We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lugano hostels

Reviews of HOTEL&HOSTEL MONTARINA

Hostel | Via Montarina, 1, Lugano, Lugano, Switzerland 6900

86.4% Overall Rating

237 out of 258 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/08/2014)

Erikanina Benito thinks…

"The toilets and showers were new and always clean but there were only two toilets and two showers for all hostel guests. The hostel was very close to the station. Less than 5 minutes I'd say. The…"

Read all HOTEL&HOSTEL MONTARINA reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 15.94
  • Linen USD 3.19
  • Towel USD 2.66

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lugano?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

237 out of 258 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HOTEL&HOSTEL MONTARINA'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
89.6%
Value
77.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 184 of 252 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael White

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for a hostel in Lugano

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere and location in a park

Disliked: Snoring people in the big dorms,not the hostels fault though..

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014

Liked: The pool is quality.

Disliked: Pillows almost smaller than my head. Shite sheets. Only 2 toilets and 2 showers for all the backpacker beds...some 20+ people. Outdoor lights shine into the dorms. Very noisy place. The list goes on...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Conor Whitehead

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

11 August 2014 Conor would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right next to train station, super clean, nice pool!

Disliked: Tiny pillows! Got to hostel early for check in and was told to come back at 4pm to check in not 3pm like on website. Also got asked if I had a sleeping bag which I didn't then was told I had to pay 3 euro for one which I never got but all beds already had linnin. One of the receptionists seemed like she was just hating life.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful property and very well placed near the train station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erikanina Benito

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2014

Liked: The toilets and showers were new and always clean but there were only two toilets and two showers for all hostel guests. The hostel was very close to the station. Less than 5 minutes I'd say. The rooms were quite spacious and the beds weren't squeezed together like they are in other hostels. There are 3 fridges you can store your food in so stock up cause there's heaps of space! They also had lockers in the rooms. You'd just have to pay 2 Swiss francs to use it.

Disliked: I didn't like the limited toilets and showers. Though the location was really close to the train station and the main square in Lugano, the walk back to the hostel was alllllllll up hill. If it was flat, I wouldn't mind the distance at all. The kitchen was unbelievably tiny. You could probably fit 3 people in there comfortably. Space wise, if you treated it like a clown car.. Maybe 6 people squashed in with no room to move is how small it is. The kitchen also closes at 9pm or 10pm (I can't remember exactly) which is fair enough but they close the common room off around the same time too.. Some of us just wanted to chill out but with the common room closed and not having anywhere relatively close by to chill, you pretty much had to decide between going down to the town or sleep.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jennifer Parenteau Manning

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are very friendly, their services are great. Very near from the train station, and the hostel is located in the palms park, felt really in holidays. There is a big pool with a mini bar.

Disliked: The kitchen is prettttty small to share with others people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean

Disliked: Small rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great place, It was actually better than expected. The location was very close to the train station and the center of Lugano.

Disliked: The World Cup was going on the night we were there and they wouldn't keep the common room open late so that we could watch the game.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location with regard to surrounding attractions. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Places availability

Disliked: Too much high location

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, great affordable option. Stay here for sure. It's very "swiss" so it is organized and safe and clean. It lacks a typical "hostel atmosphere," but that's okay. I met great people in the dorms and we had a really lovely time. Definitely recommend! You gotta stay here if you can get a reservation, they fill up quickly.

Disliked: You need to get a Franc to operate the locker in the room. I didn't exchange money as I was only there a short time and used my card for everything else, so wasn't able to lock up my things. But the staff held my valuables behind the desk, so it worked out fine :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked this hostel. It had a pool which was fun and the kitchen was perfect. The staff were also really nice - thanks for a great stay!

Disliked: None!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The only dislike is that the lounge area is closed too early :(

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have a gorgeous pool and the sights are gorgeous!

Disliked: The beds were a little too close together and there was only two showers for the hostel part so it got a little cramped in the morning.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

jiayu liu

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

30 May 2014

Liked: it's old

Disliked: no curtain in the room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariona Jodar Blanquet

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 Mariona would recommend this property

Liked: the location of the hostel is great; it's 5minutes from the city center, it's very clean and safe, the staff was very friendly and helpful and the relation quality-price is realy good.

Disliked: i missed a bit more of privacy in the bathroom

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kaela Richardson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2014 Kaela would recommend this property

Liked: Close to station, friendly staff, big rooms with sturdy bunk beds, individual lights, confy mattresses, functional kitchen, book exchange, view, cleanliness of rooms and bathrooms and mostly updated furniture

Disliked: Expensive, no breakfast, barely any fridge room, early.check out

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

30 November 2013

Liked: Staff was very friendly. Free private parking provided.

Disliked: No lift to the third floor. Ventilation was poor as No windows in the room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Aik Ping Pua

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 September 2013 Aik Ping would recommend this property

Liked: It is near to the Lugano Train station and quite convenient. Value for money.

Disliked: Too many people in a dorm, and toilet is limited.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent facilities. I enjoy summing pool table tannies , the location is very convinient.

Disliked: Non!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy check-in and check out. Staff very helpful with information. Less than 5 minute walk from train station and close to central Lugano . Room spacious and bathroom very clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A wonderful hotel, great location, easy to find, good value, very helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and friendliness of the staff.

Disliked: The door of the dorms are without locking. Anyone can enter the room anytime without going through the reception.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauri Metsola

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

10 July 2013 Lauri would recommend this property

Liked: Has a swimming pool and a tropical garden outside. Facilities are good, big fridge to store beers etc

Disliked: only one power socket per person and it's located annoyingly under the bed


See all Lugano hostels