HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lucerne hostels

Reviews of Lion Lodge Lucerne

Hostel | Zürichstrasse 57, Lucerne, Switzerland 6000

76.1% Overall Rating

239 out of 305 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

Jessica Riley thinks…

"The owner was very friendly. The lockers in the room were big enough for me to put my entire suitcase in. The beds seemed biggert than usual and they were comfortable."

Read all Lion Lodge Lucerne reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 5.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lucerne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lucerne

Hotel Falken
61.78 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Luzern Youth Hostel
37.37 USD

Hostel 82.2% 355 reviews
Hotel Le Stelle
92.56 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Jailhotel Löwengraben
40.89 USD

Hostel 77.5% 150 reviews
Hotel Magic
98.24 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Best Western Hotel Krone
76.94 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
RÖSLI Guest House
112.44 USD

Guesthouse 85.5% 121 reviews
BASLERTOR Summer Pool Hotel
141.96 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.7% 44 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.1%

Overall Rating

239 out of 305 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lion Lodge Lucerne'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
76.8%
Value
68.8%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 252 of 277 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Riley

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very friendly. The lockers in the room were big enough for me to put my entire suitcase in. The beds seemed biggert than usual and they were comfortable.

Disliked: I wish there had been WiFi in the rooms instead of only in the common room. There was only 1 shower and 1 toilet for each gender's bathroom. It wasn't a problem for me, but the hostel was pretty empty when I was there. I could see it being a problem when the hostel is crowded.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sara Charlton

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

26 February 2014 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great and common areas were well kept.

Disliked: nothing. Except for rude girls that left at 5 am and turned on all the lights

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and clean. It is also close to several nice restaurants.

Disliked: A little far from all the main attractions of the city and public transport.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lockers provided were very big.

Disliked: Not a nice atmosphere and the kitchen facilities were always dirty. The male and female bathrooms were only divided by a barrier that didn't go up to the ceiling so noise and smell travelled between te two.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Casey Lowe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Casey would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely original features (wooden stairwell). The beds were extremely comfy in large rooms. Had lockers on the ground floor for luggage if you arrive too early for check-in.

Disliked: Reception was a hole in a door so it didn't feel like the staff were very approachable.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Sandra Thomsen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2013

Liked: Handy location, only around 15 mins walk from the train station or bus from front of hostel. The hostel itself is very basic and there are a lot of things which could he helpful in making this a more comfortable place to stay, The beds are quite comfy with great thick doonas. Small kitchen was handy to have.

Disliked: I agree with what a lot of other comments have been - having 1 female and 1 male shower each floor (of which doors do not lock and thus others are free to walk in) is an issue. Street noise was a problem from my room at the front due to the bus road. The central heating was not working in the bedrooms either, which made the rooms very cold, however downstairs in the it seemed fine. A lack of plug sockets in the entire building made it difficult for everyone, especially in the lounge area. Lounge also closed at 11pm. It seemed a little spooky to me, the 2 nights I spent there, there was no social vibe, no one in the lounge spoke to anyone the whole time I was there.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Bingyang Hu

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

20 July 2013 Bingyang would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: The reception guy was a little impatient when we checked in. The bathroom has no separate locks on the door.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013

Liked: It Was Pretty Easy To Find, Everything In The City Is Walking Distance Or The Bus Is Quick And Easily Accessible. The Staff At The Front Desk Were Very Friendly And Helpful.

Disliked: My Boyfiend Got His Cash Taken From Is Wallet When He Left It In The Room. I'm Sure This Can Happen At Any Hostel At Any Time But It DefinetelyDidn't Help This Review. Also There Are Only Two Toilets And ShowerS Per Floor, One For Each Gender.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

María Elisa Alarcón Amor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013 María Elisa would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: María Elisa left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013

Liked: pretty good location

Disliked: often there was water everywhere in the bathroom/shower, wifi only downstairs,

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Good laundry service.

Disliked: Switzerland in general is very expensive. This hostel is expensive with the extra visitor taxes you are given at reception. The owner is a little scary at first and difficult to understand, however after a few conversations he warmed up and became helpful. Breakfast is not included. I was starting to run out of money, due to the high cost of living.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bathroom was really spacious and good. Bed very comfortable.

Disliked: Some staff are friendly, others not. We had problems on keeping our luggage in the lockers at it was too big. They moved it without notifying us and the guy who attended us later didn't know where our stuff was and was not eager to help either. Other thing is that by the time we were in the hostel, there was a group of teenagers (about 30) making a lot of noise, shouting, running, trying to open our door with their key, knocking, etc. We had to talk to the "teacher" who was taking care of them and to the staff of the hostel. We had to pay the city tax as an extra, which was very uncommon as we also booked with Hostelbookers places in Interlaken and Geneve... and they didn't charge it...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Chui Shan Chung

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013

Liked: good location , exactly opposite to the bus stop , have supermarket nearby , clean kitchen

Disliked: i HATE the room!!! coz its beside the road and its super noisy , but if u close the window it will be so hot, difficult to breath in the room!!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: safe and clean. kitchen.

Disliked: low ceilings if your tall =(

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vicky,Oi KI Tang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Vicky,Oi KI would recommend this property

Liked: /

Disliked: No lift!!i need to carry my luggage to 3rd floor. Wifi is weak

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, decent rooms

Disliked: The internet only works in the lobby

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is in general friendly. The kitchen is well-equipped. The hostel is not exactly in the city center but you can get there within 15 minutes walking or 5 minutes by bus. Overall a decent place to stay.

Disliked: Our double room was smaller than expected. Check-in only starts at 4pm and thus there will be a long queue. Common areas like the kitchen and the lounge close at 10-10.30pm or so.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is located near to city center.

Disliked: 1. It did not reserve parking lots for me as promised, my friends and I have to look for parking in the city for half an hour. 2. One of the male staff is arrogant and rude, we got scolded when we request to open our luggage in the luggage room. Otherwise other staffs are friendly. 3. The lighting in the shower room is spoilt.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Strategic location, nice and helpful staff

Disliked: No free breakfast, No personal (for each bed) electricity adaptor for charging electronic devices, Just one toilet and shower for each floor, Wifi is just available in common area, and the expensive rate is just for the strategic location

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jiajun Xie

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013

Liked: near the "lion" and bus station is just opposite.

Disliked: shower room is not so good. sewage is not working properly.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2013

Liked: wifi was well working

Disliked: a bit dirty, and dark. lights in bathroom was working by sensor, and was keep going off while taking shower. shower room had no lock.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite comfortable, but could be better.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Scott H

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2013 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance to anything that you would like to do in Lucerne

Disliked: Nothing really to dislike. The atmosphere was pretty mellow

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: the wifi is only available in the ground floor

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy communal area. Decent kitchen. Lots of large lockers available, with refundable coin slot. Short walk from the city centre. Comfy beds.

Disliked: Main computer not working. Only wifi in common area.


See all Lucerne hostels