HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lakelodge Iseltwald Hostel

Hostel | Im Feld, Postfach 22, Interlaken, Switzerland 3807

88.0% Overall Rating

225 out of 258 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/09/2013)

"I like very much the location of the hostel. We arrived late in the night and went straight to bed. When we woke up in the morning, the view through the window amazed us. I liked the fact that there were cayaks…"

Read all Lakelodge Iseltwald Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.41

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We are 10min away from Interlaken (by car), by bus 20min. on a beautiful spot directly at lake Brienz.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Interlaken?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Interlaken

Seeburg Hotel
73.82 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 87.3% 13 reviews
RiverLodge Interlaken
39.42 USD

Guesthouse 77.6% 12 reviews
Interlaken Youth Hostel
42.36 USD

Hostel 90.2% 19 reviews
Gasthof Schönegg
62.46 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Walters Bed & Breakfast
31.80 USD

Guesthouse 83.8% 292 reviews
The Tent Village
27.26 USD

Hostel 85.7% 13 reviews
Funny - Farm Backpackers
26.12 USD

Hostel 79.4% 211 reviews
Janis Apartment
45.43 USD

Apartment 94.1% 86 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.0%

Overall Rating

225 out of 258 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lakelodge Iseltwald Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 196 of 207 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place and cheap as well.

Disliked: quite far, as there is no bus after 21:05

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rajendra Jarad

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 June 2011 Rajendra would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very cooperative and we like their gesture very much.

Disliked: We need Kitchen with Gas supply as electric one is autoset

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location ws idyllic peaceful with beautiful views.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i've been there on 28 january 2011.. the location is very very good,with the balcony facing the lake..not far away from interlaken city..

Disliked: hot water for shower is limited.. if u r the last one wake up in the morning, u'll bath with freezing water.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The girl who runs the place was fantastic, very friendly and helpful Beautiful location (because we had a car)

Disliked: No hot water my first morning No internet access

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, price

Disliked: smell, living area

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

30 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place, the view

Disliked: -

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly and helpful to get any info needed. Kitchen is superb and you can cook over here as the food in the restaurant is quite expensive (around CHF18). The location is directly facing the Lake Brienz where you can enjoy the beautiful scenery in your room though in Winter. =) UNLIMITED Free bus ticket to the Interlaken Ost!!! (PS: the frequency of the bus is one per hour from the Interlaken Ost)

Disliked: The heater is not working properly. The curtain in the room seems transparent whereby the people outside can see what you are doing in the room. Not recommended for those who want full/100% privacy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Katie Johnson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2010 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The view was spectacular and the location superb. It was a few meters from the lake and because it was in such a small town you really got to see the alps uninterupted. It also had a really cute common room with a TV and movies.

Disliked: The rooms were poorly lit and for the price they seemed a bit basic.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. Helpful staff, Really nice location right on the lake about 10 mins bus ride from Interlaken. They give you a free bus pass to come and go from town which is great. And Lilli the dog was awesome!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

19 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located by the lakeside, nice view. ;)

Disliked: too little breakfast provided.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Strohm

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

28 September 2010 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at 10 different hostels during out month long backpacking trip and this was by far our favorite place. At all of our other stops we trie to convince other backpacker to go here. The staff was so friendly and the atmosphere was amazing. It is a little further from the train station that we thought but they have a number for a cab to pick you up if you get there later in the day or you can take a ferry or a bus. They are so helpful. We decided to go cliff jumping while we were there and they arranged it for us with a company that picked us up at the hostel. If you love the outdoors and adventure type things this place it perfect. We took morning hikes on the nearby trails and even went swimming despite it being May and VERY cold (everyone thought we were crazy). They are literally across the street from a lake that has the most beautiful turquoise water and they have an outdoor restaurant on the lake. Definitely a place you should go.

Disliked: Hostly I cannot think of anything I would say I disliked about this place.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Vikram Sharma

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 September 2010 Vikram would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Vikram left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

19 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely gorgeous view of the lake! Staff was really helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, clean room, ok breakfast

Disliked: not much going on

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanne Duncanson

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2010 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: AMAZING. superb place to stay right on the lake with ^super staff, clean rooms, all the facilities and a lovely bar restaurant right on the water. the best hostel ive ever stayed in

Disliked: Joanne left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful area, freindly staff, real skichalet feeling

Disliked: A little bit hidden, but if you have a car its perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

24 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I LIKE VERY MUCH THE LOCATION AND THE STAFF.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly! Fantastic location right on the lake surrounded by mountains!! Close to the bus stop, and public wifi spot, also had a kitchen with all appliances!

Disliked: Breakfast was average but they told you what to expect!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Walker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2010 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Gorgeous location. Free bus pass into Interlakin. Kitchen facilities. Clean and tidy.

Disliked: Needed to update their website. Paid a ridiculous amount to get out to Iseltwald via taxi because the website said the last bus was at 8pm. Only to arrive and be told the last bus was at 9pm. Meaning we could have spent a heck of a lot less to get out to Lakelodge. Extremely frustrating.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely amazing location!! Lots of things to do that don't cost money; hiking, walking trails. Other cheap options such as paddle boats. Front-facing rooms have incredible views. Heaters in rooms keep them nice and warm. Girls at reception were helpful (although not always there when needed). Such a quiet little town with the most amazing views and atmosphere. Restaurant out front has decent food and amazing setting. Easy to get to from Interlaken. A few small traditional restaurants were nice.

Disliked: Breakfast wasn't that fantastic (2 small slices of bread, jam, butter, cheese, salami). Girl at reception wasn't always there when needed, even when the sign said she was meant to be there. Not many facilities in town, although the general store has enough for basic supplies so we never had to go into Interlaken. Keys are given on a big heavy keyring which is very annoying to carry around. Wooden walls so was a bit noisy at night and early morning with people moving about. None of these really made a difference to our stay though as everything else was so fantastic!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mark Verbeek

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

06 August 2010

Liked: Awsome location. The scenery is incredible! The facilities are adequate. Don't rely on the supplied breakfast if you don't want to be hungry before lunch. The bar/restraunt beside the lake is great...a wonderful place to end an active, adrenaline filled day around Interlaken.

Disliked: We were infected with bed bugs at this hostel. I woke-up with many bites and found bed bugs under my bed's mattress. It was truely a nightmare! The bites itched for several days and our clothing and luggage/packs needed to be disinfected. This caused us to miss a full day of travel. The staff were mildly concerned when this was reported, but were were certainly not compensated in any way. Before you stay at this hostel, you want to be sure they have addressed this problem. I would do a careful inspection of your room if you plan to stay here!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and value for money,free bus trip till interlaken

Disliked: room not cleaned everyday

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Asier Lusarreta

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2010 Asier would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, really nice and friendly staff!The best place in Switzerland to meet people, great atmosphere of friendship!Will come back!!

Disliked: Asier left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location right by the lake was great! If you have a room at the front the views from the balcony are amazing. There is an outdoor restaurant just across from the lodge which has been stylishly vamped up with an outdoor living area. The communal living area inside is well equipped including a large TV and Wii, offering a fun atmosphere to chill out in.

Disliked: The beds were not the most comfortable and the dorms for more than four people are interesting! All the beds are joined and they're not very wide, it's like one big bed for four people!