We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lucerne hostels

Reviews of Backpackers Lucerne

Hostel | ALPENQUAI 42, Lucerne, Switzerland 6005

89.6% Overall Rating

175 out of 187 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/06/2015)

Jill Dorrian thinks…

"Everything- it's proximity to the main attractions in Lucern and the train station can't be beat! It was so clean, quiet and comfortable. Loved having a private balcony to enjoy in the evening. The…"

Read all Backpackers Lucerne reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.06

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

LATEST CHECK-IN 10PM

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lucerne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lucerne

Hotel Falken
44.59 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Hotel Alpha
88.76 USD

Hotel 83.4% 335 reviews
Hotel Magic
79.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Le Stelle
157.13 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Best Western Hotel Krone
85.20 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Jailhotel Löwengraben
47.78 USD

Hostel 74.9% 161 reviews
RÖSLI Guest House
39.81 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 125 reviews
Lion Lodge Lucerne
33.97 USD

Hostel 73.1% 321 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.6%

Overall Rating

175 out of 187 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpackers Lucerne'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 153 of 181 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ho Yeung Kwok

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2015 Ho Yeung would recommend this property

Liked: There are cooking facilities available. Drying racks are also there for laundry.

Disliked: We were only provided sheets and pillow covers for beddings. And the hostel said they don't wash the blanket. It's kind of awkward just covering myself with a sheet. The hostel is a bit far from city centre (15 min) but it can be a nice walk if you are not catching a train. There ate many mosquitoes around.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jill Dorrian

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2015 Jill would recommend this property

Liked: Everything- it's proximity to the main attractions in Lucern and the train station can't be beat! It was so clean, quiet and comfortable. Loved having a private balcony to enjoy in the evening. The staff was very nice, friendly, and helpful. Would not hesitate to return or recommend to others. Truly a wonderful experience and a great value!

Disliked: Even though it was only 1 franc, I thot charging for a towel was a bit much.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, had a nice size room, a little bit away from 'town' but still walking distance and in a nice location.

Disliked: Limited showers, no real bar, but a nice common area. The pillows.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deepu Abraham Varughese

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2015 Deepu would recommend this property

Liked: 1. Location- near the Lake and next to Bahnhof 2. Breakfast at the top - seeing snow clad Alps 3. lots of similar minded people around

Disliked: Deepu left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicholas Lim

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2015 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Nice quiet hostel with clean rooms and linen and staff were really helpful.

Disliked: Location seemed a little out of the way

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Miriam Barth

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

26 April 2015 Miriam would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly fine! Nice people, felt very safe and good. Very proper from what I saw.

Disliked: Miriam left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Benjamin Healey

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2015 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: It was very safe and secure. Clean bedrooms and bathrooms. Staff were helpful and friendly also.

Disliked: The closing times of the kitchen and bathrooms. Made it feel like you had to go to bed. Also, it's perfectly located for the summer time right by the lake but right now it was a bit far away from town center. Could maybe get some cheap bike hire as an extra service. They have it here in Zurich and it works really well.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Mirro Macatangay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2014 Joseph Mirro would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities (elevators, clean bathrooms, common areas) and services (free maps, free wifi, laundry) are topnotch.

Disliked: nothing.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Milana Vulovic

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Milana would recommend this property

Liked: Ease of checkin and size of room. We were also lucky to get free parking in front of the hostel.

Disliked: Having to make my own bed and return the sheets to reception on checkout. An in-room tap and sink would have been useful.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Hiran Gamlath Rallage

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2014 Hiran would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and the location was good. The room was spacious and very comfortable.

Disliked: I lost my toiletries in the bathroom.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

04 September 2014

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff. Offered price reduction as I was a single person in a double room as it was the only one available. Offered to move me to a single room after a few days for further reduction

Disliked: Locker not useable in room. Window on ground floor left open by staff every day. Other guests not respecting quiet hours - Showers used as late as 1:30am. Showers left in bad state. Too far from town and bus stop.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ilya fridman

Alone

Romantic getaway

20 August 2014 ilya would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good rooms, and good social areas

Disliked: Location was a little out of the way

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean rooms and public space, friendly staffs, good location

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, clean, ample plugs, friendly, and an overall feeling of quality. Definitely my favorite hostel I've stayed in.

Disliked: It would be nice if it were situated a little closer to the life of lucern, but I'll take the quiet atmosphere over location any day. Also, poor overhead lighting in bedrooms a mirror in the bedroom would be a nice touch, but only if accompanied by better lighting A quiet fan would also be helpful Spotty wifi

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dayoung moon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2014 dayoung would recommend this property

Liked: 친절한 스탭과 깨끗함! 시설이 굉장히 좋았다

Disliked: 역에서 좀 멀어서 야경보고 오는길이 좀 무서웠다

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Khongphat Prasarnthong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2014 Khongphat would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location right by the lake

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great internet from the room, laid out like a college dorm room, good showers

Disliked: No complaints save for the long walk to the Lucerne train station

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Galer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that I had the single room with a nice balcony. It was nice and quiet at night and I did not need to wear my ear plugs. The park near by was very nice to hang out in. The staff were very pleasant. There was plenty of facilities.

Disliked: There seemed to be a certain lack of people around to talk to and socialise with, who were staying at the hostel. The good weather outside was most likely a contributor to this, so every one was outside enjoying the warm evening maybe!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Pureum Sun

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Pureum would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi is available in the room area And kitchen were amazing! Everythjng is there and it was clean

Disliked: Somtimes there were smell of the smoke and there are lots of rooms in the floor but only two toilets! And also there's no mirror inside shower booth!!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Basak Yemenici

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Basak would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, friendly staff. A good option not to pay much for accommodation.

Disliked: Nothing to mention seriously.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vasudevan RAGHAVAN

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2014 Vasudevan would recommend this property

Liked: friendly atmosphere, well maintained, value for money

Disliked: Vasudevan left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jeongpil Park

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2014 Jeongpil would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, clean room

Disliked: Too far away from station.. And when i arrived there i couldnt find the backpackers easier

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

HANA JI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2014 HANA would recommend this property

Liked: 음식해먹기좋고 직원들 친절

Disliked: 위치가 너무 멀어요 걸어서20분

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is friendly and helpful. The environment is nice. Room and facilities provided is good and comfortable.

Disliked: too far from the train station with no bus heading to the hostel.


See all Lucerne hostels