HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AWA Heidis Hostel

Hostel | Bernastrasse 37, Interlaken, Switzerland 3800

68.1% Overall Rating

63 out of 102 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/10/2012)

"I loved the owner of the establishment, she is the cutest grandmother-figure. Although sometimes it was a bit difficult to get questions answered, all that was needed was a little finesse to hone the question in order…"

Read all AWA Heidis Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Interlaken?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Interlaken

Katys Lodge B&B
42.97 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 4 reviews
Rugenpark B&B
48.62 USD

Guesthouse 90.3% 244 reviews
Happy Inn Lodge
28.27 USD

Hostel 87.3% 280 reviews
Hotel Bellevue
101.76 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Alplodge Backpackers
28.27 USD

Hostel 87.0% 43 reviews
Landgasthof Hirschen
33.92 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 250 reviews
Hotel Rössli
57.55 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 89.3% 41 reviews
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
35.11 USD

Hostel 95.5% 542 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.1%

Overall Rating

63 out of 102 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AWA Heidis Hostel'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
56.8%
Staff
76.8%
Value
68.0%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 79 of 86 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Richard Cameron

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: An eccentric little place that is run by a charming elderly lady and her elderly Persian cat. A bit old and run down, but sometime in the past great care was taken with the furnishings and wall decorations to give it a Swiss Alpine character. It is now past it's prime, but it is cheap by Interlaken standards. It's great advantage is that it is a five minute walk from Interlaken West Train Station, keeping in mind that this is not the main train station for excursions to the Jungfrau, the Eiger, Lauterbrunnen and Grindewald. That would be Interlaken Ost, which is a short bus ride away. All in all, this was a cheap, adequate, convenient hotel for me to explore the charming town of Interlaken.

Disliked: A bit of a mouldy smell in the hallways and room, no doubt due to the rains.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 July 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: all the things

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2011

Liked: Nothing, Rooms are not comfortable, the smell in all the hostal is the hell

Disliked: Everithing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: gave everything at the most reasonable price

Disliked: the presence of the dog smell

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tanvir Khan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011 Tanvir would recommend this property

Liked: Senior lady runs the hostel, very kind.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel keeper is really nice.

Disliked: the house is old and gets some kind of bad smell, maybe from the pets.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was close to the train station. The owner was friendly. The room was a decent size.

Disliked: The property requires a lot of renovation work as there are stains on walls and bathroom facilities etc and the carpets are worn out. The bed I slept it was worn in and I could literally feel the body shape of previous lodgers in the mattress.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rachit Maheshwari

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 June 2011 Rachit would recommend this property

Liked: Old lady was very friendly and helpful, good for one day.....

Disliked: Time constraint have to return by 10 pm

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Miriam Boidé

As a family with children

Family Holiday

16 June 2011 Miriam would recommend this property

Liked: The reception, the lady was very helpful and kind! she gaves us chocolates before leaving the place.

Disliked: beds a little old.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2011

Liked: na

Disliked: everything

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

JACOBUS PIETERSE

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

11 April 2011

Liked: This place was in a very nice area, the rooms were big with a toilet and shower in the 4 rooms we booked

Disliked: The reception area was unorganised, there was a very bad smell hanging in the place. Occupants of two rooms were nearly swallowed by bed bugs. They were covered with bite marks for several days. The 3rd room had a rat which eaten through a backpack and eaten half of a slab of Swiss chochlate.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: u get a true feel for the place, run by people who have lived in interlakin their whole lives. Friendly, down to earth staff. Clean and comfortable.

Disliked: no breakfast.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vasanthan Bharathy

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2011 Vasanthan would recommend this property

Liked: Kind Old Lady, Friendly service and help, Very close Interlaken West Station, Very attentive to needs and very satisfying.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2010

Liked: Really nice staff, good location in a very beautiful village. It was cosy and a bit special, but nice. The lady who owns it is amazing! the dorms are in a basement which is cold. But the kitchen is good

Disliked: Cold rooms and they could need some renovation. it also smells bad. the day we left the hostel we noticed that we had red, itching rashes all over our bodies. these rashes came from bedbugs!! Bedbugs stays in clothes and bags, so we had to wash everything ( even our bags) when we got home!!! don't go there

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lady who runs the place is so increadibly sweet and lovely even if she is a little forgetful. SHe gives you a chocolate upon arrival and can literally talk your ear off. She will offer you any bit of help you need though.

Disliked: The room was very cramped - they needed to take out the double bed from the room as 6 of us in there could barely move. The shower in the room is a little weird as well - not bad, just weird. You'll understand if you go there and I do recommend you do!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lisa Dunbar

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 October 2010 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: This place is cheap and cheerful. Great location, good size dorms (no lockers) but security was never an issue. The hosts are fabulous and the kitchen facilities are useful. Beds are comfy and big and we had toilet in room. Shower is hot and fantastic though decor needs a little updating. You get what you pay for but I would recommend. Had a great stay!

Disliked: N/a

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Luis E. Vertiz

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 September 2010 Luis E. would recommend this property

Liked: It's very convenient as it's located very close to the railway station in Interlaken -four blocks away-. Friendly family is in charge of the hostel, basically for people travelling for few days.

Disliked: It has problems to receive the internet services and the rooms are narrow although comfortable.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

19 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean, good location

Disliked: Slightly expensive compared to hostels in Zurich and Basel

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jonathan Di Pierro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Well when I arrived, she could not find my booking... Then she tried charging me 15 euros when I had an email clearly marked that the balance was 14.23$. Also forget about credit cards... Not the type of place that believes in online bookings... Finally I was using the wifi which is only accessible in the lobby and the owner told me to buzz off at 21:00 ?!?!? since she wanted to be alone. All I was doing was quietly on my iPod surfing the net. Really not cool.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As other backpackers have stated, the older lady who owns the hostel is very helpful and friendly! This hostel is basic, but it is very central and good if you just looking for somewhere cheap to sleep. And the decore give the hostel a homely character.

Disliked: My only really complaint is that there wasn't a convenient place to store valuables. There aren't any lockers and there's a window to the room that can be opened from the street. However, the owner mention she could store a laptop if I needed her to.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 September 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: No plug sockets to charge cell phones and laptops which are very basic needs.... far away from the city.. not a worth stay

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located near the Main Train station, which means its only 10 mins walk from the station as described in the description.The lady was quite helpful giving some useful tips about the trips.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break

02 August 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: i don't know if the boss know well his hotel, he makes me to change my bed 3 times in one night! once even at 0:06!!!! i don't understand how could this happen.what i want to say is WTF!!!!

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 August 2010

Liked: location is nice but all other things are a bad driver

Disliked: i felt sorry as I didnt take the advice and comments offered by other travellers who had earlier stayed at this hostel. The hostel location is nice however- 1. the place smells terrible. 2. beds are not comfortable. 3. toilets had no locks 4. Ensuite toilet was too small in size, hardly managable. 5. I took a triple room and the room had absolutely no space left after the bed was laid. 6. One of the quilts which was given to us was terrible. Some weird stuff it was filled with. 7. Not sure if the beds and rooms are cleaned after each tourist visit as there is only an old lady who manages the place. Finally, it was not at all value for money and I was strongly not recommend it for staying. Please note that this experience is only based on staying on the ground floor in a triple bedded ensuite room. This is as the review which i would like to post for the property however if you wish to ignore this and go ahead on still booking it then do so at your own risk. NOT WORTH THE MONIES! CANT EVEN GET A GOOD NIGHT SLEEP!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2010

Liked: Nothing really.

Disliked: The owner, Heidi, warmed up after a bit, but she wasn't that nice to begin with. The place smelled weird and was not clean. Even though I paid a deposit from hostelbookers, the owner insisted that I pay the full price instead of minus the deposit and insisted I pay in cash not with a credit/debit card.