HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Valley Hostel

Hostel | Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland 3822

95.1% Overall Rating

292 out of 301 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/02/2014)

"Great price and location. The place was very clean and almost new! Staff were very friendly and helpful. I would totally recommend it!"

Read all Valley Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.78
  • Towel USD 2.26

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

IMPORTANT: This property does not accept groups from May until end of August. This means that if you book on line groups of more than 8 people, your booking might be refused and no deposit will be refund.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lauterbrunnen?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.1%

Overall Rating

292 out of 301 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Valley Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 259 of 267 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shihong ji

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2014 shihong would recommend this property

Liked: fdasf

Disliked: fsd

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great price and location. The place was very clean and almost new! Staff were very friendly and helpful. I would totally recommend it!

Disliked: No towels, but we knew that before arrival. The other guests were also quite loud in the morning and/or the walls are very thin...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YING WANG

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2014 YING would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and the view is magnificant.Great experience

Disliked: The public bathroom is cold after taking a bath.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jun Chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Jun would recommend this property

Liked: I like my stay at valley hostel in Lauterbrunne. I stayed alone in the mixed dorm in the first night, and then came to a koren girl on the next night. We went to Jungfraw the other day, great experience there. We cook together, the atmosphere was great. The bed was comfortable.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Junfeng ZOU

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Junfeng would recommend this property

Liked: So nice and clean. We could find everything that we need. Good location, near the train station, good view of the valley. Besides, there is a free parking.

Disliked: Junfeng left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent. The view from our room was stunning. The place was very nice and clean but a bit noisy as we stayed near the kitchen. The staff was very nice and helpful. We were very satisfied.

Disliked: The kitchen was big but very busy as everyone cooked their food at the same time. You have to take of and leave your shoes at the public shoe rack.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasmine Wright Catron

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2013 Jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! It was one of the best hostels we've stayed in. Situated in the cutest valley surrounded by the beautiful alps, this hostel had the nicest atmosphere with lovely staff. We will be recommending this to all our friends!

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and provides very nice views.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jun Hoe Wong

As a family with children

Family Holiday

21 November 2013 Jun Hoe would recommend this property

Liked: the cleanliness and the location of the place! and also the view out from the room! amaze!!

Disliked: Jun Hoe left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

YeePeng Yap

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 YeePeng would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful and allow us to have a early check in. Breakfast well prepare for us.

Disliked: YeePeng left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view

Disliked: No restaurant within the hostel

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and nice place to stay. Easy access to the hotel. Close to the station.

Disliked: Could not check-in at lunch time.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room!

Disliked: No breakfast

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and tidy. You even remove your shoes before going in the rooms. Nice view. Perfectly situated in town. Good value for money.

Disliked: It was strange removing you shoes, but it was not bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SUNG KUANG WU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2013 SUNG KUANG would recommend this property

Liked: clean, well equipment

Disliked: good choice to stay

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, great location and really comfy and cozy. Pillows and beds were awesome, showers really clean.

Disliked: Restrictions on Kitchen use, but it was for cleaning so understandble.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krystina Hanson

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2013 Krystina would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is fantastic. We stayed in a double room for a week and had a mountain facing view as booked. This section of the property looks brand new, is clean and modern and the kitchen facilities are the best we have seen on our travels so far. It's close to the train station and right in the centre of town but completely quiet at night. LOVED our stay here!

Disliked: Prices for doing your laundry were a bit steep compared to other hostels.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lloyd Crawford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 Lloyd would recommend this property

Liked: location and view

Disliked: rooms did not have lockers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Talitha Harley

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 Talitha would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Free wifi everywhere, not just in public areas. Friendly staff. The owner was honest about what sights and activities where best for your money and the views, which was very helpful. Cleanliness was excellent. Especially because you can't wear shoes inside.

Disliked: Talitha left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was well located near the train station and gondola lifts. We used the kitchen adjacent to the private rooms. This was quite adequate and had views up to Wengen. The views up the valley from the balcony outside our room were also very nice.

Disliked: Our room had a double bunk style bed which was not the most convenient. Other rooms appeared to have conventional double or twin beds.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and the staff were friendly and helpful (unlike many of the reviews I read)

Disliked: Kitchen got crowded (but that was also interesting!)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Weber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 September 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: It was my first stay at a hostel so I don't know what to compare it to. It was very clean though, and the staff was very friendly. They gave me a towel since I forgot one, and provided maps and advice for exploring the area. The beds were comfortable and the place was warm, water was warm in the shower, wifi was very reliable.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view was great and near the train station

Disliked: Staff were not always available

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was central to everything. The hostel is very clean and the rooms comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and kitchen facilities

Disliked: No shoes allowed in hostel.