We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof

Hostel | Alpenstrasse 16, Interlaken, Switzerland 3800

91.4% Overall Rating

568 out of 578 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/06/2015)

"The hostels provided us some tokens, which can allow us to wash clothes, exchange free drinks, etc. Perfect to us!"

Read all Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Interlaken?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Interlaken

Janis Apartment
46.63 USD

Apartment 94.2% 89 reviews
Landgasthof Hirschen
46.63 USD

Guesthouse 84.6% 262 reviews
Balmer's Herberge
33.16 USD

Hostel 85.1% 890 reviews
Funny - Farm Backpackers
20.72 USD

Hostel 75.3% 229 reviews
Happy Inn Lodge
23.02 USD

Hostel 83.7% 328 reviews
Walters Bed & Breakfast
29.01 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 302 reviews
Katys Lodge B&B
39.37 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 4 reviews
Interlaken Youth Hostel
37.61 USD

Hostel 91.9% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

568 out of 578 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 509 of 527 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

YUCHUN LIN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2015 YUCHUN would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities

Disliked: small room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

HAE LYUN LEE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2015 HAE LYUN would recommend this property

Liked: 역이랑 가깝고 역앞에 큰 coop이 있어서 편리하고 좋았어요~ 아침에 조식도 간단히 요기하기 좋았구요~^^ 깨끗한편이고 전반적으로 만족합니다

Disliked: 음 한국인들이 많아서 깜짝 놀랐어요~~ 외국이 아니라 한국이라고 해도 될만큼 식당은 다 한국학생들이었네요~~ 저는 덕분에 정보도 얻고 좋았지만 이런분위기 싫어하실 분도 계실듯하네요

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostels provided us some tokens, which can allow us to wash clothes, exchange free drinks, etc. Perfect to us!

Disliked: No air-conditioning. It was a bit hot during our stay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and quite a few facilites to use.

Disliked: Maybe a bit more variety for breakfast?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, property, cleanliness, staff and everything was great!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YIK YAU

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

19 May 2015 YIK would recommend this property

Liked: So far the best youth hostel in Europe

Disliked: The lights a bit dark in the share bathroom

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has lots of facilities... almost everything you will ever need when travelling. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: The rooms where a bit small, we were 5 people, there were bunkbeds and just a small window.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

robert west

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 February 2015 robert would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful and informative and the rooms and facilities had a really good atmosphere. I would recommend this hostal to anyone. Outside - The building looks exactly like an alpine chalet should do.

Disliked: Faultless

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staffs

Disliked: Too small room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Good location.

Disliked: Too much people are waiting for laundry.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 역시 유명한 호스텔 다워요.. 스위스돈 환전을 못했는데 환율에 맞춰서 환전 해주셨어요..(달러->스위스프랑) 그리고 조식도 괜찮고.. 시설도 좋았습니다.

Disliked: 6인실은 상당히 좁았어요 한명이 짐 펼치면 다른사람이 못지나다녀요.. 한국사람들이나 외국인들이 워낙 단체로만 오는데여서 혼자간 사람은 뻘쭘해요..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Li Poh Wong

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2014 Li Poh would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very friendly, helpful, informative staffs,especially Christine. All staffs can communicate in good English.

Disliked: Only one thing to note is the wifi. It can only work at lobby area which is not a big concern because you get to meet with people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is fantastic. I did laundry for free with the 2 tokens I was given upon arrival and a free continental breakfast the next day. It is clean and very secure, the staff are fantastic and always seem upbeat. By far the best hostel I've stayed at in my brief time in Europe.

Disliked: The shared showers weren't great. Girls tend to leave kilometres of hair everywhere so it kinda sucks for men. And the water temperature went from scalding to ice cold without touching the dial. Our Chinese roommates were awful but that's not the hostels fault.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful and felt like you could ask them anything and it was no bother. Also they give you tokens for your stay and you can use them how you like, coffees, computer or washing machine. and yes they have washing machines in the hostel!! Nice big lockers to put your stuff in and then also extra ones in the corridors if you need more space. Light and power points for each bed is great.

Disliked: No choice for female only dorms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Khalid Sayar

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 August 2014 Khalid would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean Good locatin Friendly staff

Disliked: Very small room Small bed

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014

Liked: Cleanliness and location

Disliked: The room size was ridiculous as a double. The cost was in fact more than we paid for an apartment in Zermatt with a balcony, lounge, large bathroom and kitchen. The only window in the room joined the roof of the 'paragliding' school where they were out late at night and again early in the morning moving things around. We were also disturbed in the early hours of the morning by 'partying backpoackers' singing and yelling in the early hours of the morning. Definitely not the place for a couple and although I saw plenty of families they must have been staying in a different part of the building.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

koel ghorai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 koel would recommend this property

Liked: The property is very close to the train stations and is very well connected by public transport. The centre is walking distance from here. Property provides various free services which are more than a backpacker can wish for. The free wifi connectivity is really good and i didnt have any problem. Also there are free lockers that travellers can use for no cost and check out the place without lugging around their luggage! Another think i liked the most was the ability to check in even after 11pm... however late you are, you can check in using the booking reference and get to your room and get fresh bedcovers and sheets! ablosutely loved the management. Very friendly staff and always ready to help. I would love to stay there again and recommend the place to friends.

Disliked: The organisers can offer some more options in breakfast buffet like boiled egg or salamis, ham, etc. There were no non veg options. That was the only

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the property was clean, close to the city centre and was really modern. staff were helpful and there were plenty of other travellers

Disliked: nothing about this property was bad

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was fantastic! Very Clean, great service, and cute little balconies! Would 1000% stay here again, and bring friends!

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big dorm room but no place for the luggages other than in the middle of the room on the floor

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perhaps the best hostel I've ever stayed yet. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, giving me tips on the best things to do in the area. The huge kitchen is very nice as prices in Switzerland are quite high. Also, your stay comes with access to the local fitness center and an early morning swim was a fantastic way to start the day.

Disliked: You had to pay to use a computer although Wi-Fi was free. Everything else was great though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and the staff were excellent!!!

Disliked: The clothes dryers are very inefficent.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

suyeon seo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 July 2014 suyeon would recommend this property

Liked: I got some coins, when i checked-in at the front. I can do everything using the coins in hostel. Using the coffee-machine, the computer and the washer. So i think about that if i'll go to interlaken someday, stay here again. Thank u for your kindness

Disliked: I didnt hate there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Galer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 June 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite unique, and a bit like a rabbit warren with many places to hang out in. I especially liked the meditation/ quiet room! I tried to place the hymm of the hostel but it was not so good, i have not played the piano in such a while! Paragliding was very easy to organise, and this hostel is very conveniently located for it! Got to watch many people landing whilst I was there too, and good to sit in the sunshine and while away the time.

Disliked: Not a lot! :-)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious, friendly and helpful staff, good facility

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.