HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Tent Village

Hostel | Gsteigstrasse 80, Matten bei Interlaken, Interlaken, Switzerland 0

85.7% Overall Rating

10 out of 13 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2013)

Julie Menard thinks…

"We liked the view and that we had a lot to do (Ping-pong, pool, tight rope, foosball table, rent bikes)."

Read all The Tent Village reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Interlaken?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Interlaken

Funny - Farm Backpackers
26.04 USD

Hostel 79.0% 212 reviews
Balmer's Herberge
35.66 USD

Hostel 87.1% 881 reviews
Landgasthof Hirschen
33.96 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 250 reviews
Walters Bed & Breakfast
31.70 USD

Guesthouse 83.8% 292 reviews
Janis Apartment
45.28 USD

Apartment 94.1% 86 reviews
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
35.15 USD

Hostel 95.8% 544 reviews
AWA Heidis Hostel
26.04 USD

Hostel 68.1% 102 reviews
Happy Inn Lodge
28.30 USD

Hostel 87.0% 282 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.7%

Overall Rating

10 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Tent Village'

Atmosphere
86.2%
Location
84.6%
Facilities
84.6%
Cleanliness
83.1%
Staff
90.8%
Value
84.6%
Safety
86.2%
Refine your results Showing 11 of 12 reviews
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of fun, amazing scenery

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Julie Menard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013

Liked: We liked the view and that we had a lot to do (Ping-pong, pool, tight rope, foosball table, rent bikes).

Disliked: I'll start with cold showers, hot tub closed the whole time we were there, bar closes at 10pm, not permitted to put beer in the fridge (how are you suppose to keep your beer cold?). The biggest issue was that there is no staff at night. During our stay, a group of 20 partied till 2am. They were so loud that a lady in her 70's walked over from who knows where and told them to stop everything. When she left they started again and I had to get out of my tent and tell them that she was going to calls the cops if she would hear them again. I lied but who cares, we had to get up at 5am to catch our train. We were so unhappy that no staff was around to control this group. The concept of this place is good but a lack of common sense is missing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere, the common area

Disliked: the blankets were very itchy and i think i was allergic to them - which isn't the hostel's fault but still made the experience not as pleasant

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Kara Yogan

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2013

Liked: It's not safe, it's not even sanitary, the people here are belligerent and drunk, and the staff is wholly incompetent. DO NOT COME HERE

Disliked: What did I like is a better question. Everything is broken. No AC- not even fans. The staff is unfriendly. They didn't do anything when the belligerent drunks took our beds TWICE. The other inhabitants partied all night. You can't climb the bunk beds. There are flies and spiders everywhere. I'm still itching from the beds-- they had fleas. The hot water and instant coffee were spat in by the belligerent drunks. The pool and hot tub are COMPLETELY unsanitary.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

apostolis christou

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 apostolis would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel i ve stayed . U get a free bus pass there are great places to meet people the bbq is great , a hottub and a pool in a hostel just unbelievable i would recommen it to any1 !

Disliked: Loved it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelsey Proffitt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013 Kelsey would recommend this property

Liked: Very chill atmosphere. Very friendly and helpful staff. Staying in a tent is pretty cool because you don't have to worry about keys. During our stay here it seemed to be a pretty trustworthy group of people so you can leave your phone or computers at the bar to charge and not worry about it being stolen. There is a pool and jacuzzi (which is nice to soak in after a long day of hiking!). Unlimited tea and coffee all day! :) Also a bar with draft beer.

Disliked: Kelsey left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The tents!

Disliked: since we stayed in a tent so it's quite cold at night :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gaurav Gupta

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Gaurav would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the property was really good as the view is amazing. It's a good experience to live in a tent without you needing to carry any stuff yourself and staying just close to the base of the Jungfrau mountain. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The travellers staying there were also very friendly.

Disliked: Gaurav left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect!

Disliked: It got a bit cold, but then again it is a tent village.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Grange

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Interlaken itself is amazing, but the friendliness and humour of the staff (and guests) plus the facilities on offer (table tennis, table fussball, hot tub, bar etc.) made it an even better experience. They recommended lots of events as well as nearby places to visit. The tents were unique and great fun. Just wished we could have stayed longer.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richelle Kimble

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2012 Richelle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were ultra friendly, and ultimately set a fantastic mood and attitude for everyone at the village. They were so helpful and ensured that everyone's experience was positive!

Disliked: Richelle left no negative feedback.