We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Valley Hostel

Hostel | Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland 3822

96.0% Overall Rating

305 out of 316 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2015)

"The location was perfect! Right in the middle of town ava a fabulous view from the outside dining area."

Read all Valley Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.23
  • Towel USD 2.08

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

IMPORTANT: This property does not accept groups from May until end of August. This means that if you book on line groups of more than 8 people, your booking might be refused and no deposit will be refund.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lauterbrunnen?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.0%

Overall Rating

305 out of 316 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Valley Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
96.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 273 of 282 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

serge livolsi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 October 2010 serge would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location close to train station,and beautiful surroundings;friendly staff; very pleasant environment;great,clean private rooms with a nice balcony;first rate washrooms/showers;very large ,airy dining area;kitchen well laid out with plenty of utensils.free use of laptop.

Disliked: a small fridge in private room would have been good(main fridge in kitchen very crowded)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Newbury

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family
Romantic getaway

13 October 2010 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was extremely clean and comfortable. very friendly people and very helpful. brilliant views of the mountains, great location.

Disliked: there was no bad points about this hostel. everything was perfect

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

12 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, good connections

Disliked: no common area

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mitchell Blake

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2010 Mitchell would recommend this property

Liked: good facilities, nice atmosphere

Disliked: Mitchell left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: SO CUTE! lovely place to stay. great location, building/facilities are good and clean, workers are nice and helpful, particularly liza. would definitely recommend it.

Disliked: heating wasn't on so a bit cold but the blankets they provide are very warm and comfy anyway!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lynsey Devitt

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2010 Lynsey would recommend this property

Liked: Well located with a great sunset view of the mountain tops. The hostel has 3 kitchens which make dinner time quick and easy. Clean and large shared bathrooms. Close to station and main street.

Disliked: There was a lot of noise from upstairs in my room (13) and the kitchen curfew wasn't enforced.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Scott

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

22 September 2010 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: We LOOOOVED the Valley Hostel. The staff is incredibly kind, the hostel is extremely clean and safe, there is a great kitchen to store and make your food, and it's in a great location. I wouldn't have stayed anywhere else. The best hostel I've ever stayed at (and much better than many hotels I've stayed at too). :)

Disliked: They book out early. So if you want a private room, book it early. We ended up staying in an 8 bed dorm room, which ended up being totally fine. But if you want privacy or are jetlagged, a private room may be better.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shelley Bird

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2010 Shelley would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the location... beautiful scenic views from room balcony. Also, great kitchen facilities. Kept very clean... everyonen required to take off shoes and wear slippers provided by hostel. Friendly staff.

Disliked: No safety lockers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Aishleen Gormley

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

19 September 2010 Aishleen would recommend this property

Liked: Guest kitchen, free towels, friendly staff

Disliked: Dodgy wireless, room smelt funny

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, very helpful

Disliked: Uncomfortable beds! Mattress way too thin

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Geue

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2010 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the cleanliness. Kitchen facilities were the best!! and everyone was so nice...staff and other travellers

Disliked: nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location!! The hostel was very clean and staff were friendly!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very kind staff. Very clean. Cheap. Free wifi. Good kitchen and great location.

Disliked: Wifi coverage could be a little better. But really can't complain it was free which is mad.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen facilities, location close to train station, clean toilets and bathrooms.

Disliked: There are no lockers to lock personal belongings, This is very unsafe. Sometimes the staff could be a little bit rude.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

31 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Picturesque location with mountain views, 2 great guest kitchens and terraces, guest parking, run by a really friendly and helpful family, couldn't ask for more at this price!

Disliked: Nothing, it was great!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a great base to explore the jungfrau region. The kitchen is well equipped. The beds are very comfortable with a very comfortale quilt and pillow, its a very clean hostel with friendly staff.

Disliked: I dont like the cooking times...it means i had to rush home from being out for the day so i didnt miss out on cooking my dinner and you can't cook in the middle of the day

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Friesen

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2010 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel! One of my favourites so far. Great staff, super nice and helpful. Best kitchen I've seen in a hostel. Great place to hang out and enjoy the beautiful surroundings.

Disliked: If I had to be REALLY picky I guess a second sink in the upstairs bathroom would be nice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hayley Freeman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2010 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: the whole hostel is amazingly clean and the staff were funny and very helpful. Kitchen was small but well equipped and beds were comfy and the linen was so cute - cartoon cows and swiss scenery haha.

Disliked: not the best place to meet other young travellers - most people staying there were families or older groups.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen facilities were good and it was great to be able to relax out on the deck chairs watching the world and the amazing views

Disliked: Just be prepared for a lot of noise made by others. The rooms are all dorms and some people just don't get 'dorm situation etiquette' eg. coming in and out of the rooms at all hours, making a lot of unnecessary noise etc. Be prepared to have a high tolerance to annoying others.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vinod Krishnan

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

02 July 2010 Vinod would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen facilities are great and the surrounding setting is so picturesque! Definitely a worthwhile option.

Disliked: Vinod left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

30 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a good family hostel. The host likes cleaness and have strong environmental protection sense. An ebullient entertainment gave me great impression.

Disliked: The shower headers can't be hold on the hands, just fixed on the wall. Small child may be terrified with the heavy water falling down.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hau Man Fong

27 June 2010 Hau Man would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is super clean!

Disliked: Hau Man left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and great kitchen so you can cook your own meals. Really nice staff and the rooms were nice, we had a balcony and our bunks (loft) looked out to the waterfall. My only complaint is there's no common room as such - the dining room is it. So no comfy chairs etc.. but not too big of a deal

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel. Good location - not that you can get many bad locations in Lauterbrunnen. The host gave us free towels. There was a cute cat and some dogs on the premises. Beds were a bit hard, but not bad. Rooms were quite spacious with plenty of storage space. We were only there one night, but it was quite nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the cleanest hostel ive stayed at ever!wonderful hostsamazing view and a large fully equiped kitchen

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.