We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lucerne hostels

Reviews of Lion Lodge Lucerne

Hostel | Zürichstrasse 57, Lucerne, Switzerland 6000

77.5% Overall Rating

246 out of 317 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/09/2014)

Adrienne Lo thinks…

"Good common areas, pleasant and accommodating staff. Bathrooms/showers separate by gender. 12 minute walk from train station, and just minutes from old town. The 4 bed dorm was very spacious and had…"

Read all Lion Lodge Lucerne reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 5.35

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lucerne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lucerne

Hotel Falken
82.58 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Luzern Youth Hostel
35.19 USD

Hostel 82.2% 364 reviews
Hotel Le Stelle
95.20 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Jailhotel Löwengraben
53.48 USD

Hostel 76.9% 152 reviews
Hotel Magic
95.20 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Best Western Hotel Krone
87.18 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
RÖSLI Guest House
53.48 USD

Guesthouse 85.5% 123 reviews
BASLERTOR Summer Pool Hotel
187.19 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.7% 44 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.5%

Overall Rating

246 out of 317 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lion Lodge Lucerne'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
76.0%
Value
72.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 263 of 289 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adrienne Lo

Alone

City break

02 September 2014 Adrienne would recommend this property

Liked: Good common areas, pleasant and accommodating staff. Bathrooms/showers separate by gender. 12 minute walk from train station, and just minutes from old town. The 4 bed dorm was very spacious and had individual lockers.

Disliked: Bathrooms a little run down but still ok.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Marlie Gouchie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014

Liked: comfy bed and pillows

Disliked: loudest room i've ever stayed in. even ear pligs wouldn't help.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

kelly shannon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 kelly would recommend this property

Liked: The well set out common area

Disliked: The wifi is terrible. The shower fills with water and offers no privacy

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Laundry service was efficient and good value. Bed was comfortable. Kitchen was handy to have as eating out in Lucerne (and Switzerland in general) is quite expensive.

Disliked: Having the kitchen is great, but it was small, especially when everyone wanted to cook dinner at the same time. Recommend eating early or late. Our room (private double with ensuite) was quite small and located next to the wooden staircase which could get noisy in the mornings with people dragging heavy bags down them.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 July 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: WIFI is not working probably. Very Noisy. Dirty. Bathrooms are too small

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 July 2014

Liked: Nearby the center

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

yong kang chia

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014

Liked: located not too far from the train station, near coop kitchen use

Disliked: no wifi coverage in the rooms, wifi detected in the common area but i only managed to get connected for a few minutes during my 2-day stay there, the staff/owner said ' I can get online or I cannot do anything about it' when asked about the wifi problem which was irresponsible. Some people had to pay for the mobile wifi or paid the owner to use the hostel internet. stayed in the room facing the main road which was noisy but we had to open the windows as it was quite warm at night the staff/ owner sold mt titlis excursion tickets at 120chf which was slightly cheaper than from the train and cable car station combined. given a leaflet which the staff/ owner said could be used to claim a free mt titlis cap but when we got there we were told we could only claim the cap if we bought the tickets from the cable car station. The staff/ owner said he did not know about that and he was not making any money for selling the tickets to us. Again, he was irresponsible. do NOT stay in this hostel unless owner/ staff has been changed.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lauren Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: It provided everything one needs in a hostel.

Disliked: There weren't nearly enough bathrooms, and the single female shower on my floor was clogged almost beyond use.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014

Liked: Location was pretty good and rooms were spacious.

Disliked: Unclean, not very functional. Towels had to be rented for money.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large common room, kitchen, quiet and clean.

Disliked: A bit of a walk from the train station.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Felipe Molleda

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2014 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Only wifi in the common area, for switzerland internet standards that it's strange. One plug in a room of 6 beds

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Riley

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very friendly. The lockers in the room were big enough for me to put my entire suitcase in. The beds seemed biggert than usual and they were comfortable.

Disliked: I wish there had been WiFi in the rooms instead of only in the common room. There was only 1 shower and 1 toilet for each gender's bathroom. It wasn't a problem for me, but the hostel was pretty empty when I was there. I could see it being a problem when the hostel is crowded.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sara Charlton

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

26 February 2014 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great and common areas were well kept.

Disliked: nothing. Except for rude girls that left at 5 am and turned on all the lights

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and clean. It is also close to several nice restaurants.

Disliked: A little far from all the main attractions of the city and public transport.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lockers provided were very big.

Disliked: Not a nice atmosphere and the kitchen facilities were always dirty. The male and female bathrooms were only divided by a barrier that didn't go up to the ceiling so noise and smell travelled between te two.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Casey Lowe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Casey would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely original features (wooden stairwell). The beds were extremely comfy in large rooms. Had lockers on the ground floor for luggage if you arrive too early for check-in.

Disliked: Reception was a hole in a door so it didn't feel like the staff were very approachable.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Sandra Thomsen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2013

Liked: Handy location, only around 15 mins walk from the train station or bus from front of hostel. The hostel itself is very basic and there are a lot of things which could he helpful in making this a more comfortable place to stay, The beds are quite comfy with great thick doonas. Small kitchen was handy to have.

Disliked: I agree with what a lot of other comments have been - having 1 female and 1 male shower each floor (of which doors do not lock and thus others are free to walk in) is an issue. Street noise was a problem from my room at the front due to the bus road. The central heating was not working in the bedrooms either, which made the rooms very cold, however downstairs in the it seemed fine. A lack of plug sockets in the entire building made it difficult for everyone, especially in the lounge area. Lounge also closed at 11pm. It seemed a little spooky to me, the 2 nights I spent there, there was no social vibe, no one in the lounge spoke to anyone the whole time I was there.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Bingyang Hu

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

20 July 2013 Bingyang would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: The reception guy was a little impatient when we checked in. The bathroom has no separate locks on the door.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013

Liked: It Was Pretty Easy To Find, Everything In The City Is Walking Distance Or The Bus Is Quick And Easily Accessible. The Staff At The Front Desk Were Very Friendly And Helpful.

Disliked: My Boyfiend Got His Cash Taken From Is Wallet When He Left It In The Room. I'm Sure This Can Happen At Any Hostel At Any Time But It DefinetelyDidn't Help This Review. Also There Are Only Two Toilets And ShowerS Per Floor, One For Each Gender.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

María Elisa Alarcón Amor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013 María Elisa would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: María Elisa left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013

Liked: pretty good location

Disliked: often there was water everywhere in the bathroom/shower, wifi only downstairs,

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Good laundry service.

Disliked: Switzerland in general is very expensive. This hostel is expensive with the extra visitor taxes you are given at reception. The owner is a little scary at first and difficult to understand, however after a few conversations he warmed up and became helpful. Breakfast is not included. I was starting to run out of money, due to the high cost of living.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bathroom was really spacious and good. Bed very comfortable.

Disliked: Some staff are friendly, others not. We had problems on keeping our luggage in the lockers at it was too big. They moved it without notifying us and the guy who attended us later didn't know where our stuff was and was not eager to help either. Other thing is that by the time we were in the hostel, there was a group of teenagers (about 30) making a lot of noise, shouting, running, trying to open our door with their key, knocking, etc. We had to talk to the "teacher" who was taking care of them and to the staff of the hostel. We had to pay the city tax as an extra, which was very uncommon as we also booked with Hostelbookers places in Interlaken and Geneve... and they didn't charge it...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Chui Shan Chung

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013

Liked: good location , exactly opposite to the bus stop , have supermarket nearby , clean kitchen

Disliked: i HATE the room!!! coz its beside the road and its super noisy , but if u close the window it will be so hot, difficult to breath in the room!!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: safe and clean. kitchen.

Disliked: low ceilings if your tall =(


See all Lucerne hostels