We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Valley Hostel

Hostel | Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland 3822

96.0% Overall Rating

301 out of 311 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2014)

Arindam Bhanja Chowdhury thinks…

"Extremely neat and clean and very nice hostel. Rooms are great with a view of the mountain and waterfalls. Its cosy and comfortable. Every floor has a kitchen with all the essential utensils, even…"

Read all Valley Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.29
  • Towel USD 2.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

IMPORTANT: This property does not accept groups from May until end of August. This means that if you book on line groups of more than 8 people, your booking might be refused and no deposit will be refund.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lauterbrunnen?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.0%

Overall Rating

301 out of 311 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Valley Hostel'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
96.8%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 268 of 277 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kotchanut Cheasamran

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2013 Kotchanut would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, near train station, easy to find, clean, good staff, storage room to leave the bags aftwr check out

Disliked: Bed sheet should be white, pillow is too thin

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free wifi was fast, check-in and check-out were easy, and nice to be so close to the train station, supermarket, etc.

Disliked: Shared floor bathroom got pretty dirty once other guests arrived - it probably needs to be cleaned more than once per day.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Ward

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel in a fantastic area; would definitely recommend to anyone!

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tiannii Tang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2013 Tiannii would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Tiannii left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brad Nalder

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013 Brad would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the location close to the train, in the mountains. The view from our private room was outstanding. There was an alpine hill side with a periodic train across it, a rock face and a waterfall all visible from our balcony. The kitchen was large with two cooking and cleaning areas and a separate prep table. The food storage was well organized with separation to each room both in the fridge and on the shelf. We will use this again if we are ever back in the area.

Disliked: Brad left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rui Monteiro

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

03 June 2013 Rui would recommend this property

Liked: O hostel é facilmente encontrado na bela localidade de Lauterbruunnen. É bem próximo da estação ferroviária. Além disso, é bem organizado, limpo e aconchegante. O atendimento simpático do Stephan nos orientou quanto aos passeios. L'auberge est facile à trouver dans la belle Lauterbruunnen . Il est très près de la gare. Par ailleurs, il est bien organisé, propre et confortable. Le service amical de Stephan nous a guidés sur les visites.

Disliked: Nada do que reclamar. Rien à critiquer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ABEL TAN

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

21 May 2013 ABEL would recommend this property

Liked: Very near to train station. Helpful staffs. Very clean toilets. Facilities for cooking.

Disliked: Can't think of any.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Letts

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 May 2013 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly clean and very new in appearance. Well equipped kitchen and spacious dining area. We stayed as a couple in a double room, and had to share 2 WCs and 2 showers with 4 rooms, so effectively sharing with one other couple only. Amazing view from the 'Mountain view' rooms up the valley. Did not regret choosing Lauterbrunen as our place to stay in the region. Very beautiful!

Disliked: Watch out on the weekends - the local supermarket closes at 5pm on Saturday, and doesn't open on Sunday! Luckily though the hostel sells super cheap wine and basic food if you get caught out!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Peh Lee Cheng

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2013 Peh Lee would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean and located very near to Lauterbrunnen train station.

Disliked: Peh Lee left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rodica Cusnir

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 May 2013 Rodica would recommend this property

Liked: We took the twin private room. Amazing view from our balcony. Super clean and comfy.

Disliked: Everything was perfect!!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was generally friendly. The hostel was a two minute walk to the train station. The facilities were very clean, and the kitchen was useful.

Disliked: I did witness one staff member being unnecessarily curt with another guest. The breakfast is ridiculously overpriced. The need to be quiet and respectful must be impressed upon all guests by the staff. By no means a party hostel, but many guests were unaware of basic hostel etiquette, and unfortunately this hostel seems to draw such people. The female dorm was cramped, and there were no lockers. Avoid single sex rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located very close to the train station, which made travelling with our luggage so much easier. The room (we stayed in a deluxe room with mountain view) was immaculate, clean and tidy, well decorated and with a breathtaking view of the mountains. Kitchen was large, which made cooking a breeze. Staff are friendly, as are all the other locals in the area. Definitely will stay here again. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Nothing- it was perfect for our trip!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean and the kitchen has the necessary tools for cooking. It is very near to the train station. It has an awesome view of the valley, waterfalls and mountains.

Disliked: There is no lamp in the shower though there is a lamp in the bathroom. The light is not enough.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good central location, and really friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This family run hostlel is very comfortable and clean. We had everything we needed. The kitchen was very clean and well stocked with all of the tools we needed to cook.

Disliked: I have no complaints, only compliments.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wai Tung Chan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 February 2013 Wai Tung would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, the staff was friendly. Met a lot of friends during our stay. Will stay there again next time

Disliked: Wai Tung left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness friendly host

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LIANG CHAI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013 LIANG would recommend this property

Liked: very convenient and really clear room, I strongly recommend to all travellers to Virgin summit.

Disliked: LIANG left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

HON FAI CHAN

Alone

Relaxation/spa

14 December 2012 HON FAI would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful and friendly. Very warm and nice attitude and they care what you need and take care very attentively.

Disliked: The laundary is outside the main appartment that take you a minute to walk outside to the main road. In very cold weather you need to put on your cloth again and come out from your warm room to outside, which is not very convenient.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had great character and that nice cabin-y feel. It was very close to the train station. Most staff very friendly and welcoming! Nice and cozy rooms. Definitely recommend.

Disliked: Kitchen facilities could be better ( napkins, basic ingredients- most things in town closed around 6 and we couldn't buy anything to cook with). And lockers would be nice to help you feel your stuff is secure. Also bigger towels, as the ones we were given didn't even wrap around our bodies and were likely hand towels.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely location and super clean!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elaine Yap

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2012 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean and all around, there are great views. The kitchen is well stocked with more than enough utensils. Bathrooms were very clean. Location is good. It's a really great place stay at!

Disliked: Elaine left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Kou

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2012 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, gorgeous views, excellent facilities. The kitchen was amazing, it had 4 gas burners and tons of pots, pans, and dishes. It looked like a small restaurants kitchen, rather than a hostel. The staff we very friendly and helpful, and the rooms were super clean. I had a bed that was near the ceiling, lodge style, and there were no cobwebs or anything up there!

Disliked: The wifi was awful, didn't work in the rooms. Not a big deal, but it was advertised that the rooms had wifi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What a great location. The view from the room is amazing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our experience at the valley hostel. Our view was simply breathtaking! It overlooked the mountain and waterfall. The bed was comfy. My boyfriend loved the pillows as they are super soft. There are various kitchens at the hostel that are well equiped so you can make your own meals. (a good idea as the area is ++$$. A spaghetti at a restaurant will set you back >$20!). The location is great. It's a 5 minute walk to the train station and cable car to Murren and Coop grocery store. Trummelbach falls are ~20-30 min away by a nice walk.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.