HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Lazy Falken Backpacker

Guesthouse | Spielmatte 8, Interlaken, Switzerland 3800

80.8% Overall Rating

160 out of 185 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/12/2013)

Michael Kunz thinks…

"Die Leute sind sehr warmherzig und extrem hilfsbereit. Es ist schlicht, einfach aber für diesen super Preis kann man auch nicht ein Erst Klassen Haus verlangen."

Read all The Lazy Falken Backpacker reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room
  • Infant bed

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 226.45
  • Breakfast USD 13.59
  • Towel USD 3.40

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Interlaken?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Interlaken

Alplodge Backpackers
28.31 USD

Hostel 87.0% 43 reviews
Hotel Rössli
57.63 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 89.3% 41 reviews
Hotel Bellevue
101.90 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Katys Lodge B&B
43.03 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 4 reviews
Happy Inn Lodge
28.31 USD

Hostel 87.3% 280 reviews
Rugenpark B&B
48.69 USD

Guesthouse 90.3% 244 reviews
AWA Heidis Hostel
26.04 USD

Hostel 68.1% 102 reviews
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
35.16 USD

Hostel 95.5% 542 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.8%

Overall Rating

160 out of 185 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Lazy Falken Backpacker'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
77.6%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 148 of 152 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2011

Liked: the Location

Disliked: the staff were really unfriendly and very rude when asking simple questions

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

17 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Average on all counts. Contemporary feel to the building with average cleanliness in the room. Facilities and beds/carpets/WC are not modern befitting with the building so don't expect too much. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location about 5-10 mins walk into town and 5-10 walk to West station the other way. Shops and restaurants within 5-10 mins walk. Has 3 free parking space on 1st come 1st serve.

Disliked: Not much, cleanliness could be improved if facilities are modernised.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were helpful and friendly...

Disliked: got the attic room and it was really really small for a group of 4 persons we need to coordinate our movement in so that we dun knock into each other

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Daniel Schmitt

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 September 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast, bathroom in the room

Disliked: The matrasse was not the most comfortable anymore

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2011

Liked: The only thing I like (not about the hostel really) is, due to the irresponsible staff, the stayers in this hostel are helpful to each other.

Disliked: I checked in pretty late, at around 8pm. I followed the Google Map to locate myself exactly where the hostel is, but I could not see the hostel, just see a building called "hotel Falken". Although the word "Falken" is special, I could not be sure this "hotel" is the "hostel" I am looking for. But, it is. The owner of the hostel left already, leaving the keys to me and three Korean ladies. The lockers in the room has no back - I mean, you can lock it, but if one moves the locker a bit, he can steal everything in the locker from the back. I chatted with a girl, and she said the staff is unwilling to keep the luggage when she goes up Jungfraujoch.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, blanket was good.

Disliked: staff was not good.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was good that there was internet and the staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms were neat and had interesting art painted on the walls of not just the rooms, but the entire property.

Disliked: We were unfortunate to have visited on a Friday night where we were looking to get a good night's rest, as the bar downstairs was lively and fairly loud.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hwayeon noh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2011 hwayeon would recommend this property

Liked: At first, there is very close to the Interaken west station. Also, it was very good breakfast there.

Disliked: i like all stuff there.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: With Switzerland being so expensive, I loved that it had a kitchen. It's a little outside the city but the city is so damn small it might as well be in the city center. You can book any excursions right from the front desk as well.

Disliked: Reception is closed during part of the day. Be aware if you are arriving pre-check in and have a lot of luggage.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people, close to train station and town, bar downstairs... solid spot

Disliked: nothing in particular

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Niya Xie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Niya would recommend this property

Liked: The place is pretty clean.

Disliked: The staff aren't very friendly. They only check in at or after check-in time. There's no early check-in even they have the rooms available.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

20 July 2011

Liked: just a bed

Disliked: staff were patheic, lazy young women in morning had totally rubbish music so load, in her own silly private party when we were having breakfast, asked her to tone it down and she redused it by about a decibel, she was havin her own private sunday morning party, shouldnt have been employed

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

nathan allen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 nathan would recommend this property

Liked: COOL PEOPLE!

Disliked: CLOSED EARLY SO KINDA HARD TO CHECK IN!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: well located, nice staff, clean, decent bar

Disliked: only one computer with internet in the whole place

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the bathroom was nice! in a good location! free wifi at bar!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Corey Martin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, easy to find, friendly staff, great breakfast (they actually had meat and cheese), fast wifi connection, overall great Hostel to stay at!

Disliked: Bathroom didn't have ventilation so it smelt musty, the rooms are crammed with beds, not much room to empty your bag, downstairs bar fills with locals at night (most do not speak English, so it is hard to meet people unless you speak German)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, easy to find from the train station, walking distance to everything in town. Free breakfast in the morning was good. People were friendly.

Disliked: The atmosphere was definitely a safe one, but none of the doors were kept locked, and the hostel part of this hotel/hostel was a side entrance, so theoretically anyone could come and go. There were lockers though.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011

Liked: its okk for staying one day

Disliked: they told checkin time is till 9 but nobody was there from when i reached at 8 and my stuff was made to keep in there bar so could not access the stuff for whole night.And trying to call was useless as the phone does not work

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, location.

Disliked: Baaaad breakfast. Even though it was included (=free), so we didn't expect much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place especially the balcony by moon light.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

20 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: working staff, good breakfast

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful when it comes to organising activities and advising what I activities I should do. The internet was free. Breakfast was free and good. Price per night is cheap for Switzerland. Beer was cheap. Rooms were a good size. Good location. Great hostel overall.

Disliked: Not much. Check in wasn't until 3.30 which was a bit of a pain but I was able to leave my bags there when I arrived early. Also one of the computers was missing a mouse. Other than that, no complaints.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like it. good service,easy to go.

Disliked: My room mate not good, I didn't know her. she from Korean so she washed her cloth in toilet and then she hang it around room. she open heater close to me and put her plant in there :(

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money

Disliked: Kitchen is too far away from room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Koh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: The beer! RUGEN BRAU!!!! and the free welcome shot! - the jägermeister of switzerland yo!

Disliked: Practically nothing!