HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Valley Hostel

Hostel | Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland 3822

96.0% Overall Rating

301 out of 311 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2014)

Arindam Bhanja Chowdhury thinks…

"Extremely neat and clean and very nice hostel. Rooms are great with a view of the mountain and waterfalls. Its cosy and comfortable. Every floor has a kitchen with all the essential utensils, even…"

Read all Valley Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.53
  • Towel USD 2.18

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

IMPORTANT: This property does not accept groups from May until end of August. This means that if you book on line groups of more than 8 people, your booking might be refused and no deposit will be refund.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lauterbrunnen?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.0%

Overall Rating

301 out of 311 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Valley Hostel'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
96.8%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 268 of 277 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krystina Hanson

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2013 Krystina would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is fantastic. We stayed in a double room for a week and had a mountain facing view as booked. This section of the property looks brand new, is clean and modern and the kitchen facilities are the best we have seen on our travels so far. It's close to the train station and right in the centre of town but completely quiet at night. LOVED our stay here!

Disliked: Prices for doing your laundry were a bit steep compared to other hostels.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lloyd Crawford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 Lloyd would recommend this property

Liked: location and view

Disliked: rooms did not have lockers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Talitha Harley

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 Talitha would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Free wifi everywhere, not just in public areas. Friendly staff. The owner was honest about what sights and activities where best for your money and the views, which was very helpful. Cleanliness was excellent. Especially because you can't wear shoes inside.

Disliked: Talitha left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was well located near the train station and gondola lifts. We used the kitchen adjacent to the private rooms. This was quite adequate and had views up to Wengen. The views up the valley from the balcony outside our room were also very nice.

Disliked: Our room had a double bunk style bed which was not the most convenient. Other rooms appeared to have conventional double or twin beds.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and the staff were friendly and helpful (unlike many of the reviews I read)

Disliked: Kitchen got crowded (but that was also interesting!)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Weber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 September 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: It was my first stay at a hostel so I don't know what to compare it to. It was very clean though, and the staff was very friendly. They gave me a towel since I forgot one, and provided maps and advice for exploring the area. The beds were comfortable and the place was warm, water was warm in the shower, wifi was very reliable.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view was great and near the train station

Disliked: Staff were not always available

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was central to everything. The hostel is very clean and the rooms comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and kitchen facilities

Disliked: No shoes allowed in hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Rudd

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 August 2013 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fantastic when it came to info about hikes in the area

Disliked: My room had a lingering smell of boys....

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Claire Daniel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 August 2013 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: i was travelling with two others and we managed to get a room for 3 people at a decent price which was convinient. This hostel was also close and easy to find- then again there is only one street in lautenbrunnen

Disliked: there was only one bathroom upstairs, between 4 bedrooms, each room sleeping about 3 people. so thats one between 12 people. Very very inconvinient, especially if someone is showering you cant go to the toilet. i waited one morning for anhour and half to shower. It does way more batherooms downstairs- again there is another ONE and holds the same problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chris Gorman

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and the best room views of any hotel/hostel i've stayed in....

Disliked: Chris left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! This hostel was incredible. It was my favorite place I stayed while I traveled for seven weeks. It was so clean and still had character. It wasn't just industrial-like cleanliness but actually had some character. The location was great and the staff was so friendly. The kitchen was very clean and had a lot of dishes and pots. It was honestly the perfect hostel experience. The wifi worked in the rooms and everything!

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013

Liked: Good Things : The Only positive thing above this Hostel is location, location, location - It is situated in a most beautiful valley, breath taking views from our room - hostel is surrounded by mountains and waterfalls. Just for the location alone i would rate this hostel "excellent " and "worst " for overall the stay experience

Disliked: Surprises during my stay : a) The Hostel building is an old traditional wooden house- which is very impressive. Corridor is too narrow and expect narrow steps to all floors.There is no lift to carry luggage, hence it was extremely difficult for me b)Towels included in the accommodation are basic hand towels, cant even imagine of managing with that for a shower.It was only given to me when i asked for it in the reception. c)Kitchen is opened only during specific timings, if you are late you will not be lucky to cook your own meals d) Valley Hostel doesnt entertain their Guest to use Sandals or shoes inside their premises,You can use your own flip- flops or can use one provided by them (which is fine) e) You dont have any voice to raise your concerns, if you dare to do so be ready to face insult and hard comments from the owner f)For such a silly breakfast with 2 toast and other basic stuffs, they charge 6CHF.What a joke!! g) Be ready to wait for a long time to use Toilet and Shower - There was only one Washroom(attached toilet and shower) for 5 Rooms in a floor. Which means assuming that 2 people in each rooms, totally 10 are sharing one bathroom and toilet - Such a horrible experience during peak hours WARNING FOR COUPLE : Their DOUBLE BEDROOM does not mean one good size bed where two people can fit in.According to them Double Bed means two Single Beds joined together (No tightening - just put together). It will start drifting from each other if you move while sleeping.Just because it is put together it is called as DOUBLE BED.Consider yourself as extremely lucky if you did not bang your head in the attic while getting up in the morning. Private Double Bed Room, Mountain Facing : I booked a private double bedroom through hostelbookers.There were no sample picture of the room, hence i checked their offical website to get a fair idea of how the room looks like.The double room picture shown was impressive (they have conventionally not titled it as Double bed), hence i assumed it be to the same as shown in picture. I stayed in room no 16 and which is considered as "Double Bed" according to them, Wherein actually it was Twin Bed and simply two cots are put together. Before raising it as a concern i wanted to recheck with the staff to know why is it made so - hence i had an interaction with the lady in the reception.Thanks to her, she was very friendly and approachable, she had all patience to hear what i wanted to discuss and she took a note of my concern. The next morning i accidentally got an opportunity to meet the the property owner Mr Stefan in front desk. It was not my motto to highlight about the inconvenience with the twin bed, i was there to ask for a printout.I was waiting for my turn to talk to him as he was in a discussion with another customer who was requesting him for a change of room.To him he was extremely rude and interacted in a very unfriendly manner,explaining him about different type of rooms - double bed, single bed, quad etc. Well - Let me explain the horrible part. When it was my turn i picked on the different types of rooms which he had explained to the other gentle man and explained my situation where i ended up in a room where two single beds put together.He immediately raised his voice, and his words were "I AM REALLY TIRED OF EXPLAINING TO PEOPLE AND TALKING TO THEM. REMEMBER YOU ARE NOT STAYING IN A HOTEL, YOU ARE IN A HOSTEL AND YOU ARE PAYING LESS,THIS IS WHAT YOU WILL GET FOR WHAT YOU PAY" I was totally shocked hearing all this in the morning, that too from the owner of the property.I insisted again and again that i was just reminding him and not there for an argument, His reply was " WELL YOU ALREADY STARTED LADY, I AM NOT". I explained that i am just discussing my concerns that too because he had explained it to the other person about it and there i felt i got cheated becoz of my ignorance.He was actually contradicting his own statement.I suggested that he should have atleast mentioned about this hidden thing somewhere in the website or a sample photo of each type of rooms even will indicate that, His reply was "I OWN MANY ROOMS IN THIS HOSTEL, IF I START ADDING THOSE TO MY GALLERIES ON WEBSITE, I WILL HAVE TO DO THAT ALL THE TIME", Which was just a silly excuse, when all i meant was just a sample pict so that people who have inconvenience with this will not consider valley hostel. At the end of the conversation, The owner also offered me the Printout and sarcastically passed a comment, " YOU SEE,WE DONT CHARGE YOU FOR THIS PRINT.THIS IS FREE" - I said " WELL, THAT IS SO KIND OF YOU" With a false smile on my face and walked away eventhough i was damn angry.The discussion with him spoiled my morning. I walked out the reception fully frustrated and questioning myself for choosing Valley Hostel. I Would have had no issues, if this was mentioned somewhere in there advert or website, and i totally respect their own policy and practices.All i am asking for is transparency of information and good customer service which they definitely should improve if they really want to win their business. They are no way close to their motto " Check-in as a guest - leave as a friend!" This hostel has lot more potential but just because the bad attitude and horrible behavior of the owner i am afraid of their future ! Good luck ! Never Ever again to Valley Hostel

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and surroundings like waterfalls, mountains... Also there was a terrace in my dorm room which I liked alot.

Disliked: One of the staffs was very unkind to people. He really seemed to be in a bad mood. The way he treated people was sometimes even rude. This was the only bad thing that I found in this hostel. Everything was perfect except this staff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Kenny

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 July 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Wow, without doubt the best hostel we have stayed in, more like a hotel. Cheap (for Switzerland), plentiful kitchen facilities, spotlessly clean and well located. Above all the staff and owners were very friendly and helpful in planning hiking and biking activities. Just a gorgeous location too, stunning views from most rooms.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location in Lauterbrunnen is excellent, and gives access to the surrounding hikes and mountains that is very convenient. The full kitchen and local grocery store also made meals easy (in a place where the restaurants are few and expensive).

Disliked: The staff are totally unavailable between noon and 2:30. This makes sense as an extended lunch hour, especially because otherwise office hours are quite long, but is a potential hitch if you just need to return an adapter.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Tebbey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 July 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: This is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in! It was in such a great location and the staff were lovely. It has a fully equipped kitchen area so you can cook yourself breakfast, lunch or dinner and take it up to your balcony and eat whilst soaking up the stunning view. We stayed in a mountain view twin room and its definitely worth paying that little bit extra to be able to look out over the valley and up to Jungfraujoch. The room was spotless and the bathrooms were always clean.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view from the patio and balconies is fantastic. Everyone who stays in the hostel is really interesting. It is easy to access hiking trails and other outdoor sports. Also, the town is absolutely picturesque.

Disliked: It wold be nice to have breakfast included but it really wasn't an issue.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacinta Lim

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Jacinta would recommend this property

Liked: If you like a different experience during traveling, looking for a reasonably priced, clean accommodation, allow cooking and cosy outdoor dining experience, this is the place for you. We enjoyed exploring local supermarket and cooking our own meals after a full day of outdoor activities. The supermarket is just a short walk from the hostel. Do bear in mind as lauterbrunnen is a small town the COOP supermarket close early, 6:30pm.

Disliked: Jacinta left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Howie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this hostel, perfect location! A goregous village! Hostel was Super clean and safe! Had all the facilities and service you need, large kitchen, dining area, laundry! Very cute and cosy, perfect for the alps!! Def a fave! Highly recommend!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luciana Luciana

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Luciana would recommend this property

Liked: The view is superb. Valley hostel is located in between two cliffs with waterfalls gushing out the cliffs. You can hike up to see the meadows, flowers, cows and the wood. In addtion, the hostel is very convenient, clean and the staff is very helpful (recommending and explaining the hiking track to me). I will stay again in this hostel if come to Lauterbrunnen. One of my most favorite hostels.

Disliked: None. It's perfect.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is located near the railway station. We had a double room which was really cosy and spacious. The view from our room was beautiful (the green valley and a waterfall). Kitchen was alright and bathrooms seemed new and clean.

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Michal Vesely

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 June 2013 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our room with balcony and superb valley view at the next house. Great bathrooms and kitchen facilities!

Disliked: everything was fine :-)