HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Valley Hostel Lauterbrunnen

Hostel

Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 99%

Facilities 90%

Location 100%

Safety 93%

Staff 91%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.60USD
  • Towel 2.20USD

Important Information

IMPORTANT: This property does not accept groups from May until end of August. This means that if you book on line groups of more than 8 people, your booking might be refused and no deposit will be refund.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lauterbrunnen?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 99%

Facilities 90%

Location 100%

Safety 93%

Staff 91%

Value 94%

Showing 41-50 of 71 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff were fantastic when it came to info about hikes in the area

Disliked: My room had a lingering smell of boys....

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: i was travelling with two others and we managed to get a room for 3 people at a decent price which was convinient. This hostel was also close and easy to find- then again there is only one street in lautenbrunnen

Disliked: there was only one bathroom upstairs, between 4 bedrooms, each room sleeping about 3 people. so thats one between 12 people. Very very inconvinient, especially if someone is showering you cant go to the toilet. i waited one morning for anhour and half to shower. It does way more batherooms downstairs- again there is another ONE and holds the same problem.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good value for money

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location and the best room views of any hotel/hostel i've stayed in....

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Everything! This hostel was incredible. It was my favorite place I stayed while I traveled for seven weeks. It was so clean and still had character. It wasn't just industrial-like cleanliness but actually had some character. The location was great and the staff was so friendly. The kitchen was very clean and had a lot of dishes and pots. It was honestly the perfect hostel experience. The wifi worked in the rooms and everything!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good Things :The Only positive thing above this Hostel is location, location, location - It is situated in a most beautiful valley, breath taking views from our room - hostel is surrounded by mountains and waterfalls. Just for the location alone i would rate this hostel "excellent " and "worst " for overall the stay experience

Disliked: Surprises during my stay :a) The Hostel building is an old traditional wooden house- which is very impressive. Corridor is too narrow and expect narrow steps to all floors.There is no lift to carry luggage, hence it was extremely difficult for meb)Towels included in the accommodation are basic hand towels, cant even imagine of managing with that for a shower.It was only given to me when i asked for it in the reception.c)Kitchen is opened only during specific timings, if you are late you will not be lucky to cook your own mealsd) Valley Hostel doesnt entertain their Guest to use Sandals or shoes inside their premises,You can use your own flip- flops or can use one provided by them (which is fine)e) You dont have any voice to raise your concerns, if you dare to do so be ready to face insult and hard comments from the ownerf)For such a silly breakfast with 2 toast and other basic stuffs, they charge 6CHF.What a joke!!g) Be ready to wait for a long time to use Toilet and Shower - There was only one Washroom(attached toilet and shower) for 5 Rooms in a floor. Which means assuming that 2 people in each rooms, totally 10 are sharing one bathroom and toilet - Such a horrible experience during peak hoursWARNING FOR COUPLE : Their DOUBLE BEDROOM does not mean one good size bed where two people can fit in.According to them Double Bed means two Single Beds joined together (No tightening - just put together). It will start drifting from each other if you move while sleeping.Just because it is put together it is called as DOUBLE BED.Consider yourself as extremely lucky if you did not bang your head in the attic while getting up in the morning.Private Double Bed Room, Mountain Facing : I booked a private double bedroom through hostelbookers.There were no sample picture of the room, hence i checked their offical website to get a fair idea of how the room looks like.The double room picture shown was impressive (they have conventionally not titled it as Double bed), hence i assumed it be to the same as shown in picture. I stayed in room no 16 and which is considered as "Double Bed" according to them, Wherein actually it was Twin Bed and simply two cots are put together. Before raising it as a concern i wanted to recheck with the staff to know why is it made so - hence i had an interaction with the lady in the reception.Thanks to her, she was very friendly and approachable, she had all patience to hear what i wanted to discuss and she took a note of my concern.The next morning i accidentally got an opportunity to meet the the property owner Mr Stefan in front desk. It was not my motto to highlight about the inconvenience with the twin bed, i was there to ask for a printout.I was waiting for my turn to talk to him as he was in a discussion with another customer who was requesting him for a change of room.To him he was extremely rude and interacted in a very unfriendly manner,explaining him about different type of rooms - double bed, single bed, quad etc. Well - Let me explain the horrible part. When it was my turn i picked on the different types of rooms which he had explained to the other gentle man and explained my situation where i ended up in a room where two single beds put together.He immediately raised his voice, and his words were "I AM REALLY TIRED OF EXPLAINING TO PEOPLE AND TALKING TO THEM. REMEMBER YOU ARE NOT STAYING IN A HOTEL, YOU ARE IN A HOSTEL AND YOU ARE PAYING LESS,THIS IS WHAT YOU WILL GET FOR WHAT YOU PAY" I was totally shocked hearing all this in the morning, that too from the owner of the property.I insisted again and again that i was just reminding him and not there for an argument, His reply was " WELL YOU ALREADY STARTED LADY, I AM NOT". I explained that i am just discussing my concerns that too because he had explained it to the other person about it and there i felt i got cheated becoz of my ignorance.He was actually contradicting his own statement.I suggested that he should have atleast mentioned about this hidden thing somewhere in the website or a sample photo of each type of rooms even will indicate that, His reply was "I OWN MANY ROOMS IN THIS HOSTEL, IF I START ADDING THOSE TO MY GALLERIES ON WEBSITE, I WILL HAVE TO DO THAT ALL THE TIME", Which was just a silly excuse, when all i meant was just a sample pict so that people who have inconvenience with this will not consider valley hostel.At the end of the conversation, The owner also offered me the Printout and sarcastically passed a comment, " YOU SEE,WE DONT CHARGE YOU FOR THIS PRINT.THIS IS FREE" - I said " WELL, THAT IS SO KIND OF YOU" With a false smile on my face and walked away eventhough i was damn angry.The discussion with him spoiled my morning. I walked out the reception fully frustrated and questioning myself for choosing Valley Hostel.I Would have had no issues, if this was mentioned somewhere in there advert or website, and i totally respect their own policy and practices.All i am asking for is transparency of information and good customer service which they definitely should improve if they really want to win their business. They are no way close to their motto " Check-in as a guest - leave as a friend!" This hostel has lot more potential but just because the bad attitude and horrible behavior of the owner i am afraid of their future !Good luck ! Never Ever again to Valley Hostel

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Wow, without doubt the best hostel we have stayed in, more like a hotel. Cheap (for Switzerland), plentiful kitchen facilities, spotlessly clean and well located. Above all the staff and owners were very friendly and helpful in planning hiking and biking activities. Just a gorgeous location too, stunning views from most rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location in Lauterbrunnen is excellent, and gives access to the surrounding hikes and mountains that is very convenient. The full kitchen and local grocery store also made meals easy (in a place where the restaurants are few and expensive).

Disliked: The staff are totally unavailable between noon and 2:30. This makes sense as an extended lunch hour, especially because otherwise office hours are quite long, but is a potential hitch if you just need to return an adapter.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The view from the patio and balconies is fantastic. Everyone who stays in the hostel is really interesting. It is easy to access hiking trails and other outdoor sports. Also, the town is absolutely picturesque.

Disliked: It wold be nice to have breakfast included but it really wasn't an issue.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked the location and surroundings like waterfalls, mountains...Also there was a terrace in my dorm room which I liked alot.

Disliked: One of the staffs was very unkind to people. He really seemed to be in a bad mood. The way he treated people was sometimes even rude. This was the only bad thing that I found in this hostel. Everything was perfect except this staff.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability