HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Valley Hostel

Hostel | Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland 3822

95.1% Overall Rating

292 out of 301 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/02/2014)

"Great price and location. The place was very clean and almost new! Staff were very friendly and helpful. I would totally recommend it!"

Read all Valley Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.78
  • Towel USD 2.26

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

IMPORTANT: This property does not accept groups from May until end of August. This means that if you book on line groups of more than 8 people, your booking might be refused and no deposit will be refund.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lauterbrunnen?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.1%

Overall Rating

292 out of 301 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Valley Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 259 of 267 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

30 July 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: too many Koreans

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Yumiko Hamada

As a family with children

Family Holiday

30 July 2012

Liked: clean shower and dryer ,location

Disliked: I stayed there for 3 nights and 70% of guests are Koreans.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 July 2012

Liked: Surroundings of this hostel was so beautiful. The room was very well cleaned.

Disliked: A guy staff was rude and not very kind.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved where the hostel was located and everything was extremely clean and the staff was extremely helpful and always had a smile on their faces!

Disliked: There really wasn't anything I didn't like.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vivien Mareczky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

22 June 2012 Vivien would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, room window overlooks amazing waterfalls and mountains. Very peaceful and clean, and the kitchen is very useful for preparing meals. Coop (supermarket) just across the street so grabbing groceries is easy!

Disliked: Personally for me I was looking for a place with more of a social atmosphere. This place is great to unwind and relax in a fairly family orientated atmosphere. Nightlife is virtually non-existent. But that's just what I was after!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location to everything. Nice kitchen to cook in.

Disliked: The bathrooms are in the lowest level of the hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Brooke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were so friendly. Close to train station. Very clean and tidy

Disliked: Could do with more chill out common room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clara Watson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 Clara would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern and clean, great staff, great location!

Disliked: Clara left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Kitchen facility

Disliked: Room size are very small. Dont get hot water between 8-9 AM on busy day.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near banhof

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dushyant Goyal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Dushyant would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, location, staff, kitchen facilities, everything about this hostel is excellent.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yu Jin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Yu would recommend this property

Liked: very comfortable stay kind staffs,clean and warm rooms

Disliked: Yu left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thiam Poh Soh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 March 2012 Thiam Poh would recommend this property

Liked: I had stayed in Valley Hostel for four nights and I really need to pay compliments to their excellent services towards their guests. Upon my arrival at the hostel, Martha personally showed me around the hostel facilities. Everyday she would greet you with a warm smile and chats making you feel so welcomed. The bathroom comes with a hair dryer without the need to request from front desk. The location is great because of its close proximity to railway station, gondola, supermarket, gift shops, restaurants and bars etc. Not to forget the magnificent view of Lauterbrunnen Valley and waterfalls from your room's window!

Disliked: Thiam Poh left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2012

Liked: Clean.

Disliked: Wifi is not working. A few groups of mainland Chinese were staying during the same period. Shall not go into further details but I guess it's not the fault of the hostel since they have no control over the guests behaviour.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i like the feeling when I came into the hostel:)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eduardo Garcia

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 November 2011 Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, great view and a very nice patio to eat and chill out as you watch the view. The reception isn't alwayse open, but when they are there they are very helpful.

Disliked: The reception is closed during the afternoon.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 November 2011

Liked: Great, beautiful location. In terms of crumbs and garbage is very clean

Disliked: I would expect that every good hostel has an experience with bed bugs every so often - this is unavoidable. But when my friend found herself covered in bed bug bites from head to toe after 1 night at the hostel, and we found bed bugs crawling across our sheets, we were very upset with how things where handled. Firstly, the reception informed us that they were aware of a bed bug problem in the next room, and so that room was simply not being rented out. Anyone who knows anything about bed bugs would know that they will just crawl into the next room with people in it. As well, the staff at first refused to do anything for us at all, only suggesting that we move to another bed for the following night. After much complaining the hostel arranged for us to have free access to the town's laundromat - however the whole time we were treated as though this was our fault, and we could not prove that we had not brought the bugs in ourselves (there were way too many bites to be coming from anything travelling in our bags). Anything they said to us that sounded anything like empathy clearly stemmed from them trying to protect their image. Worst of all, we had to miss out on our days plans and instead do laundry because the hostel failed to take appropriate measures to protect us when they knew there was a problem. I also spent a night in the hospital with my friend (who stayed with me) who was too itchy and in pain to sleep for days.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautifully situated, wonderful staff, spotless facilities. Would return in a heartbeat.

Disliked: Nothing. The only thing to be mindful of is that Switzerland is a very expensive place to travel within. This does not however reflect upon the excellent character of this hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was so spacious and clean. Perfect location.

Disliked: Breakfast wasn't included and there wasn't a bar so not any atmosphere but I guess Lauterbrunnen is not really about partying but seeing the beautiful country.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, cozy and we had a nice view of the mountains. I was worried about the walk up from the station as mentioned in other reviews but it wasn't bad at all. Stefan was really helpful as well.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location. Clean facilities. Big kitchen and eating area. Very vey helpful staff!!!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Charming place in a brilliant location with stunning views and was immaculately clean at all times.

Disliked: The are no lockers- I was assured by reception that there are no thieves but that's obviously something that can not be confirmed with so many people coming and going. I wonder if any responsibilty would be taken if something was stolen. Whilst your chances are best in countries like Switzerland, there is really no excuse for there not being at least small lockers installed in the rooms/reception.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice view and clean...a good and comfortable stay

Disliked: no locker in the room and not enough plugs for charging

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! Beautiful location, great atmosphere, cosy & comfortable.

Disliked: The fact I couldn't stay longer!!!!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel! One of the most comfortable hostel beds of my trip, they have down comforters and pillows. Everything was very clean, very homey. Big kitchen, clean and easy to use. There were a lot of families staying, so if you're looking for a party hostel, stay somewhere else.

Disliked: Nothing.