HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Lazy Falken Backpacker Interlaken

Hostel

Spielmatte 8, Interlaken, Switzerland

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 71%

Location 88%

Safety 78%

Staff 77%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 220.01USD
  • Breakfast 13.20USD
  • Towel 3.30USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Interlaken?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 71%

Location 88%

Safety 78%

Staff 77%

Value 74%

Showing 21-12 of 12 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Location very good. Kitchen free to use for everyone.

Disliked: Nothing that i can think of.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were friendly and breakfast was included.

Disliked: It was not in the 'hostel district' of Interlaken (which isn't that bad as it is such a small place). However there were no lockers to store our valuable items (not even small lockers) and left luggage was just left downstairs in the meals area which they said they would lock but I always found it unlocked, so anyone could walk in off the street and take your bag.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great free breakfast, good location, reasonably clean and comfy.

Disliked: Wifi is only in the lobby, not the rooms. 2.40 CHF tax isn't included in the listed price. Only one outlet in our 5-person dorm room.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great staff, very nice and helpful! Good breakfast that is included, close to the train station and walking distance to most everything you want to do. And you get free public transportation so everything is reachable.

Disliked: Rooms were a bit too small, there wasn't enough space to put my stuff.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Was great, simple, everything you need.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The Lazy Falken was easy to get to from the Interlaken West train station. It was cheap, easy to check in, had nice rooms, friendly people, etc.

Disliked: There isn't really a common space for everyone to hang out in during the daytime

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I stayed in a private room with private bathroom. It was clean and the beds were really comfortable. Cool building. They kindly gave us a free parking spot out back.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Friendly staff, clean and safe. Good suggestions for local activities

Disliked: Food hard to come by after breakfast. No elevator

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location is superb, the common area/bar on ground floor is nice, receptionists are friendly, breakfast was good too.

Disliked: We were not noticed about/ given the free tourist pass so make sure u ask for one when u get there.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A very short walk from the station. Kitchen available for cooking, especially since eating out is expensive in Switzerland.

Disliked: Lots: a) inefficient staff (check in time is 4 PM, that's not even mentioned during confirmation and bookings and there is no one at the reception between 11 AM and 4 PM) b) below-par maintenance (the light in our room was not working) c) wifi is very poor (lots of lost connections) and doesn't reach the 2nd/3rd floors d) bar is very unfriendly as only friends of the staff are found there, no visitors. Breakfast in this place is a bit of joke. The food is always getting over and the dirty dishes keep accumulating because there is a single person manning both the check-outs and the breakfast from 7 AM to 11 AM.There was another one but I am not sure whether it is a real bad. The credit card machine didn't work the day we checked out. We had to manually write the card details on a piece of paper before we left (very unsafe). The staff emailed us 2 days later that they had spilt something and can't make out the card details, please can we re-send. I am pretty sure they would have misplaced the whole paper itself.

Check Availability