HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lugano hostels

Reviews of HOTEL&HOSTEL MONTARINA

Hostel | Via Montarina, 1, Lugano, Lugano, Switzerland 6900

83.0% Overall Rating

215 out of 233 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

Kaela Richardson thinks…

"Close to station, friendly staff, big rooms with sturdy bunk beds, individual lights, confy mattresses, functional kitchen, book exchange, view, cleanliness of rooms and bathrooms and mostly updated…"

Read all HOTEL&HOSTEL MONTARINA reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 17.03
  • Linen USD 3.41
  • Towel USD 2.84

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lugano?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.0%

Overall Rating

215 out of 233 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HOTEL&HOSTEL MONTARINA'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
88.0%
Value
75.2%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 167 of 227 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kaela Richardson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2014 Kaela would recommend this property

Liked: Close to station, friendly staff, big rooms with sturdy bunk beds, individual lights, confy mattresses, functional kitchen, book exchange, view, cleanliness of rooms and bathrooms and mostly updated furniture

Disliked: Expensive, no breakfast, barely any fridge room, early.check out

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

30 November 2013

Liked: Staff was very friendly. Free private parking provided.

Disliked: No lift to the third floor. Ventilation was poor as No windows in the room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Aik Ping Pua

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 September 2013 Aik Ping would recommend this property

Liked: It is near to the Lugano Train station and quite convenient. Value for money.

Disliked: Too many people in a dorm, and toilet is limited.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent facilities. I enjoy summing pool table tannies , the location is very convinient.

Disliked: Non!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy check-in and check out. Staff very helpful with information. Less than 5 minute walk from train station and close to central Lugano . Room spacious and bathroom very clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A wonderful hotel, great location, easy to find, good value, very helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and friendliness of the staff.

Disliked: The door of the dorms are without locking. Anyone can enter the room anytime without going through the reception.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauri Metsola

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

10 July 2013 Lauri would recommend this property

Liked: Has a swimming pool and a tropical garden outside. Facilities are good, big fridge to store beers etc

Disliked: only one power socket per person and it's located annoyingly under the bed

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Svyatoslav Levitskyy

Alone

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 July 2013 Svyatoslav would recommend this property

Liked: Cool location and surrounded by the park, very nice! 5 min walk from railway station. As for the hostels it is clean, and safe, comfortable beds, large beautiful park , open swimming pool.

Disliked: Only one sheet and for 3 chf. Kitchen is not open 24 hours. Expensive as for hostel, but in that country everything is expensive.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a 14 bedroom dorm for two nights. It 's one of the nicest hostels I stayed at! Staff was very friendly, the house is beautiful, there 's a lovely pool and the place is surrounded by palm trees. We had a fantastic time there and can definitely recommend the hostel!

Disliked: We thought about what we didn't like about the hostel but we couldn't find a singe thing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good for a cheaper nights stay. Meet lots of other travelers who are super friendly. Pool available for use too. Easy check out. 5 minute walk from train station

Disliked: Need to pay for towel and linen which is a bit more than it's worth.. also no socket by bed, only in common than and bathroom. No obvious placed to fill up water bottle (is bathroom tap water okay? )

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Trevor Ingram

Alone

City break

14 June 2013 Trevor would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, helpful staff. There was a pool, and as it was part of the hotel complex, the hostel stood in its own grounds. Pricey, but for Lugano/Switzerland, I suppose value for money

Disliked: 1. Checkout was 10.00 am (early), while check in was 4.00 pm (late) 2. The common room closed at 10.00 pm, ''so not as to disturb other guests'' 3. There are only 2 toilets and 2 showers for maybe 100 guests, if the hostel was full, totally inadequate

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jackie O'Donoghue

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Jackie would recommend this property

Liked: A real character building & well appointed. We were on the first floor & there were shower/toilet facilities & a separate toilet. We had a basin in our room but was our first time that we were sharing a bathroom & we were very impressed with the cleanliness of everything.

Disliked: The wooden floors add to the character but were very creaky & noticeable at night.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Sandra Carrasco

Alone

Business / conference

26 May 2013

Liked: The location was good, but the directions were poorly written, they are not so helpful

Disliked: The blanket is so thin, and they charge linen, I was freezing in the night, the staff poorly spoke English.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's really clean and there's a big area to eat.

Disliked: There's no keys to open the dorms nor the proprieties. The outside door is always open so anyone can enter in the room...so it's so not secure for your stuff. Altough well equiped, the kitchen is tiny...when i say tiny, I mean really really tiny. Also, the electrical plug are very limited (not in the room, only one in the common room)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ron Schravemade

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

20 May 2013 Ron would recommend this property

Liked: The tremendous view from the balcony overlooking the city of Lugano. It is situated in a beautiful setting close to the rail station.

Disliked: Ron left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was really nice, it's surrounded by palm trees and other greenery which made it feel like quite tropical!

Disliked: The pool isn't open in the evening, which was a little disappointing, but it's not really a minus to the overall stay.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a lot of bad luck here in Lugano but the staff turned everything around for us ... or at least the manager did for sure ! My friend and I both got our pricey pack towels stollen and the manager was amazing. She contacted all of her cleaning staff and personally checked all of the laundry throughout the two buildings. Unfortunately it was no where to be found. She also waved the charge for a lost locker key of 50 FRANCS . She made a bad week much much easier on us.

Disliked: There were ants all over the basement (hostel) , in our beds, food, and clothes.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were nice.

Disliked: It was very expensive, even had to pay for bedsheets. It is close to the station, but there isn't much else around there.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is Good. Location is really good also the staff can be quite nice.

Disliked: The dorms in the -1 floor have a plague of ants. They are just everywhere and the staff doesnt know what to do about it. I had chewing gum in my bag and I found it next morning full of black horrible ants. They are also in the beds (I was in the 2nd floor even) and they were walking around, even in the matress, they are still coming out of my suitcase, and my back is still itching. The bathrooms are not so clean, and also Hated the fact that the doors of the Room, one to the street level and one to the building were always open, it was Cold and the personal was coming in and out all the time. No form of silence is possible during the day. Also, not enough electrical plugs for 12 people. Had also the bad luck of having a drunk 40 year old that smelled awful. This is not a Good option for more than 3 days.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sorin Ripa

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012 Sorin would recommend this property

Liked: this property is so nice... with a very tropical look and the staff was really friendly

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was clean, and the staff were so friendly and helpful. We wanted to go hiking, and Bernadette showed us several great options for trails. She waived the fees on our towels, and recommended some great places to eat. We never felt unsafe or unwelcome. Especially in a country that feels like everything is so expensive in comparison to where I live, I felt this hostel was a great value for the money, and I would definitely recommend it.

Disliked: The only thing that was a downside is that our room was on the third floor, and there is no elevator. After days of long hikes in the mountains, climbing those stairs at the end of the day was tough!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's really close to train station

Disliked: possible time to use kitchen end a litte early

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near railway station and was located in a quiet neighbourhood. Staff were very friendly and helpful:). I stayed in a 8beds room but it was not fully booked so just 4 people stayed there and I think they took gender into consideration so to put girls together:). Price is unbeaten maybe through the whole Switzerland...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the train station, but far enough away to not be bothered by noise. Beautiful property, clean and trendy inside.

Disliked: The beds in the dorm are literally next to each other.


See all Lugano hostels