HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Valley Hostel

Hostel | Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland 3822

95.9% Overall Rating

299 out of 308 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/06/2014)

Robert Brooke thinks…

"This hostel is perfect for staying in the area. Place is clean and tidy, staff very helpful. Kitchen is well equipped for cooking. Have stayed here twice now and would stay again."

Read all Valley Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.60
  • Towel USD 2.20

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

IMPORTANT: This property does not accept groups from May until end of August. This means that if you book on line groups of more than 8 people, your booking might be refused and no deposit will be refund.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lauterbrunnen?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.9%

Overall Rating

299 out of 308 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Valley Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 266 of 274 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daan Noordermeer

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2012 Daan would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for this special location. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Daan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ka Ho Chow

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012 Ka Ho would recommend this property

Liked: great location beautiful view nice room nice kicthen nice staff nice stay in the hostel

Disliked: the wifi signal in room are weak

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, truly cared about their guests.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great locate and view from twin room with little balcony. Staff were friendly and helpful. Very clean and modern bathrooms. Clean kitchens and good cooking facilities. Good wifi in room. Yellow deck chairs in garden were great for relaxing in the sun. Perfect hostel!

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

12 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is good,the view of the window is really good

Disliked: .smell in the hostel is not good~and quite noisy in the night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

xiao han

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2012 xiao would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! I stayed in a single room, though it was a little bit small but no problem for me and it is just a hostel not a big hotel. Typical swiss style, wooden room, cosy place! The staff were really nice and helpful with hiking routes! Recommend to everyone!

Disliked: xiao left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

You fang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2012 You would recommend this property

Liked: Common areas are kept clean and there is constant effort to remind all users to keep the areas clean. Staff is very friendly and helpful and offer lots of advice on the area.

Disliked: Only one shower in the men's bathroom is working out of 3, so it was a long wait.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

30 July 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: too many Koreans

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Yumiko Hamada

As a family with children

Family Holiday

30 July 2012

Liked: clean shower and dryer ,location

Disliked: I stayed there for 3 nights and 70% of guests are Koreans.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 July 2012

Liked: Surroundings of this hostel was so beautiful. The room was very well cleaned.

Disliked: A guy staff was rude and not very kind.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved where the hostel was located and everything was extremely clean and the staff was extremely helpful and always had a smile on their faces!

Disliked: There really wasn't anything I didn't like.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vivien Mareczky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

22 June 2012 Vivien would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, room window overlooks amazing waterfalls and mountains. Very peaceful and clean, and the kitchen is very useful for preparing meals. Coop (supermarket) just across the street so grabbing groceries is easy!

Disliked: Personally for me I was looking for a place with more of a social atmosphere. This place is great to unwind and relax in a fairly family orientated atmosphere. Nightlife is virtually non-existent. But that's just what I was after!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location to everything. Nice kitchen to cook in.

Disliked: The bathrooms are in the lowest level of the hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Brooke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were so friendly. Close to train station. Very clean and tidy

Disliked: Could do with more chill out common room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clara Watson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 Clara would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern and clean, great staff, great location!

Disliked: Clara left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Kitchen facility

Disliked: Room size are very small. Dont get hot water between 8-9 AM on busy day.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near banhof

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dushyant Goyal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Dushyant would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, location, staff, kitchen facilities, everything about this hostel is excellent.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yu Jin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Yu would recommend this property

Liked: very comfortable stay kind staffs,clean and warm rooms

Disliked: Yu left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thiam Poh Soh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 March 2012 Thiam Poh would recommend this property

Liked: I had stayed in Valley Hostel for four nights and I really need to pay compliments to their excellent services towards their guests. Upon my arrival at the hostel, Martha personally showed me around the hostel facilities. Everyday she would greet you with a warm smile and chats making you feel so welcomed. The bathroom comes with a hair dryer without the need to request from front desk. The location is great because of its close proximity to railway station, gondola, supermarket, gift shops, restaurants and bars etc. Not to forget the magnificent view of Lauterbrunnen Valley and waterfalls from your room's window!

Disliked: Thiam Poh left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2012

Liked: Clean.

Disliked: Wifi is not working. A few groups of mainland Chinese were staying during the same period. Shall not go into further details but I guess it's not the fault of the hostel since they have no control over the guests behaviour.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i like the feeling when I came into the hostel:)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eduardo Garcia

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 November 2011 Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, great view and a very nice patio to eat and chill out as you watch the view. The reception isn't alwayse open, but when they are there they are very helpful.

Disliked: The reception is closed during the afternoon.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 November 2011

Liked: Great, beautiful location. In terms of crumbs and garbage is very clean

Disliked: I would expect that every good hostel has an experience with bed bugs every so often - this is unavoidable. But when my friend found herself covered in bed bug bites from head to toe after 1 night at the hostel, and we found bed bugs crawling across our sheets, we were very upset with how things where handled. Firstly, the reception informed us that they were aware of a bed bug problem in the next room, and so that room was simply not being rented out. Anyone who knows anything about bed bugs would know that they will just crawl into the next room with people in it. As well, the staff at first refused to do anything for us at all, only suggesting that we move to another bed for the following night. After much complaining the hostel arranged for us to have free access to the town's laundromat - however the whole time we were treated as though this was our fault, and we could not prove that we had not brought the bugs in ourselves (there were way too many bites to be coming from anything travelling in our bags). Anything they said to us that sounded anything like empathy clearly stemmed from them trying to protect their image. Worst of all, we had to miss out on our days plans and instead do laundry because the hostel failed to take appropriate measures to protect us when they knew there was a problem. I also spent a night in the hospital with my friend (who stayed with me) who was too itchy and in pain to sleep for days.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautifully situated, wonderful staff, spotless facilities. Would return in a heartbeat.

Disliked: Nothing. The only thing to be mindful of is that Switzerland is a very expensive place to travel within. This does not however reflect upon the excellent character of this hostel.