HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Valley Hostel

Hostel | Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland 3822

95.1% Overall Rating

292 out of 301 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/02/2014)

"Great price and location. The place was very clean and almost new! Staff were very friendly and helpful. I would totally recommend it!"

Read all Valley Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.80
  • Towel USD 2.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

IMPORTANT: This property does not accept groups from May until end of August. This means that if you book on line groups of more than 8 people, your booking might be refused and no deposit will be refund.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lauterbrunnen?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.1%

Overall Rating

292 out of 301 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Valley Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 259 of 267 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Melvin Loh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2011 Melvin would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: NOTHING! (:

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place with full kitchen, free wifi, and terrace. Slippers!

Disliked: Only annoyances was that you couldn't cook breakfast (just hot water and toaster) and that the only bathroom was on a different floor than my room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean room, kitchen, lounge. good location and easy to find facility was so nice

Disliked: man staff kept grumbling about something like kitchen and it made me uncomfortable to use it and stay however the others were friendly.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cute hostel. It had a cottage like feel to it. In a very beautiful location. The hostel was very clean and had a kitchen for use.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the location of the hostel. You can see the great view of the mountains from the cabin room. The rooms are clean and the kitchen room is well prepared for me to cook meals whatever I want to. The staff members were great and they're willing to help you with anything you want to ask them about.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ho Lam Ying

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Ho would recommend this property

Liked: Satisfactory, very good location, convenient facilities of laundary and kitchen, quite cheap

Disliked: in shared room with no privacy and always afraid to disturb others. In the early morning, I was disturbed by others or I disturb others too. It would make myself uncomfortable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, clean, 3 mins walking from train station

Disliked: one staff is not so kind

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and kitchen.

Disliked: No locker in the rooms!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice clean hostel with great location. Perfect as a base for hiking and exploring both sides of the lauterbrunnen valley.

Disliked: Nothing much

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just next to train station, very near to the supermarket in the village. You have to wear slippers within the hostel, not a problem for us as this makes sure the cleanliness in the hostel. Fantastic view from the balcony. Very well equiped and clean kitchen. Overall I would say this is the best ever hostel I have ever stayed.

Disliked: Nothing! Maybe just the shared bathroom, would be great if there're ensuite bathroom in the rooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Idyllic location, very clean, friendly hosts, kitchen and fridge on-site, working and reasonably quick Wi-fi!

Disliked: N/A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Javier Silveira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2011 Javier would recommend this property

Liked: Location and sights from it are great.

Disliked: Staff not very friendly. The breakfast (charged extra) is not very good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything: nice clean hostel, friendly people, clean showers, laundry and drying room provided, and if u re lucky you can get a great view of the waterfall from your bed! And lauterbrunnen is a great base to explore both sides of the valley with lots of hikes all around

Disliked: Nothing!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and comfortable set up

Disliked: The hostel really does need lockers in the rooms for smaller items. There was no chance of an early night with a room right next to the kitchen/common room - very noisy!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cheng Guo

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011 Cheng would recommend this property

Liked: location, nice view of the snow mountain, near the water fall.

Disliked: no

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ian Said

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 June 2011 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Close to train station.

Disliked: You have to make up your own bed. Shocking pillows.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big kitchen and dining room. Comfy beds. Good location

Disliked: Expensive internet! Expensive laundry!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brianne Gallagher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 June 2011 Brianne would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Great location, friendly staff, the room was nice and clean, the kitchens were well stocked and clean, etc.

Disliked: The no-shoes policy but I understand.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Levin Prabhu Jebamony

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 June 2011 Levin Prabhu would recommend this property

Liked: close to train station , in the main street itself .

Disliked: nothing .

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chelsea Kamprath

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 June 2011 Chelsea would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, wonderful location, cute hostel. GREAT kitchen. So nice.

Disliked: There needs to be lockers so guests can lock up their stuff, as well as the breakfast offered needs to be more than bread and jam for 6CH.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and new

Disliked: no breakfast included and bit hard to meet people - but that is more based on the types of people that stay I guess

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the view is breathtaking - they have wonderful yellow lounge chairs to lie in with a view of the mountains. Staff are very personable and its nice to be helped by the actual hostel owner. You are not a number at this hostel. So so so clean too (everywhere) and the kitchen - feels like you are a professional chef!!!

Disliked: nothing bad to say

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Supasake Duangsroithong

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2011 Supasake would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: They charge for credit card.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MICHAEL BUTTERFIELD

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 March 2011 MICHAEL would recommend this property

Liked: Our double room was very spacious and confortable and the view from the room and attached balcony was magnificent. Stephan and his parents were very friendly and accommodating. I would have no hesitation in using the Valley Hostel for a stay in Lauterbrunnen. Well situated for all facilities. I wish them all the best. Mike & Val Butterfield. P.S. Apart form the sking we had gone to Lauterbrunnen to celebrate the 50th birthday of a friend and the icing on the cake was his Chalet was only a 100yds away.

Disliked: Zilch.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Afifah Samsudin

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2011 Afifah would recommend this property

Liked: This place is very strategic and near the train station, making it easy to travel. The place has great view. It is very clean and the room we had (double bed room) is great. The size is not too big/small. Just nice. it has a free wifi which is very useful.

Disliked: The check in was quite late at 5pm. Otherwise it was a very enjoyable stay. Thank you :)