HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof

Hostel | Alpenstrasse 16, Interlaken, Switzerland 3800

95.8% Overall Rating

535 out of 544 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/04/2014)

Jennifer Mangel thinks…

"Most beautiful hostel I have ever stayed at. It is more like a nice hotel. The staff is very friendly, the breakfast is good, the rooms are gorgeous, the beds are very comfortable and homey, the…"

Read all Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Interlaken?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Interlaken

Janis Apartment
45.28 USD

Apartment 94.1% 86 reviews
Landgasthof Hirschen
33.96 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 250 reviews
Balmer's Herberge
35.66 USD

Hostel 87.1% 881 reviews
Funny - Farm Backpackers
26.04 USD

Hostel 79.0% 212 reviews
Happy Inn Lodge
28.30 USD

Hostel 87.0% 282 reviews
Walters Bed & Breakfast
31.70 USD

Guesthouse 83.8% 292 reviews
AWA Heidis Hostel
26.04 USD

Hostel 68.1% 102 reviews
Katys Lodge B&B
43.02 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.8%

Overall Rating

535 out of 544 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
96.8%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
95.2%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 477 of 493 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: incredible location, friendly staff, dreamy installations, a keeper

Disliked: The bunks have the latter in the middle, does it off for the people below to get in to the bed, nothing to bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sureerat Lorrassamee

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2014 Sureerat would recommend this property

Liked: Good Facility and everything

Disliked: No

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014

Liked: Its clean, good direction, good staff..

Disliked: Its some

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Mangel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Most beautiful hostel I have ever stayed at. It is more like a nice hotel. The staff is very friendly, the breakfast is good, the rooms are gorgeous, the beds are very comfortable and homey, the hostel is immaculate in cleanliness, amazing and clean kitchen, great atmosphere, was able to rest very well, stunning views. They give you coins when you check in to use for laundry and coffee, which was very useful and a great touch. They also provide you with free bus and train tickets, and have a variety of books to use with information on the city and nearby towns. This was the best hostel I stayed at in Europe.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hye mi kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 hye mi would recommend this property

Liked: 시설이 매우 깔끔하고 보안도 잘되는 편이고 무엇보다 동역이나 서역 모두 가깝고 조리를 자유롭게 할 수있다는점이 좋다!

Disliked: ㄴㄴ

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EunA Kim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014 EunA would recommend this property

Liked: 숙소는 진짜 좋아요.. 샤워실도 좋고.. 조식도 좋고 모든게 좋았지만 한국인이.. 굉장히 많아서 제일 아쉬움

Disliked: EunA left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jun Chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Jun would recommend this property

Liked: 5 star recommended! I spent great time there, made some friends and had fun together. The frontdesk was very nice and helpful. I have to say thank you to Rafael and Johanna, they are very kind to send me a very important envelope mail from Interlaken to Paris

Disliked: No

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YULING ZHANG

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2014 YULING would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel ever!! At the beginning I was doubted about their high rating on the website, and it turned out that all the comments are true. This hostel is much better than you expected, very generous and thoughtful. They offer you free breakfast, free postcards, free bus tickets, free 24 hours hot drinks, free magazines, computers, free entry to swimming pools, free minigolf, free table tennis & billiards, free parking facilities, etc, and not to mention the size of the public kitchen, its more like a college canteen! There are so many surprises waiting for you to explore, not just in the hostel, I will defintly come back again!

Disliked: If more electric sockets are provided in the room would be better.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best part by far is the friendliness of the staff. I had a terrible incident happen to me at a nearby restaurant (Hirschen, don't go there) and Rafael went out of his way to make up for it, even though it wasn't the hostel's fault at all. Other than the staff, the facilities are quite nice. WiFi in the rooms is fast, there is a DVD screening room, free boots for rental, a laundry room, kitchen and dining rooms, bathtub, shelves and outlets next to the beds, free sheets/towel, unlimited coffee, and not too shabby a breakfast.

Disliked: It's kind of a long walk from interlaken ost or west since its in the middle of the two. I'd say 15 min walk which gets annoying if you're buying groceries etc back to the hostel. This is not a youth hostel- most people I saw were actually families as well as a ton of Koreans. It was rather difficult to make friends since people don't speak much English but the hostel did try to stick English speaking people in the same room. The hostel can take around 200 people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Pollock

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything! One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at! One of the cheapest I found for Switzerland yet it was amazing. Got given clean sheets and a towel then told as I was staying a while I could come and change my sheets if I wanted, I have not been told that at any hotel and sometimes I've stayed a week so would be nice to change the sheets! They have loads of activities on offer you just need to tell the reception what you want to do and they call up and book it for you. They are all very friendly and helpful, the lady who checked me in was lovely, the guy working there is nice and another lady was always happy and bubbly and smiley, she told me what Bridget Jones Diary translated to in German and it was hilarious! Although I can't remember what it is now! Lol. They have movies to choose from and a movie room. They have free breakfast and the best thing is they give you free tokens on arrival so that you can wash and tumble dry your clothes for free! And get tea, coffee, latte, hot chocolate etc all for free from a machine so it tastes even better!

Disliked: They give bread in the morning but would nice if they put a toaster there so you could toast it. Also Koreans take over the kitchen all evening so it's really hard to get in and make a meal but not too sure how they can get around that one as it's not really the hostels fault!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff.. nice clean bed and bathroom.. great kitchen.. simple breakfast provided.. provide tokens for either washing.. hot drinks or internet (love it!!)... I would love to come back again...

Disliked: need more power point for charging our cameras and mobiles in rooms... otherwise everything is great...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shivakumar KB

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Shivakumar would recommend this property

Liked: worth for money...no complaints

Disliked: Shivakumar left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonard Conlan

Alone

Relaxation/spa

13 November 2013 Leonard would recommend this property

Liked: I was at Villa Sonnenhof for two nights and I had a very pleasant stay.It was quiet at night,and is clean,and well run.It is also has a good central position and so is not far from the shops and the main area of Interlaken.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice view from balcony, good facilities

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe, and friendly staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

khwan SIVARAKSA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2013 khwan would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: none

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Varun Menghani

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

21 August 2013 Varun would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have stayed in! Nice staff, clean rooms, good facilities and a great location. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Varun left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SAEROM SON

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 July 2013 SAEROM would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is the best

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yau Yu Ching

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Yau would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: No meat at breakfast. Staffs were not helpful. A little bit noise due to room located by road side.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing hostel! everything you need, so clean, great facilities and breakfast, free wifi, lockers

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gembu Matsubara

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2013 Gembu would recommend this property

Liked: everything. very clean rooms and facilities. many shower and toilet. close to both of Interlaken stations. receptionist's advices for hiking. good breakfast.

Disliked: hostel is perfect.but customers are not good than other hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isabelle Chan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 Isabelle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the reception were very helpful - they were always ready to give suggestions and recommendations on what to do/places to eat at. I liked the fact that the rooms were very clean and had lockers to put all our luggage. Best of all, we had to leave early on our last day and since we were not able to enjoy the free breakfast, the staff gave us a small bagel each in lieu. It's a small gesture but we were very touched :)

Disliked: My only gripe is the location - it is a bit too far away from Interlaken Ost. But we still managed it, had to walk for approx 15-20 mins.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joel Durston

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2013 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Friendly staff and people.

Disliked: Nothing that I can think of, nothing big at least.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patricia Ann Masters

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2013 Patricia Ann would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. They have large lockers outside the room and hang tags for your bed ie A - H for you to hang on your bed. The kitchen is huge. The staff is always prepared with any question you may have. They issue 2 tokens per day. You can do your laundry for 2 tokens which includes the soap and dryers are free. One token will get you a cappacino and tokens can be used for other things as well. The internet is fast and also reaches the kitchen and laundry below.

Disliked: Not a thing. This is a top quality hostel and I have nothing to complain about.