We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Tent Village

Hostel | Gsteigstrasse 80, Matten bei Interlaken, Interlaken, Switzerland 0

79.7% Overall Rating

15 out of 22 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2014)

"there were a lot of outdoor activities like playing games and a lot of tea.. this was nice."

Read all The Tent Village reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Dear Client, Please note that as of the 1st August 2014 a visitor’s Tax of Sfr. 2.80 will be added onto your bill in accordance to the local authorities. This is a per person per stay rate. We thank you for your cooperation, The Tent Village Management

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Interlaken?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Interlaken

Funny - Farm Backpackers
20.97 USD

Hostel 75.0% 223 reviews
Balmer's Herberge
38.27 USD

Hostel 84.7% 888 reviews
Landgasthof Hirschen
31.46 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 257 reviews
Walters Bed & Breakfast
29.36 USD

Guesthouse 85.9% 295 reviews
Janis Apartment
52.43 USD

Apartment 94.3% 88 reviews
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
32.56 USD

Hostel 93.1% 565 reviews
Happy Inn Lodge
26.21 USD

Hostel 87.5% 308 reviews
Katys Lodge B&B
37.75 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.7%

Overall Rating

15 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Tent Village'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
79.1%
Facilities
72.7%
Cleanliness
74.6%
Staff
90.9%
Value
76.4%
Safety
78.2%
Refine your results Showing 19 of 21 reviews
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff members were really keen on providing information.

Disliked: There was a bit of mould in the corners of the tent.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa

31 July 2014

Liked: there were a lot of outdoor activities like playing games and a lot of tea.. this was nice.

Disliked: The tents are not good idea to stay, because you can not keep them clean or keep the insects away from the tent and it is quite wet everywhere, hence i think there was everthing in the tent village except arrangement for good sleep.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Luke Hambidge

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool place to stop which is literally has the alps on its doorstep, very quiet, very beautiful Highly recommend

Disliked: Luke left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Gila Gabay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014

Liked: I thought this was a pretty cool hostel, seeing as it was a tent in the middle of the mountains. The view was beautiful.

Disliked: This accomodation was very basic. The showers were always freezing cold. Though the Tent Village is a part of Balmer's, it is not part of the main hostel, which is not made of tents and has most of the events happening. It is about a 10-15 minute walk to the main hostel location, which is also where the bar/club is, the kitchen and staff to help plan excursions. Unfortunately the Tent Village did not have any of that.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

CHANDAN BHUNIA

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

15 July 2014

Liked: friendly environment.

Disliked: No kitchen, Only one bus route (105), No hot water supply, only 2 toiltets, wifi signal strength is very poor. At night the travellers shouted a lot after taking drinks.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a good vibe, good people, and helpful staff.

Disliked: They didn't have hot water and I didn't feel particularly confident in the small lock on the tent. Wish it had a real door.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

sophie hesing

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2014

Liked: Nice view

Disliked: We arrived at 1pm to find no one on site and no notice at all what to do. We waited almost an hour even asking other guests where reception was - they stated it was at the bar but didn't know where staff were. My partner walked to Balmers while I waited at the tent village - he was told reception at the tent village is closed between 12 and 3pm. (there was no mention of this when we booked either). When staff arrived it turned out one of the people in the common area was an off duty staff member who had known we were looking to check in and not said anything to us at all. If we hadn't paid a deposit we would have gone somewhere else. The staff member who arrived at 3pm and the one at Balmers were apologetic and helpful. In addition Tent village advertises full facilities including kitchen, free tea/coffee pool and spa. They do not tell you what they advertise is mostly located at the sister property Balmers 1km away. Kitchen and laundry -> Balmers. Tea/coffee available at Balmers for 2euros. The pool was empty and the spa was available from 3pm - 9pm only. We were very disappointed by our stay and would not recommend this place. This is the first negative review we have ever had to write but we strongly feel the management needs a wake up call.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere, really friendly staff, the jacuzzi and ping pong table

Disliked: there was no hot water, it's quite a hassle to lock the tents so most people just don't

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of fun, amazing scenery

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Julie Menard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013

Liked: We liked the view and that we had a lot to do (Ping-pong, pool, tight rope, foosball table, rent bikes).

Disliked: I'll start with cold showers, hot tub closed the whole time we were there, bar closes at 10pm, not permitted to put beer in the fridge (how are you suppose to keep your beer cold?). The biggest issue was that there is no staff at night. During our stay, a group of 20 partied till 2am. They were so loud that a lady in her 70's walked over from who knows where and told them to stop everything. When she left they started again and I had to get out of my tent and tell them that she was going to calls the cops if she would hear them again. I lied but who cares, we had to get up at 5am to catch our train. We were so unhappy that no staff was around to control this group. The concept of this place is good but a lack of common sense is missing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere, the common area

Disliked: the blankets were very itchy and i think i was allergic to them - which isn't the hostel's fault but still made the experience not as pleasant

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Kara Yogan

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2013

Liked: It's not safe, it's not even sanitary, the people here are belligerent and drunk, and the staff is wholly incompetent. DO NOT COME HERE

Disliked: What did I like is a better question. Everything is broken. No AC- not even fans. The staff is unfriendly. They didn't do anything when the belligerent drunks took our beds TWICE. The other inhabitants partied all night. You can't climb the bunk beds. There are flies and spiders everywhere. I'm still itching from the beds-- they had fleas. The hot water and instant coffee were spat in by the belligerent drunks. The pool and hot tub are COMPLETELY unsanitary.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

apostolis christou

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 apostolis would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel i ve stayed . U get a free bus pass there are great places to meet people the bbq is great , a hottub and a pool in a hostel just unbelievable i would recommen it to any1 !

Disliked: Loved it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelsey Proffitt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013 Kelsey would recommend this property

Liked: Very chill atmosphere. Very friendly and helpful staff. Staying in a tent is pretty cool because you don't have to worry about keys. During our stay here it seemed to be a pretty trustworthy group of people so you can leave your phone or computers at the bar to charge and not worry about it being stolen. There is a pool and jacuzzi (which is nice to soak in after a long day of hiking!). Unlimited tea and coffee all day! :) Also a bar with draft beer.

Disliked: Kelsey left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The tents!

Disliked: since we stayed in a tent so it's quite cold at night :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gaurav Gupta

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Gaurav would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the property was really good as the view is amazing. It's a good experience to live in a tent without you needing to carry any stuff yourself and staying just close to the base of the Jungfrau mountain. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The travellers staying there were also very friendly.

Disliked: Gaurav left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect!

Disliked: It got a bit cold, but then again it is a tent village.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Grange

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Interlaken itself is amazing, but the friendliness and humour of the staff (and guests) plus the facilities on offer (table tennis, table fussball, hot tub, bar etc.) made it an even better experience. They recommended lots of events as well as nearby places to visit. The tents were unique and great fun. Just wished we could have stayed longer.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richelle Kimble

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2012 Richelle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were ultra friendly, and ultimately set a fantastic mood and attitude for everyone at the village. They were so helpful and ensured that everyone's experience was positive!

Disliked: Richelle left no negative feedback.