HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AWA Heidis Hostel

Hostel | Bernastrasse 37, Interlaken, Switzerland 3800

68.1% Overall Rating

63 out of 102 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/10/2012)

"I loved the owner of the establishment, she is the cutest grandmother-figure. Although sometimes it was a bit difficult to get questions answered, all that was needed was a little finesse to hone the question in order…"

Read all AWA Heidis Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Interlaken?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Interlaken

Katys Lodge B&B
43.14 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 4 reviews
Rugenpark B&B
48.82 USD

Guesthouse 90.3% 244 reviews
Happy Inn Lodge
28.38 USD

Hostel 87.3% 280 reviews
Hotel Bellevue
102.18 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Alplodge Backpackers
28.38 USD

Hostel 87.0% 43 reviews
Landgasthof Hirschen
34.06 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 250 reviews
Hotel Rössli
57.79 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 89.3% 41 reviews
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
35.25 USD

Hostel 95.5% 542 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.1%

Overall Rating

63 out of 102 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AWA Heidis Hostel'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
56.8%
Staff
76.8%
Value
68.0%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 79 of 86 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Rahul Kumar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 November 2012 Rahul would recommend this property

Liked: Good ambience great location

Disliked: No Plug points in the room no internet

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the owner of the establishment, she is the cutest grandmother-figure. Although sometimes it was a bit difficult to get questions answered, all that was needed was a little finesse to hone the question in order to get an answer. The hostel was cozy, and everyone who stayed ther was extremely friendly. It felt like a big family.

Disliked: The smell of the hostel was... pungent. When we first arrived, we walked down the hall, turned the corner, went down some stairs, and walked down another hall. A short walk, yet there were probably 6 different, poignant, individual attacks on my nose. After the first hour or so in our room, we were used to the smell in there, but every time we walked through the rest of the hostel or left and came back, the smell of dog, watermelon, food, and others was definitely there. Not a huge problem though, because your nose gets used to it in time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

PrasannaKumar Pullalacheruvu

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 October 2012 PrasannaKumar would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and location

Disliked: PrasannaKumar left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tallada VijayaKumar

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

03 October 2012 Tallada would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice,safe & decent place to stay with family

Disliked: Tallada left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012

Liked: nothing..............

Disliked: It was worst experience in my whole Europe travel...................that too in beautiful country Swiss. I reached there on 14th afternoon for check in. First they told me that they do not have booking for 3 nights with my name. When I showed them my reservation paper from hostelbookers, they took 30min to give my room keys. I booked Private Double room (Separate Bathroom) with Hostelbookers, but they have given me twin room. I checked with owner, she has told me that she has only with my reservation. Room was in very bad condition with lot of bed bugs, First night I did not notice about bed bugs. but on second day mid night my baby was crying so I got up and I shocked ..almost 10-20 bed bugs on my blanket , my baby’s blanket. They have bitten my baby’s face, Legs and chest almost 10-15 places. I do not understand 'what to do now as she was crying due to pain’. Next day morning first I consulted to doctor as bitten places were spreading red with lot of pain. I talked with land lady about this, she is not ready to believe on me, I discussed about this for 1 hours to explain her bed bugs in my room. Finally I caught 4-5 bed bugs alive and showed to her, Then She started to tell me that she will take action on next day when I leave this room. But I was not ready to sleep in same room. I had 1 hour argument with her on this. Then she has agreed to change my room with no bed bugs. I checked first bed bugs in room. Then I shifted in. I have photos of room with bed bugs. Room’s cupboard was also not clean. Private room’s bathroom is also very small. Reception is with full of dog smell. It is very difficult to stand there and also in first floor, ground floor. Land lady dose not trust on you as she asked whole money on your arrival. She is also not ready to see paper from HostelBookers.com about the money to pay her. She has done the calculation with her rates and asked money only in Swiss frank.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ravinder Dhiman

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2012 Ravinder would recommend this property

Liked: the location of hostel

Disliked: no proper wi-fi connection

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

mridu kataria

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012

Liked: good location, 5 minutes walk from Interlaken west station. thats it !!

Disliked: damp, smelly place. the lady who runs it is very difficult and unfriendly. the claim that it has a 24hrs reception is false. you cannot check in late at night, even if you are paying for the night !! there is a curfew on going out after 10pm . the linen / towels were of poor quality, very rough. the bathrooms dont even bolt from inside, despite the fact that they are common bathrooms between men and women. another very weird concept is that the dorms are not open to people over 36years of age !! I have heard of a minimum age limit, but why a max age limit of 36years ?? we were 6 people sharing a dorm, and we had to help the owner to put up the 6th bed !!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Heidi, the owner was a cute little old lady who was very helpful and nice. She gave us ice cream and chocolate! The hostel is very close to the train station which was also nice. Hot shower!

Disliked: Could have used more toilet paper, we ran out because of the shared bathroom.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Vasudeva Rao Nallamothu

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2012 Vasudeva Rao would recommend this property

Liked: The Old lady in reception was good. Location is OK.

Disliked: Bad smell (pets) coming near reception and some portions of hostel. Not given the room which we booked, given to someone else. one bed was too old and we can't sleep properly in that. after 10pm no body is there to open the door. net connection is not available inside the rooms, we have to open the windows and sit on the edge.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

susan dove

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 May 2012 susan would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and beds were confortable.It was quiet and was able to get a good night sleep .

Disliked: The stairs , the staff open another door so we could get our packs in without the stairs .

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2012

Liked: The old lady was veryyyy helpful and kind.

Disliked: There was a mouse in the bathroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location,atmosphare,very frendly people work here

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we stayed in one of their holiday apartments. It was clean, calm and with a fully equipped kitchen. The old lady at the reception was amazing, she was friendly and very cordial.

Disliked: The reception area was stinky because of her huge dog.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Boszin Zsolt

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2012

Liked: location good

Disliked: No clean, no electric in the room, very coold rooom. This hostel is a prison.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

15 February 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: all! Especially the hotel owner

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: none

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

shruti sud

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2011 shruti would recommend this property

Liked: The homely atmosphere and the very friendly old lady taking care of the hostel. She showered us with chocolates everytime she saw us.

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Cherian Paul

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011

Liked: 1. The owner was very helpful and kind. 2. Provided private dorm for 4 people with additional bed for our friend. 3. Private Kitchen and all utensils like Microwave, Oven, Fridge, Vessels. Also a dining table.

Disliked: 1. It is stinging all over the corridor (smells like Dog). 2. Internet is only available outside the building ground floor. We need to stand outside in the cold and browse. 3. Could not lock the room from inside. Tied the door handle with a piece of wire. 4. No TV

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Disgusting. Not recommended.. Spend some more money and book elsewhere..u'llregret..i did..Dunno why hostel bookers still with this hostel..

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a kitchen where we could cook. We saved a lot of money that way as Switzerland is very expensive.

Disliked: Too many people had to use the common shower area. The shower was also not good.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the safety of the Hotel, also the beddings were good.

Disliked: Atmosphere, it closes before 22:00, which should be increased atleast till 23:00

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

hugh clarke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 September 2011 hugh would recommend this property

Liked: the owner

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: all

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location

Disliked: facilities & atmosphere

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

AMIT RODE

As a family with children

Family Holiday

03 August 2011

Liked: Owner is very helpful.

Disliked: smell