HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Valley Hostel Lauterbrunnen Hostel

Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 91%

Location 99%

Safety 93%

Staff 90%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.19USD
  • Towel 2.06USD

Important Information

IMPORTANT: This property does not accept groups from May until end of August. This means that if you book on line groups of more than 8 people, your booking might be refused and no deposit will be refund.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lauterbrunnen?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 91%

Location 99%

Safety 93%

Staff 90%

Value 94%

Showing 1-10 of 36 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: access and very clean

Disliked: staff not available during 12-3pm

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Best hostel ever!!!! Very good location which is just 2 mins walk from the train station. Room, bathroom and kitchen are clean. Helpful staff!!!! Highly recommend to travelers

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location was good, pretty much right next to the train station and a short walk from the supermarket but it is a very small town so its not hard to be in the center of it.

Disliked: The male staff member was incredibly rude and ruined my whole stay at the property. he felt the need to throw out about 30 franc worth of my food but on top of that pretty much cleaned out the fridge from unopened, freshly brought food, his reasoning, it wasn't labeled despite taking several items that were and when he realised this he was just like"i don't know what this is" as if to say it was the guests fault he removed their food from the fridge. When I questioned him about my food missing, I was told to leave the hostel and felt he was going to become physical about it.On another note, the hostel was very clean but they are very over the top about it and I feel like this displays their laziness towards maintaining the standard; no shoes are aloud inside the hostel (either slippers supplied by the hostel or yourself or no shoes at all must be worn). This leaving all your shoes up stairs available for another guest to take at their leisure.For the price you pay for the hostel you would expect to arrive to a made bed and for the staff to clean your room when you leave but they leave all bedding on your bed for you to make yourself and they will come and inspect the next morning to see if you have done so. If you haven't made your bed (put the sheets on it, put the doona (duvet) in the doona cover then you will be woken up and angrily be told to do the staffs job. When you leave the hostel, they insist you remove all bedding and take it upstairs for them.One member of staff also told one of my friends that we could make as much noise in the common room at night as long as the door was shut. One morning another member of staff had taken one of our belongings just to tell us we weren't aloud to do the same the following night because we made too much noise.I would suggest visiting this town or at least area with all my heart but this hostel has been the worst I've ever stayed at because of the pure laziness, rudeness and contradiction of the staff.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was perfect! Right in the middle of town ava a fabulous view from the outside dining area.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff, the location, the rooms, the cleanliness...you name it, everything was perfect.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Extremely clean, staff are very friendly and helpful. Complete facilities.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 100%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was very good, the shares facilities were clean.

Disliked: The staff are incredibly rude and unhelpful, and will never go out of their way to help you. We had a cancelled flight which meant we were going to be a day late, so I emailed both email addresses to let them know so they wouldn't cancel our room, and I didn't hear so I called and no one answered (called during check in hours). When we arrived our reservation had been cancelled, luckily they still had 3 beds left, but my friends and I were seperated in different rooms for the duration of our trip. The hostel is great, it's just a pitty about the staff.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: So clean! Fantastically location.. Easy walking distance to everything.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: My favourite hostel of all time! Perfectly locate in one of the most heavenly places on earth, it has a great vibe! Feels like you're staying in a rustic log cabin. The staff are incredible (great knowledge of the area and super friendly), the rooms and overall hostel are very clean and extremely comfortable. There is free wi-fi (although a little sketchy at times in the rooms) and you can borrow hiking shoes, windbreakers and umbrellas for free! All rooms have breathtaking views but if you can bag room no. 6 you'll struggle to leave the balcony! Cannot fault this hostel - highly recommend to anyone heading to Lauterbrunnen!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Extremely neat and clean and very nice hostel. Rooms are great with a view of the mountain and waterfalls. Its cosy and comfortable. Every floor has a kitchen with all the essential utensils, even ovens and microwaves. Toilet was shared but was very clean. I stayed for one night here. But I wished I would have stayed more. Lauterbrunnen is a very nice place and with this hostel it is nicer. Hostel staff Petra at the reception was also very nice and friendly. Enjoyed my stay.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability