We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Happy Inn Lodge

Hostel | Rosenstrasse 17, Interlaken, Switzerland 3800

83.7% Overall Rating

286 out of 328 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/04/2015)

Dean Varndell thinks…

"Position is excellent., Staff are very friendly and welcoming. Very good information was provided at check-in. The hostel was very well run. A small kitchen (microwave, toaster, kettle, fridge,…"

Read all Happy Inn Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note tax quoted is per person per night.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Interlaken?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Interlaken

Katys Lodge B&B
39.14 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 4 reviews
Hotel Bellevue
108.15 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Alplodge Backpackers
36.05 USD

Hostel 87.0% 46 reviews
The Lazy Falken Backpacker
28.84 USD

Guesthouse 78.2% 188 reviews
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
29.87 USD

Hostel 91.4% 578 reviews
Hotel Rössli
67.36 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 91.8% 45 reviews
Landgasthof Hirschen
46.35 USD

Guesthouse 84.6% 262 reviews
Janis Apartment
46.35 USD

Apartment 94.2% 89 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.7%

Overall Rating

286 out of 328 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Happy Inn Lodge'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
80.8%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 286 of 321 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Olli Jarva

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012 Olli would recommend this property

Liked: Affordable, good location. Bar and relatively cheap restaurant downstairs.

Disliked: Only microwave ovens in the kitchen - no stove.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel is quite good. staff is so kinds and there is free atmosphere. It's really close to interlaken west station.

Disliked: whenever I enter the hostel, I have to go through the bar on ground floor. 6bed room is so small. during I stay in there, there was soccer game. so It was very loud

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012

Liked: nothing.

Disliked: First floor was the bar so kind loud (at night too) People who works there were tired of us asking questions and yelling at us...................................

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Interlaken is small enough that you can walk everywhere you need to. They have a small kitchen/common area you can use (microwave, dishes, sink, no stove or oven). The dorms might be stuffy in the late summer but in early June, they were okay. You get coupons for free bus/transit in the Interlaken area during your stay. The hostel is well priced for Switzerland.

Disliked: Almost nothing. The hallway near the dorms are super creaky. Also remember to bring your own lock for the luggage room if you plan to use it. Wifi is free but using the hostel computers is very expensive

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Timothy Irwin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 May 2012 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staffers, great English skills. Fun and outgoing, welcoming and warm. Nice menu and bar downstairs, very good bathroom/shower facilities. Pleasant atmosphere full of character.

Disliked: Decent location, close to Interlaken West but rather distant from Interlaken Ost, the station you'll want if you head south to Lauterbrunnen. Not a fault of the hostel, obviously.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Srdan Mocibob

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2012 Srdan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was great! Room was very nice, althought it is a bit old.

Disliked: There was no hot water in the shower.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were so happy with the accommodation we booked in for a second night. The staff are so friendly and extremely helpful. We don't stay in hostels very often but this one is very impressive.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best price in town. Near west train station. Good Internet. Bar and restaurant below

Disliked: 6 person dorm is a bit small with little room for 6 bags. Kitchen really only has fridge and microwave, no oven or stove to really cook on

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sydney Brown

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2012 Sydney would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING! amazing location, staff are super friendly, hostel is clean and welcoming. So much to do there! The alps are beautiful! Interlaken has become our favourite place in Europe!

Disliked: nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price was good, clean place, staff was very friendly, towels provided.

Disliked: The mattresses they had were spring mattresses and the spring hurts while sleeping. I had a major problem with the quality of mattress given that on budget, sleeping is what you book a hotel for.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nirman Arora

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 February 2012 Nirman would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful staff, nice service, clean rooms. Overall everything.

Disliked: Nothing specifically.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Zhujun Ma

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2012 Zhujun would recommend this property

Liked: Overall a worthy place with this price. Walking distance to the train station. Voucher for city transportation and souvenir shop. Good view of the snow mountains. Staff were friendly. The bar was holding a party at that night!

Disliked: We booked a budget twin room with 2 single beds, but were not told they are bunk beds. Room's much smaller than we expect, and so do the shower room. I know we cannot expect too much at this price, but the room's really small.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2012

Liked: location. u can see the mountain on clear days through the window on the upper floor.

Disliked: one of the bathroom on the upper floor has a window so low that makes u feel really uncomfortable can see u when you shower. no curtain to close this window. one of the staff was rather rude when we arrived and impatient when serving us. others was jovial.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

LUQMAN BIN ASHAARI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2012 LUQMAN would recommend this property

Liked: near the train station.

Disliked: the staff is not as nice as i expected

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ALBERT MARTINS

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 ALBERT would recommend this property

Liked: great!!

Disliked: ALBERT left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I'm not a backpacker but go offen to ski far away from where I live, so low fare accomodation is very helpfull to stay, and this hostel has a very nice staff, clean rooms, confortable bed to have a good rest, I've stay in the private twin room with my friend, so I don't know how it is in the shared room but, defenetely I will go back again when I'm going to ski in that area next time. Takes only 20min to Grindelwald or Murren area by car ! When I make a long stay I will like to cook my self some time they have minimum kitchen staff to cook. This time me and my friend took a dinner in the bar, price were correct and taste were great as well!

Disliked: Nothing to say....

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, always cheerful. The bar is surely noisy at night, as all bars are, but once upstairs you can`t hear a thing. Really good hostel, very clean, the showers have a little room in which you can put your things and dress and undress yourself. Hot water in sink in every room. The beds and mattresses were very satisfactory and very hot. You can really trust no staff personnel will budge on your things and will only make your bed after you leave. Very good location, near the train station and a little supermarket. Restaurants all about, including the one downstairs. Awesome. I`d recommend it to everyone going to Interlaken and region.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2012

Liked: .

Disliked: .

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

YUNA CHOI

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2011

Liked: clean bed

Disliked: expensive breakfest, I expected value for charge but only bread and cereal..-_-;;; even not enough facilities in kichten.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Property Gives u a feel of a real traveler and the other best part was a Restro BAR in the Hotel that was awesome, very lively environment and music was good, u can refresh yourself after having a full day of travelling. Happy Inn Rocks

Disliked: Only the BEDS and Mattresses in the rooms are not that good...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Riley Pohl

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2011 Riley would recommend this property

Liked: Hilarious staff, bar is expensive but worth it for the show they put on.. Unlike other places that have a bar they don't care if u buy cheap beer and drink it in your room or in the kitchen.

Disliked: Noting

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and hilarious! Good company from other customers and workers. The vibe was awesome (rooms upstairs and a bar/rest downstairs) all under same management. Could not have picked a better place... we actually met people from other hostels that came to hang out with us at Happy Inn because it was so much more fun. Love this place :)

Disliked: I can truly say...nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

glenn burling

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2011 glenn would recommend this property

Liked: close to interlaken west train station and in the middle of town. The price of the rooms is a lot cheaper than the train ticket it costs to get there.

Disliked: kitchen facilities are average. can hear every noise being made in other rooms. The staff seem to put a lot more effort into cleaning the stair case than the dorm rooms - not very clean under beds.