HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lakelodge Iseltwald Hostel

Hostel | Im Feld, Postfach 22, Interlaken, Switzerland 3807

88.0% Overall Rating

225 out of 258 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/09/2013)

"I like very much the location of the hostel. We arrived late in the night and went straight to bed. When we woke up in the morning, the view through the window amazed us. I liked the fact that there were cayaks…"

Read all Lakelodge Iseltwald Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.41

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We are 10min away from Interlaken (by car), by bus 20min. on a beautiful spot directly at lake Brienz.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Interlaken?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Interlaken

Seeburg Hotel
73.80 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 87.3% 13 reviews
RiverLodge Interlaken
39.41 USD

Guesthouse 77.6% 12 reviews
Interlaken Youth Hostel
42.35 USD

Hostel 90.2% 19 reviews
Gasthof Schönegg
62.44 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Walters Bed & Breakfast
31.79 USD

Guesthouse 83.8% 292 reviews
The Tent Village
27.25 USD

Hostel 85.7% 13 reviews
Funny - Farm Backpackers
26.11 USD

Hostel 79.4% 211 reviews
Janis Apartment
56.77 USD

Apartment 94.1% 86 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.0%

Overall Rating

225 out of 258 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lakelodge Iseltwald Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 196 of 207 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like very much the location of the hostel. We arrived late in the night and went straight to bed. When we woke up in the morning, the view through the window amazed us. I liked the fact that there were cayaks available in the hostel and they were free of charge. Cayaking in the lake is much fun. Cleanliness was at a top level! Rooms - very clean. Toilet and bathroom - very clean. The gentleman at the reception, his name is Marcel, is a great host. Kind and nice. He even offered me to park my motorcycle under a shelter, because it was raining. The houskeeping lady was also very friendly. In general I'm very happy with Lake Lodge hostel and I would recommend it to friends.

Disliked: Honestly, I don't think there was anything negative about this place. I've read reviews saying that everything can be heard through the walls, but I didn't experience that. Or may be the fact that I was very tired every night and slept deep, played a role.. Otherwise, the building has noises from the inner staircases, when somebody's walking, but that's totally normal, because it is a wooden building. No concrete.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean bathroom and toilet. Great breakfast with fresh loaf of bread. Free kayak to use. Helpful staff. Very beautiful view of lake and mountain from bedroom window. Free parking. Locker with key in room.

Disliked: Only hot tap water available in room basin. Need to pay for using washing machine n tumbler dryer. Hot shower in morning has to be shared as the hot water is tank based. So once the tank is empty, only cold water. So best to wake up early to get hot shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Inderjeet Singh Bansal

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Inderjeet Singh would recommend this property

Liked: Location is fantastic just opposit to the lake

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Patricia Dunn

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 August 2013 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: Location Local facilities

Disliked: Some noisy travellers arriving late and leaving early!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great views from the room and the building were awesome. little further away from the center of the city, but that made my vacation to be the retreat I needed.

Disliked: the bus to and from was only 1 in an hour.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Emily Arnold

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 June 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: For the money you pay to stay at Lakelodge, you get a ton. A bus pass that will get you to Interlaken city center frequently, free use of their kayaks, breakfast, wifi, and friendly and courteous staff. It was in such a lovely location as well - gorgeous views just outside the property.

Disliked: The bedrooms were very small!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Peter Evans

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

26 September 2012

Liked: Location - and the friendly staff - car parking facilities available

Disliked: Rooms were exceptionally basic and could do with a makeover. Great for those on a budget, but in hindsight we would have paid a little more and found somewhere a little more comfortable.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

luis torres

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 September 2012 luis would recommend this property

Liked: o sossego...a beleza do lago...do chalé,,,muito bom para descontrair

Disliked: é muito longe da cidade...o último bus é as 19:40....não dá para ir a noite a Interlaken...mas para uns 2 dias serve e recomendo

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful location

Disliked: Not amazing value for money but it's Switzerland so can't complain

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alexander Adjilarski

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and halpful. There is improvment of services offered compared to the previous time we were there.

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

SUNGHEON JEONG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2012 SUNGHEON would recommend this property

Liked: They provide free kayak.

Disliked: location. It's little bit far away from Interlaken station

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ZUBIN MAHESH

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 ZUBIN would recommend this property

Liked: its an awesome place.just in front of lake breinz.the location iseltwald is the best place to camp in interlaken. the veiw is superb.the staff was really gr8.the girl at the reception and the gal who served food was really nice and helpful.big rooms and shared bathrooms were normal size and properly cleaned

Disliked: nothing much about the property.but the last bus to iseltwald from interlaken is at 21.03hrs. so if u miss that,u have to take taxi..which unfortunately we had to and it cost 40 chf...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joel Selby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2012 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful location right on the lake. Nice common areas and facilities. Clean. Great sink area in the rooms.

Disliked: Intimate bed setup.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were awesome

Disliked: The breakfast could use a buffet style

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very beautiful river view, clean and the staff is very friendly.

Disliked: a bit far from the railway station.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was incredible! Although its a 20 minute bus ride away from Interlaken, the spectacular lake views are so worth it. The common room is very fun to hang out in at night as well.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bridie Mcfarlane

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 September 2011 Bridie would recommend this property

Liked: Lakelodge was great! Booked 3 nights but ended up staying 6. The staff were fantastic and the breakfast was great! Homemade fresh bread was a huge plus! Try and get a room with a lakeview and a balcony! The hostel is actually 20min by bus (the bus stop is outside Interlaken Ost and when you arrive at Iseltwald its a 5min walk all signposted to the hostel) Good place to base yourself for day trips to Lauterbrunnen and Grimmelwald!

Disliked: Nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 September 2011

Liked: Nice location next to the the lake, nice staff.

Disliked: This place was the worst value-for-money I've ever stayed in. for the price of a good budget hotel, we stayed in a hostel with shared facilities for 20 people, noisy, floors making noises so you couldn't sleep if someone was walking on the top floor, no screens on the windowas so it was fully bright at 6 am. we managed to sleep for about 4 hours before deciding we had enough.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruby Le Galle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Ruby would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! staff are really freindly and you can arrange activities from the reception. You can go swimming in the lake right outside the hostel! free breakfast is good. There is a great kitchen and a bus that runs directly to aldi so you can eat cheaply and cook in the hostel. Good outside communal area and lounge so easy to meet people.

Disliked: beds are close together but not a major problem.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in front of the Brienzersee in a very nice and impressing site!

Disliked: The 10 people room had "beds" right one beside the other. The beds were not real beds but isolating material for the walls. Quite expensive for the facilities offered. Though all in Switzerland is very expensive!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Rooms very crowded

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so friendly and always willing to help! Breakfast was a great bonus- as was the free bus pass during our entire stay. We always had a hot shower and a beautiful view of the lake outside our window!

Disliked: nothing. it was wonderful.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view is wonderful. It is easy to access to the hostel.

Disliked: No

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chetan Sharma

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2011 Chetan would recommend this property

Liked: location :)

Disliked: dormatry size was small.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

DONGYUE TAN

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

20 June 2011

Liked: good place but bad beds

Disliked: good place but bad beds