable shower had a timer which last all of 5 secs which was very fustrating. We ended up using the handicapped shower as this was the only one where a decenmt standard of shower was achievable. Just dont think the hotel is setup properly to be run as a back packers. The owners should do some market research to see how a backpackers can be run effectively. It is almost as the building we were in was originally built for school camps and they have tried to turn it into a backpackers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Szu-Yun Lin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2012 Szu-Yun would recommend this property

Liked: it's better to have free wifi !

Disliked: Szu-Yun left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were good for back packer standard. The reception staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Nil - except to say that it is expensive for back packer accommodation - but that is Switzerland I guess

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Craig Blane

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2011

Liked: The area is beautiful and the rooms are clean and neat

Disliked: - The cancellation period (21 days) is much too long - The staff were not very friendly, but this is probably due to language difficulties - The shuttle did not run on time - Expensive

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2011

Liked: shower wasn't working with hot water in my last day, and everything is payed even the internet was 5 chf gourd 30min, extremely. expensive and distant from the city.

Disliked: distant and expensive

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect to see the mountain covered with snow. Clean , comfortable, quiet, good view. There is shuttle bus, good.

Disliked: If no car you can not go out because it's far from town.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mariana Zuñiga

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2011 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice Hostel-

Disliked: Just a bit far.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 January 2011

Liked: Views

Disliked: The back packers hostel has no facilities for serving breakfast. The breakfast is left out at room temperature from 6.30 a.m. on the fourth day we video'd a mouse running up and down the skirting boards and fireplace in the dining room. Apparently the incubation period for Weils disease is 4-14 days, so fingers crossed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great, warm rooms with mountain view. Clean and spacious bathrooms. 5min from the nearest ski lift with easy access to the slopes in the entire valley. Excellent breakfast (real 3-star hotel quality) and really nice and helpful staff. Has cheap parking (5 francs/day). Not too far away from St. Moritz city and has a bus connection nearby. Probably the best value for money in Switzerland.

Disliked: No complaints.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Michael Wilson

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

27 October 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and helpful. Good facilities and rooms were clean and well kept. Quite and serene. Breakfast was very good.

Disliked: Very far away from center and shuttle is run too irregularrly. No cooking facilities for backpackers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El hostel si bien no esta cercano al centro de St. Moritz (solo puedes ir al centro en el transporte gratuito del hostel) esta en un entorno hemoso ideal para caminatas...El desayuno es el mejor de los hostel en los que he estado y ademas el salon tiene una hermosa vista.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

01 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness and good food

Disliked: Its to far from town

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs there are very good. The room is clean. Breakfast is good.

Disliked: It is a littel far from the train station and difficult to find if you arrive there too late. But they provide Shuttle Services to a limited time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i was here for cycling training, so the location (altitude) was fantastic, the views, the roads, it was all good.

Disliked: not much really, just what i was looking for.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a beautiful view, tranquillity

Disliked: far from restaurants and other services

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jiri Hanus

22 March 2010 Jiri would recommend this property

Liked: Silent place, good breakfast.

Disliked: Jiri left no negative feedback.