HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lucerne hostels

Reviews of Backpackers Lucerne

Hostel | ALPENQUAI 42, Lucerne, Switzerland 6005

84.8% Overall Rating

144 out of 155 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/04/2014)

"Staff is friendly and helpful. The environment is nice. Room and facilities provided is good and comfortable."

Read all Backpackers Lucerne reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.14

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

LATEST CHECK-IN 10PM

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lucerne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lucerne

Twins Minbak Hostel
31.07 USD

Hostel 81.0% 107 reviews
Hotel Falken
61.78 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Hotel Alpha
90.86 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.6% 333 reviews
Hotel Magic
98.24 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Le Stelle
92.56 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Best Western Hotel Krone
76.94 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Jailhotel Löwengraben
40.89 USD

Hostel 77.5% 150 reviews
RÖSLI Guest House
112.44 USD

Guesthouse 85.5% 121 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

144 out of 155 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpackers Lucerne'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 129 of 149 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is friendly and helpful. The environment is nice. Room and facilities provided is good and comfortable.

Disliked: too far from the train station with no bus heading to the hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ya-Hsin Liu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 April 2014 Ya-Hsin would recommend this property

Liked: Valuable budget hotel!! It's clean and neat.

Disliked: If there was free laundry, it would be better.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel is wonderful, across from a park and with a beautiful water view from my room. It was, however, about a 12-15 minute walk from the train station and downtown. The walk is flat, beautiful, easy to follow and completely manageable. I stayed in a 4 bed room, it was clean and had plenty of plug ins, a balcony with a beautiful view, big lockers and a comfy bed. The bathrooms were clean, the showers had excellent hot water and were in individual rooms with sinks which was great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kaela Richardson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2014 Kaela would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spavious rooms with balcony, nice park in front of priperty with great view of the lake

Disliked: No cooking in the morning-kettle microwave and toaster only.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a balconi with the view to the lake, lots of space

Disliked: a bit oldfashioned

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jun Chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Jun would recommend this property

Liked: the lake is just out there. you can see snow mountains far away.

Disliked: no

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was spacious, linens were included in the price, the bathrooms and kitchen were always clean and staff was friendly. The location also isn't too bad, you can walk from the main railway station.

Disliked: Something on or near my bed was very, very dusty even though things looked really clean. It might have been the duvet because they don't have the kind of sheets that you can put the duvet in, instead you kind of wrap yourself in a big sheet and put duvet on top. I didn't sleep for more than 5 minutes in the entire night and couldn't breathe at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yajai Wattanapreeda

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Yajai would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean place, room and toilet. We just feel like back to dorm when we were in university ))) but a bit far from train station about 20 minutes walk. But everywhere is beautiful so you can just walking exercise. Staffs very kind and friendly and always clean the place so surely that here is clean!

Disliked: Just a bit far from town

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

HIU TUNG WONG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2013 HIU TUNG would recommend this property

Liked: helpful and polite staff, clean, good location with good views. big tables with europe socket in room. nice corridor with many sinks.

Disliked: the price is a bit high but yay its normal in Swiss and its the cheapest in Lucerne

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ka Lok Fung

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 November 2013 Ka Lok would recommend this property

Liked: rooms are spacious & all with balcony

Disliked: cannot use stove in the morning which limit our breakfast choice, very inconvenience!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Boyan Kirov

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Boyan would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect (walking distance from the city center). The rooms are clean and the kitchen facility is very good.

Disliked: The staff was a bit rude to one of the other guests in the kitchen. I may have misjudged the situation but I think that some overburned food in the pan is not that big of a deal

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Krystina Hanson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Krystina would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a double room for two nights and it was a good size with a balcony. The hostel was clean and comfortable and for 9 CHF it was great to come back to clean clothes washed/dried for you!

Disliked: Krystina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Erkel

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

30 September 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Very quiet and beautiful location

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities were clean and safe. And staffs were very kind.

Disliked: A little bit far from the rail station.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shihab ahmed

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 shihab would recommend this property

Liked: Really big nice rooms [we had balcony] , cleanliness, friendly staffs. Nice park infront.

Disliked: Quite a bit of walk from central station. Could be a problem if you are carrying loads of luggage.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chee Meng Yong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2013 Chee Meng would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet place. Clean sheets and rooms. very clean place.

Disliked: need to update your location guide. Makes me walked extra 5 mins by following your instructions. It is at least 20 mins walk from train station.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really clean and well-lit and we just felt very safe there.

Disliked: It wasn't as short a walk from the station as stated unless you managed to find this particular connecting bridge somewhere in the middle.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yair Avrahami

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2013 Yair would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and clean and cheep

Disliked: Yair left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Ortiz Klassmann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2013 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean, big hostel. Friendly staff

Disliked: Price, no free breakfast, wi-fi signal weak in my room

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013

Liked: It was very clean and organized.

Disliked: The staff when asked about information just pointed us to the tourist information desk at the train station. Also each day when we came back to the hostel the curtains in our room were opened and the door to the walk-out patio was ajar. I did not feel that our room was secure at all. Only the bare minimum was provided. Everything was extra money and you were required to keep certain time tables for activities such as showering, which I felt was unnecessary. The check-in times were also not posted online, so we arrived too early - at around 9am when check in was not allowed until 4pm. It also claimed to be a 10minute walk from the train station - which it most certainly was not. It was at least 20minutes to get there and the directions were not very clear. We had to stop and ask multiple people to find it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yanisa Chainithikan

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2013 Yanisa would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap and comfortable enough. Moreover, there's a good restaurant next to the hostel with the reasonable price.

Disliked: It's a bit far from the station.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place to stay, very friendly and helpful staff, nice kitchens and place to relax and have a glass of wine.

Disliked: The kitchen was closed before 6:30 am.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was realy friendly. The place is nice and clean, which is all you need when you are travelling.

Disliked: One night I needed to rent a hairdryer and the staff told me all the hairdryers had been rented out. It was a bit inconvenient that way.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ri Hui Lam

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 Ri Hui would recommend this property

Liked: clean, comfortable.

Disliked: cant use the stove or oven in the morning. quite inconvenient.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is right on the lake and only a 10 min walk to the main station. The hostel was nice and clean.

Disliked: The no locks on the dorrs is a little strange. There were also children staying and they were rather loud late in the evening. Other than that it was pleasant.


See all Lucerne hostels