HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Lion Lodge Lucerne Lucerne Hostel

Zürichstrasse 57, Lucerne, Switzerland

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 63%

Location 82%

Safety 82%

Staff 71%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.20USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lucerne?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 63%

Location 82%

Safety 82%

Staff 71%

Value 70%

Showing 1-10 of 23 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway

Liked: It's close to the bus stop. So if you have lots of luggage, it's still fine to get there. The rooms are quite tidy too though there is wifi only in the public area.

Disliked: The staff are not very helpful though they will still answer all of your questions. There is only one bathroom and one toilet each floor (1 male, 1 female), catering for many rooms. You may need to line up in rush hours.

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The place is old, the kitchen is dirty, wifi only in common area.Request deposit of 20€ to keep the key.We stayed in the corner just across the stairway, it was really cold, and there is no lock for the public shower room


The property's response is

Dear Guest. Thanks for staying at the Lion Lodge. Sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. We take their poor rating und complaints against as such, in respect, that you have been our guest. We work hard to keep our HOSTEL in a clean and tidy condition and make your stay as pleasant as possible. Sorry that you have made such a bad experience. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were not the typical fake-nice people, but that's not to say they were not pleasant (I guess most of the reviewers on here wanted to be greeted 24/7 with only teeth). They gave great tips about the area and I overpaid at the end of my stay because the deposit was not taken into account* and due to my haste to catch a train, I left and only caught the mistake afterwards. The man was EXTREMELY sorry about the error and since the deposit was such a small amount, it would've been difficult to send it to me on my travels. It was an honest mistake so I told him not to worry about it but he insisted and sent me the amount to my home address in the states!! Talk about going above and beyond - the staff at Lion Lodge did all that and more. I could not express my extreme gratitude for the surprise. Other notes, the room was great, wood floors, and clean bathrooms.

Disliked: Wifi only in the lounge, but hey - that got all the guests to gather and chat so it's not really a negative is it?

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good common areas, pleasant and accommodating staff. Bathrooms/showers separate by gender. 12 minute walk from train station, and just minutes from old town. The 4 bed dorm was very spacious and had individual lockers.

Disliked: Bathrooms a little run down but still ok.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you for coming to stay at the Lion Lodge. Very happy to hear you thought the hostel was cozy;-)).
We hope you come see us next time you are in Lucerne.
Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: comfy bed and pillows

Disliked: loudest room i've ever stayed in. even ear pligs wouldn't help.


The property's response is

Dear Guest. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you for coming to stay at the Lion Lodge. Very happy to hear you thought the hostel was cozy;-)), even not all did live up to your expectations. About your discription, unfortunately, we do not know if your room was loud due guests or others. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: WIFI is not working probably. Very Noisy. Dirty. Bathrooms are too small


The property's response is

Dear Daniel. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you for coming to stay at the Lion Lodge. Very sorry not all did live up to your expectations. Since we renewed our WiFi, its working reliable. We would have been wondering what and where ist was not clean. We are working very hard keeping the hostel clean so it is disappointing you thought otherwise. Hope the rest of your travels go well. Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Laundry service was efficient and good value. Bed was comfortable. Kitchen was handy to have as eating out in Lucerne (and Switzerland in general) is quite expensive.

Disliked: Having the kitchen is great, but it was small, especially when everyone wanted to cook dinner at the same time. Recommend eating early or late. Our room (private double with ensuite) was quite small and located next to the wooden staircase which could get noisy in the mornings with people dragging heavy bags down them.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Melissa. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you for coming to stay at the Lion Lodge. Very happy to hear you thought the hostel was cozy;-)), even not all did live up to your expectations. Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nearby the center


The property's response is

Dear Valerija, Thanks for choosing to stay at the Lion Lodge. Very happy to hear you thought the hostel was perfect! Hope to see you next time you are in Lucerne ;-))
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The well set out common area

Disliked: The wifi is terrible. The shower fills with water and offers no privacy

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Kelly. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Very sorry not all did live up to your expectations. This time you stayed with us, we had large problems with WiFi and needed few days to clear it.
Hope to see you next time you are in Lucerne ;-)) We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.
Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“

Check Availability