HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof

Hostel | Alpenstrasse 16, Interlaken, Switzerland 3800

94.6% Overall Rating

552 out of 561 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2014)

koel ghorai thinks…

"The property is very close to the train stations and is very well connected by public transport. The centre is walking distance from here. Property provides various free services which are more than…"

Read all Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Interlaken?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Interlaken

Janis Apartment
55.02 USD

Apartment 94.3% 88 reviews
Landgasthof Hirschen
44.01 USD

Guesthouse 82.7% 253 reviews
Balmer's Herberge
40.16 USD

Hostel 87.4% 885 reviews
Funny - Farm Backpackers
25.31 USD

Hostel 78.7% 218 reviews
Happy Inn Lodge
31.26 USD

Hostel 87.4% 300 reviews
Walters Bed & Breakfast
30.81 USD

Guesthouse 85.9% 295 reviews
Katys Lodge B&B
41.81 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 4 reviews
Interlaken Youth Hostel
41.04 USD

Hostel 90.6% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.6%

Overall Rating

552 out of 561 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
96.8%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 493 of 510 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

koel ghorai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 koel would recommend this property

Liked: The property is very close to the train stations and is very well connected by public transport. The centre is walking distance from here. Property provides various free services which are more than a backpacker can wish for. The free wifi connectivity is really good and i didnt have any problem. Also there are free lockers that travellers can use for no cost and check out the place without lugging around their luggage! Another think i liked the most was the ability to check in even after 11pm... however late you are, you can check in using the booking reference and get to your room and get fresh bedcovers and sheets! ablosutely loved the management. Very friendly staff and always ready to help. I would love to stay there again and recommend the place to friends.

Disliked: The organisers can offer some more options in breakfast buffet like boiled egg or salamis, ham, etc. There were no non veg options. That was the only

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the property was clean, close to the city centre and was really modern. staff were helpful and there were plenty of other travellers

Disliked: nothing about this property was bad

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was fantastic! Very Clean, great service, and cute little balconies! Would 1000% stay here again, and bring friends!

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big dorm room but no place for the luggages other than in the middle of the room on the floor

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perhaps the best hostel I've ever stayed yet. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, giving me tips on the best things to do in the area. The huge kitchen is very nice as prices in Switzerland are quite high. Also, your stay comes with access to the local fitness center and an early morning swim was a fantastic way to start the day.

Disliked: You had to pay to use a computer although Wi-Fi was free. Everything else was great though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and the staff were excellent!!!

Disliked: The clothes dryers are very inefficent.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

suyeon seo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 July 2014 suyeon would recommend this property

Liked: I got some coins, when i checked-in at the front. I can do everything using the coins in hostel. Using the coffee-machine, the computer and the washer. So i think about that if i'll go to interlaken someday, stay here again. Thank u for your kindness

Disliked: I didnt hate there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Galer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 June 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite unique, and a bit like a rabbit warren with many places to hang out in. I especially liked the meditation/ quiet room! I tried to place the hymm of the hostel but it was not so good, i have not played the piano in such a while! Paragliding was very easy to organise, and this hostel is very conveniently located for it! Got to watch many people landing whilst I was there too, and good to sit in the sunshine and while away the time.

Disliked: Not a lot! :-)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious, friendly and helpful staff, good facility

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hyesun Han

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2014 Hyesun would recommend this property

Liked: everthing is good

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kim Yen Tu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2014 Kim Yen would recommend this property

Liked: This is nice hostel and value for money, staff helpful

Disliked: non

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shyam Ananthakrishnan

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

02 June 2014 Shyam would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was amazing about the Hostel. The facilities were amazing. I would say this is the best hostel in terms of services. Breakfast was simple and neat. The place was too clean and I felt like staying in a Hotel. The Location and the Mountain view was spellbinding. BACKPAKERS VILLA ROCKS!!! I Simply love staying there..

Disliked: There is nothing like I disliked. But form as a customer I was not able to get a lower berth in the bed which I preferred. This is an Amazing Hostel ..

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

YUJIN LEE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 May 2014 YUJIN would recommend this property

Liked: It's so good for stay. And all Steff always smile guys to us.

Disliked: As every guys know that, it's far a little from the station. But it's OK.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ran SaKong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2014 Ran would recommend this property

Liked: facilities are equiped. I used laudry&dry machine, it is very useful to travellers. They offer breakfast and it is good.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Seoho Jeong

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 Seoho would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, individual light& power, self-service kitchen

Disliked: Rather small space among beds

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleaness and sightseeing

Disliked: there is no TV in the room. but it's okay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: incredible location, friendly staff, dreamy installations, a keeper

Disliked: The bunks have the latter in the middle, does it off for the people below to get in to the bed, nothing to bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sureerat Lorrassamee

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2014 Sureerat would recommend this property

Liked: Good Facility and everything

Disliked: No

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014

Liked: Its clean, good direction, good staff..

Disliked: Its some

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Mangel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Most beautiful hostel I have ever stayed at. It is more like a nice hotel. The staff is very friendly, the breakfast is good, the rooms are gorgeous, the beds are very comfortable and homey, the hostel is immaculate in cleanliness, amazing and clean kitchen, great atmosphere, was able to rest very well, stunning views. They give you coins when you check in to use for laundry and coffee, which was very useful and a great touch. They also provide you with free bus and train tickets, and have a variety of books to use with information on the city and nearby towns. This was the best hostel I stayed at in Europe.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hye mi kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 hye mi would recommend this property

Liked: 시설이 매우 깔끔하고 보안도 잘되는 편이고 무엇보다 동역이나 서역 모두 가깝고 조리를 자유롭게 할 수있다는점이 좋다!

Disliked: ㄴㄴ

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EunA Kim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014 EunA would recommend this property

Liked: 숙소는 진짜 좋아요.. 샤워실도 좋고.. 조식도 좋고 모든게 좋았지만 한국인이.. 굉장히 많아서 제일 아쉬움

Disliked: EunA left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jun Chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Jun would recommend this property

Liked: 5 star recommended! I spent great time there, made some friends and had fun together. The frontdesk was very nice and helpful. I have to say thank you to Rafael and Johanna, they are very kind to send me a very important envelope mail from Interlaken to Paris

Disliked: No

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YULING ZHANG

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2014 YULING would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel ever!! At the beginning I was doubted about their high rating on the website, and it turned out that all the comments are true. This hostel is much better than you expected, very generous and thoughtful. They offer you free breakfast, free postcards, free bus tickets, free 24 hours hot drinks, free magazines, computers, free entry to swimming pools, free minigolf, free table tennis & billiards, free parking facilities, etc, and not to mention the size of the public kitchen, its more like a college canteen! There are so many surprises waiting for you to explore, not just in the hostel, I will defintly come back again!

Disliked: If more electric sockets are provided in the room would be better.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best part by far is the friendliness of the staff. I had a terrible incident happen to me at a nearby restaurant (Hirschen, don't go there) and Rafael went out of his way to make up for it, even though it wasn't the hostel's fault at all. Other than the staff, the facilities are quite nice. WiFi in the rooms is fast, there is a DVD screening room, free boots for rental, a laundry room, kitchen and dining rooms, bathtub, shelves and outlets next to the beds, free sheets/towel, unlimited coffee, and not too shabby a breakfast.

Disliked: It's kind of a long walk from interlaken ost or west since its in the middle of the two. I'd say 15 min walk which gets annoying if you're buying groceries etc back to the hostel. This is not a youth hostel- most people I saw were actually families as well as a ton of Koreans. It was rather difficult to make friends since people don't speak much English but the hostel did try to stick English speaking people in the same room. The hostel can take around 200 people.