HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lugano hostels

Reviews of HOTEL&HOSTEL MONTARINA

Hostel | Via Montarina, 1, Lugano, Lugano, Switzerland 6900

86.4% Overall Rating

232 out of 251 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2014)

Jennifer Parenteau Manning thinks…

"The staffs are very friendly, their services are great. Very near from the train station, and the hostel is located in the palms park, felt really in holidays. There is a big pool with a mini bar."

Read all HOTEL&HOSTEL MONTARINA reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 16.57
  • Linen USD 3.31
  • Towel USD 2.76

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lugano?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

232 out of 251 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HOTEL&HOSTEL MONTARINA'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
75.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 178 of 245 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jennifer Parenteau Manning

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are very friendly, their services are great. Very near from the train station, and the hostel is located in the palms park, felt really in holidays. There is a big pool with a mini bar.

Disliked: The kitchen is prettttty small to share with others people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean

Disliked: Small rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great place, It was actually better than expected. The location was very close to the train station and the center of Lugano.

Disliked: The World Cup was going on the night we were there and they wouldn't keep the common room open late so that we could watch the game.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location with regard to surrounding attractions. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Places availability

Disliked: Too much high location

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, great affordable option. Stay here for sure. It's very "swiss" so it is organized and safe and clean. It lacks a typical "hostel atmosphere," but that's okay. I met great people in the dorms and we had a really lovely time. Definitely recommend! You gotta stay here if you can get a reservation, they fill up quickly.

Disliked: You need to get a Franc to operate the locker in the room. I didn't exchange money as I was only there a short time and used my card for everything else, so wasn't able to lock up my things. But the staff held my valuables behind the desk, so it worked out fine :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked this hostel. It had a pool which was fun and the kitchen was perfect. The staff were also really nice - thanks for a great stay!

Disliked: None!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The only dislike is that the lounge area is closed too early :(

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have a gorgeous pool and the sights are gorgeous!

Disliked: The beds were a little too close together and there was only two showers for the hostel part so it got a little cramped in the morning.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

jiayu liu

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

30 May 2014

Liked: it's old

Disliked: no curtain in the room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariona Jodar Blanquet

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 Mariona would recommend this property

Liked: the location of the hostel is great; it's 5minutes from the city center, it's very clean and safe, the staff was very friendly and helpful and the relation quality-price is realy good.

Disliked: i missed a bit more of privacy in the bathroom

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kaela Richardson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2014 Kaela would recommend this property

Liked: Close to station, friendly staff, big rooms with sturdy bunk beds, individual lights, confy mattresses, functional kitchen, book exchange, view, cleanliness of rooms and bathrooms and mostly updated furniture

Disliked: Expensive, no breakfast, barely any fridge room, early.check out

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

30 November 2013

Liked: Staff was very friendly. Free private parking provided.

Disliked: No lift to the third floor. Ventilation was poor as No windows in the room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Aik Ping Pua

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 September 2013 Aik Ping would recommend this property

Liked: It is near to the Lugano Train station and quite convenient. Value for money.

Disliked: Too many people in a dorm, and toilet is limited.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent facilities. I enjoy summing pool table tannies , the location is very convinient.

Disliked: Non!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy check-in and check out. Staff very helpful with information. Less than 5 minute walk from train station and close to central Lugano . Room spacious and bathroom very clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A wonderful hotel, great location, easy to find, good value, very helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and friendliness of the staff.

Disliked: The door of the dorms are without locking. Anyone can enter the room anytime without going through the reception.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauri Metsola

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

10 July 2013 Lauri would recommend this property

Liked: Has a swimming pool and a tropical garden outside. Facilities are good, big fridge to store beers etc

Disliked: only one power socket per person and it's located annoyingly under the bed

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Svyatoslav Levitskyy

Alone

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 July 2013 Svyatoslav would recommend this property

Liked: Cool location and surrounded by the park, very nice! 5 min walk from railway station. As for the hostels it is clean, and safe, comfortable beds, large beautiful park , open swimming pool.

Disliked: Only one sheet and for 3 chf. Kitchen is not open 24 hours. Expensive as for hostel, but in that country everything is expensive.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a 14 bedroom dorm for two nights. It 's one of the nicest hostels I stayed at! Staff was very friendly, the house is beautiful, there 's a lovely pool and the place is surrounded by palm trees. We had a fantastic time there and can definitely recommend the hostel!

Disliked: We thought about what we didn't like about the hostel but we couldn't find a singe thing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good for a cheaper nights stay. Meet lots of other travelers who are super friendly. Pool available for use too. Easy check out. 5 minute walk from train station

Disliked: Need to pay for towel and linen which is a bit more than it's worth.. also no socket by bed, only in common than and bathroom. No obvious placed to fill up water bottle (is bathroom tap water okay? )

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Trevor Ingram

Alone

City break

14 June 2013 Trevor would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, helpful staff. There was a pool, and as it was part of the hotel complex, the hostel stood in its own grounds. Pricey, but for Lugano/Switzerland, I suppose value for money

Disliked: 1. Checkout was 10.00 am (early), while check in was 4.00 pm (late) 2. The common room closed at 10.00 pm, ''so not as to disturb other guests'' 3. There are only 2 toilets and 2 showers for maybe 100 guests, if the hostel was full, totally inadequate

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jackie O'Donoghue

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Jackie would recommend this property

Liked: A real character building & well appointed. We were on the first floor & there were shower/toilet facilities & a separate toilet. We had a basin in our room but was our first time that we were sharing a bathroom & we were very impressed with the cleanliness of everything.

Disliked: The wooden floors add to the character but were very creaky & noticeable at night.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Sandra Carrasco

Alone

Business / conference

26 May 2013

Liked: The location was good, but the directions were poorly written, they are not so helpful

Disliked: The blanket is so thin, and they charge linen, I was freezing in the night, the staff poorly spoke English.


See all Lugano hostels