HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Happy Inn Lodge

Hostel | Rosenstrasse 17, Interlaken, Switzerland 3800

87.4% Overall Rating

263 out of 300 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

"Close to the Interlaken-West train station, nice bar with food downstairs, staff friendly"

Read all Happy Inn Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.84

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Interlaken?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Interlaken

Katys Lodge B&B
41.98 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 4 reviews
Hotel Bellevue
116.00 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Alplodge Backpackers
38.67 USD

Hostel 86.6% 45 reviews
The Lazy Falken Backpacker
42.96 USD

Guesthouse 79.5% 186 reviews
Rugenpark B&B
55.79 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 247 reviews
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
34.30 USD

Hostel 94.6% 561 reviews
Hotel Rössli
72.25 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 88.9% 42 reviews
Landgasthof Hirschen
44.19 USD

Guesthouse 82.7% 253 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

263 out of 300 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Happy Inn Lodge'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 266 of 293 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matt Bell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: AWESOME value for money, friendly staff, great atmosphere. Definitely recommend!

Disliked: Matt left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yonatan Jesús Quiroz Niño

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

23 December 2013 Yonatan Jesús would recommend this property

Liked: Just Excellent, for the next customer, ask about going to the alps they all are able to help you for anything

Disliked: the best hotel i've been

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andy Spencer

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 December 2013 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: Clean easy to use and friendly

Disliked: Nothing..

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

John Mauger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good staff.

Disliked: Started cleaning really early. Just a microwave, but we knew that before we booked.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money

Disliked: Directions to othe lodge are not very clear

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and kitchen included

Disliked: Very weak WiFi signal in room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taylor Mirner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Taylor would recommend this property

Liked: amazing location, nice showers, fun bar, many activities available in interlaken that you can book through the hostel! Chris who works behind the bar was so helpful and friendly!!

Disliked: not a full kitchen

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

HIU TUNG WONG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2013 HIU TUNG would recommend this property

Liked: Close to West station. So far cheapest in Interlaken but still quite expensive (yay I understand its expensive in Swiss) and not really worth the price.

Disliked: The reception staff is the staff of the bar instead of the hostel I guess. She got mess up when a number of people checked in tgt. The entrance of the hostel is a bar and there is no locked door between the bar and the hostel, which means that others can go into the hostel easily. For shower, the auto-sense light goes out at least 5 times when I was having shower. I had to wave my hands several times until it sensed me again.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2013

Liked: Short walk to train station, easy to find. Staff was alright. Sink in room was nice.

Disliked: Rooms too small to move around in, not too many plugs in room. Pillow was terrible. Only microwave in kitchen.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Krystina Hanson

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 October 2013

Liked: Great location, close to Interlaken West station.

Disliked: Kitchen (if you can call it that), lounge room and luggage room combined into one. This room is out the back of the main restaurant and it has no atmosphere. Kitchen consists of 2 microwaves, a toaster and a kettle (no stove top or oven, and very little crockery to cook your food in). We bought dinner to cook and had to go out again to buy soup to microwave. It all seems like a ploy to make you eat and drink in their restaurant and bar.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

keren or Curtis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 September 2013 keren or would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is awesome, mainly due to the staff. They were really nice and helpful. They took the time to answer all our questions and suggest extras when needed. The atmosphere is great and the bar in the ground floor is a big plus. The bartender was the nicest swiss we've encountered in our entire trip, and the kitchen staff let my friends store ice-cream in their freezer (the guests' kitchen has a fridge but no freezer, and my friends have a thing for ice-creams. don't ask). The showers are clean, the beds are comfortable... this place has everything you need in a hostel and staying there was really fun, would definitely recommend.

Disliked: keren or left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hmm everything was just so-so

Disliked: Definitely need to buy new bed. It made loud noise whenever somebody moved on the bed and the floors also need to be gone under construction :( Too late check-in time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THE WELCOME WAS GOOD AFTER A 10 HOUR LONG BIKE RIDE STAFF WERE FRIENDLY AND WE WERE GIVEN LOTS OF HELPFUL ADVICE ABOUT THE AREA .THERE WAS A RELAXED APPROACH AND THE MEAL WAS GOOD dEFINATELY RECOMMEND IT TO OTHER BIKERS

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

shihab ahmed

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013

Liked: friendliness of staffs

Disliked: not enough kitchen facilities, you cant cook ! if you are eating out then this not a bad place. staffs are really friendly and helpful. its one top of a bar so loud music and noise can be bit a problem.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: no

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Saddichha Sahoo

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

22 June 2013 Saddichha would recommend this property

Liked: It's location!

Disliked: There were several things to dislike. (1) I wanted a double room and got a twin instead which was extremely small in size.(2) the washrooms were left in unclean condition often. (3) there are no facilities where you can sit and eat your meals that you prepare. Even though there is a restaurant attached, one is not allowed to use it to eat and instead one is expected to eat inside a closed small room. Every hostel I have stayed so far has wonderful facilities where you can sit out and eat and this hostel was the bigger exception. (5) the friendliness of the staff varied from being very good to downright unhelpful.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the price is good

Disliked: because the bar is in the ground floor so will be noise.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

keyu chen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2013 keyu would recommend this property

Liked: really nice hostel to stay, nice staff, they supply many helpful information for travel in interlaken. 4 min away from the west railway station, many take away restaurant and small supermarket near here.

Disliked: the pillow, why it is foursquare?

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful! Gave suggestions on where to go, given the time I had, and were helpful beyond words.

Disliked: Creaky floors and doors. I arrived the night of the final football game just before the end of the game and had no clue where to check in - it was at the bar, which was extremely busy at that time! But that was not their fault, and they were able to check me in promptly.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

ROSHNI PRAMANIK

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 ROSHNI would recommend this property

Liked: location was excellent, very accommodative staff, clean hostel, safe, good high speed wifi, seems to be quite popular with not only student groups but adults in families!

Disliked: the only negative comment would be the high price I pay for separate toilets and showers and share rooms with 6 people despite the fact that happy inn has arguably the lowest price in Interlaken West area and the central location.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its clean and staff are nice, really helpfule

Disliked: Only 1 socket in dorm room of 6 people!!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Leon Head

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2013 Leon would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very close to the Interlaken west train station. All of the staff were really friendly and the bar downstairs had a good atmosphere. Interlaken is a great place.

Disliked: The kitchen was pretty limited, only a fridge, toaster and microwave. They could also invest in placing a door between the bar and the hostel, as the noise from the band was pretty loud till 1am. Normally I wouldn't mind as the band was good, but some nights you need a good night sleep. The pillows were also pretty non existant and the bunks and floors were noisy as heck. Spent more of the night awake then asleep unfortunatly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is near by to Interlaken west and with some good restaurants nearby.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a really great hostel. The staff were very friendly and professional and the facilities were nice and clean. I ended up staying an extra two nights due to some last minute changes to my travel plans, my I definitely enjoyed my extra time here.

Disliked: The dormitories are above a bar, and it can be sometimes loud. However, the music is always off by midnight.