We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Walters Bed & Breakfast

Guesthouse | Oelestrasse 35, Interlaken, Switzerland CH-3800

87.8% Overall Rating

293 out of 302 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/06/2015)

Craig Weigh thinks…

"Best value property in Switzerland. Walter is lovely and willing to help. Would definitely come here again"

Read all Walters Bed & Breakfast reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.22

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Payment is to be in cash on arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Interlaken?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Interlaken

Janis Apartment
46.41 USD

Apartment 94.2% 89 reviews
Interlaken Youth Hostel
37.43 USD

Hostel 91.9% 24 reviews
Balmer's Herberge
33.00 USD

Hostel 85.1% 890 reviews
Funny - Farm Backpackers
20.62 USD

Hostel 75.3% 229 reviews
Landgasthof Hirschen
46.41 USD

Guesthouse 84.6% 262 reviews
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
29.91 USD

Hostel 91.4% 578 reviews
Gasthof Schönegg
61.87 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
RiverLodge Interlaken
28.87 USD

Guesthouse 81.4% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

293 out of 302 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Walters Bed & Breakfast'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 261 of 262 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hiedi Deskins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2010 Hiedi would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is fantastic, he let us check in early and also stay after check out until our train was due. There is a kitchen you can use to cook your own food to save money. The rooms are very big and there is free wifi. Only a short walk to the train station and bus stop just down the road to travel around Interlaken (which he also gives you a pass to travel on the buses for free). It is shared facilities but you only share with two other rooms.

Disliked: The bathroom was quite dirty and looked as it hadn't been cleaned properly. The pillows were very bad and made it hard to sleep.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arivuthokai Sugumar

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday

01 September 2010 Arivuthokai would recommend this property

Liked: it is clean and calm and perfect for a couple.

Disliked: every one has mentioned that the break fast was very good but we could not get the break fast because it is a Sunday

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Abhinav Rao

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

24 August 2010 Abhinav would recommend this property

Liked: Mr. Walters. He is very innocent and kind human being. Very helpful. For 7 Fr you cannot get that much breakfast than that. Room was in great condition. Loved my stay there. Complete value for money. Fantastic location as well.

Disliked: Nothing really. If I have to be picky I did not like the dog near the stairs.. :( was scary in the night especially as the lights switch on through sensors.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ELAD RUBIN

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

10 August 2010 ELAD would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, great kitchen, very good shower, nice location, very clean.

Disliked: ELAD left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

31 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: nil

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

13 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast-- enough to pack for lunch for your day of riding the rails.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room is quite spacious and clean. Walter's fish pool was also very cool. The kitchen is nice and big, as is the bathroom, and the whole place feels very homey. Walter is also very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There is no TV in the room, but there is free Wi-Fi, so if you bring a laptop, this isn't really a problem.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grace Chor Yi Wong

23 June 2010 Grace Chor Yi would recommend this property

Liked: everything!

Disliked: Grace Chor Yi left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grace Wong

23 June 2010 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: location, rate, friendliness of Walter and the big big breakfast with unbeatable value!

Disliked: Grace left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walter is an amazing host. We had 7 ladies in our party and we were treated like queens. Breakfast was served in our own dining room. And we had plenty of food to and sandwiches and evening snacks. It felt like home. Next time we come to Interlaken we will be staying with Walter.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room is clean and space is big!! Mr.Walter is so kind and his coffee was also great!!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walters was very friendly, helpful and generous.The breakfast was great and abundant!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: High standard of accommodation

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kimberly Henderson

03 June 2010 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: The best b&b/hostel ever!!!! Great value for the money.. Walter is the absolute nicest/coolest man ever.. the rooms were fantastic.. and the breakfast was amazing.. it was 7 francs however it provided enough food for breakfast lunch and dinner all in one.. the fondue was fabulous as well complete with wine and dessert for 18 francs.. the location is perfect and easy to find.. there is a full kitchen to store your food.. walter even does laundry service.. i was extremely sad to leave this place i really fell in love with it.. its not really the place to stay if you are just planning on partying.. but if you are a couple or are thinking youll be tired after long days of hiking in interlaken i would definitely say to stay at this place... i really cant rave about it enough!!

Disliked: Kimberly left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

sudhanshu Kamboj

20 May 2010 sudhanshu would recommend this property

Liked: A cosy & comfortable accomodation very near to Inerlaken OST Train station.The self use kitchen was a no fuss answer to our needs.Mr Walter's Breakfast was huge as described. It catered for the Lunch & partly dinner too.The place is secure & located in a quiet neighbourhood

Disliked: sudhanshu left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Superb breakfast and friendly host.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly host and spacious room with well-equiped kitchen is delighting.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shu Tan

04 May 2010 Shu would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place! I would highly recommend it to anyone. A big and nice cosy room for 2 with a balcony with a view of the alps, clean toilets, fully equipped kitchen, and a very friendly host. Breakfast was very worth it at 7chf with ham cheese an assortment of bread, juice, yoghurt and coffee/hot choc/tea. Would definitely stay again if I return to interlaken.

Disliked: Shu left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Satisfied

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Duston

18 April 2010 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: This place was very quite because it's more in the residential area of town, however there is a pizza restaurant on the corner of the street. It's about a 5 min walk to the main part of town and 2 mins walk to Interlaken Ost (East) train station. Buses are expensive in town so if 5 mins is too far find a closer place.Wally is a very nice man who speaks English very well and offers lots of extras for small fees like breakfast, dinner fondue, etc. He'll also help you make reservations for activities if needed.

Disliked: Nicholas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was exactly as described. Walter himself was very friendly and the facilities were better than what we expected. Definitely recommended!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

31 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good guest house, 7 mins walk to Interlaken Ost, big kitchen with all you need to prepare your own dinner. For 18 Fr. you can have a cheese fondue but it's only from 18h30 to 20h00.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walter's is like going to visit your favorite uncle. He takes care of everything for you. He will do your laundry for 10 francs, make you the most amazing breakfast (which includes making sandwiches for lunch) for 7 francs, and makes you a fondue dinner including wine and dessert for only 12 francs. Once you see the price of food in Interlaken you will understand why this is such an amazing deal. And if you feel like cooking you have full access to a full kitchen, fridge, freezer, pots and pans, etc. Our huge private room was totally secure and had a balcony with incredible views of the alps. The location is great as it is a short walk (less than 1 km) to the Interlaken Ost station. Walter's is one of the most amazing places we have stayed, even better than many hotels, and if you want a real Swiss man to take care of you then this is the place to be. There is also free FAST Wifi in your room if you have a laptop. Interlaken itself (and the surrounding lakes and alps) is an amazing place, and though activities are extremely expensive, the franc is cheaper than the euro, and if you listens to Walter's suggestions, as he really cares about young people on a budget getting the most out of their trip, you will have some of the best days of your life. STAY HERE!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keely Freeburn

11 February 2010 Keely would recommend this property

Liked: Bargain, big breakfast, nice atmosphere

Disliked: Keely left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very near to OST station, shopping complex, perfect location! bathroom on every floor, can cook, kitchen on each floor as well. groceries a bit expensive, should have brought from home

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.