HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Lazy Falken Backpacker

Guesthouse | Spielmatte 8, Interlaken, Switzerland 3800

80.8% Overall Rating

160 out of 185 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/12/2013)

Michael Kunz thinks…

"Die Leute sind sehr warmherzig und extrem hilfsbereit. Es ist schlicht, einfach aber für diesen super Preis kann man auch nicht ein Erst Klassen Haus verlangen."

Read all The Lazy Falken Backpacker reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room
  • Infant bed

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 226.14
  • Breakfast USD 13.57
  • Towel USD 3.39

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Interlaken?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Interlaken

Alplodge Backpackers
28.27 USD

Hostel 87.0% 43 reviews
Hotel Rössli
57.55 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 89.3% 41 reviews
Hotel Bellevue
101.76 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Katys Lodge B&B
42.97 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 4 reviews
Happy Inn Lodge
28.27 USD

Hostel 87.3% 280 reviews
Rugenpark B&B
48.62 USD

Guesthouse 90.3% 244 reviews
AWA Heidis Hostel
26.01 USD

Hostel 68.1% 102 reviews
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
35.11 USD

Hostel 95.5% 542 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.8%

Overall Rating

160 out of 185 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Lazy Falken Backpacker'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
77.6%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 148 of 152 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Kaela Richardson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2014

Liked: Really nice helpful guy on staff, terrace is a great place to chill

Disliked: "Kitchen" has barely any cutlery or dishes to use, tiny sink with only cold water and nothing to wash dishes, consists of a small microwave kettle and beer fridge. Rooms are TINY, lockers made of plywood, bathroom can barely fit one person.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ashish mittal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2014 ashish would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: early kitchen closing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Kunz

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 December 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Die Leute sind sehr warmherzig und extrem hilfsbereit. Es ist schlicht, einfach aber für diesen super Preis kann man auch nicht ein Erst Klassen Haus verlangen.

Disliked: Man könnte das eine oder andere mal renovieren, was aber auch wieder den Charme des Hauses ausmacht.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adriel Haeni

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 November 2013 Adriel would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms in a charming elder Hotel in the center of Interlaken. Friendly staff and good atmosphere.

Disliked: There was no swimming-pool :-)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station AND had parking, the building was old but well maintained. Receptionist was really helpful with recommendations, although there wasn't always someone there.

Disliked: no breakfast included

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

STEPHANIE KA YING LAI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: The room is tiny and creepy - it's a one person room with 5 bed packed in (nothing like the picture - we aren't assigned a room in the main building though). There's heavy mold in the toilet ceiling - quite scary and have strong smell. There's no one maintaining the place and the rubbish bins were full in our 2-night stay. The mattress is bad and the pillow is just smashed cotton covered in fabric. They promoted free breakfast, but when we arrived we were told to paid CHF5/person/day for it, or just get CHF2/person/day back instead. The staff is unfriendly. The hostel is awful in every aspect - worst one we've stayed in ever!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tidy and clean

Disliked: Only one key per room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jed Peisley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 January 2013 Jed would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the station, great value for money, especially in Interlarken, free wifi, laundry 2 mins away

Disliked: Nothing had a great stay

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast was pretty good and the staff were excellent very helpful

Disliked: i dont no if it was because we were there in the low season but there were a lot of families staying there which was bad because there was no atmosphere and they took over the kitchen and bathroom

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gaston Saint-Hubert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2012 Gaston would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, great breakfast

Disliked: No wifi in some rooms and kitchen

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: I felt like it was not as cleanly as it could be, and it did not have the best kitchen and atmosphere.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, decent (if slightly sketchy) bar, good breakfast, helpful staff.

Disliked: Expensive (like everything in Switzerland), the bar is a bit sketchy as noted, plus it closes early, and after it closes there's really no common arae. The lock-out is also annoying. Not my favourite place, but if you're into adventure sports they seem very knowledgable about the range of activities on offer in town.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wing Chung Wong

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Wing Chung would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff. Well equipped kitchen and good location. Room with lockers and padlock can be borrowed from the reception.

Disliked: I lived in a six-person mixed doom. The room seems to be qutie small and the beds are so close to each other.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Alexandra Garza Ballesteros

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The staff, the cleanliness, the lack of information given by the staff.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free kitchen and friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Maybe the breakfast wasnt the best one, could be improved.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Location very good. Kitchen free to use for everyone.

Disliked: Nothing that i can think of.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and breakfast was included.

Disliked: It was not in the 'hostel district' of Interlaken (which isn't that bad as it is such a small place). However there were no lockers to store our valuable items (not even small lockers) and left luggage was just left downstairs in the meals area which they said they would lock but I always found it unlocked, so anyone could walk in off the street and take your bag.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great free breakfast, good location, reasonably clean and comfy.

Disliked: Wifi is only in the lobby, not the rooms. 2.40 CHF tax isn't included in the listed price. Only one outlet in our 5-person dorm room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Zaretsky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean and safe. Good suggestions for local activities

Disliked: Food hard to come by after breakfast. No elevator

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was great, simple, everything you need.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, very nice and helpful! Good breakfast that is included, close to the train station and walking distance to most everything you want to do. And you get free public transportation so everything is reachable.

Disliked: Rooms were a bit too small, there wasn't enough space to put my stuff.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Lazy Falken was easy to get to from the Interlaken West train station. It was cheap, easy to check in, had nice rooms, friendly people, etc.

Disliked: There isn't really a common space for everyone to hang out in during the daytime

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a private room with private bathroom. It was clean and the beds were really comfortable. Cool building. They kindly gave us a free parking spot out back.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mohd Zulkepli

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 Mohd would recommend this property

Liked: Location is superb, the common area/bar on ground floor is nice, receptionists are friendly, breakfast was good too.

Disliked: We were not noticed about/ given the free tourist pass so make sure u ask for one when u get there.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012

Liked: A very short walk from the station. Kitchen available for cooking, especially since eating out is expensive in Switzerland.

Disliked: Lots: a) inefficient staff (check in time is 4 PM, that's not even mentioned during confirmation and bookings and there is no one at the reception between 11 AM and 4 PM) b) below-par maintenance (the light in our room was not working) c) wifi is very poor (lots of lost connections) and doesn't reach the 2nd/3rd floors d) bar is very unfriendly as only friends of the staff are found there, no visitors. Breakfast in this place is a bit of joke. The food is always getting over and the dirty dishes keep accumulating because there is a single person manning both the check-outs and the breakfast from 7 AM to 11 AM. There was another one but I am not sure whether it is a real bad. The credit card machine didn't work the day we checked out. We had to manually write the card details on a piece of paper before we left (very unsafe). The staff emailed us 2 days later that they had spilt something and can't make out the card details, please can we re-send. I am pretty sure they would have misplaced the whole paper itself.