We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Funny - Farm Backpackers

Hostel | Hauptstrasse 36, Interlaken, Switzerland 3800

75.4% Overall Rating

185 out of 228 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/12/2013)

Devon Harris thinks…

"I just loved Interlaken sooooo kind of biased about this. Close to the busstop, walkable to the city but you get a free buspass when you stay so either way its great. Wifi was only free on the main…"

Read all Funny - Farm Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 10.54
  • Towel USD 5.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that bookings over 20 people are subject to cancellation with no refund.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Interlaken?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Interlaken

Balmer's Herberge
38.47 USD

Hostel 86.4% 887 reviews
Landgasthof Hirschen
36.89 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 260 reviews
Janis Apartment
47.43 USD

Apartment 94.2% 89 reviews
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
30.57 USD

Hostel 93.5% 573 reviews
The Tent Village
27.93 USD

Hostel 79.7% 22 reviews
Walters Bed & Breakfast
29.51 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 300 reviews
Happy Inn Lodge
23.42 USD

Hostel 85.4% 323 reviews
Interlaken Youth Hostel
38.26 USD

Hostel 91.4% 22 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.4%

Overall Rating

185 out of 228 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Funny - Farm Backpackers'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
76.0%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 163 of 171 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Francisco De la Cruz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 June 2013 Francisco would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is within a Hotel too, so everything looks very fancy and nice! It has everything! A swimming pool, restaurant, launge, pool/billiard, balconys facing the Jungfrau, gardens, breakfast room. They provide a transportation card for Interlaken which is really good!

Disliked: They charge for everything... WiFi is for free in the reception, but not in the rooms, for that they charge 5 CHF. Towels are also charged 5 CHF... breakfast too... 10 CHF

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hopefully the pool is ready the next time I'm back! :)

Disliked: A bit far from the station.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean, affordable.

Disliked: No lockers in the shared rooms.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was really big and nice for three people. The view was amazing. The staff was extremely friendly.

Disliked: The location was quite far from the centrum. The computers were old and one was not working. Also the bathroom was kind of old and quite messy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anna ?wider

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 May 2013 anna would recommend this property

Liked: Because there were small number of people, instead of our 12-people-mixed room, they gave us room for 4 people, and we were there alone:-) Staff was really nice. Also wifi in loggia was fast.

Disliked: Everything was o.k.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: our view from our room was wonderful. big bathroom!!

Disliked: night front desk clerk was very rude. called me lady and got pissed off when i asked a question. some others where nice. pillows where horrible

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we stayed 12 mixed dormitory. only 2 peopel who me and my friend stay there. It so good. lounge was really good and warm. staff was also friendly

Disliked: . but room is to cold. so we used two quilt TT also location was quite bad. check out day, there were havey snowy, but we must walked 20 min with our luggage. if you don't have enough money, you stay here.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guilherme Teixeira Adamo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Guilherme would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Breakfast was too expansive!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

supreeth herle

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2013 supreeth would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location for stay.

Disliked: Its a little far from station. And please write the directions properly for your hotel.I got lost when i was searching for it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price is reasonable

Disliked: The corridor had no light at the first night

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere of the hostel is very peaceful, not havoc. The view outside of the room is breathtaking.

Disliked: The hostel is situated very far from railway station! And the instructions to go to the hostel are inaccurate.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

SIYING TAI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2013

Liked: It's cheap and we are just two living in a 8-bed room.

Disliked: No WI-FI,the quilt is so small and thin, the light is so dark, the heating installation is just like a decoration.......

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Plymin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 December 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I cannot recommend this hostel enough! If you're after a party location, is not for you, but the staff are all amazing! Rooms are clean, and if you're lucky you'll have a view of the alps! Food is also very good, and reasonably priced.

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

AMANDA SONG YU LOW

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 October 2012 AMANDA SONG YU would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was friendly. I absolutely love the stunning view from my room's window. The garden was gorgeous and on a clear day you can see the Alps! It was clean too and the sheets smelled good. I stayed during off-peak season so had the whole room to myself, I actually enjoyed having my own space after a long day out.

Disliked: Directions were misleading. I arrived at 10 at night and spent an hour looking for this place and asking for directions. Location was a bit far but it wasn't a problem for me as I was out most of the day and didn't mind taking a lovely stroll to and from the hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect to reach a lot of nice places near Interlaken. Enough of parking space. There was a possibility to use computers with internet free of charge. Room was with big balcony with amazing view to mountains.

Disliked: Room was quite old, it wasn't cozy - very simple. There was no adapters so we had to dry hair early in morning in the room as couldn't plug dryer in the bathroom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucy Clark

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2012 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: get to use hotel facilities, though staying in hostel. great staff, good pool and amazing location

Disliked: Lucy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cara Wright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 August 2012 Cara would recommend this property

Liked: This place was cool, it was an old hotel turned into a hostel. They had a swimming pool out the back with this awesome slide, they had computers that you could use for free, they were in a central location and only 10 or so minutes walk to the main town and about 15 to the train station. They are also situated right in front of the Alpinraft company, who I did all my adventure things with (bungy jumping, white water rafting) I highly recommend this company, they have a cool vibe and know their stuff!!!! The staff were extremely helpful and felt very welcomed, they all spoke English too which was a big plus! There's also a bar and a restaurant in the hotel which is very convenient. Loved my stay here and will definitely be recommending it to friends.

Disliked: The only thing was I booked a female dorm, but in my room their was a private room with a couple in it, and then another guy in the dorm part, I didn't really mind because the guy was really nice, so to me their was no big issue.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vikas R

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 August 2012 Vikas would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: not much.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2012

Liked: The service was great. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our light was out in the washroom and the problem was fixed right way. The balcony view was okay.

Disliked: The rooms were extremely old and gross feeling. It was horror story creepy. The facilities were horribly outdated. The washroom was really tiny. The sink and shower shared the same tap. The bunk beds felt unsafe to sleep on top of... or under... and they were so small you couldn't even sit up right on the bottom bunk. It's a tripping hazard to enter any area because there is a lip or ledge or step on the floor. Especially, going in and out of washroom! It was the worst hostel experience I've ever had.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

chen shaolan

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012 chen would recommend this property

Liked: good location,we can see the snowmountain through the window.

Disliked: good

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable and nice lobby as it is a shared part with the hotel part The funny big dog, although it got that smell the swimming pool, although the weather didn't favor jumping into it LIFTS! for big luggage carriers nice balcony with a splendid view of the mountain

Disliked: A staff failed to follow up the booking of hang-gliding for me and my friend. She said she would leave a message to the next staff on duty while we were out of the hostel, but the staff we saw when we returned know nothing about it Anyway, she did help us to check the availability and finally the staff who forgot us helped us to book paragliding the next morning the toilet could be more comfortable the light just went off during showers.... probably for saving energy...but totally inconvenient....I need to have my friend step into the washroom to turn it on...or I have to open the door of the shower chamber to get the light on again...." too few electrical sockets.... just around 3 in a 8-bed dorm... a bit far away from the train station while too few buses to and from the hostel... and one bus driver just drove off while a bunch of travelers wanted to get on....

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good view from the window.

Disliked: The worst staff I even met. We arrove late in the day, the staff was mad at us saying as we arrove too late, he had deleted our reservation n it was a trouble for him to manage our booking. Room n bathroom had smell. There was no lock in the bathroom, and it wasn't clean.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: das haus an und für sich ist sehr sehr schön...der garten ist sehr gemütlich und sehr grosszügig...und die aussicht war der hammer...das zimmer hatte einen super balkon mit traumhafter aussicht...

Disliked: zimmernachbarn di um 7.00h am sonntag morgen laut musik hörten

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hong Ean Lee

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

18 June 2012 Hong Ean would recommend this property

Liked: you should mentioned that they prefer balance payment in swiss franc and we lost alot on the exchange rates.

Disliked: good location and I was given a very good view room .

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Chaitanya Wadi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Chaitanya would recommend this property

Liked: The prices are cheap compared to rest places in Switzerland and there's a free night club too !!!

Disliked: Not much really