HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Downtown Lodge

Hostel | Dorfstrasse 152, Grindelwald, Switzerland 3818

89.4% Overall Rating

187 out of 192 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/08/2014)

Genady Shlomper thinks…

"Close to the railway station, shops and the elevation to First. Friendly staff, very good breakfast, clean room."

Read all Downtown Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.19

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Grindelwald?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Grindelwald

Hotel Tschuggen
62.88 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.5% 24 reviews
Grindelwald Youth Hostel
42.32 USD

Hostel 84.7% 87 reviews
Mountain Hostel Grindelwald
42.65 USD

Hostel 80.9% 45 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

187 out of 192 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Downtown Lodge'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 136 of 145 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Genady Shlomper

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 Genady would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the railway station, shops and the elevation to First. Friendly staff, very good breakfast, clean room.

Disliked: Genady left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic receptionists - very helpful. Great location. Great price.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is maintained and kept clean. The rooms are definitely a value for money. They are spacious and comfortable. The breakfast spread, the games room are pretty good. Overall a very organized hostel.

Disliked: While wash basins within the room is very much appreciated but I wish there were more toilets and showers given the no. of rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robert Brooke

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 June 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Property is centrally located to town. Rooms and bathrooms are clean and tidy. Kitchen is well equipped for cooking.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ho Yan Donia Chu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 May 2014 Ho Yan Donia would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at Grindelwald for one day as a base for going up to the First and to the Jungfrau railway. The lodge is 10min walk from the train station and 10min walk from First cable car terminal which is very good location. The staff welcomed us friendly and helped us book paragliding! The hostel offered discount for First and jungfrau tickets! The room was comfy and cozy and all the facilities were very good. The kitchen had everything we need, clean and well equipped. We woke late for the breakfast but they kindly served us with cereal and bread which we appreciated a lot (and sorry for that!) Good living experience with budget acommondation which add colour to our trip in Swiss! recommend!

Disliked: Ho Yan Donia left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Tai-lin Chiu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Tai-lin would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen is good.

Disliked: The reception close at 7:30. There are only one shower room in the lodge one.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Well equipped kitchen

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Khwan Sivaraksa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2013 Khwan would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: overall atmosphere

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

STEPHANIE KA YING LAI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2013 STEPHANIE KA YING would recommend this property

Liked: It's the BEST hostel we've ever stayed in - great staff, great location, great view, great atmosphere, great buffet breakfast, great kitchen, everything's great! Plus, they sell special-discount ticket to the Jungfrau - even cheaper than discounted price with a swiss pass! unbelievable!

Disliked: Nothing. Best hostel ever stayed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANNETTA CARULLO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2013 ANNETTA would recommend this property

Liked: Everything and everyone... Reception was incredibly helpful. It is located in a beautiful spot with and has a great kitchen!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sonia Mayer

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

26 June 2013 Sonia would recommend this property

Liked: Great service, they even packed us a lunch and brought it to our room when we told them we'd be taking a trip to the Jungfrau the next day. Cool place, great view.

Disliked: Sonia left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laura Howe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Was a really big complex of different buildings, but there was only a few of us there (pretty rubbish weather tbf). Good kitchen facilities and you can even rent fondue equipment! DVDs and playstation games available to rent too (although we weren't staying long enough to make use of it). We were met on arrival by a really nice lady, spoke good english, who showed us to our room.

Disliked: Says on hostelbookers there is laundry facilities but we couldn't find any, and by that point there was no one around to ask! .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Zaborowski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: One of my favorite hostels. Had a lot of room for relaxing and socializing with others. The rooms were really big and had a nice big table in the middle. Wasn't cramped at all like other hostels can be. There's a pool table, tvs, computers...and the environment was very conducive to meeting new people and making friends. There is a very nice breakfast every morning and there's a bar that's open some nights for guests. It was a great experience staying there

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, Friendly and clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I will definitely recommend this hotel. Rooms are big and clean. In the city center and very convenient to get access to. Staff are quite patient and helpful. It is the best hostel during my one week's journey.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Peck

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 August 2012 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location

Disliked: Paying 5 francs per night for parking

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen facilities were pretty good, aside from not having a decent knife. How come no hostel has a decent knife? There was a shed for bikes and ski gear.

Disliked: Only a couple of electrical outlets in the rooms made it difficult for everyone to charge there devices.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and clean and good rooms very near the train station.

Disliked: Had some trouble with noise from American Students (mixed dorm) but told by staff to ring emergency phone if it happened again but they left the next day so all was peaceful again.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were super friendly, location is great, and breakfast ok...especially the coffe machine and muesli

Disliked: Limited check in times are annoying but seem to be common place in Switzerland...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location (5min walk from grindelwald train station) and easy to find. the female only dorm was spacious and the bed was very clean & comfortable. There were free lockers which were useful before & after check in/out. wifi and free computers were available as well. good breakfast.

Disliked: the vandilation in the dorm was pretty bad. there was a stench of dirty shoes maybe? we couldnt leave the window open all the day in case someone climbed in. the bathrooms were inside the toilets which were shared between male & female. the female bathroom door was never locked and cannot be locked and so there were worries that males might come in as well. plus, each bathroom had only curtains and no doors. so i had a real quick shower.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Flat screen TVs

Disliked: separation of buildings

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: sparkling clean hostel in great town centre location (supermarket opposite) great kitchen facilities and breakfast

Disliked: individual reading lights at bunks might be nice

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

trevor mcleary

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2011 trevor would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The hostel has everything and is quite large. The staff were really good, there is a good lounge where there is pool and table soccer, the breakfast was awesome and the rooms were really tidy.

Disliked: Nothing. Just note though to take their directions and not google maps that show the turn off before hotel spinne.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good breakfast on offer, included in the room price (as well it should be, considering Switzerland's very high living costs). Sheets included, but not towels. Clean room.

Disliked: Not much. It looks quite ugly from the outside, but you can't have everything. Oh, and the kitchen is far too small if many guests want to cook at once - only one 5 ring hob, and a one litre kettle.