HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Valley Hostel

Hostel | Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland 3822

95.1% Overall Rating

292 out of 301 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/02/2014)

"Great price and location. The place was very clean and almost new! Staff were very friendly and helpful. I would totally recommend it!"

Read all Valley Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.79
  • Towel USD 2.26

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

IMPORTANT: This property does not accept groups from May until end of August. This means that if you book on line groups of more than 8 people, your booking might be refused and no deposit will be refund.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lauterbrunnen?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.1%

Overall Rating

292 out of 301 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Valley Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 259 of 267 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

31 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Picturesque location with mountain views, 2 great guest kitchens and terraces, guest parking, run by a really friendly and helpful family, couldn't ask for more at this price!

Disliked: Nothing, it was great!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a great base to explore the jungfrau region. The kitchen is well equipped. The beds are very comfortable with a very comfortale quilt and pillow, its a very clean hostel with friendly staff.

Disliked: I dont like the cooking times...it means i had to rush home from being out for the day so i didnt miss out on cooking my dinner and you can't cook in the middle of the day

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Friesen

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2010 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel! One of my favourites so far. Great staff, super nice and helpful. Best kitchen I've seen in a hostel. Great place to hang out and enjoy the beautiful surroundings.

Disliked: If I had to be REALLY picky I guess a second sink in the upstairs bathroom would be nice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hayley Freeman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2010 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: the whole hostel is amazingly clean and the staff were funny and very helpful. Kitchen was small but well equipped and beds were comfy and the linen was so cute - cartoon cows and swiss scenery haha.

Disliked: not the best place to meet other young travellers - most people staying there were families or older groups.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen facilities were good and it was great to be able to relax out on the deck chairs watching the world and the amazing views

Disliked: Just be prepared for a lot of noise made by others. The rooms are all dorms and some people just don't get 'dorm situation etiquette' eg. coming in and out of the rooms at all hours, making a lot of unnecessary noise etc. Be prepared to have a high tolerance to annoying others.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vinod Krishnan

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

02 July 2010 Vinod would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen facilities are great and the surrounding setting is so picturesque! Definitely a worthwhile option.

Disliked: Vinod left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

30 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a good family hostel. The host likes cleaness and have strong environmental protection sense. An ebullient entertainment gave me great impression.

Disliked: The shower headers can't be hold on the hands, just fixed on the wall. Small child may be terrified with the heavy water falling down.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hau Man Fong

27 June 2010 Hau Man would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is super clean!

Disliked: Hau Man left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and great kitchen so you can cook your own meals. Really nice staff and the rooms were nice, we had a balcony and our bunks (loft) looked out to the waterfall. My only complaint is there's no common room as such - the dining room is it. So no comfy chairs etc.. but not too big of a deal

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel. Good location - not that you can get many bad locations in Lauterbrunnen. The host gave us free towels. There was a cute cat and some dogs on the premises. Beds were a bit hard, but not bad. Rooms were quite spacious with plenty of storage space. We were only there one night, but it was quite nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the cleanest hostel ive stayed at ever!wonderful hostsamazing view and a large fully equiped kitchen

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: they offer free internet, but it was somewhat hard to connect. the open hour of kitchen was really limited

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abigail Brown

09 June 2010 Abigail would recommend this property

Liked: we had the best view of mountains and waterfalls from our bedroom window.the bedroom was really nice.really good kitchen facilities and a nice eating area.not allowed to wear shoes inside but they give you some slippers to wear instead which was quite funny.staff were friendly and gave us some free chocolate for staying there.its in a quiet area but if you want a good night there's a deceivingly good pub down the road.

Disliked: Abigail left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is located in a nice place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room was tidy and clean Staff were very nice and helpfulthe kitchen was well equiped and clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

31 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Piyada Chuenkruth

24 May 2010 Piyada would recommend this property

Liked: my bed has good view , can see the waterfall.

Disliked: Piyada left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen is sooo tiny and everyone wants to cook at the same time.... I am sure you can imagine how it is. Plus, there is no common room with a t.v like every other hostel I've stayed in the past 2 months (not that you'd want to watch TV here but still). The good thing is that it's very clean and it has a patio to sit out on and have drinks while looking at the alps...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: hostel host is a very kindly Madam, warmhearted and very patience to tourists.shower in the hostel is the best in all hostels I have stayed. all in all, it is very worhthywhile to stay for some days in the hostel for enjoying your trip in Swiss

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Haylee Jaques

16 April 2010 Haylee would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great location - right in Lauterbrunnen. Unfortunately at the time of year we were there (mid April) hardly anything was open and the town was really quiet. Hostel was really clean, good facilities, and had free internet.

Disliked: Haylee left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathaniel Khushi

14 April 2010 Nathaniel would recommend this property

Liked: Very very clean ,well organized, every things in good order,lovely placed,good woodwork done by the owner, friendly peoples, love to stay again, one of the best hostel so far , I have been around 21 countries but this one I loved the most.. well done team work.Regards .Nathaniel Khushi from London,

Disliked: Nathaniel left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The size of the rooms, kitchen facilities, fantastic views from the rooms, friendliness of staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Room and bathroom facilities were very clean. Would highly recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.