We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Valley Hostel

Hostel | Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland 3822

96.0% Overall Rating

301 out of 311 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2014)

Arindam Bhanja Chowdhury thinks…

"Extremely neat and clean and very nice hostel. Rooms are great with a view of the mountain and waterfalls. Its cosy and comfortable. Every floor has a kitchen with all the essential utensils, even…"

Read all Valley Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.29
  • Towel USD 2.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

IMPORTANT: This property does not accept groups from May until end of August. This means that if you book on line groups of more than 8 people, your booking might be refused and no deposit will be refund.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lauterbrunnen?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.0%

Overall Rating

301 out of 311 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Valley Hostel'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
96.8%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 268 of 277 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 November 2011

Liked: Great, beautiful location. In terms of crumbs and garbage is very clean

Disliked: I would expect that every good hostel has an experience with bed bugs every so often - this is unavoidable. But when my friend found herself covered in bed bug bites from head to toe after 1 night at the hostel, and we found bed bugs crawling across our sheets, we were very upset with how things where handled. Firstly, the reception informed us that they were aware of a bed bug problem in the next room, and so that room was simply not being rented out. Anyone who knows anything about bed bugs would know that they will just crawl into the next room with people in it. As well, the staff at first refused to do anything for us at all, only suggesting that we move to another bed for the following night. After much complaining the hostel arranged for us to have free access to the town's laundromat - however the whole time we were treated as though this was our fault, and we could not prove that we had not brought the bugs in ourselves (there were way too many bites to be coming from anything travelling in our bags). Anything they said to us that sounded anything like empathy clearly stemmed from them trying to protect their image. Worst of all, we had to miss out on our days plans and instead do laundry because the hostel failed to take appropriate measures to protect us when they knew there was a problem. I also spent a night in the hospital with my friend (who stayed with me) who was too itchy and in pain to sleep for days.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautifully situated, wonderful staff, spotless facilities. Would return in a heartbeat.

Disliked: Nothing. The only thing to be mindful of is that Switzerland is a very expensive place to travel within. This does not however reflect upon the excellent character of this hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was so spacious and clean. Perfect location.

Disliked: Breakfast wasn't included and there wasn't a bar so not any atmosphere but I guess Lauterbrunnen is not really about partying but seeing the beautiful country.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, cozy and we had a nice view of the mountains. I was worried about the walk up from the station as mentioned in other reviews but it wasn't bad at all. Stefan was really helpful as well.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location. Clean facilities. Big kitchen and eating area. Very vey helpful staff!!!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Charming place in a brilliant location with stunning views and was immaculately clean at all times.

Disliked: The are no lockers- I was assured by reception that there are no thieves but that's obviously something that can not be confirmed with so many people coming and going. I wonder if any responsibilty would be taken if something was stolen. Whilst your chances are best in countries like Switzerland, there is really no excuse for there not being at least small lockers installed in the rooms/reception.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice view and clean...a good and comfortable stay

Disliked: no locker in the room and not enough plugs for charging

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! Beautiful location, great atmosphere, cosy & comfortable.

Disliked: The fact I couldn't stay longer!!!!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel! One of the most comfortable hostel beds of my trip, they have down comforters and pillows. Everything was very clean, very homey. Big kitchen, clean and easy to use. There were a lot of families staying, so if you're looking for a party hostel, stay somewhere else.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Melvin Loh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2011 Melvin would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: NOTHING! (:

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place with full kitchen, free wifi, and terrace. Slippers!

Disliked: Only annoyances was that you couldn't cook breakfast (just hot water and toaster) and that the only bathroom was on a different floor than my room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean room, kitchen, lounge. good location and easy to find facility was so nice

Disliked: man staff kept grumbling about something like kitchen and it made me uncomfortable to use it and stay however the others were friendly.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cute hostel. It had a cottage like feel to it. In a very beautiful location. The hostel was very clean and had a kitchen for use.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the location of the hostel. You can see the great view of the mountains from the cabin room. The rooms are clean and the kitchen room is well prepared for me to cook meals whatever I want to. The staff members were great and they're willing to help you with anything you want to ask them about.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ho Lam Ying

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Ho would recommend this property

Liked: Satisfactory, very good location, convenient facilities of laundary and kitchen, quite cheap

Disliked: in shared room with no privacy and always afraid to disturb others. In the early morning, I was disturbed by others or I disturb others too. It would make myself uncomfortable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, clean, 3 mins walking from train station

Disliked: one staff is not so kind

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and kitchen.

Disliked: No locker in the rooms!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice clean hostel with great location. Perfect as a base for hiking and exploring both sides of the lauterbrunnen valley.

Disliked: Nothing much

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just next to train station, very near to the supermarket in the village. You have to wear slippers within the hostel, not a problem for us as this makes sure the cleanliness in the hostel. Fantastic view from the balcony. Very well equiped and clean kitchen. Overall I would say this is the best ever hostel I have ever stayed.

Disliked: Nothing! Maybe just the shared bathroom, would be great if there're ensuite bathroom in the rooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Idyllic location, very clean, friendly hosts, kitchen and fridge on-site, working and reasonably quick Wi-fi!

Disliked: N/A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Javier Silveira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2011 Javier would recommend this property

Liked: Location and sights from it are great.

Disliked: Staff not very friendly. The breakfast (charged extra) is not very good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything: nice clean hostel, friendly people, clean showers, laundry and drying room provided, and if u re lucky you can get a great view of the waterfall from your bed! And lauterbrunnen is a great base to explore both sides of the valley with lots of hikes all around

Disliked: Nothing!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and comfortable set up

Disliked: The hostel really does need lockers in the rooms for smaller items. There was no chance of an early night with a room right next to the kitchen/common room - very noisy!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cheng Guo

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011 Cheng would recommend this property

Liked: location, nice view of the snow mountain, near the water fall.

Disliked: no

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ian Said

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 June 2011 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Close to train station.

Disliked: You have to make up your own bed. Shocking pillows.