HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Lazy Falken Backpacker

Guesthouse | Spielmatte 8, Interlaken, Switzerland 3800

80.8% Overall Rating

160 out of 185 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/12/2013)

Michael Kunz thinks…

"Die Leute sind sehr warmherzig und extrem hilfsbereit. Es ist schlicht, einfach aber für diesen super Preis kann man auch nicht ein Erst Klassen Haus verlangen."

Read all The Lazy Falken Backpacker reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room
  • Infant bed

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 227.07
  • Breakfast USD 13.62
  • Towel USD 3.41

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Interlaken?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Interlaken

Alplodge Backpackers
28.38 USD

Hostel 87.0% 43 reviews
Hotel Rössli
57.79 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 89.3% 41 reviews
Hotel Bellevue
102.18 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Katys Lodge B&B
43.14 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 4 reviews
Happy Inn Lodge
28.38 USD

Hostel 87.3% 280 reviews
Rugenpark B&B
48.82 USD

Guesthouse 90.3% 244 reviews
AWA Heidis Hostel
26.11 USD

Hostel 68.1% 102 reviews
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
35.25 USD

Hostel 95.5% 542 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.8%

Overall Rating

160 out of 185 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Lazy Falken Backpacker'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
77.6%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 148 of 152 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cui Ying Liu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2012 Cui Ying would recommend this property

Liked: they have kitchen~ good location, near cathedral and train station ~ good staff and helpful ~~

Disliked: kitchen is not very clean...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Courtney Hamilton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2012 Courtney would recommend this property

Liked: Adorable little building on the river in the older part of Interlaken. The staff was very friendly and helpful - had endless suggestions for things to do and would book them for you if you wanted. Good breakfast, free welcome beer.

Disliked: Room was pretty small and the bathroom smelled bad.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds and pillows, clean, nice breakfast that is included, helpful staff that will let you use their telephone if necessary, staff can help you book adventure excursions in the area, en suite bathrooms, very easy to find and very close to train station

Disliked: first room we were in was a mixed 6 person room but the lockers did not have handles and were wood that fit very well together, so we couldn't even get into them and even if we could, there were no locks on the doors so i didn't feel secure leaving my things in the room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff. Happy to help with recommendations, directions etc. Bar/lounge area was a comfortable place to hang out.

Disliked: No where to store luggage securely outside of check in times.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Moskowitz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 April 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location for the outdoor-lovers! the hostel is literally right next to a mountain but only a 5 minute walk from the station and the charming town of Interlaken. My room was in what used to be an apartment with a full kitchen and living room ( shared my room with two other people). Its very cosy and felt like i was at a friend's flat!

Disliked: the wifi was iffy. Couldn't get it in all the rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Ko

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: Just perfect... best breakfast throughout my trip.. nice stuff.. good catering facilities

Disliked: No wifi in room... and common area closes early on sunday and monday.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are great and friendly. The room is clean and comfort. Location is just nice. The buffet breakfast provided gave an extra credit to the hostel.

Disliked: everything is superb except the time for check in is available at 4pm, it seems too late.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Nirman Arora

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 February 2012

Liked: We are an organization travelling all around Europe in large groups. Our experience at Lazy Falken with some person called Thierry has been the worst in the history of last 5 years in which we organized more than 50 travels. Such an un-friendly and rude person that we never saw before. Even if the location and atmosphere is good, a very bad behaviour by him spoils your mood and indeed, we would prefer that you don't face this person when you arrive there. It was as if he is doing us a favour by letting us stay there and we are not his customers but he is our 'teacher'.

Disliked: We are an organization travelling all around Europe in large groups. Our experience at Lazy Falken with some person called Thierry has been the worst in the history of last 5 years in which we organized more than 50 travels. Such an un-friendly and rude person that we never saw before. Even if the location and atmosphere is good, a very bad behaviour by him spoils your mood and indeed, we would prefer that you don't face this person when you arrive there. It was as if he is doing us a favour by letting us stay there and we are not his customers but he is our 'teacher'.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

THIAM POH SOH

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 February 2012 THIAM POH would recommend this property

Liked: Had very wonderful five nights stay in this hostel. The staff here are very helpful to assist in plannng my itinerary in Interlaken and nearby attracions hence making my stay more enjoyable. The inclusive buffet breakfast was great and keep you full all day long if you would like to skip lunch. Will definitely stay in this hostel for my summer vacation some time later.

Disliked: Nil.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katheryn Bryant

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 February 2012 Katheryn would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, felt like an apartment

Disliked: Katheryn left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jamie Lamb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2012 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Quite close to city centre, free breakfast. Staff very friendly, when they were there! Good music in the bar area.

Disliked: Reception isn't open very long. Arrived on a Sunday, and was only a couple of hours where you could check in. Also check out is 10, and when I went to check out at 9:55, the reception was closed. Managed to find one of the staff not too far away to get my key deposit back.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was awesome :) !! the train/ bus station and main street are close by and the neighbour hood is quiet! For someone staying there for a couple of days, the kitchen is a plus!!

Disliked: There's only one bathroom and toilet in the flat so at full occupancy, you have to share with about 8 or so other people!! quite inconvenient if u want to pee really bad! but manageable!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Yao Fu

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2012 Yao would recommend this property

Liked: the bar downstairs is nice

Disliked: should be cleaner

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sravanth Kumar Vobbilireddy

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 December 2011 Sravanth Kumar would recommend this property

Liked: Even shared rooms provide good privacy. Large kitchen and media room for 6 person s.hared flat. Only 2 people per dormitory. Fast WIFI even in rooms. Very good breakfast at the price. Staff was very helpful. No issues at all.

Disliked: None.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place. Great location. Staff had good advice on what to do and where to go. Breakfast was good. The wireless was fast. I imagine this place would be great all year round.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the "flat", which was an apartment style accommodation. Loved having the kitchen and living room right there. The breakfast was AMAZING, the best of our trip. Loved the movie nights and the maximum space to hang out. Big feather duvets made the beds nice and comfy. All the employees were nice and helpful.

Disliked: The communal kitchen was generally messy all the time, due to the number of people using it. Only when another hosteller took the time did it get cleaned up.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building we stayed in had wonderful rooms and breakfast was included. They also had a free computer to use and a pretty good kitchen. It was in walking distance from both train stations and the shoping areas.

Disliked: Our lock on our room door was broken but we could us the lockers in the hall. And I never felt unsafe or that my stuff might get stollen.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Tran Thi Huong Giang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Tran would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is a nice house with wooden furnitures. There is a common room with a big TV. The kitchen is clean and well-eqquiped

Disliked: No computer worked and the wifi did not work either.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

RAVI KUMAR

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 RAVI would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome b'fast in costly Swiss

Disliked: Public internet kiosks were not there

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staying in the flat was pretty good and the blokes behind the bar arnt to bad also the projecter is pretty good as well and being able to book everything from the front desk

Disliked: happy hour was pointless u hardly save should be like half price beers like other hostels but in stead its like save one chf so its still 4 for a beer

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful stuff. Nice atmosphere in the common area which facilitates interaction with other guests in the hostel.

Disliked: Poor conditions of beds and pillows. Only one shower room on each floor which leads to long waiting time and it also becomes very dirty after numerous people use it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Abhijit Sen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2011 Abhijit would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, especially considering that Switzerland is on the expensive side. Also, good facilities in the kitchen is helpful if you want to cook your own food.

Disliked: The wifi works only in the lobby and not in the rooms, which is bad considering we plan for the next day in the nights.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

carol wass

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2011 carol would recommend this property

Liked: Steve the member of staff there was very friendly and helpful. we were in the attic but he carried our bags to the room for us. Close to Interlaken West station. We were given 40% off ticket up to Schilthorn.

Disliked: Mattress and pillows dreadful ! The place needs updating inside and the roof terrace which is in a state.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good and it has the possibility of having a good social atmosphere with the bar area

Disliked: Wifi only in main building. If guests beds were made already they wouldn't see the mattresses which were a bit off-putting. Although staff were good to us, they required a fair bit of pressing for advice and tips (which they actually knew quite a lot of). As nice as it is that they are laid back, they came across as lazy and lacking care factor