HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Valley Hostel

Hostel | Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland 3822

95.1% Overall Rating

292 out of 301 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/02/2014)

"Great price and location. The place was very clean and almost new! Staff were very friendly and helpful. I would totally recommend it!"

Read all Valley Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.79
  • Towel USD 2.26

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

IMPORTANT: This property does not accept groups from May until end of August. This means that if you book on line groups of more than 8 people, your booking might be refused and no deposit will be refund.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lauterbrunnen?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.1%

Overall Rating

292 out of 301 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Valley Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 259 of 267 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rodica Cusnir

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 May 2013 Rodica would recommend this property

Liked: We took the twin private room. Amazing view from our balcony. Super clean and comfy.

Disliked: Everything was perfect!!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was generally friendly. The hostel was a two minute walk to the train station. The facilities were very clean, and the kitchen was useful.

Disliked: I did witness one staff member being unnecessarily curt with another guest. The breakfast is ridiculously overpriced. The need to be quiet and respectful must be impressed upon all guests by the staff. By no means a party hostel, but many guests were unaware of basic hostel etiquette, and unfortunately this hostel seems to draw such people. The female dorm was cramped, and there were no lockers. Avoid single sex rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located very close to the train station, which made travelling with our luggage so much easier. The room (we stayed in a deluxe room with mountain view) was immaculate, clean and tidy, well decorated and with a breathtaking view of the mountains. Kitchen was large, which made cooking a breeze. Staff are friendly, as are all the other locals in the area. Definitely will stay here again. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Nothing- it was perfect for our trip!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean and the kitchen has the necessary tools for cooking. It is very near to the train station. It has an awesome view of the valley, waterfalls and mountains.

Disliked: There is no lamp in the shower though there is a lamp in the bathroom. The light is not enough.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good central location, and really friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This family run hostlel is very comfortable and clean. We had everything we needed. The kitchen was very clean and well stocked with all of the tools we needed to cook.

Disliked: I have no complaints, only compliments.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wai Tung Chan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 February 2013 Wai Tung would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, the staff was friendly. Met a lot of friends during our stay. Will stay there again next time

Disliked: Wai Tung left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness friendly host

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LIANG CHAI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013 LIANG would recommend this property

Liked: very convenient and really clear room, I strongly recommend to all travellers to Virgin summit.

Disliked: LIANG left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

HON FAI CHAN

Alone

Relaxation/spa

14 December 2012 HON FAI would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful and friendly. Very warm and nice attitude and they care what you need and take care very attentively.

Disliked: The laundary is outside the main appartment that take you a minute to walk outside to the main road. In very cold weather you need to put on your cloth again and come out from your warm room to outside, which is not very convenient.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had great character and that nice cabin-y feel. It was very close to the train station. Most staff very friendly and welcoming! Nice and cozy rooms. Definitely recommend.

Disliked: Kitchen facilities could be better ( napkins, basic ingredients- most things in town closed around 6 and we couldn't buy anything to cook with). And lockers would be nice to help you feel your stuff is secure. Also bigger towels, as the ones we were given didn't even wrap around our bodies and were likely hand towels.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely location and super clean!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elaine Yap

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2012 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean and all around, there are great views. The kitchen is well stocked with more than enough utensils. Bathrooms were very clean. Location is good. It's a really great place stay at!

Disliked: Elaine left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Kou

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2012 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, gorgeous views, excellent facilities. The kitchen was amazing, it had 4 gas burners and tons of pots, pans, and dishes. It looked like a small restaurants kitchen, rather than a hostel. The staff we very friendly and helpful, and the rooms were super clean. I had a bed that was near the ceiling, lodge style, and there were no cobwebs or anything up there!

Disliked: The wifi was awful, didn't work in the rooms. Not a big deal, but it was advertised that the rooms had wifi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What a great location. The view from the room is amazing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our experience at the valley hostel. Our view was simply breathtaking! It overlooked the mountain and waterfall. The bed was comfy. My boyfriend loved the pillows as they are super soft. There are various kitchens at the hostel that are well equiped so you can make your own meals. (a good idea as the area is ++$$. A spaghetti at a restaurant will set you back >$20!). The location is great. It's a 5 minute walk to the train station and cable car to Murren and Coop grocery store. Trummelbach falls are ~20-30 min away by a nice walk.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 모든 것이 마음에 들었음. 18일 동안의 일정동안 호스텔과 호텔을 번갈아가며 숙소로 잡았는데 호텔보다도 좋았다. 산이 보이는 더블룸을 예약했는데 바로 창가앞에 테라스가 있고 가까운 곳에 폭포가 떨어지는 모습과 산의 풍경을 감상 할 수 있어서 아주 좋았다. 하루만 묵기가 아쉬울 정도였다. 공용으로 쓸 수 있는 부엌이 있어서 음식을 해먹기도 좋았고 방도 크고 침대도 넓직해서 둘이 지내기에 충분했다. 안내해준 스탭도 친절했고 역에서 3분여 거리에 있어서 아주 좋았다. 내가 지내온 숙소중 최고였다.

Disliked: 없음.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. It's just between the mountains, in a story-like valley. Close to everything (center, train station, mountains). Congrats for what those people did with the place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daan Noordermeer

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2012 Daan would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for this special location. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Daan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ka Ho Chow

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012 Ka Ho would recommend this property

Liked: great location beautiful view nice room nice kicthen nice staff nice stay in the hostel

Disliked: the wifi signal in room are weak

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, truly cared about their guests.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great locate and view from twin room with little balcony. Staff were friendly and helpful. Very clean and modern bathrooms. Clean kitchens and good cooking facilities. Good wifi in room. Yellow deck chairs in garden were great for relaxing in the sun. Perfect hostel!

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

12 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is good,the view of the window is really good

Disliked: .smell in the hostel is not good~and quite noisy in the night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

xiao han

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2012 xiao would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! I stayed in a single room, though it was a little bit small but no problem for me and it is just a hostel not a big hotel. Typical swiss style, wooden room, cosy place! The staff were really nice and helpful with hiking routes! Recommend to everyone!

Disliked: xiao left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

You fang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2012 You would recommend this property

Liked: Common areas are kept clean and there is constant effort to remind all users to keep the areas clean. Staff is very friendly and helpful and offer lots of advice on the area.

Disliked: Only one shower in the men's bathroom is working out of 3, so it was a long wait.