We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Lazy Falken Backpacker

Guesthouse | Spielmatte 8, Interlaken, Switzerland 3800

79.3% Overall Rating

161 out of 187 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/05/2014)

Sonja Russell thinks…

"The wifi was good. The beds were comfortable enough. It was clean. The shower was good."

Read all The Lazy Falken Backpacker reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room
  • Infant bed

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 209.71
  • Breakfast USD 12.58
  • Towel USD 3.15

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Interlaken?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Interlaken

Alplodge Backpackers
36.70 USD

Hostel 86.6% 45 reviews
Hotel Rössli
52.11 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 89.7% 43 reviews
Hotel Bellevue
94.37 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Katys Lodge B&B
37.75 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 4 reviews
Happy Inn Lodge
26.21 USD

Hostel 88.8% 309 reviews
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
32.56 USD

Hostel 93.6% 567 reviews
Janis Apartment
47.18 USD

Apartment 94.3% 88 reviews
Landgasthof Hirschen
36.70 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 257 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.3%

Overall Rating

161 out of 187 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Lazy Falken Backpacker'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
80.8%
Value
77.6%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 150 of 154 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mohd Zulkepli

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 Mohd would recommend this property

Liked: Location is superb, the common area/bar on ground floor is nice, receptionists are friendly, breakfast was good too.

Disliked: We were not noticed about/ given the free tourist pass so make sure u ask for one when u get there.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012

Liked: A very short walk from the station. Kitchen available for cooking, especially since eating out is expensive in Switzerland.

Disliked: Lots: a) inefficient staff (check in time is 4 PM, that's not even mentioned during confirmation and bookings and there is no one at the reception between 11 AM and 4 PM) b) below-par maintenance (the light in our room was not working) c) wifi is very poor (lots of lost connections) and doesn't reach the 2nd/3rd floors d) bar is very unfriendly as only friends of the staff are found there, no visitors. Breakfast in this place is a bit of joke. The food is always getting over and the dirty dishes keep accumulating because there is a single person manning both the check-outs and the breakfast from 7 AM to 11 AM. There was another one but I am not sure whether it is a real bad. The credit card machine didn't work the day we checked out. We had to manually write the card details on a piece of paper before we left (very unsafe). The staff emailed us 2 days later that they had spilt something and can't make out the card details, please can we re-send. I am pretty sure they would have misplaced the whole paper itself.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cui Ying Liu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2012 Cui Ying would recommend this property

Liked: they have kitchen~ good location, near cathedral and train station ~ good staff and helpful ~~

Disliked: kitchen is not very clean...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Courtney Hamilton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2012 Courtney would recommend this property

Liked: Adorable little building on the river in the older part of Interlaken. The staff was very friendly and helpful - had endless suggestions for things to do and would book them for you if you wanted. Good breakfast, free welcome beer.

Disliked: Room was pretty small and the bathroom smelled bad.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds and pillows, clean, nice breakfast that is included, helpful staff that will let you use their telephone if necessary, staff can help you book adventure excursions in the area, en suite bathrooms, very easy to find and very close to train station

Disliked: first room we were in was a mixed 6 person room but the lockers did not have handles and were wood that fit very well together, so we couldn't even get into them and even if we could, there were no locks on the doors so i didn't feel secure leaving my things in the room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff. Happy to help with recommendations, directions etc. Bar/lounge area was a comfortable place to hang out.

Disliked: No where to store luggage securely outside of check in times.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Moskowitz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 April 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location for the outdoor-lovers! the hostel is literally right next to a mountain but only a 5 minute walk from the station and the charming town of Interlaken. My room was in what used to be an apartment with a full kitchen and living room ( shared my room with two other people). Its very cosy and felt like i was at a friend's flat!

Disliked: the wifi was iffy. Couldn't get it in all the rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Ko

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: Just perfect... best breakfast throughout my trip.. nice stuff.. good catering facilities

Disliked: No wifi in room... and common area closes early on sunday and monday.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are great and friendly. The room is clean and comfort. Location is just nice. The buffet breakfast provided gave an extra credit to the hostel.

Disliked: everything is superb except the time for check in is available at 4pm, it seems too late.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Nirman Arora

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 February 2012

Liked: We are an organization travelling all around Europe in large groups. Our experience at Lazy Falken with some person called Thierry has been the worst in the history of last 5 years in which we organized more than 50 travels. Such an un-friendly and rude person that we never saw before. Even if the location and atmosphere is good, a very bad behaviour by him spoils your mood and indeed, we would prefer that you don't face this person when you arrive there. It was as if he is doing us a favour by letting us stay there and we are not his customers but he is our 'teacher'.

Disliked: We are an organization travelling all around Europe in large groups. Our experience at Lazy Falken with some person called Thierry has been the worst in the history of last 5 years in which we organized more than 50 travels. Such an un-friendly and rude person that we never saw before. Even if the location and atmosphere is good, a very bad behaviour by him spoils your mood and indeed, we would prefer that you don't face this person when you arrive there. It was as if he is doing us a favour by letting us stay there and we are not his customers but he is our 'teacher'.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

THIAM POH SOH

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 February 2012 THIAM POH would recommend this property

Liked: Had very wonderful five nights stay in this hostel. The staff here are very helpful to assist in plannng my itinerary in Interlaken and nearby attracions hence making my stay more enjoyable. The inclusive buffet breakfast was great and keep you full all day long if you would like to skip lunch. Will definitely stay in this hostel for my summer vacation some time later.

Disliked: Nil.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katheryn Bryant

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 February 2012 Katheryn would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, felt like an apartment

Disliked: Katheryn left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jamie Lamb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2012 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Quite close to city centre, free breakfast. Staff very friendly, when they were there! Good music in the bar area.

Disliked: Reception isn't open very long. Arrived on a Sunday, and was only a couple of hours where you could check in. Also check out is 10, and when I went to check out at 9:55, the reception was closed. Managed to find one of the staff not too far away to get my key deposit back.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was awesome :) !! the train/ bus station and main street are close by and the neighbour hood is quiet! For someone staying there for a couple of days, the kitchen is a plus!!

Disliked: There's only one bathroom and toilet in the flat so at full occupancy, you have to share with about 8 or so other people!! quite inconvenient if u want to pee really bad! but manageable!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Yao Fu

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2012 Yao would recommend this property

Liked: the bar downstairs is nice

Disliked: should be cleaner

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sravanth Kumar Vobbilireddy

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 December 2011 Sravanth Kumar would recommend this property

Liked: Even shared rooms provide good privacy. Large kitchen and media room for 6 person s.hared flat. Only 2 people per dormitory. Fast WIFI even in rooms. Very good breakfast at the price. Staff was very helpful. No issues at all.

Disliked: None.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place. Great location. Staff had good advice on what to do and where to go. Breakfast was good. The wireless was fast. I imagine this place would be great all year round.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the "flat", which was an apartment style accommodation. Loved having the kitchen and living room right there. The breakfast was AMAZING, the best of our trip. Loved the movie nights and the maximum space to hang out. Big feather duvets made the beds nice and comfy. All the employees were nice and helpful.

Disliked: The communal kitchen was generally messy all the time, due to the number of people using it. Only when another hosteller took the time did it get cleaned up.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building we stayed in had wonderful rooms and breakfast was included. They also had a free computer to use and a pretty good kitchen. It was in walking distance from both train stations and the shoping areas.

Disliked: Our lock on our room door was broken but we could us the lockers in the hall. And I never felt unsafe or that my stuff might get stollen.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Tran Thi Huong Giang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Tran would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is a nice house with wooden furnitures. There is a common room with a big TV. The kitchen is clean and well-eqquiped

Disliked: No computer worked and the wifi did not work either.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

RAVI KUMAR

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 RAVI would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome b'fast in costly Swiss

Disliked: Public internet kiosks were not there

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staying in the flat was pretty good and the blokes behind the bar arnt to bad also the projecter is pretty good as well and being able to book everything from the front desk

Disliked: happy hour was pointless u hardly save should be like half price beers like other hostels but in stead its like save one chf so its still 4 for a beer

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful stuff. Nice atmosphere in the common area which facilitates interaction with other guests in the hostel.

Disliked: Poor conditions of beds and pillows. Only one shower room on each floor which leads to long waiting time and it also becomes very dirty after numerous people use it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Abhijit Sen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2011 Abhijit would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, especially considering that Switzerland is on the expensive side. Also, good facilities in the kitchen is helpful if you want to cook your own food.

Disliked: The wifi works only in the lobby and not in the rooms, which is bad considering we plan for the next day in the nights.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service

Disliked: nothing